Rent Need for Speed: Most Wanted for PS3
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Most Wanted

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

1788 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why this game broke my heart.....

posted by Mistychan (FARMINGTON, MO) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

23 out of 31 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Horrible game! Outside of the most wanted races you can only use 1 car in 5 races (outside of replaying races). You cannot buy ANY CARS OR MODIFICATIONS! That means no body mods, no performance mods, no paint jobs or decals! How do you get these things you ask? Well for cars you find one in the world with an icon above, pull up beside it and jack it or steal one from you're enemy in the most wanted race. For mods however its way more annoying, you have to win races. 2nd place gives you 1 mod and 1st gives you another. Win all 5 in 1st to get all the mods for that car. How do you change paint? Drive through a repair shop and it gives you a RANDOM paint job. Thats right you have NO CONTROL. Outside of how nice it's graphics look I can say NOTHING good about this game. You're probably thinking "how dare this jerk bad mouth need for speed!" right? Well I'm a huge fan of need for speed. Need for Speed most wanted (the first one) was one of my favorite games. This is a bad game..... I never thought I'd have to say that about a need for speed game.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyable arcade racer

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 31, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Overview
----------------------------
This is a very enjoyable racer. It is a more social and open world game compared to Hot Pursuit. There is no real story and no real direction in the game. If you like free driving this is a better game for you. If you want purpose and story you might want to skip.

There is minor amounts of car customization. I personally found the multiplayer flow odd. You have to meet up in a spot before the event which isn't well explained and there isn't a starting line. I still found it enjoyable.

Pros
-------------------------
1) open world
2) very social
3) easy drive menu system is awesome
4) great graphics

Cons
--------------------------
1) odd multiplayer meet up before event system
2) I miss not being able to play as cops like Hot Pursuit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mehh

posted by hes_goodpeople (VERONA, WI) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

No plot, and the difficulty is a little high. I found myself re-trying races 10 times just to place because you crash so frequently.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!!!

posted by biggamer69 (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game plain sucks. I thought it would be way better than the last an its nothing like the previous. Persuit chases suck, no options to build your own car more less here is what you win and you have the option to put part on or not lol so want the original back. Might as well play dodge em on atari it would be alot more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

You do crash every 5 seconds

posted by 360Santi (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

still used to the Burnout Revenge in which at some speeds you can knock the car off the road, however here its an outright spill & crash...Whereas in a race you were running 3rd or 4th...you get to 10th place real fast..Improve this!!..My Heart goes out to those that feel betrayed that NFS is gone..but I was a Burnout Fan and that's the reason I rented this..The Crash every couple of seconds make me appreciate B-Paradise so far more than this title..I'll play it some more, and see if it is kept or goes back in the envelope..so for now it gets a 5..History shows when I joined Gamefly --> Burnout paradise was the 1st title I rented and did a KEEP on it...so far i'mma not feeling it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What happened to NFS series

posted by Jackmort420 (SPRING CITY, PA) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Im beyond upset with the sad excuse of a game that this is NFS used to be about customization and fun where are either of them at in this game there lost and still not found played this NFS for 3 hours and basically did everything the game had to offer this game got sent back the same day i got it in the mail NFS you have again FAILED me thanks for all the taking of 3 hours of my life that i can never get back this game is plan out trash sorry if your someone reading my review and thinking otherwise i have just had ALOT higher hopes but what can we hope for when all we get is a polished burnout port with a NFS title like we wouldnt notice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good, Solid fun

posted by bITEmE (NEWVILLE, PA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I don't know why everyone is complaining this is a revamp of Burnout Paridise. It's made by the same people and has similar things, yes it is familiar. But did everyone complain when BPC came out that it was too much like the original NFSMW? No. I don't really get it. And the wrecking every three seconds complaint, you just stink. This game isn't nearly as hard as the Shift series, Hot Persuit, or Pro Street.

Moving on, This game was alot of fun, for like three days, lol. I beat the most wanted list, got every bilboard, and just drove around causing kaios. Suddenly I realized I was boered. Now I guess this is where Multi-player comes in to keep it fresh. But being a rent, I'm just going to move on.
But really this game is the best NFS put out since the last MW. No invisable walls. Arrow walls directing you in races you can drive right through. you can use shortcuts in races. Getting all the Billboards was fun. Jack spots replace cooldown spots, and alot of the time if you park in an inconspicuous jack spot they work the same. Upgrade your car by completeing milestones and races.

Give it a try, I bet you like it if even for only three days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst driving game ever

posted by The_boss15 (DENVER, CO) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Why bother naming it most wanted if its not even close to the first one pathetic.never been so disappointed for a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

crash all the time

posted by tkidd1 (PONTOTOC, MS) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like crashing all the time this game is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Its just blah.

posted by 79cutlas (DE SOTO, KS) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing Horizon, or any other racing game in the last 2 years, this game is just blah. Theres nothing special, the handling of the cars is sloppy, the courses are sloppy, and EA failed again at re re releasing the same old title. I think the first most wanted was a decent game, but I only played this for 30 minutes before shoving it back in the mailbox. Thanking my lucky stars I used gamefly and not bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unenjoyable.

posted by mbergh22 (FERNDALE, WA) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just garbage. Worst NFS game ever! It makes Shift look real good. I enjoyed The Run a lot better as well. This game has no structure and you have to win races to get upgrades instead of buying upgrades for your cars. Not a fan of that. There is no real way of getting rid of the cops either. They cheat way too much. Very disappointed in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but not great

posted by laughingman554 (EUGENE, OR) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not very long of a campaign or heavy on the car customization fun to play but not a deep game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by GolbeZzZ (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No story
No Customization
Okay races
Awful cop chases

I will say I am not the biggest fan of Racing games but I was a very big fan of the original NFS:MW so this game got my attention because of that. BUT this is NO Most Wanted and I agree with those who said this was a selling ploy.

Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I thought

posted by xxoutlaww39xx (Grand Island, NY) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This title was not what I was expecting ... being a die hard NFS fan I was expecting something that took most wanted to a new level. Was very disappointed in the Burnout Paradise style of gameplay, crashing at the slightest of bumps was very frustrating, and there was virtually no challenge to unlock the items for the cars. Hopefully the next Tuner title will be geared more to the hardcore tuner culture than a burnout group.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A Bad Attempt

posted by dj050894 (FORT MYERS, FL) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was by far the worst Need for Speed game in my opinion. The only high side of this game was the graphics were very good, but past that the game in all of its entirety was awful! There is no plot, there is no currency, and there is no realistic handling. The best part of the earlier Need for Speed games was having the freedom to fully customize your cars, well that is completely gone in this one. you do not even get to own any of the cars. if you want a new car you just simply drive up to a "Jackspot" and drive away in a new car, and that's not even the worst part, you can do this during a pursuit! Also if you wish to change the color of your current car you have to find a body shop and drive through and "Poof" like magic, you car is magically some random color, oh and you can do this during a pursuit too. Its kind of funny to hear the cops say "we have a description update the car is now red." Also you can change parts mid-race, for example if the race suddenly goes off-rode than you can press a few buttons and "Poof" you now have off-road tires on, or if you are in a police chase and you run over some spike strips, you can quickly switch to your re-inflating tires and continue on with the pursuit. Whoever's idea it was to be able to change parts mid race needs to be fired and never working on a video game again. If you enjoyed Need for Speed Hot Pursuit than you might enjoy this one, but even that is a long shot. If you were a Need for Speed fan in the past and enjoyed games like Underground 2 and the first Most Wanted than you probably will not like this game. I got this game off of Gamefly and I'm very happy I did not spend $60 on this awful game. Maybe when Need for Speed returns to the format of the good games Like Underground 2 and the first Most Wanted I will consider purchasing one, but untill then i will not be buying any Need for Speed games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Shipping it back!

posted by lexman (CRANFORD, NJ) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just read the other bad reviews,they're all dead on! Another "I'm going way too fast for this environment to maintain any kind of control" racing game. And the "gosh-darn" wet-shiny roads where you cant tell if its gonna stop you cold or splash..is just pissing me off already.Hit something at 160mph,and get little sparklers twinkling around the car?...geezuz! Just when you think you may like it,..you crash..and send it back in the envelope disgusted! I played it for about 25 mins.after waiting for almost 3 seeks for it to arrive. Whatta waste!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Most Wanted

posted by mkambrose (SAINT PETERS, MO) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It reminds me of Driver San Francisco. You can't exit the car. The drifting isn't very good. The graphics are pretty good. The car crashes need to be more realistic. I wouldn't reccommend this to my friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

missed the mark

posted by zeek10 (HOT SPRINGS NATIONAL PARK, AR) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

just got NFS & game looks great ,the big problem is the steering. its real sensitive & no way to adjust it !!!! i have not tried move controls yet .but using regular controller the cars seem to jerk left an right when steering , so just keep this in mind when buying ,,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun

posted by cdp858 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Quick Review
Pros
1. Great Fun, white-knuckle racing
2. Graphics and superb sound
3. If you liked Burnout Paradise mp, you'll like MW
4. Cops are relentless and smart
5. Easydrive is back
Cons
1. HUD sometimes gets in the way
2. No rear view mirror which i liked in Hot Pursuit
3. Music selection is not that great

Overall the game is very fun and I'm rating it a 10 because that 7.8 GF rating doesn't give this justice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very easy to mess up

posted by Bihl (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Its just so messed up, complete 180 from the last game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by buddy74 (ALLEN, TX) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I think the graphics were amazing and i having a lot of cars is vital.its got a lot of cars. great job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by RandomGamer9090 (CHELMSFORD, MA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This has got to be the best Need for Speed I have ever played. This game takes place in an urban/woodland/strange place fictional city of New Haven. Right from the beginning, you have access to all but the ten most wanted cars. The cars you begin with range from a Toyota Tundra to a Lamgorghini Gallardo. You have to find these to drive them, of course. Now for the Pros and Cons of the game. PROS 1. Great graphics, amongst the finest I have seen for a Racing game. 2. Wide variety of cars. About 50 or so cars, and about 20 mods for each car(Like light chasis, nitrous, aero body, etc.) 3. Great soundtrack. A lot of songs I haven't heard of, but some familiar faces, like Nero and Green Day. 4. Fantastic cut scenes. CONS 1. Quite an awful physics engine. When I was doing 150 MPH+ into oncoming traffic, I would coolide head on with another car, and both would kind of... "bounce". 2. Freezes are often. I've played 10 hours and have experienced 15 or so freezes. I would recommend this to anyone who dosn't mind arcade or casual racing. However, if you are looking for a simulator racing game, well, this is quite the opposite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why ea why?

posted by krosis999 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After playing it I felt it was a huge let down after the 1st nfs most wanted, what it seems like is they used the great reputation of the first most wanted to get people to buy it. The 1st most wanted was an epic game that i loved from the start with its 1st race and your car being sabotaged along with the final boss race where you win your car back and every thing in between. EA could have at least included some good detailed customization that you can see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Racing Game

posted by stix45 (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

At first when i saw and heard about another NFS:Most Wanted i thought it was gonna be just like NFS:The Run but my mind was turned upside down when i saw all the trailers and gameplay of this spectacular game.

First thing i want to talk about is the Gameplay.The game plays really well only complaint i've had so far is that sometimes the world will jam up when a portion of the city hasn't loaded all the way but none other less this game plays perfectly and has a very fun Burnout Paradise feel to it.As well as that you'll also have a free and fun city to cruise,race and make trouble with the cops so all in all the gameplay is best.

Second the Story.The story in this game is pretty much the same like all other racing games which is be the best driver ever.But basically you have to take down a list of 10 top drivers,after that your left to do what you want to do.But at least you have something to beat other then online players.The story also is pretty fast to beat so you'll most likely finish in 3 or 5 days i finished it in 2 days.

Third AI.The AI in this game is pretty,well unique they aren't pro's nor stupid but they do try to wipe you off the road causing things to get a bit more harder but when just focusing on driving they drive fast when next to you but when far they drive fast then slow.

And Finally the CARS!!
The cars in this game are very unique in their own way
each car has a stiff feel to it but will mess up sometimes but the look and feel to each car is very great and at sometimes real although this is a arcade like game.Another thing to add is the car list is kinda short you only have 41 cars to make mayhem with so that's one thing that makes it suck.

In the end,Need For Speed Most Wanted (2012) Succeeds in every aspect but this game won't last you 1 whole year if that's what your asking but this game is a great game for any fan of racing games especially casual gamers so you should have as much fun as i did in this outstanding piece of ar

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Mrolli1 (AMISSVILLE, VA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I really expected this to be a good game. Considering the version that came out a few years ago was pretty good, I figured this would be like an "upgrade" to that game. I was WRONG. This is a heaping pile of Doggy-dung. The interface/gui, is HORRIBLE, Most of the races are okay, but, the "Ambush" races are HORRIBLE, and are a complete & utter waste of time. Oh, and don't expect your pause button to work for up to 10 seconds after a race, at first this was just an annoyance, but, after a few "ReTry last events", has become painfully irritating. Don't waste your time on this game. If by chance you had any hand in helping develop this game, you should jump off a building. Seriouslly? Since when does a "pause" button take more than split second to work?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse