Rent Need for Speed: Most Wanted for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Most Wanted

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, PS3, Wii U
GF Rating
6.4

2260 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Misleading; terrible.

posted by hoonur (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

25 out of 27 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

The actual racing in this game is pretty cool. The graphics are really great and the car selection is top notch. Those are the only good things about this game. It's very apparent that money hungry EA just slapped the 'Most Wanted' brand on this to rouse NFS fans who stopped playing after the pinnacle of the series (Underground, Most Wanted, Carbon). You literally do the same 8-10 races over and over and over. The Most Wanted list this time around is just that, a list. I can understand EA/Criterion wanting to forego a cheesy, misplaced story but it just seems lazy to not even put a face/name behind these racers you're trying to out-duel throughout the game. The biggest travesty of them all? NO CUSTOMIZATION! Really? How can you not include one of the most integral parts of street racing, let alone racing games in general. Just about every single thing in this game screams 'yearly development cycle'. If EA is going to keep insisting on releasing these poorly executed racing titles on a yearly basis, they need to at least try and make it seem like they put a bit more thought/planning/hard work into them. If you liked Criterion's previous racing games, then you'll have no problem liking this installment. If you're getting this hoping to be whisped back a few years to play an updated version of the quite possibly the best racing game ever made, move along. You will not like what this game does to some of your fondest racing memories as a kid. EA/Criterion truly succeed in devolving this franchise and, to some extent, the racing genre in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need For Speed?

posted by Roadnuts (EAST HADDAM, CT) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember the original NFS title for Playstation. This rendition is far from the original in both good and bad ways. Graphics are great, and the sounds (especially through my Turtle Beach headset) are awesome. The cars handle somewhat realistically but I wouldn't compare this to Forza or Gran Turismo. This is an arcade game not a simulator. I was most bothered by the police cars and how unrealistically fast they are. Also bugged by the spike strips that the AI can drive right over without getting a flat tire! If you're looking for a quick fast ride give it a try. Looking for realism? Get Forza or Gran Turismo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

smh at EA

posted by rashaad_wolf (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Feb 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I had way higher expectations for this game, while ye the graphics are awesome & the selection of cars is enormous, the driving experience just isnt up to par. The cars are very hard to control, it seems like you absolutely cannot win a race without crashing multiple times. The police chases got really annoying. You CANT customize your car which was a huge turnoff for me, the most you can do is change the color when you drive through a bodyshop, thats not the need for speed i knew and grew up with. over all this game was just disapointing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good or not good

posted by opeter (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jul 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a fun racing game. Mostly because of the cars. GET THIS GAME FROM GAMEFLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EA is running low on gas

posted by InfamousLion (GRANITE FALLS, WA) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Most Wanted has precious little to do with the excellent 2005 360 launch title then name. Street tuner elements have removed, not to mention all structure has been stripped away. This is essentially Criterion's second whack at Burnout Paradise, which would have been ok if it wasn't for the sloppy handeling, severly handicapped damage modeling (opposed to Paradise), and lack of said structure. I literally got to the first Most Wanted racer by completing like two races then just fooling around the world for an hour or so till I got enough speed points to take him "it" whatever you call it on. The reason I say this is there is no blacklist with specific street racers to take on like the original most wanted you literally race said car for the car once you overtake it's spot. Forza Horizon it's main competitor beats it senseless in this area since it actually has a structured festival, and actual rivals to challenge with dialogue/backstory etc. This is game is as arcade shoverlware as it gets, and with such poor handeling its's actually a chore to drive rather then a thrill. My faith in the franchise as a whole is very shaken, EA needs to make a massive 360 switch before NFS fades off into obscurity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Worth its name

posted by fecalfacial13 (NORTHBRIDGE, MA) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Game is horrendous. Can't really customize your car, hard to control, barely can make out the tracks and you only get a few races with a fav. car. Nothing like the original and EA should be ashamed. This franchise is going down hill

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by xInfectionGTx (COTTONTON, AL) Feb 8, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Being a long time NFS fan I rented this game hoping it would be like the original Most Wanted Title. Even with its cheesy story the original it is still the best. This however is the most ridiculous peace of garbage to pass as a NFS title since ProStreet. The crash scene alone in this game make you want to break the disk. The lack of customization and the fact that you have no garage to store your cars drove me to send this game back shortly after beating it. Oh and did I mention that you need an online pass to play this, which makes no sense. This game is among the worst NFS games. I DO NOT RECOMMEND anyone rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it at all!!

posted by mrthomas26 (AURORA, CO) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I used to like playing need for speed. This one has completely changed my mind.. this game puts the W in Wack.. sent back after 2days only because i had to work and didnt have time..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Game!

posted by racer_galor (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a great game! I love the fact that they allow you access to all of the cars at the beginning, as long as you can find them all. The handling can take a little getting used to, but once you do it makes sense and works well. Even though this game hardly resembles it predecessor, it keeps the essence of the game, which makes it fun. The police can get a bit irritating, but when you have over 20,000 speed points and have been nursing the pursuit for over 25 minutes you'll know why. Just saying Heat level six STINKS.

Pros:
Graphics and sound
Handling (actually gives the car weight and momentum)
Police chases (Has the ability to get you going at times)
The cars are hidden well throughout the city.
EasyDrive
Damage (amazingly realistic for a game)
variety of things to do
Cons:
City to small
lack of a story
lack of speedbreakers in pursuits
AI seems to be kind of sporadic.(drives well for a bit then runs into a wall or never makes a mistake)
police chase (can also be over in a hurry leaving you wanting more)

I have seen reviews for this game stating that it is a horrible game, as I have also seen reviews stating its great. I guess it's up to you and your preference: Simulation or Arcade. This game definitely falls under arcade and in my opinion a very good arcade game at that. I would absolutely recommend this game to anybody. But they should rent it first. This game will not be for everybody. If you hate open - world arcade style games stay away, but if you love them I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Burnout 4

posted by LouLouXbox (ROCHELLE PARK, NJ) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The people who are giving this game a 4 or 5, obviously were expecting a different game. However, if you were a big fan of "Burnout 3: Takedown", then you are going to absolutely LOVE this game.

They should have simply called this game "Burnout 4".

This game is what Burnout Paradise wanted to be.

If you're looking for a driving simulator game like Forza, please look elsewhere. This is Burnout, arcade style racing, to the MAX. This is "Burnout:Revenge" on steroids!

Multiplayer is really really fun, and is where all the action is.

I also like trying to beat my friends records, which Autolog keeps constant track of.

Good Job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DISAPOINTED

posted by x88BOMBER14x (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Was not thrilled with the last 'Need for Speed the Run' either, was super excited about this title, only to find out it was just as bad as the last. You don't get to customize your cars as detailed as previous games and getting new cars is annoying. Just not impressed......:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

frustrating

posted by mickey2007 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I love the nfs franchise. I also really like the burnout series as well but this game gives both a bad name. Really all Criterion had to do was make losing the cops a little easier. all they had to do was put in cool down hiding spots like in the first Most Wanted game. Losing the cops is a long a frustrating process that, by the time I have lost them I do not want to play the game anymore. I can't hide anywhere because they check every little space even on buildings. And by the time you do enter cool down your heat level is so high it takes too long to get it down and they have found you again. There is a review that says you are not forced to run from the cops. I guess that is true in a way cause you can get busted with nothing happening to you but there are the ambush "races" that you have to complete which you have to get away from the cops in a certain amount of time. Not worth my time or money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GARBAGE

posted by N_Superman_J (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Need for speed makers what is wrong with you guys seriously the original most wanted is the last nfs you made that was epic now you guys are just creating garbage why will you not go back to that concept we want customization not just upgrade this game is so bad i cant believe they just keep up with these garbage game no custom stuff you cant even pick the color of the car that you want IM DONE WITH NFS they have lost me totally back to gran turisom i go im tired of wasteing my time the last most wanted was where it started an ended so people give up they will never listen to us an make it like underground or most wanted again DISAPPOINTMENT AGAIN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Doesn't deserve its title.

posted by lclarke22 (SEFFNER, FL) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

NFS Most Wanted tried to be the game that it used to be but just remade. It lacks customization almost entirely you can hardly pick your colors they're totally random. The races are repetitive and if you have a favorite car in the game just be prepared to only play 5-6 races with that car because that's all you get per car.
Too many cars
No customization
Repeating races
Just not nearly as fun as it was originally.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Game Ever

posted by LayzieC11 (ELK RIVER, MN) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I dont know what the developers were thinking when making this game but its prostreet all over again. the driving experience is NOT there like it used to be. I rather play FORZA then this and I despise that game. I always been a NFS fan but they totally messed this game up. go back to the first MOST WANTED and learn how it should have been made. instead of a story line like before they just made the cut scenes like if they were on drugs. thank god i didnt buy this like i planned

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Most Rushed and Un-wanted

posted by CJSmithers (MIDVALE, UT) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow talk about a rushed game, it sucked. The graphics for the openings of races were all over the place. Then on top of this you cant even do multi-player without a dumb season pass. Their isn't anything new or exciting about this game its dumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very disappointing

posted by MrHaru (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a longtime NFS fan, I had a keen eye set on this game. It would be the last time I'd ever try out a NFS game and see if it could recover from The Run as well as all of the other terrible games that failed to deliver.

MW is the last nail in the coffin. RIGHT from the start to its no-scenario-just-race-because-race-game and bland...well..EVERYTHING, I just felt this wasn't 'right'. Compared to the original MW this game was just lacking a tremendous amount of soul. It is LITERALLY the epitome of EA shoving a game out as soon as possible to make a game and not caring about quality or lasting effect: instead continuing to go by contemporary hype-machine tactics to make it stand out.

The racing is mediocre (It works, but it's not that fun), the cop chases are nowhere nearly as invigorating as the other NFS games (not even as fun as The Run, which is surprising considering this is a remake with the title of MOST WANTED) and they DO NOT punish you at all for being busted. You literally just get told "Don't get caught by the cops next time!" and are given no punishment. It's like hitting the restart command in a menu.

Given that you do not actually 'win' anything for beating Most Wanted racers because you then have to destroy them makes for more frustrating approaches: I just beat a guy BARELY in a race, and now you want me to now chase him unscripted through the open world in the game AND try to ram him into a wall? And if I fail I have to find him on my own OR redo the entire race from the start just to get back to this point?

No, forget that.

Need for Speed is dead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

just horrible just like the last one they need to stop with the game all around Had high hopes for this one it sucks all around. If anyone has ever played the first need for speed you know what I'm talking about. This game is all over the place the graphics are horrible I mean while I was driving I found myself loooking for the cops haha. Can't play online again ea sports and still can't be a cop and chase a friend really when is this ever going to come back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Waste of a rent

posted by Alex32 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was the first game i rented and i regret it TERRIBLY. I have played most of the need for speeds and this one is the worst one ive played. The gameplay is boring. the cars r cool but YOU CRASH YOUR CAR ALL THE TIME.. even if you just bump into a wall going 30 miles an hour.. CRASH CRASH CRASH please save your time and rent something else. Also trying to get rid of the cops on Medium Difficulty is ridiculous.. I would have NO cops in sight anywhere and all of a sudden 3 would spawn two feet away from me.. dumb game Sorry EA you screwed us gamers again along with having to buy the stupid online pass to play online.. luckily i didnt buy it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Embarrassing Attempt

posted by The_Brown_Famil (LAKE WALES, FL) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was so extremely disappointed at the attempt to bring out another Most Wanted. EA Sports should never of allowed this to be released with their name on it much less calling it a Need For Speed title. I have played every Need For Speed ever released and have found that this is the WORST version ever. It is a complete rip-off of Burnout. While I know that it was created by the same group that produced Burnout, it is just sad to see the NFS added to it. I love the NFS series and Most Wanted was by far my favorite flavor. So much that my license plate on my truck is NFSMW. Sorry to say but I played this version for about 5 minutes before I packed it back up and put it in the mailbox. Thank you Gamefly for saving me $50.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing graphics and gameplay

posted by CODFreak34 (SOCIAL CIRCLE, GA) Jul 4, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played the demo and absolutly loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by 325 (EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO) Jun 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thisis a game for anyone. Everyone should play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh . . . Not worth it

posted by deusduce (BONNEY LAKE, WA) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fan-freaking-tastic graphics BUT controls are sloppy and cumbersome, customization is borderline boring/pointless, and to get a "new" car you have to first "find" it . . . extremely annoying while trying to avoid being busted by the cops. Overall I played for maybe an hour or two before deciding to spend time mowing the lawn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Still not right NFS

posted by Recian (NEW BERN, NC) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No manuals again. Some people cant drive automatics. The game is pretty good but I hate driving without being in control of gears.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Burnout Paradise 2 without the fun

posted by Laivendur (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this game on GameFly because I like to give the Need for Speed guys a chance. After reading the reviews, I though, "there is no way this is that bad of a game." I was wrong. It looks and feels like Burnout Paradise without the fun of crashing into things. Customizing your car is a joke. And as for a story line, there isn't much to it. I know it's a racing game and most don't really have any kind of story, but still, make it a little interesting. All in all, don't waste your time unless you enjoyed playing all of the aspects of Burnout Paradise minus crashing, laughing, and having actual fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse