Rent Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2005) for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2005)

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC, Xbox, DS, GBA
GF Rating
8.0

5596 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I feel the need...

posted by DelRio (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

35 out of 40 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

When I feel like doing 180 MPH through town with 18 cops chasing me, this is the game I play.

This game is massive, if you get bored with racing head to head with the competition, simply go roam around and cause some havoc. Part of the game entails building up your bounty, which puts you on the police department's blacklist. You want to climb your way to the top of the blacklist and this is no easy task. Cop challenges range from outrunning the cops for a certain amount of time, trading paint with them, busting through roadblocks and outrunning their helicopters.

I’ve been playing this game for a couple weeks straight and I am still not bored with it. With the endless options and upgrades you can do to your car and all of the different challenges from races to cop chases, this game has provided me with countless hours of fun!!!

I was renting this game, but I have now purchased it, it’s one of those games I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You won't take me alive copper!

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

44 out of 51 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Wow what a blast trying to dodge increasingly persistent cops! Although the graphics don't always impress they are really good. Draw distance, and details all around from buildings, other racers, npc vehicles, and even sunsets are truly high quality. But graphics are not all that makes a good game right? Racing around in your choice (depending on your cash situation) of some darn nice looking street racing standards, come with a real sense of speed. You will get a nice adrenaline rush as you progress through the most wanted race missions and the various achievement events such as running road blocks, causing as much damage and mayhem around the beautifully rendered fictional city. It is even quite a blast to just free roam the areas and scope out the many shortcuts and hiding places.
As usual you can upgrade and tune your ride to your own uniquely personal feel. Graphics, vinyl's, rims, absurdly huge spoilers, and performance modifications. Heck all the customizing options can keep you entertained without even racing once in a while.
NFS Most Wanted on the 360 does an admiral job of delivering incredible game play and satisfying visuals. This game is well worth the price, and should be an owner for all racing fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I got a need for speed!!!!!!!!!!

posted by SniperKat (RED BLUFF, CA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The graphics may not be the best ever but the are excellent. I think all game fly users agree with me when I say that this was the most excellent need for speed game ever made. Dodging cops. racing for pink slips to your opponents car, and dirty drivers. It's great!!!!!!!!!

The car vinyl's for the cars are the best. When I played I had a metallic silver mercedes with a dragon vinyl and a small bar like spoiler with the best body kit and I beat the game with it.

my opinion.

BEST GAME FREAKING EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

nfs

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

the best nfs in the saga i wish they could make another nfs like it
hey gamefly get more copies for the xbox 360 version please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by Zorfeth (Tujunga, CA) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game has all aspects of a good racing game.
All I have to say is that this game is freakin' fun,I rented it,but it won't hurt to buy it and play all you want and the fun will never stop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need For Speed Most Wanted

posted by Camroc5218 (Jersey City, NJ) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

FINALY, A race game comes out that I don't want to sell back to the store a day after purchase. This game rocks, real licensed from the manufacturer cars, crazy tracks, a free roam mode, and all the customizing you could possibly want. KILLER! My favorite part of the game is the Online Multiplayer. I'm a hardcore gamer(1st system, Colecovision '82) if I can't go online and burn Noobs up, then I don't want the game. NFS delivers. I rented it here, and bought it, because the multi was beggin for more. Check it out, I know you will dig it. peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just amazing

posted by MichaelD (HASBROUCK HEIGHTS, NJ) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

storyline:great and straight foward.you work your way up to the top of the blacklist 15 and try to claim your car back.its like a underdog story who started out with nothing and clawed his way to the top.
graphics:best ive seen so far in racing games.
gameplay:amazing,gives you a adrenaline rush in every race.
controls:very easy to handle without any problems.
replay:high

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it just keeps getting better

posted by dmdg5000 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I bought the xbox version of this chapter,and also the black edition which was awesome.im currently playing on the 360 and WOW.This is how this game was intended to be played.The visiuals are crisp.the cars have a fantastic realism.i loved this game on xbox and its even better on xbox 360.2 thumbs up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is fun!

posted by Slappy (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 8, 2006

Member since May 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Lots to do in this game and the graphics are pretty decent also. This is the first NFS on a "Next Gen" system and not a bad first attempt . The game play as always is very arcade like but driving physics are well done and they added a slow-motion feature for when you get into a tight situation that is really cool and actually works the way it supposed to. Working your way up from a no name street racer to take over the top spots while doing certain "missions" or just free driving around the cities. This game is pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quality Game

posted by 2Short11 (Los Angeles, CA) May 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Need for speed is in my opinion a great racing game, what's better than being chased by cops, or knocking other cars off the road? Anyways, in this game I was particularly impressed that it had an actual storyline. Additionally, the game has very good graphics for the cars and setting, and makes a cool shadowy effect for the people who talk to you sometimes. In this game you try and become number one on the blacklist( The leader's board for street racing). I definitely recommend getting this game, I would put this as number two on the best Xbox 360 games out right now, behind Oblivion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Lotsafreetime (MUNROE FALLS, OH) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't even like racing games. A friend of mine who does talked me into renting it because he wanted to try it so I did...and I got hooked. We rented this game when it first came out on the original Xbox. Loved it! Then I told another friend of mine about it that had a 360, and he loved it (he was also not a racing fan) and the best part on the 360 is subbing in your own music while you race. I don't own it, but I do go out of my way to rent it a couple times a year for the memories of what a perfect racing game feels like. The new ones just haven't captured the feel of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gotta Love the Cops!

posted by atvman29 (WINONA, MN) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Cops are back! I always missed the cops while playing the Underground games. But now Hot Pursuit has merged with Underground and its fun! Not the best example of next gen graphics but not too shabby.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun cars, but not as good as the others

posted by RedneckJoe (FREELAND, MD) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Fun game, but you have to play and play in order to get enough unlockables to make the game really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ANOTHER ONE

posted by gamer109 (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

THIS NEED FOR SPEED GAME IS OK. THIS GAME HAS VERY GOOD GRAPHICS. I LIKE IT BECAUSE IT IS REALSTIC. I LIKE THE NEW CARS THAT OUR IN IT. IT HAS WAY TO LONG STORYLINE I BELIEVE IN MY OPPINOIN. BUT OTHER THAN THAT I GIVE THIS GAME REVIEW A 7.2 ADVICE GO HEAD AND BUY THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HARD TO PUT DOWN

posted by Smitty027 (BURLINGTON, NC) Jun 6, 2006

Member since May 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! You can get yourself into all kinds of different situations and most will have you on the edge of your seat. The most fun is running from the cops at level 4 or 5. You really have to be on your toes to get away. You run from Choppers, GTO's Unmarked cars,SUV's And when you see the Cross's Vette's in your review you better hit the nitrous. The only problem I have had with the game is that it freezes every now and then. When this happens after 10 mins of evading on level 4 and you just achieved your milestone to get to the #3 guy on the black list it stings a little.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tough but fun.

posted by Shazoo (TITUSVILLE, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Another great addition to the need for speed series, most wanted has great new features such as HDR lighting, bring your pupils to a near close when you race into the sun light, and widening when you enter darker areas. The online play is weak as it offers nothing new, and very little as you can only race cars that you own, so many matches are far out-classed. Single player is where this game shines, unfortunately you need alot of patience and you'll find yourself doing races sometimes more than 5 times with that frustration, bump 1 wall wrong and you lose factor. Got the patience? Buy the game, if not, just rent it and have fun for a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Sounds, Graphics, but a Little too Difficult

posted by TiredTeach (BINGHAMTON, NY) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After a long day of work you should be able to pick up a game and play. This version has no way to set the difficulty lower on the career mode. This takes away the thrill of winning and creates angst. I suggest working adults try Mario Kart, Daytona USA, or Cruisin' USA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Making racing simulation a reality...

posted by GMR2GMR (LIMA, OH) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Need For Speed: Most Wanted is making racing simulation into reality!


Need For Speed: Most Wanted is the best Racing Game to date, that I have ever played. The only rival I can see for this game is Test Drive: Unlimited, which is yet to be completed or released.


First off, the graphics in this game are amazing. The rendered computer vehicles come to life and almost seem as if they are real when you are driving them. Along with the graphics of the vehicles, most of the physics are truly outstanding!


Secondly, the game play is extremely realistic. When you are racing in the Blacklist, it feels almost as if you are actually Wanted when you are actually racing and even when you are not playing the game, you still feel as if you are the racer behind the wheel of your car.


Every time I play this game it makes me want to keep going. When I beat Blacklist 10, then 9, I didn't stop. I sat there and I beat 8, 7, 6, 5, 4 and 3 before I took a break. The game doesn't last too long, but the massive amounts of modes that you can enter into, is what makes this the BEST Racing Game of the Year in my book, so far!


I would Recommend that you rent this game off of GameFly and then purchase it! It's worth every last penny. You will NOT be sorry for renting and/or buying this game!


I give this game a 9 our of 10!


Good Specs:



Great Graphics


Realistic Game play


Tons of Game Modes to keep you going


Good Online Multiplayer



Poor Specs:



Some rendered graphics aren't always truly amazing, but they are good.


When engaged with lots of cops, game sometimes lags, but the lag ends about 5-10 seconds later


Game is a little short on Career Mode


A little repetitive, but not too repetitive.



Again, I give a 9 out of 10 and I recommend this game to anyone who has been wanting to find a truly amazing racing game for the XBOX 360 or any system for that matter. This makes racing simulation a reality!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7.5/10

posted by hoodstarr (FORT IRWIN, CA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The graphics are phenomenal and the game looks very smooth. The best feature is the police chases. They took my favorite event which is drifting, so that was a let down for me. They also changed the car line up from imports to mostly luxury cars, which doesn't appeal to me as much. The worst feature on this game compared to the previous in the NFS series is the car customization, it lacks a lot. You can't do nearly as much stuff to the cars as you could in the past. Especially in comparison to the car customization in games like Midnight Club 3: Dub Edition. All in all the game is above average, but kind of a let down from what I expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome new entry to the franchise

posted by demonking (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games for the 360 to date, it has nice graphics, and a heightened sense of speed. However, the only downside is the story which is predictable from the begining. One of most improved element would have to be the cop chases from NFS hot pursuit 2. I highly reccomend this game to every who owns a 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It Sucked

posted by Hydrazine (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Jul 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I hated this game because its auto handling is completely unreal for a sports car.
Over steer.
Under steer.
Snap oversteer.
Slow response rate.

Handling on all the cars was anything but sports car like. They all felt like a big fat Cadillac on the road course.

It was so annoying I couldn't play the game.
Despite the good graphics, I give it a low rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best in the NFS series, however..

posted by dskyyy (SEVERN, MD) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is, by far, the best in the Need for Speed [underground] series, however, I feel as if it didn't use the 360's technology to the fullest. For the most part (emphasis on the most part) you probably couldn't tell the difference if this was played on the Xbox (regular) or the 360. However, despite that fact, the game is definitely fun. Albeit a bit repetitive, the races can get intense, the soundtrack is good (minus a few songs), the car list is accurate to their real life counterparts, the modifications list and options is great, and can totally create a truely unique car from all the rest. 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

need work

posted by PlusGrizz (SCOTTSVILLE, KY) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 29 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

hi

it good game need work on contorls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesomeeeeeeeee

posted by archangel2596 (BETHLEHEM, PA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

this is the most challenged game i ever played and the greatest need for speed ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only NFS title that I completely enjoyed.

posted by Relyat08 (GAINESVILLE, VA) Aug 23, 2012

Member since May 2010

I love this title. It is, in my opinion, the best arcade racer ever developed. The entire game is just amazing. I have probably played the entire game through 15 times including getting first place in all of the cop challenges. If I had to complain about anything at all, it would be the lack of customization to the cars, but it was good enough in that regard and everything else was so good that it completely made up for that tiny little complaint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse