Rent Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2005) for Xbox
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2005)

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, GC, DS, Xbox 360, GBA
GF Rating
8.3

1999 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I feel the need...

posted by DelRio (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I feel like doing 180 MPH through town with 18 cops chasing me, this is the game I play.

This game is massive, if you get bored with racing head to head with the competition, simply go roam around and cause some havoc. Part of the game entails building up your bounty, which puts you on the police department's blacklist. You want to climb your way to the top of the blacklist and this is no easy task. Cop challenges range from outrunning the cops for a certain amount of time, trading paint with them, busting through roadblocks and outrunning their helicopters.

I’ve been playing this game for a couple weeks straight and I am still not bored with it. With the endless options and upgrades you can do to your car and all of the different challenges from races to cop chases, this game has provided me with countless hours of fun!!!

I was renting this game, but I have now purchased it, it’s one of those games I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best NFS Yet!

posted by akarimco (Joliet, IL) May 8, 2006

Member since May 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Need for Speed: Most Wanted manages to take the best aspects of the most innovative Need for Speed games and blend them together to create what is easily the best NFS game yet!

So what were those "innovative" NFS games? Well first there was the original Need for Speed, one of the first games to truly and accurately represent real-world cars in a racing game. Specifically, though, the 3DO version, released before the more popular PC, Playstation, and Saturn versions, had a clearly-defined adversary, represented by videos that portrayed a cocky, trash-talking street racer. It gave winning a little more satisfaction than you'd find in other racing games at the time. Then, there was NFS3: Hot Pursuit, which brought the series back after the mediocre second installment, with the inclusion of the incredibly fun Hot Pursuit mode, even allowing you to be the cop if you so chose. The series was riddled by mediocre installments until NFS: Underground was released, offering yet another infusion of fun into the series, adding car modding and fully realizing the concept of street racing.

Most Wanted takes the best aspects of these games and brings them together, all the while improving on the concepts that made its predecessors so great. Most Wanted gives you a defined adversary, brought to life by a motivating storyline that will have you screaming for vengeance. The police chases in Most Wanted are the best in any game I've played, especially with the dramatic music that brings back memories of the Metal Gear Solid series. Of course, your car is also fully modifiable, inside and out. Add to that a well designed and large, free-roaming city, similar to NFS: Underground 2 but more suburban, and what's not to like?

NFS: Most Wanted certainly isn't the most innovative game in the now 12-game-long, 13-year-old Need for Speed series, but it masterfully blends the best innovations of its older siblings, making it easily the most enjoyable Need for Speed game yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game rules!

posted by FireLover (VENTURA, CA) Jul 31, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game doesnt even compare to other need 4 speed games, other games are all about just racing but in this game there are so many options, the story line sounds realistic. The story is ur a street racer workin ur way up the blacklist when you encounter razor calllahan(hes number 1 on the blacklist) you begin the race as normal only to find hes tweaked with ur ride. causing you to lose the race and ur car and this is a nice car too. So after losing your car you buy a ordinary looking car but then get to soup it up and totally trick it out, the game progresses as you slowly make your way up the blacklist till you get to number one and try to get ur car back. You have got to rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NFS: MS = Good Arcade Racing

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Aug 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yay
-Best "story" for a racing game yet. Story in the loosest term available...
-Maintains nice arcade-style racing of previous NFS games.
-Josie Maran
-The use of stylistic full-motion video is actually pulled-off quite well. "Night Trap" and "Space Pirates" this ain't!
-Hitting poles and other object can fly back and strike another car, or they can run over it. Detail!
-Pursuitbreakers are usually cool to pull off.

Eh
-Chase A.I. for cops could be better.
-No motorcycle cops
-Mini-game after beating a Blacklist member MAY result in obtaining his pink slip. Not fair since according to the story, you had to give up your pink. You should get their car automatically.
-"Free Roam" is nice but kind of pointless if you can simply choose from a menu anyway.
-No damage-modeling ala Flatout or Burnout. If they can do it, why can't NFS?

Boo
-Some collision issues. I found an invisible wall near the edge of a fallen antenna, which resulted in my capture. Drat!
-Not too many cars to choose from, specifically foreign tuner cars (no old-school Honda's or Acuras?)
-Not enough Josie Maran

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Cops

posted by nikeman (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When you are on the run from the cops look for red triangle icons. Drive through the object that is holding the large object up. Drive into a gas station and drive into the gas pumps. Then all of the cops around you will automatically be disabled.then you can be free of the cops for good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO- OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

posted by maddog2575 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

OH MY GOD THIS IS THE GREATEST RACING GAME EVER!!!!!
this game rules. the graphics are great. the controls are great, the police chases R-U-L-E, and it just rules.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NFS: MOST WANTED

posted by snotty1 (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 1, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

great game reminds me of the 1st NFS, way back on playstation 1's, grafic's r good, control ain't sluggish, and the cops r still keystonf,lol
the only thing that is missing is the playbacks, like me I like 2 watch the races r chase sence after I'ved play them, 2 c how bad I'm really driving,lol, but other then that its a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best racing game yet

posted by Burner84 (CASA GRANDE, AZ) Aug 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best racing game yet. With a better story then the previous NFS games and better graphics this is the best NFS game yet. With the interduction of speed breaker (slow motion) you can slow things down for those tight corners and use your Nos to keep your speed as you race through city streets at almost 200 mph. NFSMW has an okay selection of cars(30+) that you can customize to the way you like them, just add a better engine, transmission, suspension, tires, brakes, Nos and top it all off with a super charger and your ready to hit the road. Enter races to get your car back that you loose to razor in the opening sequence or have a little fun with the cops in free roam. In free roam you can play with the cops but they don't play nice they will set up road blocks, send in suv's and even the spike strips. Oh and watch out for the helicopter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally giving what we want but could there be mor

posted by Onisan (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) May 2, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Need For Speed Most Wanted reminds me of NFS Hot Pursuit mostly..But i still find that the original gave me some cooler features..For instance, the in car view. It would of been great to see that in this title especially on the 360. But ofcorse this is the xbox review so i wont be as critical.

Story: They tried something new here putting in actual actors and a not so bad story. You start off with A nice BMW but your car is sabotaged by your oppenet and you loose the race. Now there is this thing called the blacklist that you have to work your way up to get your revenge.

Gameplay: Plenty of modes to keep you satisfied, but when it comes to Xbox Live its not that good because of a certain cheat everyone uses to put there car to the max. It would of been nicer to actually see a normal car against another without the cheat to actually see who worked harder. In single player you can do a lot of cool things, like getting your bounty up on you by getting chased by cops and escaping, and races as in drag, circuit, etc.. But it if fun actually racing the bosses, even if they get a little predictable.

Fun factor: This game gives you a good 10 hours of gameplay or more depending if you rush threw it.
But it can get a little repetitive sometimes and you may wish to actually do some more things in it you cant.

Story:7.5
Gameplay:8.5
Fun Factor:8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NFS-MW

posted by valcron (ENGLEWOOD, FL) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pros

-putting supercars back in the game is a big plus
-having the cops chase you is the greatest addition to the new NFS games and one of the only things the Underground games lacked
-better cut-scenes and storyline. there is actually a plot
-unlike Underground 2, you do not have to drive all the way across town to partake in a race if you do not want to
-longer gameplay time before you beat it and become bored

Cons

-cop chases are fun, but being forced to endure frustrating super-long chases in order to advance the story is a bit over the top
-BIG step down from NFSU2 as far as customizing your ride
-you race in the daytime, all the time. i dunno. i just don't like that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need for games

posted by Tommy56 (RENO, NV) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was alright, it was pretty fun, although it only has 30+ cars you can get, so their isn't much variety. It's fun, but you get bored fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

all of the elements

posted by soxfan (ELKHART, IN) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

from all of the need for speed series need i say more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Of The Entire NFS Saga

posted by Jokes16 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This is the best game that has ever been made, in my opinion, in regards to the car racing genre and the Need for Speed series. It is amazing. That is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best racer ever!

posted by Relyat08 (GAINESVILLE, VA) Aug 30, 2011

Member since May 2010

The sensation of speed is awesome, the story is good, and the cars are beautiful! This game is what I always wanted in a racer. Open-road high speed racing, cop chases, wiggling through down-town streets, an open-world style map. This is it. Its not realistic by any means, but its not supposed to be. Its not a cheap party arcade racer either though. Its right where it needs to be. Its an arcade racer with well-thought out tracks and courses, good driving dynamics and great cars and it has a good story on top of that. Its basically the perfect racer in my opinion. Its the only game I've given a 10 to so far as well. I've played through this game probably 15 times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NFS most wanted RULES!!!!!

posted by BISENN (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

As the title says this game RULES!! I play it everytime I go to my friends house. My car is a Gallroddo!!! So i can out run cops like nothing. My friends number one on the police blacklist so they chase him a lot. My favorate part of cop chases are the corvet cops and ramming the cops so they spin in a circle. I hate the heavy suv cops they destroy you then you get busted. well thats my review hoped you liked it!!!! P.s. try buying the car parts. Make sure there the ultmate packs!!! It will make you bad to the bone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

N.F.S most wanted

posted by thomaston (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

I gotta say i really impressed with this game the graphics are stunning and amazing and it will blow you away cars are sweet and perfect characters in this game I reccomemed you should buy this videogame for either 360 or original xbox it doesn't really matter beacause the xbox and 360 have like the same graphics enjoy gamefly members.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by gamer2max3 (BEVERLY HILLS, CA) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is absolutely great. Great story and realistic cars defiantly makes this very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Need for Speed: Most Wanted

posted by SHRIMP (CYPRESS, TX) Jun 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

This game is very fun but i like forza motorsport better.

Graphics: 3/5
Gameplay: 4.5/5
Rent/Buy: Buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Addicting!

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I found this game perfect and addicting. The only reasons it has a 9 out of 10 is 1. The cop heats are limited to your current Blacklist position 2. There is one glitch that happens on all systems [I used to have it on GC], it usually happens mid-drift, the game freezes and starts buzzing annoying enough to give you a headache, but all you have to do is turn off the game. Save frequently in your Safe House to avoid losing data. Anyway, this game is actually better than ProStreet! Out of all the NFS Games, this has the best storyline. Great graphics...... I got so addicted to it I played it almost all weekend! I Made it to Ming, but didn't beat him. One of the best things is the pursuits. I love the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Would have fun if I could play it.

posted by Redbull437 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This is one of the last 3 games that I have gotten from GameFly that I could NOT play. It is not that I am physically incapable of playing it, it would not work. I have not given up hope and canceled my membership. I just wish they were screened or something before they are shipped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Need for Speed: Most Wanted

posted by djvdud1123 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

THE GAME I HAVE IS LOST IN MY HOUS CAN YOU DO SOME THING TO HELP PLEAS OR LET US HAVE IT HOW MACH DAS IS COST.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The game that gives u that excitement ur lookin 4!

posted by infogamer (SPARKS, NV) May 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Need For Speed:Most Wanted is hands down one of the best racing games out there for the Xbox.You can do everything
from customizing cars to running from cops.Its fun to just smash into cars too.The only way to have fun with this game, is to play it.So stop readin and go play!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but it has its flaws

posted by MDBluesfan (MANCHESTER, MD) Mar 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

The arcade-style street racing genre has had no shortage of games the past few years, but this one establishes itself as a solid member of that pack.

For the most part, the game does enough things right to keep you entertained. The story dumps you into a thoroughly average car to start, but the early levels are more than easy enough to get you some wins and some much needed cash for upgrading your ride. In fact, the first two thirds of the game will probably feel exceptionally easy to you if you're at all familiar with racing games.

The only thing that will challenge you is, in my opinion, the game's biggest flaw: The rubber-banding is insane. The AI cars aren't very good on their own, but they'll cover vast distances in a very short amount of time to make up for it. This works in reverse, too (especially early in the game), but it's unlikely you'll find yourself so far behind that you'll need this artificial balancing.

Souping up your car is simplified, but still satisfying. Instead of purchasing individual parts, you buy packages of parts. There's no choice involved; you simply buy the next level upgrade from one of a few categories (brakes, suspension, engine, etc.). You'll have the money for a new car fairly quickly, but you can also stick with your original car for nearly the entire game if you sink a lot of money into parts. In fact, I never bought a car after the first one. By the time my Cobalt SS had become less competitive, I'd won a pair of quicker cars off of my rivals to handle the last few stages.

The story gets an unfair amount of praise, IMO. It's sparse, predictable, and barely more than an excuse to have a slew of races. I didn't find myself playing just to unravel more of the story. The cut scenes aren't as bad as you might expect, but they aren't spectacular, either.

A few of the races get a bit tedious, and they all feel about the same, but the arcade style racing is as fun as any game this side of the Burnout series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!

posted by 9876543211 (CLAREMORE, OK) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

DON'T RENT THIS GAME JUST BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

running from the devil!!!!

posted by kingsalami (APOPKA, FL) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

i enjoy the plice chases the most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse