Rent Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2005) for PS2
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2005)

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, GBA, Xbox, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
8.3

2600 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The most addictive racing game out there.

posted by Barrenzye (EL PASO, TX) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Need For Speed Most Wanted is one of the most brilliantly designed racing games I have ever played.
All visual aspects of the game are absolutely stunning:
-The animation is fluid
-The models are slick
-The landscape is big and beautiful, but thankfully not too big; It is just the right size to keep you interested, not overwhelmed.
-The colors are fantastic, especially the iridescent paint jobs that are available in the customization shop.

The sound in the game is very realistic, and the voice acting is (with the exception of razor) very well done.
I would have preferred a larger soundtrack, as the constant repetition of songs became somewhat annoying...

The storyline is... ok.
But it's a racing game, so the story line is the least of my concerns.
However, it was still a somewhat engaging story, and there were one or two plot-twists...

The gameplay can be summed up with one word:
Addictive.
I seriously found myself playing this game for 4-6 hours in a row on some days without once feeling bored.
I can proudly say that very few games have such an effect on me, and it is for this reason that I give this game a perfect 10.

This is without a doubt the best title in the Need For Speed series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT!!!!!!! THIS IS THE BEST RACING GAME EVER!!!!

posted by ChRiS1 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Ive played alot of racing games and most wanted ranks #1 in my book. I get really tired of "impossible" games like Gran Turismo Ect. that basically require a college degree in order to beat or even win a single race. Don't get the wrong idea it remains very challenging while staying fun and giving countless upgrades and new cars. If you love racing games and don't want to throw your control through the t.v. this is the game for you even if your not the best racer in the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by Bosnian08 (DES MOINES, IA) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NEED FOR SPEED MOST WANTED IS 1 OF THE BEST GAMES EVER MADE INCLUDING NEED FOR SPEED 2

I have been playing nfs games since they came out i have bought all of the old nfs games and keep them just because they are the greatest games ever
Most wanted is so fun you drive nice fast Cars
The map is fun u can take the highway around the 1st city and mess with the cops
Cops arent that bad until u get to level 6 which is hard so good luck
I have played this game and nfs 2 for 10 straight with my cousins and friends
Best Game Ever if you dont have it Buy it
You wont regret it
P>S THey have the Pontiac GTO which Most new Games they make Dont So BUY it Keep It Play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best racers.

posted by marcus12 (CANTON, IL) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are thinking about renting this game, dont't; buy it. I don't know if anyone realizes it but this game truly is suburb. It definitly beats Need for Speed Carbon. The story-line is detailed, the graphics dominate the Playstation 2. The cars are realistic and beautiful. My current vehical is a Black Lamborgini Gallardo. It drives very well. I also have a dodge viper, and the fastest car on the game, the BMW. It is the car that was stolen from you, the player. The game is based on you getting a new car. And making your way back up the Black List. The blacklist has 15 racers. Your job is to make your way back up it then beat Razor, the guy who cheated your car. After you beat him you will gain back your car. The game is full of surprises and high speed races. Welcome to Rockport city, and good luck. Your going to need it.

5 out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Intense game...But it suffers from the "R" word

posted by superhomer (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since May 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game for the first 15-20 hours or so is a blast!

The police pursuits are really quite fun overall but they become impossible after a while if you really want a high bounty.

The car customization keeps things interesting for awhile (but the performance parts cost way too much for each items relative to the money you win with each race).

The problem for the game is that is starts getting very repetitive. Oh, I forgot to mention repetitive? Just in case you forgot, repetitive, repetitive, repetitive. There isn't very much variety after the initial fun and excitement.

If you are a hard-core racing fan I'm sure you can take this until the end. If not, enjoy it for awhile and then put it away because things don't change that much.

Still a highly recommended game but stop after about 15-20 hours. Definitely, one of the most intense police racing games I've played....but once again, repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best need for speed yet

posted by khler7 (SAINT JOHNS, FL) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

all right this is another need for speed game it is in a new city and has all new challenges. it starts out with your caricature an underground racer named......and you are racing razor your racors enemy but he messes with your car making you loose. then you have to get new cars and build them up to fit your speed needs. in this version you get faster and better cars such as the porce carrea gt, or the lambo gallardo. but in the end razor gets whats coming to him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I feel the need...

posted by DelRio (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

When I feel like doing 180 MPH through town with 18 cops chasing me, this is the game I play.

This game is massive, if you get bored with racing head to head with the competition, simply go roam around and cause some havoc. Part of the game entails building up your bounty, which puts you on the police department's blacklist. You want to climb your way to the top of the blacklist and this is no easy task. Cop challenges range from outrunning the cops for a certain amount of time, trading paint with them, busting through roadblocks and outrunning their helicopters.

I’ve been playing this game for a couple weeks straight and I am still not bored with it. With the endless options and upgrades you can do to your car and all of the different challenges from races to cop chases, this game has provided me with countless hours of fun!!!

I was renting this game, but I have now purchased it, it’s one of those games I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NFS Most Wanted

posted by Molecule1 (WARREN, OH) May 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Gone are the days when you need to fear the Fuzz. In their place is instead, a nice blend of street racing and modifications with a heaping pile of break-neck high speed pursuits. But don't expect to do any of your underground racing at night because this NFS takes place in full daylight.

Along with the new time of day, this game features a new rival ladder of sorts that only allows you to challenge the next rival when your rep is high enough for the current tier. The vehicle selection is a bit different this time around with some of the sorely missed exotics making their rounds. The graphics are a little bit better than the previous installments but not improved enough to be earth shattering. The controls are tight with the addition of a refilling nitrous bottle. You heard me right, refilling. Now you don't have to stop boosting while running from the FBI.

The vehicle customization is not quite as robust as the other games in the series with less choices of body kits and smaller selections for vinyls, but still offers enough depth so that when you play online, you aren't likely to see the same car twice (unless of course you get beaten by the same guy over and over again). The storyline can be very predictable at times, and the game can appear a little flat to the veterans of the series. The EA Trax selection is good as usual with a wide array of Hip-hop and Rap titles for the modern gamer.

Overall this game does have its share of shortcomings, but offers enough improvements to remain a good experience. Definitely worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome need for speed!

posted by hogol55676 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok i love this game.I have a cool car.I think you should BUY it!i got 20 cops on my tail.i get a fast car,pimp it out,and ride.but Vick was hard
=( but i beat him=) .i got to the.... dark whats his face.I think Need For Speed is AWESOME.

keep on riding need for speed lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need For Speed Most Wanted

posted by indianman (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 4, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Although the game play is pretty standard it has its moments of splendor. The graphics leave little to be desired. The tracks are all the same, and have little change to them.
If you only like racing during the day this is the game for you. Traction control when it rains is the same as when it is dry. The best part of the game I feel is the pursuits that do get more and more difficult as the game progresses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally......

posted by btshaman (LINTON, IN) May 4, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Definitely one of the best games of the year, they crossed Need for Speed Hot Pursuit and Need for Speed Underground and out popped a bouncin' NFS Most Wanted. I have been waiting on another cop bustin' NFS ever since Hot Pursuit 2, finally it arrived. The game gets very challenging towards the end, but that is what we like right! I recommend this to anyone and everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Show me your license and....

posted by Etched (PASCOAG, RI) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Were else can you go 200mph in some of the hottest cars with a full police force hunting you down. (Only in CA I guess.) this game will never let anyone down. Between proving your #1 and the milestones you are at war with everyone. They took the best of a classic racing game and turned the cops against you. Nothing is better then this. If you like driving fast and escaping the cops then you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME

posted by Trickdaddy (OAKLEY, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was seriously the best interactive driving game i've ever played, the way it could break into a police chase at any moment during career mode as you're driving the streets truly gave it a "real" feeling. the AI was very smart and offered great challenge. the one thing i didn't like in the game was that the cars (you own and drive) didn't take any damage, i understand that you need to drive your car through pursuit breakers and through other objects to rake up points but no damage really takes away from the "real" experience. The story line was alright and very simple and really is the way things are... you got ta be number 1. over all this game was a very exciting and adrenaline pumping game, i can only hope the next installment in the series is as good (or better) then NFSMW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweet Rides And Overall game

posted by Slacker211 (TOBYHANNA, PA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game will never bore anyone that is a person that like to drive fast and really cant do 180 on the streets so we turn to this. the feeling of 180 in this game is sweet.

Over all i love this game, I have played and Beat both undergrounds and loved every second of the games.

The only downfall of the game is the options for the cars it is cut down by 3/4 of what underground has in it, This game would be much better if it had more upgrades in all parts of the car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Feel The Need For Some Speeed!!!!!!!!

posted by videogameg (PONCE DE LEON, FL) Apr 18, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is all about the cop chases illeagly street racing costimizing your to the max..I really enjoyed this game so i bought if you like free roam game you love this one dodging cars destroying cop car running from the cops and having your own tan cars to pimp out.....These are my two fastest cars what will be yours??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best racing-cop chasing games out there

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 23, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

GAMEPLAY: The gamplay in NFS:MW is very fun.. escpecially the cop chases! But.. towards the end of the game.. the cop chases become EXTREMELY difficult to evade and get away from, because you'll have helicopters and roadblocks everywhere that it just becomes too hard! It is really fun to costomize your car though! There are tons of different things to do to your car and everything just looks really nice no-matter what!
STORY: Really not much to say about the story.. its not that good.. but.. really no racing game has a good staory anyway so im not going to judge this game on story.
GRAPHICS: The graphics on NSF:MW are very good. The lighting one the roads and on the cars and all the good detail on everything just make this game look very real! The cutscenes look good too, although its done with real people and not with the graphical capability but it still looks REALLY good and still looks like a game so its hard to tell the difference.
OVERALL: Very fun to play. but it gets way to hard!
RATING: 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

If Only.

posted by Tarnished (DALLASTOWN, PA) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Be prepared to be frustrated. Though not as bad as Midnight Club 3: Dumb Edition, this game's AI is magical. One lap you'll be ahead by a fairly good margain, and by the first turn of the second the AI is up your bumper. This problem is worse whenever you challenge a Blacklist racer. They always seem to get a speed boost when about to lose. Number 10 especailly. I don't mind difficult games, but this game just takes advantage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My kinda game

posted by eclipse (WASHINGTON, DC) May 2, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the best racing game i have ever played, because you get to run the feds, and it is challenging because it is a lot of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!!

posted by Nicolas (FORT MYERS, FL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I had originally rented this game but it was so cool I bought it. I have played it twice and I am still not bored. The cop chases are beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I feel the need to slide all over the road

posted by clasaa (WEST HOMESTEAD, PA) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I think its a close as you can get to a good racing game. I think that they could have did a little more research on the vehicles and well police maneuvers. Certain cars are built for speed and well the Porsche dosen't slide around corners like a Cobalt, but in this game it does. And for the police well they do most of the moves that were in the game especially in Calif.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good but to hard at the end

posted by andrewsg (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ok it took me like 5 days to get to the final race at the end there is a getaway themed race whgere you become the most wanted street racer and get your car back but you still have to get away and when i beat it it gave me a summary of what i did and thge last mission took me like 70 trys about 4 hours straight one bad thing about the game is there really left out the custisation there arent very many things you can do to the car also i beat the game using a db9 aston martin that car has pretty low starts compared to the other high end cars in the game like the turbo porshe and the vett and so on but i put the high end parts in it and bought the other cars and put the same parts in them and my car was way faster so dont be fooled by the stock stats alot of those high ends cars well only let you put certain things in them stick with a evo aston marin for most of the game evo for the early race and the astin martin later in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the NFS I knew and loved

posted by Phoenix23 (SAINT JOHNSBURY, VT) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

When I first played NFS on the PS1 I loved it, the cars were hot, they were all unique and my friends and I enjoyed hours of head to head racing. I played the second one and was somewhat let down so I hadn't played an NFS game since. When I joined gamefly it was to try new things, and maybe catch up on old series that I hadn't played in a while. So, I had high hopes that by now the developers of this game would have figured out a way to bring this franchise back to its old glory. Unfortunately I was wrong, dead wrong. This game was not only frustrating to control but became one long car chase about halfway through the story mode. In order to advance the story you have to engage in inane missions to elude the police in an attempt to gain "bounty" on your cars. The main problem with this is that in order to gain the bounty necessary to continue I sometimes had to engage in 1/2 hour long sessions of simply going in circles to build up the required amount of heat on me, only to make one little mistake, and have to start all over. To me that is not what makes a fun racing game, racing is what makes a fun racing game. My other major complaint with the game was with the "drag" races, in which, for some unfathomable reason the developers felt the need to make the already poor controls even worse.
If that wasn't bad enough they also made it so that even if you have a massive lead, if you make one mistake you lose, period. That may be realistic but it doesn't make for a very fun experience. I have played many racing games over the years and have to say that I wouldn't play this one if it was the only one left. Luckily we are blessed with several other racing games that make this on look like go-carts compared to F-1, including but not limited to Burnout and Midnight Club, so if you are looking for a fun arcade racer try one of them, and leave this one alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must have for the ps2

posted by Kratos_man (SEFFNER, FL) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

must have beaten this game like 4 times thin thes the cop's ddddddaaaaaang i love it u need like a mil of bonty to v.s the last street racer one of my profils i have ove 150 mil so fun thin if all theas thing you can do speed traps try to beat your time. thers qwick race customize race &car's wich are free (off the campin) the tuning is crazy good and last win uv beat the game twice you figer out if u git most to all performance enhancements from the boses yor can make ur dream can in the game perfict to the _T

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by POWER13 (SYKESVILLE, MD) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

i have had this game for a while and have restarted it so many times.this game has a fantastic story to it and is also challenging.fantastic game!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET!!

posted by goodwrench (YUMA, AZ) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

I had this game 4 yrs. I didnt need 2 get it off of gamefly.

I personly think that it is THE racing game that i think beats all other racing games I played!!!

I enjoy getting chased by cops any time!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse