Rent Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2005) for GC
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2005)

Not Rentable
Also on:GBA, DS, Xbox, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.3

591 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

It's all about value!

posted by Coolguy (ROCKWALL, TX) May 7, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Need for speed most wanted is the latest racing game from electronic arts.(EA)

Goods: The cops are back! More super cars.

Bads: Not a lot of tuner cars. Not a lot to play after you beat game.

Need for speed Most Wanted features cops for the first time since Hot pursuit 2. Also to game brings back some of the faster cars that made NFS great. Aka. Lamborghinis etc... Also the game it's self is fun.

Alright if it wasn't for this one missing piece I would give this game a 10. After you beat the game there is nothing to do that is a fun as just doing the game over again. I've beaten it twice in a combined total of about 40 hours. (I spend a lot of my time driving around the city). Last but not least they got rid of many of the good tuner cars. AKA. Skyline, 350z.

Overall the lives up to my expectations, it is great but it just basically lost it's street greatness, in exchange for cops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is crunk!

posted by nike613 (COLUMBUS, OH) May 5, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i've played this game before and it was so good im renting it again its the best racer on the cube much better than nfsu2 and driving in the daylight is cool plus getting chased by 5.0 was bangin! my only gripe is that there is no drift mode that's what i loved about the other games in the series other wise this game gets a 10 but since there's no drift races (on the black list) it gets a slightly smaller score! otherwise i love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need For Speed

posted by darkman (MILFORD, PA) Sep 27, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game kept me and my kids going for some time. The adrenaline rush that it gave to run around the tracks and run from the police (something that we would never do for real) and all the options made it a game we intend to buy.

I recommend it to anyone who is looking for action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!!!!

posted by hellogames (SOMERS, CT) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story is good and the cops are smart as heck! The percentage of me escaping the police on condition 5 is like 3 of 10. The races are cool and so are the cars. But the only problem is the soundtrack. I would completely recommend people to buy or even rent this game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cop evasion, GENIOUS!

posted by emerson (SOUTH BEND, IN) Aug 24, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I may not be the most avid gamer, but i know a good game when i see(play) one. "Need for Speed, Most Wanted" is a great game nesescary for anyone who likes racing games. the large free roam map gives you unbridled freedom to rule the roads. and the thrilling cop chases can testr drivers of any skill, you dont even have to rent this game, you should just flatout BUY it. Trust Me this game is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE THIS GAME (MUST RENT!!!)

posted by kingfrisco (RICHMOND, CA) Aug 4, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

IT IS 1 OF DA BEST RACIN' GAME ON GAMECUBE.
HAVE 1 OF THE BEST SOUNDTRACK THAT EA MADE TO DATE.

COPS R BACK AND THERE BETTER AND TUNED UP TO BUSTED UR BUTT HEAT 6 IS THE FUNNY'S HEAT IF UR GOOD LIKE ME

THEY HAVE NO FREE RUN CUZ THEY WILL NOT KNOW WHAT HEAT TO PUT U AND U WILL NOT HAVE THE FUN TO GET THE BOUNTY AND THAT OTHER STIFF U GET WHEN U FINISH A POCILE CHASE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Need for speed most wanted

posted by redheadguy (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This is the best game ever! It was so good that I rented it twice!I always use the cheat codes and with this game they were realy awesome! The best part about this game was the cops!!!!! They are so much like humans. The graphics in this game are just as good as the ps3. I highly recomend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EVILLLLLLLLLLLLLlLLL

posted by VivaLaVida (FREEPORT, IL) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is ok besides the fact that when you beat the game theres nothing to do and some of the blacklist racers are to hard.Like # 15-12 there milestones and race challenges are somewhat easy but after you beat # 12 Izzy it gets way to hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

instant classic

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Title says it all1 the game easily one of the best looking on the game cube and is just plain fun! still playing it today just now on my wii.

the is one nfs game that's hard for ea to top! pro street was fun if you want a track game. and carbon just wasn't as much fun as most wanted. as for nfs under cover not sure but it looks like it could be the successor to this great title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best need for speed game!!!!

posted by Smashbro (JUPITER, FL) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I know I said that underground 2 was the best but I've changed my mind Most wanted is the best!!!!
Awesome game play with great graphics and sounds!!!
You can get chased by cops and make your car look super cool from body kits to top performance.
The fun never ends you can keep on getting new cars and face 15 different bosses!!!!
Also there is a wide selection of different races!
And 64 challenges in challenge mode! Even multiplayer is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by Z58Net (TOLEDO, OH) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is a sweet game to play and defiantly the best out of the series including pro street this is the best need for speed made. I would recomend it for xbox 360 though for best graphic results. this game has awesome cop chases escpeccillay when you get to heat 5 the slow motion camera is awesome so dont turn that off in your options. the best cars for you to use are the Colbalt SS, Eclipse, cadillac cts, porsch caymen, ford mustang, lambo marcialago, ford GT, mercades, and porsch carrea. always pick the 3 question marks so you can get the blacklist car the one you just beat and $10,000 or get out of jailfree, extra strike bonus. (you might not get the blacklists car every time my trick is to save before the blacklist races and if you do not get his/hers car then go load your game again and do the races over and try again.)I hope that helps you out. And i hope that helps you make a decission for any street racing fan and fellow video gamer....................- ......................

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST GAME; but...

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

Unfortunetly I am still only about 50% complete after purchasing it in Nov 05. This is is hard!!! I hope that Pro Street for the Wii will be better then Carbon (horrible Wii controls); and have the control scheme to match the game this time. Not to mention fun to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

need for speed:most wanted

posted by luna91187 (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

my name is chris i thought the game was bad . it isnt very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Racing Games at its best

posted by BLAZER1 (SALEM, OR) Jan 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

NFS: Most Wanted is a great game. The cut scenes are fantastic and career mode is perfectlt set-up. The freedom of car custimuzation and the choice of cars to customize is great. MUST RENT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Speed, cops, girls, cars...what more do you want?

posted by Airwave (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 3, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

Well, in a place where you have to work your way to the top from dead last, you really begin to appreciate the things you have. You get to know and love your cars, not only because they're completely customized, or because they get you from A to B, but because they are YOU. With some forty cars to choose from, free runs, police chases, and an armada of races, this game is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FREE RUN NEEDED

posted by game64 (ANACOCO, LA) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

I like the game and all, but need for speed isn't need for speed without free run. I like to just drive around sometimes like on NFSU2.But I give it good because the cops are really good (the only part i don't like is having to pay the fine)
It ia a very good game if you don't care about not having free run, which is still ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun game

posted by FireKing (GREENSBORO, NC) Jun 21, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

When Underground was released, I was disappointed that they did away with the cops. Still a good game though. When Underground 2 was released, still no cops, and a troublesome world map. Now the cops are back and you can just jump to wherever in Most Wanted. It's nowhere near being a perfect game, but it's a darn well done one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Most wanted game

posted by fastpaced (GLADEWATER, TX) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This game is fun and fast paced it has some hard parts,but you can get past it with some effort its a great game Im on blacklist 11 its easy most of the time and a great game it lack fun after you beat the game all there is much to do after that is free roam and go back and replay stuff the graphics are great but if you get your car close to wall or building you can tell the graphic arent as good as you think its also fun to trick out your car but you need to drive to the shop unlike need for speed rivals its also bad that you get your car impounded if you get them all impounded you start from scratch and at first there is not many things to buy at the shop it is good that you can get an overveiw of your car at the shop the police pursuits are good and if you want you can skip to one I also enjoy the free roam it look totally fake when when you use nitros its fun to the police to drive into pursuit breakers like giant donuts off a donut shop or exploding gas tanks and falling board walks its also bad when you trick out your car you cant chang head lights its also cool breaking cars anbenches and road sighns it also has a good opening it is hard to beat some parts and has no drift mode but has speedtrap tollbooth race sprint curcuit lap knockout in spite of some minor and some big flaws this game has its moments fun times and a bad story line this game is great and you should get it soon or you might burst from not playimg this game you can buy in gamefly for thirty dollars and save ten dollars by not buying it in stores love this game and you should get it over all this game is great with a 8.24 oh yeah get it soon by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NFS Most Wanted,the best racing game to date!!!!!!

posted by zex132 (KINGSTON SPRINGS, TN) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

I rate this game a 10 out of 10,im only at the tenth Black List memeber right now,and I rock at this game.You will have a blast on this game,getting chased by cops,busting through road blocks,and tricking out your ride.The controls on this game are smoothe and fluid,and you can fit the controls to your driving style.You also get phone calls and text messanges throughout the game helping you by telling you ways to get through the game.Here is a little tip if you dont want your car to get banged up,go to options and go to gameplay, turn car damage from off to on.Have a great time on the game, win a race for me, see yal!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

didn`t get so good for me

posted by SHRIMP (CYPRESS, TX) May 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Okay. i rented the game but it didn`t turn out to be so great, well for me, but the career mode was a little great but i really stunk at it. They took out all the fun racing out of it like drift and my favorite goof off mode, FREE RUN. The game was okay otherwise, sort of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS # 1 GAME

posted by TLOVECR (OROVILLE, CA) May 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

I LOVE THIS GAME IT`S BETTER THEN THE FIRST & 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Racing Game

posted by nowitzki41 (MIAMI, FL) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

This is one of the top racing games out there. It is alot better than Need for speed underground 2. The graphics are very good. This is the best game availible for gamecube. If you liked the other underground games then you should pick this one up. There are a lot of cool cars. The blacklist gets kind of repetative towards the end of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Racing Game in a Long Time

posted by DarkStar (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

I bought this game for the PC, but when I saw my friend playing on his GC, I noticed there's not too much difference.

Sound is amazing. Hooked-up to a surround sound setup makes you feel like you are actually in the car. The visuals are stunning. Even with the "speed blur" that EA put in their racing games with NFS:HP3 (I believe, might have been NFSU1) which can sometimes be annoying, it is not severely overdone. Police AI is really intense compared to that of NFS:HP3... these guys aren't fooled by just hiding in a parking lot or just getting out of view and stopping (especially at higher heat levels). They will actively seek you out, and close-in on your last known location. That, and those SUV's.

This game is long. That's not really a bad thing, as it allows you to really put some time and gear into your ride. There are 700 different combinations of just visual stuff alone. A "On-The-Fly" performance tuner with on-screen instructions make it easy to lower your turbo for tight courses, or max your nitrous for an insane burst. The tuning changes are actually noticeable, unlike some previous NFS's like NFSU1 or 2.

Regular races are sometimes fairly easy or fairly hard. Sometimes you're just not geared for the race, and it becomes apparent as cars pull away from you. Sometimes you're just overpowered for the race, and you'll waste everyone. Sometimes you're by yourself... sometimes you're with 3 other racers. And then there's the police to worry about. ;) Your rivals, though, are no pushovers. Sure you can compete with them, but they get better and faster as you climb "The Blacklist." The video scenes are... well... they're video scenes with real people. That's good I suppose, even though the acting and voices are a little... mmm... lets say "weak."

I think anyone that has played this game can agree on two things.
1) This is an awesome racing game.
2) Razor sucks.

Oh yeah, look out for Cross' heat rank 6. Scary stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I feel the need...

posted by DelRio (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

When I feel like doing 180 MPH through town with 18 cops chasing me, this is the game I play.

This game is massive, if you get bored with racing head to head with the competition, simply go roam around and cause some havoc. Part of the game entails building up your bounty, which puts you on the police department's blacklist. You want to climb your way to the top of the blacklist and this is no easy task. Cop challenges range from outrunning the cops for a certain amount of time, trading paint with them, busting through roadblocks and outrunning their helicopters.

I’ve been playing this game for a couple weeks straight and I am still not bored with it. With the endless options and upgrades you can do to your car and all of the different challenges from races to cop chases, this game has provided me with countless hours of fun!!!

I was renting this game, but I have now purchased it, it’s one of those games I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »