Rent Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit for Wii
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.5

543 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Need For - Online Play and Better Presentation

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The Need for Speed franchise was built on one thing - street racing, which is mostly illegal (that’s why you have the cops on your tail for most of the races in these games.)
But in the Wii version of Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, the presentation is about as bland as you can get. You get to participate in five cities, and in each city there are three parts. Each part has four races in it - Hot Pursuit, Time Attack, Eliminator, and Rush Hour.
The Hot Pursuit is your basic race - finish first after a set number of laps.
Time Attack is where you have to finish one or two laps of a track in a certain amount of time.
Eliminator is the same as Hot Pursuit, except that after every 45 seconds, the player in last place is eliminated - so the trick is to stay out of last place.
Rush Hour has you as the last racer of 100. You have to move up to a past a certain place every 45 seconds or be eliminated.
You need to get bronze or better in three of the four races, to get a medal in that part of the city. Get a medal in all three parts, and you race against the boss - to see who can get to the most checkpoints in that city first.
Win that race, and you go on to the next city, and so on.
But, there’s no story, cut scenes or awards; you go straight from one section to the next. Boring.
As you go through the motions, you get Bounty with each win which you use to buy better performing cars - which you need to get past the later stages. You can also customize your car in many ways.
But one big thing lacking here is online play - there isn’t any. If you want multiplayer (which is fun), you’ll have to go split screen. This omission really hurts this version of Need for Speed.
Another problem I had was the races can get tough, namely the second to last set (Las Vegas). If you get stuck, there’s no way out - the game will grind to a halt.
Still, this game fulfills my Need for Speed - for a short while. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as good as previous

posted by Bodymover (BUTLER, PA) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game had descent graphics, but the content of races where not well thought out. I was not impressed. I wouldn't buy or rent again.
If you care to check out what I am comparing too? Check out this title by maker of Need for Speed... "Undercover" is Far Superior.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse than my commute

posted by Coldsalmon (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The Wii version is not the game that is advertised: that game is on the Xbox and the PS3 only. The Wii version is a different, extremely bad game. It is not the PS3 game with worse graphics, as I expected. It is a totally different game with worse graphics than I could have imagined. It is not set in Seacrest county: all races are in dreary urban environments. The tracks are different than the tracks in the advertised game. If you hit a curb in your 500 horsepower supercar, you will bounce off an invisible barrier. There is no way to play the good cars without literally slogging through traffic jams for hours. The game is based around driving mediocre cars through traffic. Apparently, supercars are available after you do this for several hours, but I wasn't going to wait that long to do something that probably would not be fun anyhow. This is what I do every day to get to and from work, and my actual commute is more fun than this game. I posted a detailed review on Amazon, with the same title, explaining exactly why my commute is more fun than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

need for speed hp for wii

posted by ilikecandy (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

for wii this game sucks, its like cartoony just like madden is for wii. i was so disgusted and furious and disappointed as soon as i started playing. its like an insult to the ppl who love nfs because its just horrible for wii. the game trailer/preview videos look amazing and make the game look so good but their for x360 or ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

packman is better

posted by Bubu (FORDLAND, MO) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

STUIPED! The graphics are worse then packman on a SNES. I got it. I hate it. Do not buy. Look at the back, PS3 pictures. It has nothing the other NFS games have.No story,customizan,fun,or anything.Worst NFS game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

=/

posted by DALMYC (MOULTRIE, GA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Is this a joke? this graphics are so bad
If you actually purchase big title games like NFS or Cod for your Wii…you deserve these graphics. Wii is for the elderly and children. No hate…but come on?! I agree it looks really bad…they shoudl not have even wasted the time/money making a Wii version of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NFS Hot New hot pursuit?

posted by wiiwiiwii1 (OROVILLE, CA) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It seems that ALL games for the wii is missing, or just toatally lacking, something. All games from XBOX 360 or PS3have something that allways makes it better or commpletly blow the heck out of the wii version. In this case its the graphics, story, soul, frames, and pretty much anything else. this is a discrase to the wii, EA, my TV, and the world. Most Wanted Is a million times better than this, AND ITS IN 2005!?!?!?!?!? I cant understand how EA can just think that they can relese this game WHIN ITS STILL A GIGANTIC PILE!!!!!!!!! YOU cant even play as a COP. There's absolutly NO STORY, WHAT THE HECK!?!?!? I Hate this game. please dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

needs more but still good

posted by frow (BLOOMFIELD, MO) Oct 26, 2012

Member since May 2011

Good game but it needs free-roam.Needs better customizing,and you should be able to pick if you want to be a cop or a criminal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by gameflydude132 (SPRING, TX) Jun 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

this is sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

TERRIBLE!

posted by yoshimetroid247 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Okay, let me get this straight; this is a game advertised as a game that has open roads and nature with no high buildings in sight, just your average high speed adrenaline rush of a racing game. But NO! NO! This is like a horse pooped on a CD, threw up on it, and pooped on it again! First of all, it is nothing like the PS3 or XBox version. This is a very congested game in the middle of five cities that you can barely get to 100 mph in. And There is no storyline at all, just moving on to the next city. The only good thing I can say about this game is good graphics but the music is a little cheesy and sometimes annoying. So, God forbid, here are my ratings:

Storyline - N/A
Graphics - 6
Gameplay - 1
Sound - 3
Overall - 3.5

I'm only going to say this once so listen up: THIS IS A TERRIBLE GAME SO DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok game but hard to control

posted by Jamie033184 (LOVELAND, CO) Dec 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

the graphics are good but the tilt to control the car is hard to control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

coooooool

posted by gecko6 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

cool just so cooool :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

bad influence LOL

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

It is a good game takes skills but bad influence.
The graphics are decent. There are other cars and you can smash into them. I don't like playing the missions I like to roam and run where I want. But I mean honestly you’re running from cops not the best thing to teach kids. So they put where you can be the cop and chase them which was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is this Atari or Wii

posted by RIANNE (SAINT ANN, MO) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

Simply horrible, I thought we've come much further than this with graphics, controls, and technology as a whole!! Not worth the labor of shipping!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

woo hoo!!!!!!!!

posted by wii4002 (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is a very good racing game. the graphics are ok there really fake looks on the screen an ps3 or an xbox360 would be better grapic wise . gameplay is great in the basics like the driving and the controls stuff like that.but in tools there are really babyish stuff in there like soundwaves and drainboost.again a ps3 or an xbox360 would be a little better.but if you dont care about that then this is your game.so if you want it how you saw it in the videos get it for different systems but if you want it a little diiffernt this is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unless you're a kid... Don't bother

posted by laurichg (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This is easily the worst NFS game I have played. The graphics are horrible, there is no dashboard camera, you can't upgrade the cars and there is no plot that I can see. When your 6 year old son has more fun playing this game than you do, it's a serious problem. So unless you are renting this game for a child, avoid it at all costs, it's just that bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not what I expected, but still very good.

posted by supergamer4774 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I have read a lot of reveiws saying that this game was awful and that the graphics suck, but I must say I highly disagree.I can vouch for some of the gamers who have said that it looks nothing like it does in the preveiws (which only show footage from the Xbox, PS3, and PC version), but I still think it was harsh of them to call it bad.Even though it has a couple of flaws (like the one boss level I cant beat and the fact that you cant play as cops), the type of game style is very fun.I love how you can decorate your car with flames and symbols, and you can pimp up your car in the body shop.And even though you cant play as a cop, if you have a strong car you can knock them around

I am not a Need for Speed fan, in fact I have only played one other NFS game, I still loved this game.And I would strongly suggest it to those of you who are Need for Speed fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

2 strikes in a row for a great series

posted by audie80 (PORTERVILLE, CA) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

wow,this game is terrible.its nitro with a facelift.AVOID BOTH AT ALL COST.if your craving nfs-try prostreet or carbon.this one will leave you flat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS !

posted by SaigoNoGetsugaT (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I can't believe this video game I rather play High Stakes than this waste of game, one of the WORSE Need For Speed I have ever play, is it because was made for the Wii ? either way they should have put more passion into the making, I had it for maybe 3 days and I got sick of it QUICK ! can't even customize your car like the other ones, DO NOT rent or buy, is like throwing your money in the trash Again this game SUCKS !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Need for Speed (Hot Pursuit)

posted by dwayne0617 (GLADSTONE, OR) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

BORING,,,however I did like the drifting effect when cornering.Carbon was a much better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by howick1966 (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was beyond dreadful. The ORIGINAL Hot Pursuit was WAY better than this ill conceived and poorly executed piece of garbage. Graphics were way below par,game play was simply awful.

I spent maybe 30 minutes on this game before deciding it was junk. Avoid this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Need For Speed HP

posted by speeder1991 (MOCKSVILLE, NC) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this wasnt the best game they have done i wasn't really happy when i started playing but it had its moments over all it could HAVE been a way better formated game for the WII, but also you could onlu do 3 things to the cars unlike the rest of the NFS games. but i dont want to stop anyone from playing the game just myself could have been a lot better of a game since i have play the NFS games since they first can out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lamest game ever!!!

posted by zxcavz (LANCASTER, SC) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

ps3 version better than wii version. waaaaay better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED

posted by messymike (CHICO, CA) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

i rented this game because i know how great need for speeds are..disappointed.. graphics arent what you would expect.. is like a arcade game at the nickel machines.. they added way too much to this one. great for beginners at need for speed but if you have played any of the others you should not rent buy nor waste your time on it. only gave it 3 stars because of the name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre title

posted by Zalfrin (IOWA CITY, IA) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

As other reviewers have stated, this is a very disappointing game for the Wii. Lots of cars to choose from, but no story line or use for money other than buying new cars. Don't waste your time on this one, it's not even as good as the original hot pursuit from a decade ago! You're probably better off with any of the other NFS titles available on the wii, they can't be any worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse