Rent Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit for PS3
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

5976 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Everything I wanted nothing I expected.

posted by JalapenoW (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) May 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this going to be the average okay racing, bad acting need for speed of recent years. I'm glad to be so wrong.

This game is a racing game for anyone who grew up in the late 90's early 00's part of the PlayStation generation. The era of the original Need for Speed games, a time before tuner cars and stupid subtitles and bands like Bad Religion and Offspring were huge.

This game brings me back the simple cops and outlaws gameplay, but is it really the same? Yes and No Criterion made this one, the people behind the great Burnout series and it shows. You still get the escape the fuzz gameplay, but now you get really over the top and elaborate crashes.

The game is broken into cop and racer missions giving tons of license cars, gadgets to use on fellow racers and over 100 missions with different objectives. The downside, the A.I uses rubber banding meaning no matter how far you are ahead the A.I will catch up to you.

graphics are great and the cars look how they should and like every criterion racing game it gives you a real sense of speed.

sound is exceptional. The engine sounds are pure car p#$n, and the sound track has a great mix from hip hop to alternative rock and it really gives me that 90's feeling.

online multiplayer was untestable- PSN down!

~bottom line~
+gameplay
+graphics
+sound
-A.I
-Too many timed lap missions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need for Something More

posted by BigDaddyBane (LA GRANGE, NC) May 31, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This entry into the Need for Speed franchise is brought to us by the people responsible for the widely popular Burnout: Paradise. Let's look at both sides of this.

The Good:
- Cool Cars
- Decent Music
- Interesting Weapons
- Decent Graphics (a few jaggies)
- Nice Environments
- Great Wrecks
- A Reward System
- Weather
- Photo Mode
- Vehicle Specs
- Wreck AI racer

The Bad:

- NPC vehicles stop instead of pulling to the shoulder when a cop nears them.
- Insane catch up system for AI, none for player
- AI can turn on a dime
- Unlimited weapons loadout for AI
- AI cars respawn when cornered by cop
- AI cars take serious amount of punishment not given to player
- Driving the same model car, AI is always faster
- No modifications to cars
- No manual shift
- Road Blocks are unbalanced (When you're a racer, cars cover both sides of the road. When you are a cop, cars cover one side of the road with a wooden barricade in the middle of the road.)
- Helicopters are stupid (Usually drops spikes behind racer if you are a cop)
- Spikes are unbalanced. (They stay where you drop them, AI's track your movement)
- AI has unlimited weapons, you do not.
- Not all unlocked cars usuable after they are unlocked (They are stage dependant)
- Past stage cars are not available
- Forced to watch wrecks and crashes
- Cop time trial (called Rapid Response) has penalty time for hitting, scraping, touching anything.
- Road block cars don't pursue racers after the pass the road block if you are a cop.

This title leaves, not only the Fast and Furious style, but the original style of racing that came before it.

In all they left give the AI too much superiority. You shouldn't have to stop the chase just because a racer finishes his race. You are chasing a suspect until they evade you or they are caught. The cop is not a part of the race. In NFS: HP2 for PS2 you had to evade the cop after the race. I am still waiting for a great non-sim NFS title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by Tendou (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It excels everything I thought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

the piggEA is hungry

posted by sremoh (MANOR, TX) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

46 out of 59 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

EA, you're losing it. The need for speed concept is absolutely fun. Speeding from cops, crashing and the thrill of beating your friend's best record is just great fun. However, all of your petty rules surrounding this fun, simply squashes it. Unskippable commercials, long introductions, lack of local multiplayer and the lame attempt to squeeze more money from us gamers to play online robs this game of great fun. Replayability mainly comes from competition, therefore, interactivity should have been a top factor when making this game. What's next, a single player MADDEN 12? "It's in the game" will have to change to "It's not in the game (unless you pay)". Your cutting out standard components of the game in order to receive premiums. My guess is that this may work for the short term, but long term? Nah ah. If you were or are in financial trouble, this is yet another step in the wrong direction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Non-skippable ads and cutscenes.. IT'S IN THE GAME

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Nov 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

64 out of 83 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Here's how the development team meeting went...

Manager - Well we only make the same games over and over, so what should we do this year?

Designer - How about "Hot Pursuit" again?

Manager - Great idea, but instead of improving things, let's take a step back by making it single player. Let's force players to register an email account to play, not let people be able to access online content unless they bought a brand new copy which has an unused code inside the box (or force them to buy one) and give them a free two day trial to entice them.

Designer - But that means Gamefly customers won't be able to play online...

Manager - Gamefly customers can suck it!

Manager - Let's also make all the cars and tracks feel exactly the same, let's have cut-scenes and how-to's you can't skip, and most importantly... let's put an advertisement for another game, in this game, and make players unable to skip it.

Designer - Hmm, that may work... but we also need to add slow motion events like the cops being alerted, that happen in the middle of a turn or oncoming traffic, so that when the action returns players lose control of their cars.

Manager - Now you're catching on. And instead of using our money to make the game fun, let's spend it all on visuals and tv commercials that show "perfect" ratings from people who obviously didn't play the game.

Designer - Sounds like another EA classic!

Me - This game is beautiful, really, but it just isn't fun. After only two days of playing, it's very repetitive and new cars offer little enjoyment. EA is rich, but they still use aggresive methods to ensure you purchase the game, new.

What's funny, is as I'm playing it, I'm watching Comedy Central who is playing commercials for the game non-stop. Commercials that state how awesome it is. The truth is EA sucks, and the reviews giving a perfect score have to be paid off. Maybe.. maybe the online is amazing, and I'll try the free two-day trial, but really EA's own worse enemy is EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

EA Drops the ball again

posted by FPQAFormer (RICHMOND, CA) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

19 out of 24 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

When I saw that EA was remaking one of my favorite childhood games I was stoked. When I played it for the first time it was really fun and I was happy. The game play was smooth, there are far less bugs than recent EA racing titles. However the game is only about a third of the way done, so it gets a third of the rating it has the potential of receiving.
There are two modes cops or street racers, this is a really cool feature. Again, however, the game features 20 experience levels for each mode but I finished at level 13 and got the end game credits before I had completed all the missions. The world map was extremely small, compared to other NFS titles like Most Wanted for example the world map is easily three times the size. Hot Pursuit also features a Free Roam for either your cop cars or your street racing cars. (I feel like a broken record) However! The Free Roam mode is precisely that, drive around aimlessly with absolutely nothing to do, no mission, no random speeders or cops to chase or be chased by. To finish this game EA needs to add at least another map area to unlock and some random encounters to the free roam aspect of the game. If I could give EA some advise I would tell them to stop remaking classic games unless they really want to spend the time to make it great. Also what happened to making games with new aspects? NFS: Hot Pursuit has nothing new to offer.
In a nut shell... This game is really fun for the first three hours, then you beat it and you realize what this game really is, LAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is very misunderstood

posted by Giggidy (FAIRHOPE, AL) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

OK. For starters, this game has very many good things, very many bad things, and some ugly things. Lets start with the goods:

THE GOOD:
-Unbelievable cars
-Stunning graphics
-Beautiful scenery
-Exciting gameplay
-2 different types of career (Cop or Racer)
-Great for the online players
-Nice trophies/achievements

THE BAD:
-Very small font. Makes it hard to read whats going on (and for people like me who can't see very well, how to play)
-Not the best music selection
-No difficulty setting
-Difficulty
-Cannot skip cutscenes
-There is no button to move the camera to see behind you
-Cannot look ahead of you like you could in Hot Pursuit 2 for PS2

THE UGLY:
-No offline multiplayer... Yeah..None... Only online
-In order to play online, you have to have an online code which comes with the game (if bought new, which is bad news for Gamefly renters) or purchased off PSN or Xbox market for a price

Overall, this game is an 8/10. It lacks many things I was really hoping to see, but sorta makes up for it with the gameplay. I however suggest nobody buy this game. Simply rent it until you beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid, but only if purchased new.

posted by peaceNweed (NEW HOPE, KY) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

The physics, the graphics, and the gameplay are all fantastic. You can choose between 2 different career paths (cop and racer). Autolog and online gameplay is fast and exciting.

I took 1 point off because if you rent this, you will have to purchase a code to play online, but GameFly is all about try before you buy so there's not really a problem there. Still, the fact that you would have to pay to play online is kind of ridiculous. The soundtrack does get old, but the game does support custom playlists. Plus, there is no splitscreen, which is a real letdown.

Even with these issues, NFS: Hot Pursuit is a very fun, enjoyable game that will give you countless ours of entertainment, as long as you purchase the retail version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Only good for the extreamly social

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Nov 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Okay, for starters I am going to say this review is solely on the single-player part of the game. The game expects you to have hundreds of friends to play with and ignores those who don't. I've always been a great friend of the Need for Speed games, but Undercover was to dull and boring. So when I heard the makers of Burnout were taking over and were including a cop career as well, I had nerd spasms. I LOVED Burnout Paradise with a passion, and couldn't wait for this game. Well, I'm disappointed, very disappointed. And although the game looks fantastic, the graphics are amazing, and the scenery is breathtaking. But the places, while looking very real, aren't varied enough for a street-racing game. Burnout Paradise was in a city wwith just enough variation. Burnout's joy was in free-ride, crashing in magnificent ways, while this game doesn't have that at all. Roads are mostly empty, lacking danger.

I want to love this game, I really, really do. The trailers looked fantastic, but its way over-hyped. I'm sure Autolog is amazing, but only if you have dozens of friends with PlayStations. And they could make this up if they added split-screen. No, they didn't do that. Burnout Paradise didn't either, but made up for it by adding an add on kit that included it. All the cars handle the same way and can't turn at all. Very bad in races, for cops and racers both.

Pros: Extremely amazing visuals, great premise, cars look amazing. Playing as a cop is a great idea, and is fun, most of the time.

Cons: All the cars handle the same, with the exception of the highest ranking cars. Not enough variation in the enviroments. Too much focus on online play, no split-screen is a major fail.

Overall, I was very disappointed with this game. I'm sure playing with friends and the competition is fun with friends, if you have some. Burnout paradise cares about the single-players, not Hot Pursuit. Rent if you have tons of friends to play with. Otherwise be sure to know its for online play only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rocks!!

posted by cbaker19 (PULASKI, VA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

theres no way you cant be in love with this game. i mean it as the best of both worlds street racing and cops trying to stop it and plus having some of the best cars in the world in this game. when i bought this game i wasnt expecting much but when i put the game in my ps3 i couldnt stop playing it. you got to be crazy not to rent or buy this game!!

but the only thing about this game i really dont like is you cant put body kits or performance things on the street cars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Depressing

posted by maclarenf1 (SEBASTIAN, FL) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I've played every Need For Speed in existence, so naturaly I thought because of the title's previous history I would check this one out.

The makers of need for speed at EA Have forgotten how to make a racing game. Every game after NFS Most wanted were decent. This however is the worst Need for speed game yet. I picked it up hoping to play some sort of career mode, which I now know is non-existent in the game. I played 5 races and realized they all felt the same.

Only good thing I can find with this game is that The cars and the tracks are beautiful and well done.

This game would be good for you if you had a 3 year old son who loves the idea of a cop chase. I think that was EA's target market

EA has completely removed the customization of cars. You can't even buy your cars. They get unlocked through the game and you can magically use them. EA has alot of work to do if they want NFS to remain a strong title in racing. I'm sure I speak for most NFS fans when I say, "This game is depressing." and "What happened to the days of NFS Underground?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst NFS Hot pursuit Yet

posted by a22shady (RIVERSIDE, NJ) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

While the thought of the game ws very cool and exciting playing it was not. The game is fun for about an hour after that you will probably be done with it. And Just like EA if you want play online you have to pay which I think is rediculous and a reason I wont ever purchase a game like this. Renting was more then enough, You earn cars and then have to pick only select cars for each course. There is no upgrade system the fun of it wears out very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No 2 player splitscreen?!

posted by Dkhenny (BARNEGAT, NJ) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

24 out of 33 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

What a waste of a rental, I was very excited to rent this game because of how much fun I had playing the old PS2 version with my girlfriend, Now that I have an 8yr old son that loves racing games I find out that the only way we can play together is if I buy another PS3 and get another copy of the game since theres no splitscreen 2 player mode and the ONLY way you can play with friends is online. What a stupid move to make ANY racing game like that and an even worse move to make a cops and robbers type game like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too difficult

posted by taco325i (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When I played this game, I got some serious road rage. I was cursing up a storm. and yet when I play GT5 I am calm. It is this game that makes my blood boil.

AI is way too hard, and unrealistic (even for a non-sim arcade). Opponents catch up no matter how well you drive.

They took alot of the arcade of free roaming and messing with cops out of the game. It's boring. I miss the old hot pursuit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Gameplay

posted by reviewwriter (SEVIERVILLE, TN) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has superior graphics! They took real cars and animated them! This game overall is awesome but there are some bad things.
1. No 2 player
2. You have to have a pass code for online
3. You only have 2 day free trial online then if you want to keep playing online you have to buy a pass code for $10!
4. It takes a long time to load an event, (but that is why it has good graphics)

I would recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SO SAD :(

posted by BigMerk (HOMER, NY) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

All I could think about before I was going to get this game was. Enjoying trying to run my friends off the road. Now I find out the only way I can do this is by them having a PS3. Why are developers doing the online multiplayer only games. This would have been such a great game if only it had multiplayer. How is it older systems and game developers were able to do it yet. Now were supposed to be more advanced we can't. I do enjoy the graphics. The drive to compete against a computer is okay. Online play was good as well. This game could have been like the old burnout games where you crashed and burned. Guess I'll just stick to the old games, where I could play with a friend whose in the room. Instead of half way across the globe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Doesn't live up to previous Hot Pursuit's

posted by audiohazard1203 (BURLESON, TX) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I found out that this games handling of the vehicles is very slugish and non responsive. In the previous games the cars were more controlable which made the games fun to play with cops or regular racing. The long so called story movies really make the game intalerable as well. There is no way to skip these annoying movies. 15 minutes just to start playing a RACING game seems a bit much for an arcade racer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just a good game

posted by Lennymm (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong guys and girls, the Need for Speed franchise continues to push games out every year, and yes they are good, even if you can argue "you play one you've played them all." I like a some racing games but I'm not a huge fan. However, the Hot Pursuit games I have played, so I was interested in playing this one.

The game is not bad. The graphics are great, I can definitely notice D.I.C.E.'s work in the game. The way light is reflected or how it illuminates a tunnel. Awesome, and sharp. Soundtrack is not bad but could be better, although, if you're a cop you rarely here it, so it's a good/bad to some of you. Presentation is nice. What it seems to do is create an interface for you to use as the main menu, that will inform you of your records, who's beaten yours, who you have beaten, and you can find all these things on a Facebook-like wall. It's very creative, but if you have no friends that have this game, it's just you, you, you all the time.

The single player is all about either assuming the role of a cop or racer. I have not tried the racer, just because I rented this game for the sole purpose of being a cop. The cars are, of course, great looking, sounding, and playing. Basically, you choose on a map what missions you wanna do, some have you responding to a dispatch call as fast as possible, stopping a a street race, or just stopping one racer. It's cool, but it can get bland. Now it's time for the multiplayer.

Well I wish I had something good to say, BUT, the multiplayer is nothing to brag about. Especially since YOU NEED THE EA CODE INSIDE A NEW COPY of the game. Thankfully there is a two day trial, and after I got a taste of multiplayer, I was glad I had not purchased this game last month. I saw a critic say "infinitely re-playable" so that did intrigue me. It's definitely not "infinitely re-playable," but still a good game. Either racing or cops vs. racers with power ups. Just good, like I said.

Well, if you're a die-hard fan, rent, if not..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NFS needs to drive an actual car

posted by dedguy (KATY, TX) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As per usual for me, this game, in a long line of games from Need for Speed since the first Underground, which was pretty awesome, stinks. Primarily, as with Shift, the controls are HORRIBLE. It's like the programmers think that modern power steering doesn't exist? At least they need to let you tune the sensitivity or something.

Hardcore racing/steering dynamic in all the recent racers is being sacrificed for the sake of drifting, which is complete nonsense. Look at an F1 race and tell me how many of those drivers are drifting? The sudden desire to put in drifting mechanics has led to under and oversteer problems prevalent in all of these games, and it's beyond annoying. I could barely play this one for a day before I had enough. The worst sin: lag in steering. There is no lag in steering in real life, and god forbid if we had to drive cars like that.

For people who have driven real cars, and particularly sports cars, this game and its predecessors are beyond atrocious, and the only reason it doesn't get a 1 from me is because the concept was okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

possibly worst N.F.S game ever

posted by CharlieH018 (SMYRNA, TN) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

where do i start?... i was really looking forward to playing this game... when i got it in the mail i could hardly wait to pop it in my ps3's disk drive... however when i played it i quickly realized that it wasn't what i had hoped for, it had no car customization no storyline whatsoever, no real plot, and no re-play ability whatsoever, if you want a really griping racing game, look somewhere else, i was extremely disappointed, i would recommend getting N.F.S carbon instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another reason not to support EA.

posted by Silentrich (FORT MYERS, FL) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Do yourself a favor and buy Burnout Paradise. It's a much better game and you don't have to buy it new to play it online. That's actually the first prompt that comes up in this game asking for a code to play online. Then your subjected to a trailer of Need for Speed Shift 2 that you can't skip. Finally you can play the game and after about 2 hours you realize how repetitive and lacking this game is. For the money they want for this game you can get burnout paradise and all DLC which blows this out of the water.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

TO LITTLE TOO LATE

posted by URWEAK (WILMINGTON, DE) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game isnt worth your money or time. Not enough content. Its the same stuff over and over. For those of you who gave this game a 10. You need to have your head checked. There are very few games ever worthy of 10 and this defintly not one of them. And stop reviewing games you have not recieved. Demos tell you nothing. The only reason I gave a 5 is good graphics everthing else SUCKS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So much to agree with...

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

It sucks to say it, but some of the more 'whiny' reviews are kind of right. Free roam sucks, because of no random encounters. It's one aspect of free roaming that should never be taken away, otherwise, what's the point? Lots of people complained about inability to skip intros, certain scenes, and tutorials. Get a life. It happens once, and once only to show you how to use it, and give you a quick tip. Once it's over, it's over. The intros can be dealt with, provided you take advantage of the custom music function. I like starting races with my own songs for a little drama. I have yet to get as far as where the cops have perfect aim with every weapon, so i dunno about that. Big deal about the map, since free roam sucks. Anyone who thinks other nfs games were great for this were fools. nfs games have been monotonous since most wanted, and even then only HP2 and Undercover were any good. Prostreet attempted what shift actually did, and that's be different game, yet still nfs. Everything else can be categorized as 'NFS: Fast and Furious' The fad got old quick and they still milked it. This game should have been in the oven longer, as it needed a few more camera views, maybe some ramps on the side of the road like HP2. You don't get that 'wide open road' feel anymore either. Racing through a tunnel that looks like scenery kind of sucks, and sometimes a high road with no barriers makes you drive better. You do get rewarded for clean racing, by not losing speed, but that's kind of stupid for arcade; you can't avoid collisions sometimes. Overall, however, it's a great game. You feel like you're going fast instead of just being treated to that 'same old same old' feeling when scenery passes by. You get spikes to stop cops, and judging shortcuts correctly or losing time is kind of fun. Who said it isn't all about just going fast? How stupid. Sure, braking is useful for not crashing or turning, but its ALWAYS about going fast. I agree the pros > cons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a lil disappointed

posted by BIGmanWhy (NETTLETON, MS) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love NFS and was really looking forward to this but come on. This game is no where near up to standard. The steering is too iffy and not being able to play split-screen sux. Please don't let RUN be like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

need for speed? need for better driving physics.

posted by Coltfanjay (LARGO, FL) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The premise for this game sounded great, but the driving ruined it for me. Reminded me of the old arcade game Outrun. (For those that grew up in the 80's). Damage on cars was kinda cool, and graphics were decent. Sound was good, except the dispatch lady was so loud, it'll blow your ears off. The driving was just left, right, left, right, left right. Maybe occasionally do a 180. All in all, I was bored with it quick. And this trend of "online passes" is ticking me off. What good is a free PSN account if these greedy game developers make us pay to play online? Rent it if you have a half hour to kill. Then send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse