Rent Need for Speed: Carbon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Carbon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox, GC, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
7.3

4481 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NFS Carbon is one not to be missed...

posted by SnwBrdr (EAGLE, ID) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

NFS Carbon is a racing game that does what it takes to leave a mark.
No longer available is the wanted mode in Carbon. Instead it is replaced by a crew you are able to hire and canyon races done to fight bosses and throughout the game.
The crew consists of three main positions. Blocker, Scout, and Drafter.
Blocker: blocks out other racers while activated and helps widen your lead. Lest used member for me as he can't keep up on the later races.
Scout: shows you every shortcut on the map as you are racing while activated. Good for the most part but hard on newer races and the shortcuts aren't always the best in my eyes.
Drafter: while activated cruises in front of you and gets you extra speed, you can also use it to follow through tight spots. One downfall is while in the draft he/she may lead you into cars and it's also hard to get out of draft once in.
Canyon races are a two part race, first of which you follow you opponent down the canyone and try to stay as close as possible. The closer you are the more points. Second run it's the opposite while you are in front and he/she follows, the closer they are the more points they get. Two ways to win; first is obviously have points left at the end of your second run. Second is to pass him and stay in the lead for at least ten seconds. You can also fly off the edge on some sharp corners which is an automatic loss. Be careful while trying to pass becuse if you bump him you lose 5000 points.
Oline this game is a good racer, and has a few new modes you can play with friends. Modes with cops and what not.
Overall this game is a great one and the replay value is rather high but what NFS game isn't. Get this game from gamefly and then buy it at the pre-played price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the Same

posted by BradLee (SOUTH ELGIN, IL) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Need for Speed Carbon really isn't remarkably different in any way from its predecessors. The most significant differences is placing less focus on police chases like from Most Wanted, and the new race mode Downhill Racing. Also, there are more custimization options for creating the car of your dreams; allowing players to "sculpt" certain aspects of the car to give it an even more unique look than before.

The downhill racing is fun, and is the most interesting aspect of Carbon since it is really the only thing new to the series. But, unfortunately, the downhill races are saved only for squaring off against leaders (boss battles, if thats what you prefer to call it). The downhill racing is fun, but I don't feel there was enough focus on it.

I was also disappointed that there was much less focus on police chases than in Most Wanted, since I found that to be the most exciting aspect.

Instead, the street racing is almost the entire focus of Carbon, which is great for fans of Underground, but not so great for fans of Most Wanted.

Ultimately, the game comes down to simply this. Have you had enough yet? If the answer is no, then rent this game. But, if you felt a little burned out with Most Wanted, or another previous Need for Speed game, then there is not enough new content to keep you entertained. Recommended for fans of the series, but otherwise I don't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great!!! but......

posted by yankees (BASKING RIDGE, NJ) Nov 5, 2006

Member since May 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to give it up to EA. The auto-scuplture feature is VERY cool. You can take bad looking rims, into 5Zigen or even Konigg rims! They came out with a great follow-up to mostwanted with Carbon. Though it only took me 12 hours to complete the campaign, it was interesting with the territorys and fighting for them. The online play is great, except there should be a patch coming out this week for the lag and connecting to the "EA Nation." If you want a great game where you can customize your cars to the MAX, get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

need4speedcarbon

posted by firebird88 (BRANCHVILLE, SC) Nov 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Need for Speed Carbon is a great game but the career mode is too short. I went through it in about 10 hours. The graphics were really good and the canyon racing was a great idea as was the autosculpting feature. It was nice to be able to fully customize your car and make it no other. Other than the career mode being too short it is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The same game

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game is just about the same as all the other Need For Speed games, with the addition of some Classic cars. The took what worked in Most Wanted, the cop chased and dulled them down, so the only reward you get from getting away is just that. Earning money in the game has also been changed. Before you could just race the same ones over and over to build your bankroll to try out other cars, mods. In this version once you win a race and the price is $5000, the next time you race it the prize money lowers to $500. That means to make you car the best it can to win some of the harder racers you have to play the same race tons more times to get the money. The controls seem a little more sluggish then in Most Wanted. The Autoscuplt feature is very nice, but since all the racing takes place at night, making you car look the way you want is pretty much useless since you really cannot see it that well.

I would suggest renting this game before rushing out and purchasing it, if you already own Most Wanted it only offers a little more.

The Lag online is also pretty horrible, not to mention since it is an EA game you have to deal with their servers not working 80% of the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Career Mode is Weak

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was so looking forward to playing this game - primarily because I enjoyed working my way to the top in career mode in Most Wanted. In Carbon - career mode seems to fade into the background of a much better looking game than Most Wanted. In short, prepare for disappointment if you were planning on playing this game for its career mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nfs

posted by 3124chase (WINDSOR, NY) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i dont recommend this game at all! i got it and it didnt even work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is why gamefly rocks

posted by JDub445 (ROMNEY, WV) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Well This is probably the worst game of the series. When i put the game in and I watched the first scene, i realized how bad the acting was. So i got behind the wheel of the car and the control was horrible....If you have played burnout the game feels awesome, and its easy to control and turn, this game however is very opposite. The best way to describe the feel of the game is, Dial Up On Wheels. No joke. I got sick of the game the first 40 minutes and went back to playing madden, my brother who was also with me. Both of us thought that madden was going really fast but we soon realized NFS Carbon was just that slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NFS CARBON -Don't waste your money!!!

posted by 360gamer (EAST LYNN, WV) Nov 12, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

NFS Carbon is a fresh update to Most Wanted. However, even with all the power of the XBox 360, it looks like you are driving the most realistic looking car in a cartoonish looking world? Try using your "NOS" boost and it looks like your decked out realistic hot rod just got thrown in an animated blender. Carbon jam packs this version with tons of customazations, and even throws in team members to help you succeed in your goal of taking over every territory. But EA once again lets us down on the "overall package". Owning every territory only took me a total of 8 1/2 hours. I stuck with only 3 muscle cars to complete the career mode. However, you must play for many more hours before actually receiving any achievements. You only get 1 for completing your career, and 1 for owning every race, their are still 48 more achievements...Not to mention that some of us cannot even get the multiplayer achievements because high speed internet is not available in all areas. Come On, you spend all that time racing your butt off, and actually getting bored with the same races over and over that you just can't stand to keep this title any longer. The only thing that would motivate you to keep the title is the mere achievements themselves. Which is just not enough to keep my interest. I play for fun, and I didn't have fun after the first 6 races. Fun to me is getting achievements for excelling in game play, not spending endless hours after beating your main objective to beat annoying cop chase missions, and speedbreaker challenges. I love running from cops as much as the next person, but NFS, after NFS, how many times are we going to do this? I thought we play games to get away from reality? If your going to throw in police chases, mix it in the career mode like Most Wanted, don't set that aside to do later, the gamer will just lose interest... My advise just rent this game, play it for 10 hours have fun and give it back, you will get bored very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Carbon copy...

posted by DarkDD (CHICO, CA) Dec 24, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you liked Most Wanted.. you'll most likely be highly disappointed. The best parts of MW were taken out or cut down severely. I played 90% of the way through with a total of 3 cop chases, one which I initiated, all three totaling close to 2 minutes. Add on the fact that you must pay extra for nearly every car in the game (real cash) to download the cars which are actually already in the game. there is no Freeway (which was where you could get the most speed). The addition of the team mates is nearly pointless. Your blocker helps but half the time your in the lead anyway. The drifter never helps because your always going into a turn. The scout is garbage. They removed basically what made Most Wanted addictive, and added 3 things. 1: Drift.. fun and a good addition. 2: auto sculpting... cool idea, but when each car can only customize about 4 kits, and the sculpting is just widening or lowering pieces, its not much. 3: canyon Races...best part of the game. They are so intense and make you cringe when you fail, only thing I hope makes in the next installment. Outside of these 3 things, the game is very boring. Also add in the fact that anytime you try and do more than two things at once, the game freezes (it froze while i took a picture of my car). I hope EA brings back canyon races, makes the auto sculpting a bit more customizable, loses their cheap business style, and brings back everything with Most Wanted. oh and for god sakes fix the stupid drivers and cops... there complete idiots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

game rank

posted by flava2006 (MANASSAS, VA) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is not the game racin game around
but its a preaty cool game to play...
the graphics are preaty good 8/10
what i dint realy like about this game is that it doesn look realistic and it drifts too much...
this game its a cool game but if u like games that look real and its preaty much like real life
you may like test driver unlimited better...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by cagedstick (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 1, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

first off whatever writer wrote in gameinformer that this is not most wanted 2 is a moron cause right away in the carrer opening scene you have teh same bmw m3 gtr from MW AND you have mr cross and his c6 corvette so this is most wanted two the grpahics are better drifting is better the cars are amazing this and autosculpt is sweet a deffinate must own if you like need for speed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by XxDummyxXD (CHIPPEWA FALLS, WI) Nov 2, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The game has a lot of cool ideas and features. When I heard about carbon coming I had to have. Well it all paid off. Great graphics and game play, awesome selection of vehicles and highly customizable. Not all will like but then again most games take a certain "type" of person to play it. I recommend it as a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

need for speed carbon

posted by dude351 (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

best game ever so fun played 1000 games best one yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

defected game

posted by belka421 (CARMI, IL) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

i have this game that im rentin and i have waited 3 months for this game and the game i have is a dud u cant even play it and it sucks. i will be sending it in tommorrow and i would like to get a new copy for this game so i can enjoy playing it thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than a 7 rating

posted by ts09JamZz May 3, 2012

If you have bin playing nfs from playstation then you wood rate this an 8 aswell
To be more specific nfs:hot pursuit 1&2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by ssteviee7 (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I've always been a fan of NFS and this is a great one i played it when it first came out and i decided to rent it again. It never gets old, the customization is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome Game

posted by 9ace100 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I find this game to be the best in the series, and I've played them all.

While not only racing you can also free roam. Not that the racing sucks though it is still a major part of the game and is required to advance.

bosses-There are 4 bosses. Two are of the same level one is incredibly easy and another is incredibly hard. Each time you beat one you take control of all their territory, but you have to wait for them to challenge you. This only happens when you have taken most of their territory. Also when you beat them you get the choice of 5 things 3 are a mystery the other two really don't do anything. The mysteries are pink slip(you take their car), get out of jail(I'll explain later) and a cash reward. There comes a time at the end of the game where you have to beat 3 of them again and this time its really hard.

beating a boss- to beat a boss they have to challenge you. the first part of the challenge is the city race(its just like any other city race in the game except its just you and the boss). the second part is the canyon. you can lose several ways as well as win several ways. you can fall to far behind, you can fall off the road. you can win by getting ahead of them for 10 seconds or pushing them off road. there is also a second part to the cnyon where you start out in the lead and the winning losing situation is reversed.

gang- you are the leader od a racing gang. you can have 3 members as well as 3 types. the first is the scout(finds shortcuts), blocker(screws up enemies), or the drafter( allows you to draft behind them)

races- there are several types of races. there are drifts, normal, challenges.

cops- cops really break down on you hard. the more crimes you comite the harder it is to evade. If you get caught they through you in jail where you can either use a get out of jail card or pay. they also use road spikes road blockes oil spilss and so on to catch you.

my opinion-I love it. if you like racing screw renting it. awsome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No way Jose.

posted by Cole22 (HENRICO, VA) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

This game is a huge disappointment for me. I hate this disgusting street crud. Do not get this pile of dirt. I don't care what IGN says, take my word for it. One word to describe this game: Un
satisfied. Actually, I take it back, This isn't meant for a 1, its a -Infinity!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

can yall please send me this game

posted by stevenlync (HIGH POINT, NC) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

im about to send this other game bck plzz send me thiss plzz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

damaged game

posted by wefwerf (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

the game was damaged when i recieved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME

posted by lcarpemter (SHEFFIELD LAKE, OH) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

BEST NEED FOR SPEED EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

N.F.S.C (Need For Speed Carbon)

posted by rofil90 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

This game is amazingly awesome but the beginning in N.F.S.C what you can do is race. in free roam you can still race and you can be chased by cops if you kill to many cars they call the cops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont wast ur time

posted by mhygtfrde (METUCHEN, NJ) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

it really really sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

need for speed carbon

posted by brokenlife (MUSKEGON, MI) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Carbon is one of the best racing games ever. If you like a good racing game this is the one you what !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse