Rent Need for Speed: Carbon for Wii
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Carbon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2, GC, Xbox, PS3
GF Rating
6.5

1141 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun controls, Graphics sink this title.

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Jan 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big fan of the NFS titles, but I do find the way to tinker with your car and the paint jobs something that keeps me coming back to playing these types of games.

For the Wii, I thought that the different choices you had for control scheme was good. This was the major draw for me. To an casual gamer like me, most of the controls made sense and I enjoyed using the remote like a gas pedal or a steering wheel. Using the special features like the N.O.S and crew member was pretty standard and easy to use. Overall, I liked the Wii remote the most for this game.

Although I loved the Wii remote to play this game, the visuals was a huge let down. As much as I like to customize the cars you couldn't make it look good while you raced. The scroll rate wasn't even and had low fps in many spots. This wasn't much of an improvement from the Gamecubes version and this expected from an early title, but hard to want to buy none the less.

This game had some reply value but still something pretty hard to get too deep into. It's a classic NFS plot and nothing to get too hyped up about. Although the graphics were nothing to get excited about, I do look forward to the next NFS title that uses the Wii to the full potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not even close

posted by Shrabis19 (TRENTON, GA) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have to say that I had very high hopes for this game and I was let down kinda hard. They added a few new features like the sidekicks but it was the controls that ruined this game for me.

The controls were far past bad. It seemed like the remote was never doing what I was trying to get done. At one point I got fresh batteries because the controls were that bad. I found the start out cars to be hard to steer and it got worse as you upgraded them. Also when you help the remote in the steering wheel position it did not convert the controls in the menus, so to scroll down in the menu you had to press the the now right button as you held the remote sideways.

The voice overs in the games was another annoying part. Your sidekick is always telling you something and they never shut up. Expect them to insult you when you hit a wall.

The poor controls found this game running to the return box instead of the from the cops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad, but not great

posted by yeager (LOWELL, AR) Sep 11, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Having played many of the NFS games on the PC, I thought the Wii version would be fun. It was fun, but could've been better. The controls were difficult to get used to at first, but after adjusting the sensativity driving became better. I felt that the most difficult part of the game actually had nothing to do with the driving controls or even the racing, but simply the darkness of the game. I found that the entire game was dark in brightness. Perhaps this was because of the night street racing scenario, but general darkness of the entire viewable area made driving difficult. I often had difficulty seeing ahead far enough to know when a turn was coming. If you play, make sure you turn up the brightness some, even if on an LCD or Plasma.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just another NFS series add on? NO!

posted by Vashsan (PLAINFIELD, IL) Jun 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game has been treated as just another NFS game so i think it hasn't gotten the attention it deserves.
In my opinion the Wii has revolutionized NFS. With the controller there is a much steadier learning curve as a posed to a joy stick where minimal movements are exaggerated. If you you have your license, the first person view even helps.
If your a NFS enthusiast, prepare to learn to drive all over again.
For you people who say "I'm turning the remote but the car isn't turning that hard. It's broken.", it's because your stupid (your car doesn't have the capacity to turn that hard at that speed).
For the gamers, the graphics are a step below Most Wanted and focuses on building and defending your territory with a quant story. Customizability is to the max with fully movable vinals, sizable/changeable body kits and even adjustable upgrades. You are provided with old school muscle, high end exotics and euro tuners to chose for your career. To get everything it requires a lot of skill with each category. I replayed the short career mode with each category. Oh...and your provided with a partner to help with the minor races.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Wiimote and NFS:Carbon are a fun combination.

posted by Intrinzik (CLOVIS, CA) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've Played NFS Carbon on my pc and on ps2 and i thought it was a pretty cool game. Good graphics, great game play, and lots to do. It doesn't lose anything from going to the wii. In fact the Wiimote give you an added level of control and way more fun. You can tilt the nunchuck down to accelerate just like a gas pedal or hold it sideways like a steering wheel to steer. By far the best racing experience i've ever had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the most excellent game I've known so far

posted by 1297ev (PALOS HEIGHTS, IL) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game shows that their isn't a racing game better than need for speed.the great graphics and smooth gameplay make it awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An unifinished expansion

posted by Eudaimonic (FOREST GROVE, OR) Dec 21, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

In true EA fashion, this game tacks on extra features and removed old features haphazardly without concern for what worked in the previous incarnations of the game.


Sidekicks: kinda nifty, helpful sometimes, but they caused me to lose a race more than once. Also, with the sidekicks it is possible to come in last yet still win a race if your sidekick comes in first.


Autosculpt: I never really understood how to unlock different autosculpt features. Apparently I could crop the top on some cars. I never saw that option. None of the autosculpt features looks any good anyways, I prefered the "aftermarket mods"


The new interface is terrible. When you hold the controller sideways Excite Truck style, it does not change the interface orientation, so you have to press the right arrow to navigate down in the interface.



There is an icon of the steering wheel to tell you how much you are turning, which could be useful, but there is no meter to tell you how much you are accelerating when you are using the angle of the wiimote as your gas pedal.


Running from the cops was very exciting in Hot Pursuit when your goals were right in your face the entire time. In Carbon, you have exit entirely back to the main menu out of career mode to see what you have to do to in your police chases. Far too much of a pain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Touchy

posted by MoFlava (YORBA LINDA, CA) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Played this game for about 10 minutes then gave up as I could barely navigate the simplest of turns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

First Wii Racing Game Truly Disappoints

posted by Navajo (ANN ARBOR, MI) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't know what I really expected of a title in the "Need for Speed" genre. Mainly I suppose I just wanted to see what the Wii had to offer in the field of racing games to psyche myself up for the eventual "Mario Kart" title. Unfortunately, this game did a far better job of triggering my gag reflex than anything else.

It was funny at first to be able to smash through obstacle after obstacle without losing any speed. But when I flew THROUGH a Gas Station at top speed, sending it ablaze in a massive fireball, without dropping even one or two MPH on the speedometer, it just became sad.

The complete lack of physics or anything resembling effort put into this game combined with the incessant chatter of your "crew mate" over what sounds to be a "Fisher Price" quality Walk-e Talk-e makes this a game that isn't worth the packaging it would be shipped to you in. Do yourself a favor and steer clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of time

posted by FastDaddy (REDMOND, WA) Dec 6, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Boy was I excited at the prospect of a new NFS title, and boy am I dissapointed. I am a car nut from way back and NFS Underground 2 is my all time favorite racing game. Why? The physics and reactions to tuning are very close to the real world, and I get to do what I bought the game to do...RACE!

Then came NFS Most Wanted and while the concept is good, outrunning the cops gets old VERY fast. This was a big move away from just letting me race.

Now, here comes Carbon. I saw some trailers and did some reading and thought "YES, another great NFS racing game!". Imagine my dissapointment when I fired up my new copy of Carbon in my new Wii and had to sit through a stupid movie to build a story line that is pointless. And no, there is no way, at least with the Wii version, to skip all this junk.

So, an hour later I'm through watching their lame stories, through enduring pointless "trial" runs (should be able to skip all of these if we wish) and am ready to race. I run and win my first race, and other than better graphics and a different city it felt exactly like NFS U2. But, instead of roaming around and unlocking shops to find performance parts I just jump back to the safe house and buy whatever it is I unlocked by winning the race. OK, dull but OK.

Second race. Half way through the cops get after me. I win the race, but have to continue avoiding the cops until I lose them. Second race of the game and I've got 17 police cars chasing me. I eluded them and shut the game off.

So, Electronic Arts worked long and hard on this concept. Take NFS U2, change the city and add a ton of lame movies, incorporate all the police from NFS MW and sell it as the latest and greatest. What a rip off. Get rid of the cops and let me race. I'd much rather have an upgrade to NFS U2 that adds more races. That game was fun and you spent all your time racing. Eluding cops is fun for about five minutes, then it gets old and annoying. Rent NFS U2. Much more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

totaly awesome game!!!!!!!

posted by frow (BLOOMFIELD, MO) Oct 2, 2012

Member since May 2011

The game was great.I own it now.You can make your car exactly how you want it to be like.Best game I ever had so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than midnight club

posted by nyancat5000 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

this game is da bomb,its better than midnight club and it is better then test drive unlimited, U NEED DIS GAME IT PWNS AND OWNS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What Midnight Club ought to be.

posted by hekifier (WINCHESTER, OH) May 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The concept of taking to the midnight streets to race is an engaging one, but Midnight club consistently ruins it by making races like logic puzzles, where you need to sort a hundred different routes to find that one that works. But Need for Speed Carbon is more traditional, and it's a winner for that.

There's plenty of sexy woman in the game (Nikki!), but you'll need to adjust your focus to come on top in the sprints, checkpoint races, and other race types. There's also boss races, where you'll face a rival who will spam shortcuts, then you'll need to go to the canyons in a duel. You're supposed to follow the opposing driver as closely as possible, avoiding crashing or falling off, then re-do it this time in front and trying not to allow the enemy to score more points. The controls don't always offer the precision you need, but it's a nice change.

There are various control options, but the only few worth using is the wheel, which for some reason you'll need to turn the remote up to navigate menus, and another where you hold the remote forward to accelerate and turn the joystick on the nun-chuck.

The drifting mechanics can occasionally lock on you, causing you to crash and lose many races. It seems the racing engine needed more fine tuning, because this problem can even stop the game from being fun. At least you have a lengthy single player mode, quick races, free roam and cop chases though. The graphics are also really detailed and overflowing with style, suffering from less technical quirks than Undercover.

Like many Black Box efforts, here's another flawed but fun NFS on the Wii. It's exactly what I was hoping Midnight Club would be, but isn't. It's not a terrific game, there are some issues that I couldn't let slide, but it's still fun in it's own right if you're a fan of the series, or just want some solid racing action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

just swell

posted by McKurdster (OREGON, WI) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

everything an NFS game should be. free roam, cops, and actually an ok car selection. it carries on the story from NFS Most Wanted and ends in a very challenging 4-race boss battle. i just think that EA should have used the Wi-Fi capabilities in the NFS games on Wii, given better crash damage (hit pole at 175 MPH and come out with scratches) and maybe a bigger crew selection. I definitely reccomend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Need for Speed's Carbon is a start for the Wii.

posted by wiiracer (ROELAND PARK, KS) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

Need for Speed hit us hard with Underground 1 and 2, feeling like anyone could race anywhere. With Most Wanted, people felt like they could do whatever they want and still escape from the police. Now it was time for NFS' next banger:Carbon. The plot is a classic and with the addition of crew members, it feels like you have help in your races. Graphics are somewhat mediocre and look like they have been carried over from past NFS games. The lack of customization makes you feel like you don't stand out in the crowd. Other than that Carbon is a good game and is a start for racing games on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need for Speed Carbon

posted by trexbrg (GLASGOW, MT) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I received the game but it was dirty and scratched.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

One of the WORST games ever!!!

posted by christian (WALKER, LA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

This game I only played one time and I will never play it again! It has the dumbest gangster-like story line and is hard and boring to play! I thought that this was going to be a good game when I rented but it turned out to be the worst!!! NEVER EVER RENT OR BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HATED THE GAME!

posted by bigd34 (TOBYHANNA, PA) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I am a big fan of need for speed. I waited six days to play this game and it SUCKS! It is hard to steer, wierd buttons to press. I you want to rent this game I highly suggest that you could use it on a platform other than the Wii. On a scale from 1 to 10 I'd gove it a 0, on the wii platform!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need For Speed: Carbon

posted by Brandon314 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Worst controls I have ever used in a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ZOMG!!!!

posted by KingOfRPG (SEGUIN, TX) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

This game is one of THE best I've seen for the Wii!!!! The only thing I find anoying is that you can't go to free roam on wi-fi, but then again, I have not seen any that do.

Overall, my view is on a scale of 1-10:
Grafix:9.42
Awesomeness:9.8
Movment:7
Co-op:4.5
Complete rating:10 baby!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining but Challenging

posted by BReinoehl (ANNANDALE, VA) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Need for Speed Carbon is a racing game that puts you in the first person driver seat of several street racing cars. You get to trick out your ride to suit your style and speed needs. Once you have the perfect car you compete in challeges to gain territory and unlock prizes for your car and crew.

The best part of this game is tooling around an LA like city getting into trouble with police and trying to outrun them. The second best part is racing against rival teams on the streets for power.

The only problem I had was I couldn't get past a drift challenge 1/4 into my career and eventually had to give up the tedious sliding all ovet the track to get back to my life.

A memory that will last a long time is me screaming down a curvy hill popping over a rise and slamming into a "Slow" sign at 119 MPH. As it was happening the game game me a 3rd person view of the air and crash. Good times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Racing

posted by Malkier20 (O FALLON, MO) Dec 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Over all I thoroughly enjoyed this game. If you like the NFS series then this is a great addition to the line. The steering definitely takes getting used to. It took me a few races and some time in free roam to get confident with it.

Pros:
-Great selection of cars.
-Fun element of police chases with escalating difficulty.
-Mildy interesting story line.
-Fun addition of teammates adds a different dimension to the races.
-Challenging canyon races.
-You don't have to race every race to advance. I hate drift races and was able to beat the game without playing one.

Cons:
-I hate the drift races and think they should b removed.
-I would have enjoyed customizing the cars performance more.
-Sometimes your teammates seem like they are trying to make you lose.

Overall I liked the game alot and had fun playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

UMMMMM.......

posted by bobthekid (HOWELL, MI) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

the storyline is o.k. I guess... But the controls for the wii version were kinda weird. I think its something on need for speed games where the cars just slide all over the place!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AWESOME!

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Aug 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

This is the best racing game i have ever played!
The graphics are great, the cars are fast, and the story is easy to follow. Get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

only for NFS addicts

posted by FourFifth (South Yarmouth, MA) Aug 2, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Unless you're dedicated to need for speed, skip this. for one thing that game is too dim, too many times I have slammed into a wall simply because I couldn't see it. Second, the canyon racing is AWFUL. The canyon racing is pretty much as point less as the drifting, which they do have drifting on canyon levels. I haven't played a game this frustrating in a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse