Rent Need for Speed: Carbon for PS3
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Carbon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2, GC, Xbox, Wii
GF Rating
7.1

1997 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The only review you Need To Read.

posted by applesauce (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Need For Speed: Carbon is fantastic.

The other reviewers complained of PS2-type graphics.. I'd imagine it's because they don't have an HDTV.

The gameplay is just fun.
And you get sucked in. Hooked. Completely.
You create your own crew ('gang') and take over territory by winning races. You earn money, unlock cars, and unlock upgrades.

I currently took over 2/4 territories, and have a sweet driftin' RX-7.

So many options to select when upgrading your car, like if you want grip or drift, etc.

Also, the game has mini-games, 'challenges'. They are so fun, and they unlock more things for you. Getting away from the cops is great, and doesn't get old! :)

A must rent, and worth the buy as well. Have fun with this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

4.8 Rating?

posted by MissisMan (BONNE TERRE, MO) Nov 25, 2006

Member since May 2006

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games in the series, however it isn't perfect, as no game in my opinion is. However here are the facts of the game. When you first play it, you have a option to take 3 routes. One route is the tuners in which case you choose the mazda rx8. The second route is the muscle cars, in which case you receive the Camaro SS. The Third Route is the exotics, in which case you choose the 2006 Alfa Brera. Now on to the game. The story line is GREAT, and the racing is VERY realistic, and the cop chases remind me of what it was like when I use to street race, and how they acted etc. The only flaws in this game that I can really tell are the fact of you really can't choose which company your parts come from, and there is no underglow in this game what so ever. That being said overall this is a great game, despite its minor mishaps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fast and Furious meets Grand Theft Auto

posted by 39Mustang (ALLEN, TX) May 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Unlike Pro Street, this game is entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, but still needs some fine tuning

posted by Legionary (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 5, 2007

Member since May 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, so this need for speed game was good. But it still lacks what the original NFS's had. The game wasn't all that long, wasn't all that hard. And what is Need for Speed, when it doesn't even have the fastest production car in the world? The McLaren F1. Do any of you, even remember the old NFS multiplayer? Either both running away from the cops or chasing each other. The multiplayer in Carbon is not fun. I just think EA could have made it better. But nonetheless, NFS Carbon is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

mediocre graphics, nearly identical mechanics

posted by Reminkimi (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 30, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I just finished renting this game, beating it, and returning it. The game does not show off PS3 graphics. To be honest, it reminded me of ps2 graphics for "need for speed most wanted." It does not dazzle like Motorstorm. Moreover, the gameplay is virtually identical except that there are a few additions: namely, there are very few cop chases; now you have one person who drives with you as your crew member, which is definitely the funner aspect of the game; instead of beating people on a list, there are only really 4 "bad guys" and the goal is to conquer territory, so you go around racing at different locations and slowly conquer the need for speed world they put you in.

But the game's lack of visual flare and redundant gameplay makes this one to RENT rather than buy. That's exactly why I signed up with GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Racer

posted by itsmeduh (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Aug 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game is great for the people that like racing and cars there are exotic, muscle (my favorite), and tuner. And also the story line is great! I give this game a 10 for the racing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is good butttt...

posted by alexmcg (VANCEBURG, KY) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I don't think it's as good as Most Wanted. The visuals are very weak considering the power of the ps3 and the car physics leave a lot to be desired.

EA listen up. Bring back the Most Wanted Car Physics and Bring in some sport bikes. If you do this for next year i will definitely buy this game. For right now I'll just keep it rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

6.6 Rating???????????????????

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

What is wrong with you guys?? This is an excelent game with fantastic graphics and gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent racer, not so decent graphics

posted by Mikemare (CLYDE, NC) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dcent racer with a fairly open ended system, decent city layout, and some fun aspects.

The graphics really let the game down, as they are dark, dingy, and when your really flying, hard to see.

Many of the cars race the same, and building them with the same parts over and over gets pointless quickly.

I also have the PC version of the game, and its slightly superior.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disapointed

posted by FrankiB (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was the same exact game from PS2. you're just waisting your time if you think this is going to be a next generation game. i don't even know why PS would release this on the PS3. it really makes you second guess your purchase. Also had the same result with the Godfather game. If you haven't already bought a PS3, i would hold off. All the big tittles are due out around the fall-winter. Just in time for Christmas. typical.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun game

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a fun driving game. Easy to finish, at the end it is a little redundant. The online portion of this game is not very good. Not bad of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Come on EA

posted by Skiingrule (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now I gave this game an 8 for the ps2, because for the PS2 it's a good game. But, I expect a lot more out of a PS3 game. I have a 60" sony 1080p TV. and believe me. THe graphics are a little better then you play the ps2 version on your PS3. It's just another in a long line of games that EA has made for the PS3 that make you feel like they were just trying to get it out in time for CHristmas. I expect more out of a PS3 game than I do it's PS2 counterpart. Again it's a good game just not better than the ps2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NFS fan trying to get it...

posted by Qballer33 (FAIRPORT, NY) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I LOVED NFS Most wanted. So my anticipation of Carbon was understood. I'm a bit under whelmed of the game. I figured, next gen, the potential was unmeasured. That seems to be the point of the entire game. You feel the sense of something lacking, like you had a great meal, but plenty of room for dessert. That dessert just never comes in this game. I miss the cop chases, the sun, more edge of your seat action. Drifting sucks. I need more speed after playing need for speed. Go figure. It's a good game, but that's it....good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not bad

posted by dBIGGUY42 (JAMAICA, NY) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

but not outstanding. i agree that the graphics do not fully exploit the capability of the PS3. fairly easy to defeat as well. Most wanted took me twice as long to finish. decent game that keeps you entertained for a few days, but doesn't carry you much further than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why Such A Low Rating?

posted by Guns1inger (READING, PA) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Why does this game have such a low rating? (4.9 As I write this). It's a really good racing game, and definitely one of the best of the Need For Speed franchise. It isn't perfect, but it's good. It has good ratings on the other systems, and why not the PS3? I personally beat it for the Xbox 360, but it's the game, so the ratings should not differ so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very adicting

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is great. once i start playing it, i cant stop playing it for a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

so-so

posted by johnson (BETHLEHEM, CT) May 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game was great but three major promblem and that is the amount of darkness. i love costomizing my own cars and getting that pink slip that tells you that you get their car but i can't race if i can't see the road. the only way that i can tell who is who is that there is a mark flouting in the air above everyone's car. also the police are none stop tring to kill you. they use road blocks and spike stripes. the third reason i gafe it a lower rank is it is too long there are like a hundred races so i can't finish the game without getting board. don't buy but if you wan't to play it for a week then take your chances and rent. at lest i worned you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Opinion on Game play With NFS Carbon

posted by DaGizzle83 (UNIONDALE, NY) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Overall it was a disappointment....I expect something better from this game given what the NFS Underground series brought to the table....I expected more of a dynamic feel of the drifting and racing, but everything was pretty basic and straight forward, like it was made for the 14 and under category. No real thinking is needed if u have played the prior NFS games...Just a bad experience overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BUY

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Its need for speed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Another Loser

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) May 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

This is just another poorly thought out game, no matter how good a car you have the AI controlled cars are ALWAYS going to be Faster Handle Better and have drivers that never miss a turn even a fraction. When you get to the last Area your chances of winning a race go down to less then nothing. this is a don't waste your time with it game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trouble

posted by tbrown87 (ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

If i am paying yo rent games from game fly then the game better work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game

posted by MIACanes4Life (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

No trophies was a big downer for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

carbon please

posted by notme911 (village, NY) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

free plase dvd buy 63

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent but not the best NSF

posted by SethAtkins (DALLAS, TX) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

NSF Carbon is worth checking out if you enjoy the NSF (or similar) games. It's fairly short and not much on the "story" (heh, like any of the NSF games have much of a story), but delivers the goods and adds a few unique play elements. Carbon adds team racing which is kind of nice because you get to finally fight fire with fire against the cheating NSF AI. On team races, you don't have to win, just you or your team mate...and your team mate has the same rubber band, auto-catch-up-and-rocket-past-you-seemingly-at-350mph, mechanism that makes typical NSF games so frustrating.

Pros:
- Classic NSF arcade physics
- Few tracks that require you to retry 50 times to beat the cheating AI (with one exception)
- Not too long to complete

Cons:
- Probably the most difficult boss race of all NSF games

All in all, there's nothing terribly unique about this game, but there is also nothing terribly broken either. It's par for the NSF series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun Even When You Lose

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

This is the best Need for Speed game, especially on the PS3. The PlayStation 2 version was only OK. But the PlayStation 3 version is almost perfect. The graphics are excellent. In the upper left corner, you see your rival as you race him or her. They react when you pass them, they pass you, you hit them, or when you either win or lose. Kenji and Angie are especially fun to watch this with. This makes it fun to race them, even when you lose the race (they gloat when they beat you). Although I still dislike the concept of the canyon duels, I have fun watching the rivals. Aside from that, there is actually traffic on the streets as you race on the PS3 version while the PS2 had clear streets. There are more cutscenes that the PS2 version omitted. Also on this version, your rivals talk to you through an open car window and the computer animation looks exactly like the actual actors that plays that character. On the PS2, they still talk to you through a rolled-up tinted window. Altogether, this is an awesome game. Need for Speed fans should definately try this one. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse