Rent Need for Speed: Carbon for PS2
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Carbon

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox, GC, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
7.9

1421 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NFS: Carbon is the best!!!

posted by coolgame (OROVILLE, WA) Jan 16, 2007

Member since May 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played most wanted and was like wow this is fun and now playing carbon is more fun! this is the best game for PS2!!!!! (my opinion)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Need For Speed: Carbon is the best game ever!

posted by Reaper1 (WINFIELD, AL) Nov 3, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is the total package and more! The graphics are an A+ and the physics and gameplay are just as good. There is only one downside to this game and that is there are not as many engine upgrades as was in Most Wanted, but the entire car customization sculptor pretty much makes up for the missing pieces. That is why Carbon gets an A in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nearly perfect

posted by dncinggrrl (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

How refreshing to have a fun racing game!!! The graphics are beautiful and the gameplay is addictive. I also have to give this game props for the upgrades, they are definitely a step up from previous NFS titles. The ability to play the game in different modes ( quick race, challenge series, free roam )for unlockables that all accumulate towards the player's profile is also a definite plus. now for the downers. Drifting on this game is so sloppy it is nearly impossible to win some of those races unless you are dedicated to running the same race over and over again. The crew members are a nice change, but as with most CG cars in racing games they can prove to be more of a hindrance than a help, but the scouts are a nice idea for finding the shortcuts you may otherwise miss. My last gripe is the cops, now this may sound stupid, but they are a little too easy to outrun and outsmart and as you upgrade your vehicle the ease with which you can lose them increases, where's the challenge? Anytime you can be surrounded by 6 or 7 cop cars and can still back or ram your way out of getting busted, well, let's just say I like my cops a little feistier than that. For the true racing fan, you will have a blast playing this game, I recommend it for all driving fanatics like me!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!! MUST READ

posted by jetsrule (OCEAN GROVE, NJ) Nov 5, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

i got this game when it first came out. it is a very detailed game and the graphics are good. the cars are very realistic and the customizing is cool too. the only thing is its alittle to easy to beat i am on the last boss so it has taken me about 3-4 days. ITS A GREAT GAME GO BUY IT NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game But Kinda Short

posted by zombierage (PHILIPPI, WV) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have had the game for 2 days and i have beat it 60%. The graphic are A+ and gameplay is superb, but drifting is confusing and a little sloppy. Great game if u like driving games. Worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

need for speed carbon

posted by menace (GREENACRES, FL) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i liked carbon very much but thought the game play was much easier than prior titles. controls were good, so were the look of the cars. i think there could have been more done, like keeping the drag races loved those but the addition of the canyon was fun. NFSC was a good game and a worthy installment to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

EA Needs to Wake Up !

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 7, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I did enjoy this and I bought it. But I am disappointed in several things:

1. No traffic during races or pursuits.

2. Only around 5 UNIQUE vinyls! I am so tired of the stripes and tribals. (I used to love those splash and modern vinyls on Underground 2). Plus, U2 had LOTS of unique vinyls. EA is getting LAZY.

3. Story was too short.

4. No more shops. You just buy everything at your safehouse.

EA is getting lazy and needs to remember its previous NFS games. My favorite is U2. There were zillions of vinyls and a better storyline there and I would love to have all that back.

PS: For those that have played `Most Wanted` and remember Cross, this game still has Cross' name on the police Corvette and he's now a bounty hunter. The lazies at EA didnt even take time to remove his name off the car he no longer drives.

EA: Wake up!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awsome.

posted by mukbjl (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Need for speed carbon is in my opinon the best need for speed game out. I don't think there will be one like it. You get to pick from exotics tuners, and american muscle cars. The drifting is also very good in this game. It is mroe fun than any of the other need for speeds. You get to have your own crew of three people. You can hire and fire your crew members for better people. They also have there own specials. some people make it so you get more money and othere get you other power ups. i strongly recomend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best

posted by Troubled1 (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 2, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

NEED FOR SPEED CARBON IS THE BEST RACING GAME EVER MADE! IT'LL PROBABLY NEVER BE ANOTHER ONE LIKE IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BesT Game Ever

posted by Nino3mendo (TOBYHANNA, PA) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is the best cant stop playing at all just having fun 24/7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not horrible

posted by Meekus (ROCKLIN, CA) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Sure, NFS: Carbon looks great, and sounds great...but it's not great. Firstly, either I'm getting too good at these games, or Carbon is way too easy. Secondly, the car selection isn't as varied as it has been in the past. Thirdly, I'm unimpressed by the customization. Okay, yeah, you can Autosculpt SOME of the parts, but only if you have certain people in your crew (usually the more worthless ones), and even though I'll spend a good 10-15 minutes pimping out my "ride", I don't like spending hours tweaking each little curve and fin to the minutest detail...I play the game to race, not to stare at my car in the garage, and I can only see the rear end of my car 99% of the time, so who cares if my rims are concaved 28%? Fourthly, the races themselves are lacking. Gone are the drag-races, the drifting (which I've never liked to begin with) is sloppy at best, the circuits are ALL 2 laps, and the canyon races are impossibly frustrating with anything but a tuner, and then you're two slow to win it! Fifthly, the wingmen! UGH!!! The blockers are worthless because they're too far behind to ever catch up to anyone to block, and the drafters are prone to blocking you! Scouts are nice sometimes for showing some shortcuts, but they tend to show your opponents them, too. All wingmen love to get in the way, and the races without them are the most fun. All in all, compared to most racers, Carbon is a decent game, but as far as a Need For Speed title, it falls way short. BRICK!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ugh, when do we start racing?

posted by joblessjun (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game has too much loading, too many badly acted cut scenes, a stupid plot, and gameplay tricks that complicate your day and detract from just racing. I don't care about my "crew", I don't want to wander around at night to find my "safe house", and I don't care about taking over areas from other gangs. What happened to the racing?

The characters in this game aren't "cool", they're just insulting and stereotypical. It feels like something middle-aged suburban white dudes thought would play well with urban youth hipsters. Wrong.

Once upon a time, when it was just about fast driving in an expensive car, I thought the Need For Speed series was a lot of fun. Maybe I'm just getting too old for this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It just gets worse

posted by Floridakid (MERRITT ISLAND, FL) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was disappointed with most wanted, because of no online, very bad tuning and driving isn't as solid as underground. In my opinion Underground is so much better than every NFS after it. So Don't even bother with this one, and just get Any of the 2 undergrounds. Cop chases are pathetic. The game takes about 2 hours to beat. If you've played NFS most wanted than you don't need to bother with this one. its the same but less cars less opponents less everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the game

posted by titan4 (WHITEWATER, WI) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

The game i order from you on december 12 2009 was need for speed carbon for the playstation 2 and the game wont load past the opening creadits any way you can send me the 2nd game on my list and another copy of need for speed carbon at the same time..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NFS CARBON REVIEW

posted by tootall (AURORA, CO) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Well the game over all is good. like the other nfs games that came before, full customazation is availble. the graphics are good and the story line is good as well. the only down sides are when you are trying to concure the final teratory the game goes from medium to pain in the butt. and its very difficult to drift in this game. Also like MOSTWANTED, this game freezes too. but over all a good game if you have alot of time to devote

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Notch Below Perfect

posted by Andy88 (MARIETTA, OH) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I normaly don't rate games at a 9, but wow this game is awesome, UnderGround 2 was pretty good but was boring, with no cars on the street during free roam and no police chases,UnderGround 2 was terrible. This game just kicked Most Wanted, Underground2, and Pro Street(I wrote this review December 22nd 08 so that's why I mentioned Pro Street) off a cliff and ran them over 25 times at full speed. Carbon's police chases are awesome, You can lead cops into a car so the cops go spining when you get enough cops they make a road block, go full speed and ram through, even if you don't make it through you can easily backup and drive away from the cops following behind, another cool thing is when you hit the gas station or something the big tire on it falls down and hits a cop car and you can see the cop get smashed in slow motion. This game is awesome. I highly recomend renting this or buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i looove this game:))

posted by xboxluverr (WOODSTOCK, IL) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

this game is soo funn 2 play. i can sit down thinking il play like an hr and i end up playing for 5!! this game never really gets boring! iv had this game 2 days and im already 60% thru it. i played this game literally all day yesterday-i only got up to eat. i love this game and i will deffinately buy it-if u rent this u wont be sry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

IT'S ok

posted by MIMAS19 (MIAMI, FL) Dec 10, 2008

Member since May 2006

the game was ok.the graphics weren't the best but they were ok.the cars in the game were pretty cool.but it's not as good as need for speed undercover.but it's a little better then need for speed pro street

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this is awesome

posted by averett35 (SANTAQUIN, UT) Jul 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

This is the coolest game ever i can't beat the end though. they made the game so cool the sounds for the game are so realistic all the need for speed games are

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by matt123192 (BROOKFIELD, WI) May 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

this was a good game. they have good cars in this game and the computer racers are a lot more challenging than the computer racers in most wanted. the game is more challenging than all of the need for speed games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NOT A BIG FAN OF THIS GAME, BUT IT WAS GOOD!!!

posted by BEOWULFANG (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

UNLIKE MOST PEOPLE WRITTING A REVIEW I GIVE THIS GAME A 7. I THOUGHT GRAFFICS WERE INCREDIBLE. THIS MIGHT JUST BE ME BUT I LOVE CUSTIMIZING JUST ABOUT ANYTHING, SO I ENJOYED CUSTIMIZING MY VEHICHLES AND CREATING MY OWN LOGO DURING GAMEPLAY. I LIKE HAVING TEAMMATES DURING RACES. I WASN'T SO SURE ABOUT THE DRIFTING. IT DIDN'T REALLY MAKE SENCE ON HOW YOUR IN SLOW-MOTION AND YOUR MOVING ALL OVER THE PLACE. THE STORY WAS VERY VERY VERY SHORT. BUT YOU'LL ENJOY VERSING THE BOSSES OF EACH TERRITORY DOING THE DOWNHILL DRIFT WITHOUT USING THAT WEIRD DRIFT MOTION!

I THINK THIS WAS AN OK GAME IF YOUR LOVE RACING GAMES

!!DON'T BUY, RREENNTT IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is awesome!

posted by pmmom38 (GASTON, SC) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Need For Speed, any version is awesome but personally my favorites so far are Carbon and Underground 2. The Graphics and choices you get to make is way better than any other game I've ever played so there worth your time and money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awesome

posted by kingofking (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

this is the best racing game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW

posted by drewguy (BELLFLOWER, CA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

I did have a hard time putting my finger on this one but I think I have it. When I first played this game I felt that this was a well thought out game. The fell of it was flawless. It took a while for me to get tired of this game. Now while I was good at this game, it did seem that it might have posed a real challenge to someone who is new to the racing genre the police heat was the first. It seemed like it just climbed too fast. One second you would find yourself rolling over police cars like harmless children, and the next have all of your tires blown while running from corvettes (and yes I still evaded the pursuit thank you very much). You may have also found that you were just squeezing by with the money you made off of the races. The game had a plentiful array of vehicles to chose from. Any one can dive into this game and fall in love with one of the cars ( my favorite was the louts). If the game was thought out better it would be up with the legends. If I were you I would buy this game

Still here, go away!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best racing game ever

posted by MOTOCROSS (ELIZABETHTON, TN) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

need for speed carbon is the baest racing game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse