Rent Need for Speed: Carbon for GC
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Carbon

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox, Wii, Xbox 360, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
7.7

288 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

An awesome game

posted by Kasuga (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wasn't really into racing games since I'm a fan of mountain racing. Need For Speed: Carbon brought me entertainment. A new feature in the game is mountain passes. You race down the mountain and their are many places to drift. If you hit a guard rail on the mountain, your car will fly off the mountain counting as a loss. The game's story is still basically top racer falls to a low car and has to work his way back up. But now there is a crew style of game play. You recruit people to your team and they will race with you in certain crew battles. You can command a crew member to knock a person off the track. It adds a whole new layer to the game. The only thing that stops me from giving it a 10/10 is because the game is a tad short.I enjoyed the game alot and hence I gave it a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great!

posted by BrAnDoN120 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought that it was pretty fun untill I got to the end...then I got aggravated because it was too hard but I would recommend this to anyone who likes the Need for Speed games or any type of racing games....there is also a wide variety of types of races as well as things to make your car awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by camisado24 (SUNBURY, OH) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Need For Speed once agian comes out with an awsome game. The only problem I have is that the story mode was just racing, nothing else. It is a race game so I guess that was how it was made, but I like a little depth to a game, more than racing. Very good game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow.

posted by faliGC (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is the best Need for Speed yet. They've taken some of the best elements from previous games in the series, improved them, and added new elements. The music is 10x better than on Most Wanted especially, and actually creates a mood when you're racing down a dark, lonely canyon. One thing I have against the game, it seems to go from very easy to difficult after maybe the 5th race. The cop chases are also more difficult, but that just makes you become better at finding shortcuts. Overall, awesome game and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need for Speed? Heres Your Fix!

posted by huktongamz (ENTERPRISE, AL) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a huge fan of the underground series and "NOT" Most Wanted I was somewhat iffy. Well, Iffy about the COPS situation that is. NFS Most Wanted in my opinion was one the most annoiying games ever released on any console. If it weren't for anger manegment I may have went through hundreds of dollars worth of controllers, haha. But like I said being a fan of NFS Underground I decided the heck with it lets drive! The game starts out with your choice of three unique styles of cars. Muscle, Exotic, and Tuner. This choice can make the game very different amazingly. The Muscles drive like they would in real life, "LIKE CRUD"! But they also have such a killer acceleration and powerful sound that you really feel like if you can get the handling of the car down and some upgrades you'd be the loudest, and baddest dude around. The choice of tuners however at least in the beginning of the game are very weak. No honda Civic?? The exotic car class is the one thats performance is what you could consider a good balance between the three types. Including 3 different Labmorginis!! Muscle = Power/Accelleration, Tuner = Handling, and Exotics like I said are a very good balance between the three. This being said you must realize that all the customizations can change the performance of each of these styles greatly. The cars will become what you make them, that is the whole Idea, so don't feel limited or anything like that.
GAMEPLAY: The gameplay is absolutely fantastic with somewhat of an easier than usual feel, but thats good because there is a lot to do in this one!! Graphics are excellent and very up to par with todays games. It definately brings back the feel that you are in Underground 2 again, but WAY better, and with COPS and Drifting. Which brings me to my number one ENEMY in this series of games. The cops are a pain at times but with an option for Infinate NOS and SpeedBreakers you'll be able to Toast them and destroy them in a heartbeat. The game is definately worth a rent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No re-play value

posted by gaia66 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

The Need for Speed franchise has hit a curve with CARBON. The graphics are great, but I got to the end of the game in about 4 hours and trying to re-do races doesn't get you any money. The best part is the auto-sculpt, but they took all the fun out of the drift!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Racing Game

posted by mario1994 (ONTARIO, CA) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Need for Speed Carbon is a great racing game that racing fans would love. The story line of NFS Carbon is the main character is exiled from palmont city and returns to find the city as a huge battleground with 4 major racing crews fighting for control of the city. The 4 major crews include: Wolf's T.F.K., Kenji's Bushido, and Angies 21st street crew. The last major crew is Stacked Deck whose leader is for you to find out. there are also many minor race crews in palmont city they are Rotor4, Inferno, Black Hearts, Kings, Los Colibries, and Scorpios. The car classes are: Muscle, Tuner, Exotic. Each of the major crews have a specialty in these car classes T.F.K. has specialty with Exotics, Bushido has a Specialty with Tuners, and last 21st street has a specialty in Muscle cars. As for stacked deck they have a specialty with all car classes. Now that you know the basics of the game I will tell you the starting. The main character comes back to palomont only to run friend Darius who informs you about what is going on in palmont. once that is over you learn the basics of owning your own crew. and That is the Basics of Need For SPeed Carbon. Have Fun and happy Racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by tacojuice (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Feb 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

game has most excellent graphics and is a blast.best N.F.S. game i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

almost perfect!!!

posted by rko777 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Feb 3, 2007

Member since May 2006

This game is great!!! But not as good as the 360 version, 360 version has better stuff!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Carbon

posted by ian968 (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

This game is HORRIBLE! My friend and me don't like it. I only had it for 2 days!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need For Speed: Carbon

posted by mbiphoto (DONALSONVILLE, GA) Dec 22, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

This game is good, but hasn't lived up to the expectations and the hype. Yeah, it's fast and yeah, there's cops chasing you if that's what you want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Never got to play it

posted by devman (PORT ARANSAS, TX) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

The disk was so scratched up, it never worked in my game system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

needs less chalenges

posted by sparks (SOUTH DAYTONA, FL) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

The game is good I won't cheat the makers out of their due. But they need to make the drifting coarse less hard. I've tried it 30 times and lost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay not well

posted by nick1114 (NORWALK, CT) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

This game is good except for the fact that it doesn't save!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »