Rent Need for Speed: Carbon - Own the City for PSP Games
view large frontback

Need for Speed: Carbon - Own the City

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA, DS
GF Rating
7.2

375 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

need for speed carbon own the city!!!!

posted by mukbjl (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Need for speed carbon own the city was a really fun game. This has been one of the best nfs out so fare. Its like nfs 2 and nfs mostwanted put together. You get good graphics. teh costimization was really good. you get 25 cars to costimize. they have good vinals and colors. you get a more custimizaation than in most wanted. You can run from teh cops like in most wanted. Being able to make a racing crew gets a plus just for them trying it. They did a good job doing it to. I hope this was helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NFS:OTC

posted by KirkPwnage (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Nov 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It is a very good Racing game for the PSP, the best one i have played, it beats Midnight Club...But Barely, its got a great storyline, the controls are good, only real problem with this game is, you'll run into a bug every now and then, usually rendered map coloration, but its no big deal.

Very fun game and its not to short, i beat it in 2 days played, and money is easy to get. I highly recommend buying the game or atleast renting the game. It IS longer than most racing games, but still short when you think about it...Online play can get pretty laggy after awhile, but Single Player is better than online mode in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The game is okay, better than the last one...

posted by matthew326 (ROLLING HILLS ESTATES, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the last one's controls better... but besides that everything is much better than the last one. The cars are better than the last one. THe sound track is pretty cool too. This is a good solid game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You call that a game!!!

posted by CruelCity (SHERMAN, TX) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was so small that it used the same race track every single time. When I was racing sometimes the ground would disapear and it would appear that I was driving on sunshine. DO NOT BUY THIS HORRIBLE GAME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PSP Carbon

posted by gtaday51 (SYRACUSE, NY) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Look, im not going to lie...NFS Most Wanted 510 was not a good game, EA rushed it through production in about 5 months. However, EA has redeemed the Need For Speed games on the PSP with Carbon: Own the City. It combines a good physics engine with decent car customization. The game lets you play with two crew members in a six man race, which is better that Carbon on the PS2. EA rectified their mistakes and Carbon: Own the City has about 10 different modes in it. From outrun, where you have to get out of rival territory within the time limit...to your basic street races. The cops are not the best in video games, however they do add to the fun.

I've gone astray...the crew member in the game do their job very well. THey also get better with use so if a blocker can't get a guy just keep using him until he levels up. You can also use both crew members at the same time. So i can send a blocker out to get the first place man while i take first by using a drafter. All in all, Own the City is a good game. Dare i say thats its one of the best racing games on the PSP? Yes i do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

well it's pretty F!$#in awsome

posted by zsrgxg5 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 16, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i actually own the game ,it was a pretty good buy but i expected more from it because of new features from the PS2. this game takes about a day to a day and a half to beat(TIP: own the city murcielago in cross town sprint and buy all the cars you want by beating this race planty times, also holdmdown nos before 3,2,1 and steer to the right to avoid car in front of you and get a huge start from all the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is...........

posted by InuKag (CONCORD, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

SO FREAKING AWESOME, U HAVE TO GET IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game has many flaws

posted by JacobRocks100 (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

I am giving this game a 4 because I am not a jerk. This game was simply boring. A lot of stuff to do and it is challenging. Its just too much racing controls feel a little weird. Also story line FAILS it is just played out. you are racing get knocked into a coma and then you wake up and race. (sounds like links awakening or something.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game with a decent story line

posted by ZooKeeper (LA CROSSE, KS) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Has a good story and graphics for a psp game. The controls can be a little quirky at times, but it is overall a solid racing game, that is better then most of the other psp racing games available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome game!! way better then the last one

posted by distroyer (MILL CREEK, WA) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

It is a very good game for the, it beats Midnight Club...by a lot, its got a great storyline,but the graphics arent the best but thats compared to the ps3, also i love the feature that u can have 2 wingmans to assist u in the races but not in all of them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

need for speed carbon own the city

posted by cowman1234 (ELIZAVILLE, NY) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

this game rocks the graphics are great the cars handle realy good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by Yidster (BLACKSBURG, VA) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Easy game, but lots of fun. Cars are nice, soundtrack is great. story behind the game is much better than the older versions. graphics are amazing. must rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The worse Need For Speed game i ever played

posted by scott26 (BUFFALO GROVE, IL) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this game is completely unplayable. It is so hard to control that dum stupid car. it gets boring so quick i played for 5 minutes and i was pist I was thinking why did i even rent this dum stupid game. There is a plus side all game have at least one plus side. The plus side is the graphics are amazing one of the best graphics ive seen on the psp so far. The other good part is the Wingman makes driving a little easier but still this game is completley unplayable. The psp racing games are actually always been fun like Burnout legends and Test Drive Unlimited is awesome games for the psp but this game just makes the psp game genre look bad. Please Please dont buy this game if you want you could rent it but you will see why this game is not worth 30 dollors when you get it you will believe me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rather Dissapointing

posted by Guns1inger (READING, PA) Jun 3, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

I'm a big fan of Need For Speed games. From my personal point of view, this game was not as good as I thought it would be. The storyline just isn't as interesting as the previous games were. The graphics are pretty good for a PSP game, but the graphics is not what concerns me, it's the lack of gameplay. Like I stated earlier, it's just not like the previous games. I don't know if it's the fact that I own Carbon for the Xbox 360 and the PSP version isn't as good or what, but I did not enjoy NFS: Carbon OTC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Need For Speed A Big disappoint mint.

posted by jmoney11 (GRANDVIEW, MO) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

When Need for Speed Carbon first came out I was VERY excited. But after I played this game I got disappointed Quickly. The Games Racing is fun but, the music is boring, the city is small and won't win ANY awards for best looking city.
The cars are nice and the customization features really help your car look unique. The cars handle nicely. Speaking of cars the police cars aren't that changing to avoid, and they don't bring out helicopters or faster police cars.
The AI are kind of dumb. Not only that, since the city is so small the races all fill the same after awhile. The story line isn't much better ether. The plot is simple and easy to predict. This makes story mode a real flop. The concept art is well drawn and makes it one of the extras you want to work for.
The only thing keeping this game at a 6 is that the racing and that at heart it's a good game.

On music it's a 4
On graphics it's a 6
On controls its a 9
ON NPC IQ it's a 5
On story it's a 7
On extras it's a 9

The final verdict is a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is just another driving game.

posted by bastelle (MAPLE VALLEY, WA) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2004

The music is hip, graphics are cool but when it comes down to the game it is just another driving game. I like that you have a "team" of people that can help you win races and that you can take territories but it just kept me in average mode. You can set the game up to play the music you have on the PSP so that is a plus a suppose. If you really dig driving games check this one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better than I thought

posted by IronDiva (WAYNE, NJ) Apr 3, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

This is the 1st racing game I've ever played and I found it easy to learn, good controls, blahblah. I like that there's a storyline. I was wondering if I was just going to be driving around in circles. And except for the British rap (stick to heavy metal, you guys) the soundtrack was pretty good! I even downloaded some of the songs for my Ipod.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

need for speed is a great series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jacktt (LAFAYETTE HILL, PA) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I have not played alot of need for speed games but this one is amazeing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice upgrade

posted by felrio (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

This is a game that has good graphics and for the time I used it, I have enough interest to buy it. The challenge is there along with interest and feeling of the streets with a nice car....
The story it is not very original but it's not so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Carbon Copy is a good name....

posted by Kion34 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

It is a good game, and if you like anime, even better. I personally dont like it, I want FMV or at least realistic looking pics. Im not a fan of anime, and I really dont know why they went that route, but hey, its their game, more power to them.

The handling seems really loose to me, takes a bit to get used to, and the controls for the PSP are awkward. The game itself is very simplistic, pretty easy to make rank/points/territories/w- hatever the goal is...

Not into the music aspect of the game, but the plus here is you can listen to your tracks stored on the memory card...nice feature.

Overal a good game and one definately worth a buy if you like racing/mod games and dont already own Most Wanted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »