Rent Naval Assault: The Killing Tide for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Naval Assault: The Killing Tide

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.1

1154 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

The controls work

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

59 out of 61 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Not really anything else nice to say about the game.

Graphically it is about on par with the first Silent Service game, the ships have a sort of distinct shape though really the only major difference is the size of them.

There is an interesting water streaming off the periscope effect when you switch to it, though when you find yourself looking at the same background as every other mission and grey shapes that are supposed to be the different ships you rather stop caring how well they got the water streaming.

There are mines in the water for some missions, hitting the chain detonates the mine and damages your ship. This happens if it is on the surface and you are at the lowest you can take your submarine. When there are mines the enemy ships completely ignore the mines and you find you can not launch a torpedo through a mine field and hit anything but mines that seem to stay there after detonating a torpedo.

By far the biggest problem is the iffy coding, sometimes you stop a ship dead in it's tracks no matter where you actually see the detonation of the torpedo. What a ship is does make a difference on how many torpedoes it takes, but not in a consistent manner, hitting an oil tanker in the oil should make for one big explosion and one destroyed tanker. It does not, the small ships take one torpedo, tankers frigates and cruisers take two torpedoes, battleships apparently take over four torpedoes and do not care where you hit them.

Might be fun multiplayer, single player is basically worthless, you see the same background, the same ships every mission, there is no actual difference between the missions except some you have to be quiet and others it seems makes no difference.

Basic controls, three depths for your submarine, surface submerged and deep. One torpedo launcher to start, you get stars by how much tonnage you sink per mission to unlock other submarines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's..decent.

posted by ir1337 (ALLENTOWN, PA) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

30 out of 31 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

I've been playing this game a lot lately because of my frustration with MW2 and this game is almost as frustrating. My biggest problem with it is the fact that the enemy ALWAYS knows where you are. Even if you are at a green light(that means the enemy doesn't know where you are) they still manage to drop depth charges on you. Also Depth charge + Minefield=Dead submarine. You can't even avoid a depth charge in a minefield.

Some of the missions are nearly impossible even on easy mode. The frigates always know where you are so if you go to periscope depth to fire a torpedo you die extremely quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One word review

posted by unblinkingeye (TOMBALL, TX) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One word sums up this game (play, graphics, sound, story): HORRIBLE. Do yourself a favor and get Battlestations: Midway instead!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

another horrible navy game

posted by blacman64 (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

36 out of 42 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

gonna torpedo this game right back to gamefly. i played it for an hour and put it back in the envelope. better luck nest time. support our troops

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Naval Assault

posted by utah116 (TOPEKA, KS) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

while holding true to the form of seaborn games i found this game to be increasingly difficult at times and not much in the way of moving forward as far as gameplay goes. On the upside, the graphix were well planned out and the strategic thought process is not a miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun to play... but glitch

posted by gearfan (LITTLETON, CO) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game isnt bad for game play, but appearently I get the ones with the glitches... Couldnt make it out of the 2nd level...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the time

posted by druxus (SAVANNAH, GA) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was high on my Q for a long time and I was greatly disappointed. The controls were simple and effective but the accuracy and realism was horrible. There are more minefields in this game than in all of WW2 and the starting sub was only able to fire 1 torpedo at a time. Running at periscope depth is almot guarenteed to be fatal. Once the enemy finds you the only way to elude them is to shut off all engines and hope. The aircraft in this game can always see your sun and will drop accurate depth charges on top of you.

I sure as Heck would NOT buy this game and I am also sad to say it turned outto be a waste of a Q spot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad Not Great

posted by mantodd (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be much better than most reviews. It's fun if you like this type of game. Biggest draw back is the enemy knows where u are as soon as you shoot so it can be hard, and each level takes time, its not a quick paced action game more like attack, hide, repeat. If you like a challenge and have time to play, its worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WOW

posted by MightyBrig (BRIDGEPORT, WV) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Someone posted they sent it back after an hour of play... WOW I can't belive he suffered that long..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

lame

posted by jaybobca (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

BORING!!! not fun.. just read all the other reviews, and that pretty much sums it up for what I had to say... Might have been got of release on org. x-box or PS2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun at first, then immediately boring

posted by elbobbo (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented Naval Assault: The Killing Tide with no expectations what so ever, so I was either going to be let down or surprised. To be perfectly honest, I was kind of let down.

While the first few missions teach you basic controls (which you will always somehow mess up when you need to react in a hurry) you are entertained and excited to see what could come next.

The fun of the hunt and a well-placed torpedo give you the sens of enjoyment you want when tracking an "enemy" ship, however the addition of bombers and fighter jets to the fray make it aggravating, as they are like shooting birds out of the sky with toothpicks. When you actually blow one up, there is minimal satisfaction.

As the missions proceed, you find that you are more immersed in the actual missions rather than some game play. What I mean by that, is for example, you have a mission to navigate a channel to destroy a cargo ship, while not being detected. No biggie... except that it takes you 20 minutes just to GET to that cargo ship through a maze of shipwrecks and mine fields, so when you finally fire off that torpedo, it's no longer for the satisfaction of the kill, but rather to just get the darn level over with.

If you like subs, it's worth your time. Otherwise, take it from me you'll play it for 2-3 days and then wonder why.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Naval ASSault

posted by cavdrkz24 (WILMINGTON, DE) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok.. im not gonna waste my time here.. this game flat out suck$ Basketballs..since gamefly doesnt like harsh language... grow up.... I rented this game, waited for almost a week to play it, and then was horribly disappointed. I am a huge fan of BattleStations Pacific, and i figured this would be a submarine equivilant.. WRONG. This game's controls feel like your driving a Ford Focus in a parking lot, the graphics remind me of Mercinaries 1 on PS2, the sound is mediocre at best.. but the killer part of this game? was the dialog. Why waste your time with a mission, when you can listen to your crew mates tell you that the enemy is carrying plutonium in a rather monotone " always serious " way. they are overly excited about nothing. I wish they could make a Battlestations Pacific on a Modern day level. And stop with the butchering of good genres with D level money, and skill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Needs serious work

posted by Ravenwood (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really wish we had a decent naval warfare game. This one is far from decent.

1: The game play is repetitive. You do the same thing for each location. Sneak in, intercept transmission, go through mine field, destroy as many of their ships as you can, capture/destroy transport ships, escape. There are 30 levels with 5-6 levels per location.

2: Torpedo's can't aim. You have to align your entire sub to shoot. I am not sure if this is historically accurate or not but it is really annoying. There is no range indicator and no guide indicator to help you gauge where to shoot to catch a moving target. I am not talking about auto aim but a set of bars on the scope that helps translate speed and distance to targeting information.

3: 4 subs. One of the subs pictured clearly has two torpedo bays but can only fire once. You can't upgrade the ships either.

4: Did I mention repetitive.

5: Subs were meant to hunt ships not shoot down an entire air force. Several missions have you shooting airplanes from the sky. You can't really aim well so you have to guess where to shoot. VERY annoying

6: Did I mention repetitive.

7: Oh the game is really repetitive. You can "Master" it in the first 30 min of game play because the entire series mimics what you learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Naval Assualt: The Killing Tide

posted by Itches (RICHMOND, VA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game suckd. the graphics were horrible. gameplay was very unrealistic. boats were destroyd based on how many torpedoes you hit them with not were[on that note it was cool that u hit a boat in the rear it would stop moving becuse the propellers were destroyd]. The only thing sweet about this game is u could launch a torpedo and watch it all the way to a ships side. unless u really like that i wuldnt even rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game really sucks

posted by berto149 (VALLEY STREAM, NY) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow I never played such a horrible game the only thing nice about it it's the cover it comes in!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't do it!

posted by 1010111 (COVINGTON, LA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

All i cansay is if this game is in your Q take it out NOW, plese for your own sake! I feel soory for anone who accually bough this junk, I would not wish this game on my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by shadowsgrl11 (JAMESTOWN, NY) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was very challenging and I love the fact that it is so cool. I like challenging games and this game was very challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by abc (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

there is people that play this game online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

the graphics

posted by radryan38 (BANGOR, ME) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING !!!!!!!!!

posted by Roger41051 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didnt think someone could actually make a game worse than The Deadliest Catch...But I was wrong. 10 minutes into the game and I wished I was pleasuring myself with a handful of broken glass. Wow this game is horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ill make this short and sweet

posted by xHavenx (CLIFTON, CO) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID, Honestly I'm surprised this game doesn't have one button to do everything, its very easy and very boring. Rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time with this game!!!!!

posted by andym0305 (DUNDALK, MD) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible. It is a very slow paced game and it gets boring very fast. All you do is pilot a submarine and they barley have any weapons. I do not recommend this game to anyone. Not even to rent that how bad it is. The graphics are also very bad. Also, you take damage very fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Naval Assualt Killing tide...

posted by Docbrito (PLAINSBORO, NJ) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game wasnt good at all there was barely any excitment or challange to this game. Basicly you cruise around aimlessly in a sub and complete missions the mission are short and all similar in action with fairly little challenge, if your looking for a naval game like i was i suggest looking else were .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Naval Assult.

posted by Karenmj081 (NARROWS, VA) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is downright boring and a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Navy Assault

posted by jason1981 (STINNETT, TX) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has issues. It is played more like an arcade game really. I haven't enjoyed any of it so far. Maybe one day they will make a submarine game worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse