Rent Naughty Bear for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Naughty Bear

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.7

3886 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

give it some time

posted by boomdizzle (TOPEKA, KS) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

87 out of 108 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

the game with maybe the best trailers of the year has finally arrived! The concept of being an angry teddy bear hunting down and brutaling killing them is a very good one. when I started playing it seemed pretty awesome but after about 5 minutes pulling cuddles (one of the bears) out of a car and smashing his face in the car door seems genaric. there are a few different weapons, baseball bat, ax, hatchet magnum, stick, etc. each one having only one way to finish the bears off. the game also freezes from time to time. within the first hour I was ready to send it back. but for some reason I kept playing. a little while later I realized that it wasent about how violent you can be, Its about how much you can scare the bears, get points, get better trophies to unlock more chalenges and improving your score. if you just grab a machette and beat up every bear you see you probably wont like the game very much. mix it up and be original, you might just find a decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool concept, boring gameplay

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jul 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

After about 1.5 hours of playing Naughty Bear I had enough. It was quite amusing at first but having to go back and replay the same scenarios over again just so I could accumulate enough points to move on with the campaign was a real downer. I see why they did this though, otherwise this game would be a 2 hour game. Wish I could have just played straight through the campaign and avoided all the boring challenges. The camera did not bug me as others have suggested. Sure, the shooting was weak but then again, this isn't a shooter. It is priceless to see a fellow bear beat the stuffing out of himself because you scared him so badly but this gets old after you've seen it a few times. I'm sure there are other priceless moments further along in the campaign but I did not have the patience or desire to sit through the challenges. This could have been amazing, instead, just another bargain bin addition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Best.Game.Ever

posted by Naughtiest (SUPERIOR, WI) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

23 out of 35 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

Ok just like everyone else has said: good idea, poor execution. The game is repetitive, frustrating and annoying. Each weapon has one kill animation; you would think they could have put at least three each. There are challenges that just irritate you, like playing an entire level without taking damage. And the audio is just annoying! All of it!

I wouldn't recommend waiting for this game. I would maybe get it if you were really bored of other games, otherwise avoid it completely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beartastic

posted by mrdude311 (DEADWOOD, SD) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

22 out of 34 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

i personally like this game, its fun to murder fluffy bears that we all grew up with. The multiplayer servers and the multiplayer it self needed a little more work but the single player is fun. I dont recommend this game for people under the age of 12 or people who cherished their childhood. this game is worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

An Absolute Mess of a "Game".

posted by NukeDukem (WALLA WALLA, WA) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Do you love repitition? Endless frustration? Clipping Issues? Well then you'll come to love this unholy abomination that we've come to know as "Naughty Bear".

Yes. You CAN scare other bears into suicide. Yes, you CAN kill other bears using bones, axes, Uzis, sticks, and other weapons. But there is no thrill. No fun. The AI is so stupid, so unknowing of your presence, they will walk right past you, even though you are right next to them attempting to murder you.

The "Insanity" feature, what happens when you scare a bear enough to make him go over the edge, does nothing. He does the exact same things he would regulary do. The only differences are that you can do one final push and make him kill himself, and if other bears see him, they will become more afraid.

The "combat" consists of pressing the Attack Button until your enemy is weak enough to Kill. If your enemy decides he's in trouble, he may swing. But don't worry, you can just press the Dodge Button. This works, no matter what. You can get hit on screen, the weapon, bullet, whatever can go right through Naughty Bear, but it will still say you have successfully dodged.

The challenge levels consist of such annoying challenges that you want to throw your controller at the wall in frustration. The definition of "challenging" in this game, is to send loads of enemies at you and corner you so you can't escape in a mission that requires you to not get hurt for the entire level. And believe me, when the enemy bears can hit your through windows, walls, and doors, that is a problem.

Overall, it is rather charming, but avoid this mess like the plague. Naughty indeed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shame...

posted by LivFast (GERMANTOWN, MD) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

20 out of 32 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this but after about 2 hours I was left pretty disappointed.

First off is the freezing; without savepoints this can be very frustrating when in my case it happened at the end of the first level. I even ran the game off my HD but it still froze 3 more times on me.

Second is the dizzy cam; it's very loose with a mind of it's own at times. It makes it difficult to navigate corners and chase down fleeing bears.

Third is the progression; I got to a point 2 chapters into the story where I cannot get to the 3rd until I do some challenges. Failing and freezing means that I'm stuck on the same tiny map until the bugs cooperate and let me move on.

Lastly is it just feels rough; The graphics seem rushed and the animations don't feel synched. It can be tough to tell what specific items are at times with the weird green fog around everything you can pick up.

Overall it's a fresh idea but the rushed feel and bugs really knock this down. I'm giving it a boosted 5 because that's the rating I think it deserves once the freezing is patched (which I'm sure they'll correct at some point). It's a short entertaining rent when the freezing is fixed but not much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Repetitive. Repetitive. Repetitive.

posted by Elusive (DELAVAN, WI) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I could only play a couple of hours of this game before I had enough. This game could have been much better, but it plays like it is an unfinished product.

Pros.
Unique idea
Killing teddy bears
7 episodes and then sub episodes off of the episodes
Very entertaining for the first hour or so

Cons
Every map looks exactly the same
If you fail a challenge u have to restart the whole level
Each weapon only has one finishing move, and from what i played there were not that many weapons
Controls are not great

Overall the game was a major disappointment. It seems like if they would have put more time into it the game could have been great. Challenges were pretty basic you kill some bears, then destroy some presents, then you have to kill a bear with a hat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gamefly makes this game okay.

posted by Vampic420 (WAUSEON, OH) Aug 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I would never buy this game. How ever the combos and killing are fun. I love to be bad in video games. And get rewarded for it. The narrator is a little too much. The thing that really makes this game bad is it is so limited. Very limited combos, and limited levels. Same level over and over and over. Minor changes that's all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One word... BRUTAL!

posted by xVaultBoyx (TECUMSEH, MI) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

34 out of 56 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I have been having mixed thoughts about this since its conception. The idea of being a stuffed bear and going around killing other stuffed bears was just plain childish. Once I saw a showcase of the engine and the graphics, I fell in love with it. This game is totally stuffing-flying insanity! I am yet expecting a game that is as good as some of the other all-star games on the Xbox like Halo, Call of Duty, Splinter Cell, and Gears of War. I think that this game deserves that reputable relationship of those other games (despite a multi-platform release) You will have so much fun with this, and won't want to pick up another game until you beat this. The storyline is basically, you are a bear that didn't get invited to a birthday party, and you have to go around and kill all the bears in the level however you please to. There are so many different objects in the world to interact with. There is an arcade-esque scoring system, which gives you multipliers from interacting and sabotaging different things; like grills, boats, and other hazardous things in the environment. Certain things can trigger a famous scene from a horror movie, like from Alien. The alien came out of the guys chest. A little version of your character will bust out and scare the living heck out of other bears while you cause physical and mental torment, to where they will eventually commit suicide (which nets you max points out of any action) The graphics are comic-book style (cel-shaded), despite some minor hiccups with some textures. The controls are easy to pick up and play (unless you wanna do maximum damage and gain major pointage) The sound is gut-wrenching horror music with some humorous sound effects. Overall, it is an amazing game. I LOVE it in games where you can become the bad guy or the antagonist of the story. 505 Games and Artificial Mind & Movement really did an outstanding job. Goto Facebook and look up Naughty Bear for hilarious pics of some of the movies you can spoof in this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stay Away!!

posted by gutz701 (COLUMBIA, CT) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

40 out of 68 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Now before you get angry with my rating, hear me out. I was really looking forward to this game since it was first announced. However, once I saw the reviews I was disappointed. Once I actually got the game and played it, I felt betrayed. All the promise and potential this game had, came up extremely short. It has a fun premise, be a stuffed teddy bear and kill other bears in brutal fashion, but it gets old fast. Plus it doesn't help that the game seemed rushed and unfinished. Within my first hour the game froze two times. And if it wasn't freezing, the camera was doing 360s as I tried to chase down a teddy. Once I got to the two hour mark, I ejected the disk, packed it up and mailed it back. This game simply, is not fun. Save yourself the time and rental space, and move on to the next game in your GameQ. There are much better games to invest your time in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Abomination

posted by wombanimal (SOMERVILLE, MA) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

It is my contention that the maker of this game is a big conniving angry teddy bear. He wants you to stop playing your xbox and snuggle your teddy bear.

He is clever. He isn't going to try to scare you into it. He isn't going to bribe you because, after all, you can get from a pillow what he provides in company.

He made a TBear interesting enough to attract the attention of your darkside, and put him in a game for you. It seems like you get to take out some tension on Teddy Bears. Looks are deceiving.

The parts of this game you play are locked inside endless and long load screens. Perhaps there are more angry bears than i think & they watch you on pirate xbox live feeds - getting frustrated with this monster of a game.

The controls are poorly designed and perform poorly.

The menus and load screens are many and offer little to nothing.

The 7 attempts they make at humor on the load screens are not only proof that they are as lame as we think & only serve to mock you as the game freezes there time & time again.

This game makes Naughty Gamers. Ones that destroy their whole bedrooms in one reasonable tantrum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW REALLY?

posted by EHulk109 (PIKEVILLE, KY) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I say "Wow really" because if this is what video game production had come to i am scared for its future. I felt like i was in the middle of a bad Teletubby's tv show. i was actually waiting for blues clues to pop out of a bush and throw a pad of paper and a pencil at me. If the creator would like to make a part 2 to this game i have some ideas...."Dont!!!!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dissapointing, but still fun.

posted by Dexter16 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

17 out of 31 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

The JAWS trailer of naughty bear had me, so i decided to give it a shot. Like most critics are saying, it is fun for a few hours but then it just gets plain old. However, i plan to completelty finish it because it is very amusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

so misunderstood

posted by sniper123 (MIDDLEBORO, MA) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Naughty bear is a great game. people told me it was going to be really bad but it isnt. you get awsome weapons you can scare bears and do special attacks. The only thing is sometimes when you first get it it freezes and thats a little annoying but it stops. It was not a rushed game it just has some bugs. you can unlock awsome characters like aliens robo bears cops. The missions are really fun. Online is alright but nobody goes on it. So all in all it is a solid 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Naughty Bear

posted by Nomed777 (SANDY, UT) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really did enjoy playing as a bear that would kill anything that moves. And it was really funny while doing so. The only problem i had with this game is it gets boring really fast, it seems to repeat itself over and over again, it is good for the first couple of levels, but for any of you Achievement Hunters/Trophy Wh0res it is not entertaining enough to even try. Therefore i give it a 7 for originality and for its sense of humor, but for overall gameplay i would give it a 3 or 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth a rent, but don't buy.

posted by RichardV (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The reviews that people give this game don't do it justice. The only time the camera changes is when you move it around yourself, and the game is only boring it you think its all about hitting and killing the bears. The idea of the game is to be like the joker in "The Dark Knight". Sneak around or use a disguise, or ambush the bears for five seconds from out of the bushes and then beat it. Be the unseen threat, which makes the other bears go crazy and kill each other/themselves.

The game is not very laggy per say, but sometimes it freezes up in mid game or on loading screens which is very frustrating, but its not that often. The game with just 7 levels only takes about a day to rush through, but it has a lot of bonus levels, some of which are fun. If you think all you do is hit teddy bears with a baseball bat, then go back to MW2, where you sit for hours sniping people with you intervention. But if you understand the true point of this game then rent it, but because of the short story, don't buy it. I would like to say that the multiplayer lasts forever, but while some things are fun, it too is kind of glitchy and annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't P.O. Naughty

posted by xxltjamesx (MANDEVILLE, LA) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very good game needs to be polished, but i think i sequeal will be very good if they make sandbox mode and co-op all through pretty good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stuffed carnage is fun, but fails to keep my focus

posted by Saucer (WAYNE, MI) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first saw the trailer for Naughty Bear, I immediately added the game to my GameQ.

Within the first hour of playing NB, things started to get repetitive. While the executions are filled with hilarity, it reminded me too much of Manhunt for PS2, with the constant repetition of killing methods.

Each level is split into different challenge levels, which are unlocked by achieving higher trophies (from bronze up to platinum.)
My problem while playing, was I tried to play each challenge level before moving on to the next level.
Once I moved on to level 2, 3, and so on, the game did get a bit more interesting, and sparked a little bit more fun into the game, experimenting with the new weapons each level brought with it.

However, in the end, the game was just too repetitive for my liking.

Any achievement hunters will enjoy this game, however, as there are many achievements which are incredibly easy to attain.

Naughty Bear was, by no means, a complete waste of time. It was a very fun title for the first hour or two of gameplay.

If they ever decide to green light a Naughty Bear 2, I'd throw that on my GameQ in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by player2 (BEVERLY, MA) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome. I heard about it from my friend and iwas like, wow, a bear that assainates other bears, sounds boring, but it wasn't! You get to be this crazy teddy bear who goes on a killing rampage! But its weird. The game makes you feel like youre wathcing some nick jr. show but with reall violent finishing kills. And the bear is actuall pretty cute. you wouldn't think that it was a savage killer that would slam
your head in a car door or repeadetly stab other bears in the face with an axe. You can do that in this game.
Get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost to much fun.

posted by XxTHExBANSHEExX (MASSILLON, OH) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is worth a try. It has to be one of the most funniest games i have ever played. The stalking and defluffing (murdering) of the other bears was pretty sweet. my cons this game got a little to difficult at the end, it was relaxing then be came frustrating. The online play just unneeded. Give it a try it is a very funny game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hitman: Care Bear Island

posted by Sombo (CHULUOTA, FL) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For any who are unsure of what to think of this game, it is essentially like Hitman: Blood Money with teddy bears. This is definitely a game worthy of renting. The controls arent as bad as other reviews say, if you are even slightly skilled at video games, you can learn them in like 15 min. It is a fun, enjoyable little game. Not particularly long, but still a fun time killer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

craaaaaaaaaap

posted by justinownz (LILY, KY) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome if you think playing the exact same level for 7 levels is some how entertaining, its funny for one level,after that you will be bored to death. dont even waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not For Hardcore Gamers

posted by Jackson39 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really excited for this game to come out because it is a bear killing other bears. How fun! I'll warn if you are a gamer that notices little details in games this game is not for you. Sure there are a lot of problems like guns being worthless, the camera and repetitive kills but I enjoyed it. There are a lot of ways to kill the bears and a lot of costumes to unlock. Also, the graphics look awesome in my opinion. I would give this game a rental or if you were interested in buying it I would wait until this game goes down in price which it probably will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not great

posted by Banstyle (ASTORIA, NY) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you've watched trailers and read up about this game, you pretty much know what to expect. Kill teddy bears. Fun, right?

What you don't see: There's only one level. And you play it over and over and over again. Fun for five minutes, then it becomes an awful grind.

The game slowly introduces this level with different rules (don't be seen, can't take damage, etc) but essentially there's one level! Even Sneak King had more than one level, and it wasn't $50 retail.

This is a perfect example of a game that should have been XBLA but was pushed into retail for some reason. If it was XBLA it would be praised. Alas.

It's not terrible, but I'm sure glad I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh

posted by kmarsh131 (CANFIELD, OH) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game at first i laughed for like ten minutes the first couple bears and puns that i got but after about an hour it's just the same old thing after the same old thing, the graphics are not good, if the graphics were better and more detailed it would be much better but they were not... what the other reviews are saying about freezing, it didn't freeze on me and still hasn't, but it's not worth buying at all and you may be amused but a waste in your game Q

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse