Rent Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm for PS3
view large frontback

Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

3650 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm

posted by Capcom4eva (WAYCROSS, GA) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

35 out of 36 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

First off, I would like to say this game is excellent, however it is not perfected yet. I believe the sequel will bring it to perfection.

On the positive side Naruto looks great on the PS3. I have played a lot of Naruto games and I have to say this is definitely one of the best, the graphics are superb, it's very difficult to tell the difference between gameplay and a cutscene. The fighting mechanics follow its predecessors. A nice variety cast of the Naruto characters are in it with bonus content such as extra jutsu's, costumes, etc. Most importantly, it follows the story well, not completely but well, and it is just a fun game to play with your friends.

On the negative side, this game has no online play. A lot of the missions you do are fun, but at times are very repetitious and seem like a chore. Also a line up of extra characters are available for download in the future, but only as support characters which is a let down. Finally, without online play, if you live in a area where there is no competition or people who want to play you, then there really isn't a reason to play it unless you are a die hard Naruto fan who must have every Naruto game on his or her shelf. This game is a definite rent, and your choice if you love it enough to buy, but please I urge you to rent it first and check it out even if you are not a fan of the anime.

Final Score 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Naruto You Knucklehead!

posted by KamiTsu (NEWARK, NJ) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I LOVE NARUTO (the manga and anime, not the boy)! This game is hands down the best naruto game out there now, despite of broken bond's useless attempt to beat ninja storm out! Though the story mode is sometimes monotonous and the minigames are annoying most of the time, the game is overall just awesome! The fighting is at what i think is graphics maximum (any better and Naruto would look like a real boy, not a cartoon), and to add on, the characters aren't single to one costume. I do believe the combos were a little limited after a few hours of play (to the game masters like me), however, the game's action keeps me coming and it'll do the same to you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome all around but free-roam is bit repetitive

posted by rpger19 (ARLINGTON, WA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, let me say that this game is BEAUTIFUL! The animation, modeling, and textures all make this look like you're actually watching an anime! They weren't kidding when they said it blurred the barriers of 'video game' and 'anime'. The fighting is very fluid, and everything moves with realistic motion. If you can call Naruto 'realistic', that is. This game is quite amazing, and any fan of Naruto should own it. Although, the one thing that brings this down from a perfect '10', is that the free-roaming mode can get tedious. What you do during it, is travel around the Hidden Leaf Village searching for items that appear after clearing a mission. Free-missions will only supply secret scrolls, which are used to get support techniques, but the story mode will provide either ingredient bags or treasure boxes. Ingredient bags are used to make ramen, so Naruto's chakra can go up. While treasure boxes usually give ninjutsu's for characters to use.
The story nearly follows the Naruto storyline without missing anything, but sadly Haku and Zabuza's arc kind of gets left behind. Other than that, you will experience the entirety of the first Naruto series.
Next, are the battles. Normal combat is quite fun, and you have MANY characters to choose from. There will be downloadable costumes up on the store in the near future, but as of now, only Naruto's is available. Next, we have the 'Giant Battles'. These are epic, and very enjoyable. I won't divulge too much about these, so I don't ruin it.
Next, there's the audio. Thankfully, we are given the chioce to use the original JP VA. Which are done very well, and really help the game. The music will be familiar to watchers of naruto, and I believe that some of it was composed just for this game.
I only regret the character limit on these reviews, cause there is so much more greatness to this game. Bottom line, the game is amazing, but free-roam mode kind of detracts from the experience. Get this game if you have a PS3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could have been a 10

posted by C00KI3 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As a long time proponent of fighting games, I place great value upon a well balanced fighting game. Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm delivers as a game where any gamer, regardless of skill, can pick up this unique fighting game and enjoy it from the start. The simplistic button sequences enable beautifully rendered attacks and combo's to be executed while still leaving an ability to create a more intricate fighting system for more advanced gamers. However, my only qualm with the game is the somewhat open-world mission based objective game play. While an interesting addition to the game, I would rather more resources been devoted to making the game available for online competition/battles rather than limiting it to local system battles. All in all this is a good game, an 8. But it could have been a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sweet game

posted by yuske17 (DRACUT, MA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game beat rise of the ninja hands down, its basiclly just like all the other naruto games on ps2 but they take it a step further on the super moves and the cut scene's, lots of characters to choose from and support characters apply too. Its the best naruto game ive ever played, it even beat naruto shiputten accel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than I thought

posted by Zennshi (AUGUSTA, GA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Most fighting games from animes are usually pretty.... bad. Mostly because you will get 20 different kinds of games all with 2 3 4 5 6 and SUPER MEGA BODOKAI, somewhere around the title (yes I am poking fun at all of the DBZ fighters only one of which I thought was good). To be honest this game seemed like it would fall into that category but I guess when you do nothing but make endless sequels and use cool new words to sell the other sequels in case people who aren't thick may have caught on that when one game is bad the others are too, you tend to find ways to make them good.

This game I would say it pretty good. It kind of lacks a lot of replay value, I am not a fan therefore once the novelty of a new game is gone unless I like the content it is pretty much over. I also tend to be exponentially good at min/maxing so I only play games vs other people when I get good at it, but at that point I am brutally beating my friends around the ring and it just isn't fun at that point either. It isn't a very intuitive game at first, but you can get the hang of it fairly quickly.

Overall I think it is a very good game as far as fighting games of this genre go. The graphics are like a 3D anime, which works because that is what the game is suppose to look like, so it appeals to the original genre and the fanbase. The fighting system isn't overly simple but isn't morbidly complex. The action is quick but not so fast it makes you dizzy. The difficulty curves don't range from barely doing anything to putting you on lock down the entire fight (sometimes, some are just bad picks against certain fighters). Overall I was blown away with just how fun this game was, I would recommend it to someone who wants to play a fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Keeps You Going!

posted by AlanteTW (CHICAGO, IL) May 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun, but I only wish they could have made up some more characters so it can be longer. It's not boring, I'm glad there is a story/adventure line to it. It is all around fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm

posted by sixfour65 (Columbus, GA) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Reall good game and the fight engine is awsome. It revals that of dragon ball z. The combos are great. The story line is pretty good a little short though, but it played like the tv show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by JRISHERE (MORGANTOWN, WV) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the Free Roam Feature that separates this from the other Action/Fighters games This Games Brings you Dragonballz Meets Assain's Creed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

badass game better then

posted by Legalizeit (ATASCOSA, TX) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

better then mk v dc last a long time and i rate it a 10

a must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the better naruto games

posted by Tsunade (RENO, NV) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This naruto game pretty fun the combat is perfect the voice acting is the same as the t.v show if you like that. You get to run around Konaha and do random quest for all your favorite Naruto characters. The bad thing is after a while it gets really repetitive after several hours. The game has most of the story arcs that the show and Manga had from the beginning to the Sasuke retrieval arc but the biggest thing wrong with the story is the land of waves mission is not there. You can play most of your favorite characters (except for Haku and Zabuza.) All and all the game's fun if you like Naruto but the game gets repetitive with in an hour but it does spice things up my adding hopping from tree to tree and tree climbing instead of beat the heck out of every character you meet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game!

posted by MyninjaWay (CLAREMONT, CA) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Ok,

first of all the story line is the best.

Here's the review!!

Characters 10

Specials 10

Storyline 10

You can play as the sumoning jutsu

Overall rating

1000000000000000000000000- !!!!

Hope you all love the game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER ON THE NARUTO SERIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by NARUTOFAN2 (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For me this game is awsome because I played Naruto Shippuden Ultimate ninja 4 on the ps2 and I have to agree that Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm is way better than the ps2 game and any other naruto video games.This game has good graphics andalot of costumes to choose from,etc.I like this game because bearly when your starting the game you start at The Hidden Leaf Village and you could do all kinds of stuff like missions,talk to people (except for sasuke),you can climb on walls,do a shadow clone throw,explore the humongus leaf village,etc.So allyou people who wrote a review rating it 8 or 9 you got out your mind,unless you're not a big fan and you never played any naruto games.And to all the people that say naruto sucks and that bleach is way better toad sage naruto is way stronger than ichigo because ichigo can't control his hollow inside him so he doesn't use it.Of course naruto is the same thing but naruto learned a new all powerful jutsu called sage mode all by the help of a frog called fusakasu not the 9 tailed fox. Naruto is probably stronger than sasuke. SO SHUTUP BLEACH FANS BECAUSE NARUTO COULD KICK ICHIGO'S BUTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Naruto is the best

posted by bman109 (BUFFALO, NY) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of my favorite naruto games. This is one of the first 3d fighting games with good grahpic and good fighting. THE story was good but could do better but can be a little repetive at some points. The fighting is one of the key points in this game specialy when your friends come over and play( iam the best in the game). Sound was good, i like the music in all stages. ALL I GOT TO SAY IS BBUUUUUYYY THIS GAME NOOOOOOWWW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best naruto game i have ever played

posted by jenny2 (JUNCTION, UT) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i only had to play a demo to see that this game is the best naruto game ever,it has the best graphics,the best everything this game has almost unlimited invirement you can walk on water,run on walls and that is why i have to give this game a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST

posted by SASUKE345 (Monmouth Junction, NJ) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE BEST GRAPHICS GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HOPE THAT HELPED YOU. ENJOY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Looks like fun, but no story...

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off let me say that I have been waiting a while for another great ninja/samurai game so when I saw this game I thought I was getting that. I have never watched the anime for this and read it would have a story mode; great I can get the gist of this series while playing a good game right???? WRONG!!!!! Here is the breakdown of this game:

Mission
Run around the village until you have enough points for another mission
Mission
Run around the village until you have enough points for another mission
Mission
Run around the village until you have enough points for another mission

No story, no character development basically it is a heads up to the fans of the anime, not for newcomers.

Having said that if you have kids that love this series they WILL LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Game that broke the barriers!!!

posted by DNtheMN (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

okay so here's whats up... have you ever watched anime shows? even if you'r not a fan of any anime shows, you definitely saw a clip or even an episode... well this games makes you play a fighting game as if you are watching an anime... to simplify things up, you control your character in battle the way you expect to see them on your TV screen... Now iam a huge Naruto Fan... so this games is just the perfect stuff for me...I rate this as a 10 because hey iam a bias guy ahahahhah... well bias in a good way... totally random but i bet that broken bonds for the 360 will also be a good game so dont compare the two cause they got their own bragging rights....
anyways iam out...

BARACK OBAMA won!!!! do you know what's up? CHANGE, that's what's up......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than broken bonds

posted by kyle215ps3 (UPLAND, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

very fun and does not have stupid missions(broken.b) like find flowers,mushrooms,,etc. i know that these have to do with the actual story but not my type.im into main missions. hope for sequal!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Anime game, one big problem

posted by DanGator (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is probably the greatest anime-based game ever created. It sticks very close to the source material and the dual audio option is win! However one thing keeps bothering me about it. In the Ultimate Mission mode (story mode) you need mission points before being able to play the story missions. You earn these points by completing various (stupid) side missions. This whole concept seems like it was just put in the game to give it some length. Not only does it cause you to break away from the action because you don't have enough points for the next game, but it also makes the game EXTREMELY repetitive...

Other than that the game is very good. The graphics are AMAZING and the moves are impressive. Overall, its a rent, not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best

posted by animeotaku (Topeka, KS) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Best Naruto game i played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!!

posted by Mello2432 (GREENACRES, FL) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was a great game and the graphics are really great!! I love how you can fool around and take missions in Konohagakure village as Naruto. If you like anime and fighting games then this is really the game for you. You can be a ton of popular Naruto characters. Also you can unlock downloads at the Playstation store for your characters. You can get things like new costumes, statues, and other great bennefits!!!! RENT THIS GAME NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm

posted by dmacman (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is for children below the age of ten. The definitive console version of Naruto is on the XBOX 360. Both Rise of a Ninja and The Broken Bond are the best Naruto games ever developed and are among the best action games available on the XBOX 360.

If you like Naruto and are above the age of ten, skip this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very unpolished

posted by WhiteStag (EUGENE, OR) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Im gonna make a simple pro con list.

Pro
-Fun open world
-Many buy able items
-Art stays true to the Anime

Con
-Oversimplified combat
-Neglect of an interesting story
-Stop and go game play.
-load time after everything you do.
-Horrid Lip syncing
-Weak Rpg Elements
-Weak Puzzles
-Weak Computer
-Shallow AI
-Shallow Open World

FAIL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horribe

posted by dkalina03 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This is a game only for the hard core Naruto fans. First the game menues are confusing the camera is slow as heck this is a game for those that are just all about running around looking for stuff you just can't find and button massing when fighting. Enjoy all you 5 year olds out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse