Rent Naruto: The Broken Bond for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Naruto: The Broken Bond

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

4525 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Rent

posted by johnnyp (LOGANVILLE, GA) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

51 out of 54 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Naruto: TBB is a nearly perfect game in accomplishing everything that it is supposed to do. It closely follows the anime series with only a few side missions, unlike RotN. The story line took me around 15 hours to beat, and I still have not completed all the other missions for the achievements. The new addition to a team brings the game into a different aspect. Also, there is several mini games that you could possibly spend hours on becuase they are so fun.

The online mode of the game is immensly better than that of RotN. I did not experience any lag at all hardly, which made it way better than RotN. Also, I think there is 25 characters to choose from so you can always mix it up.

Lastly, I belive the game is definatly a rent, seeing that there is nothing to do after you complete all the side missions, besides rank up in the online leaderboards. I gave the game a 10 becuase I believe that anyone who is familiar with the series, or is just looking for a fighting stlye game with a descent story line, will be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game! Seriously

posted by ToadOfCaos (MORAGA, CA) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I started watching Naruto on TV when it first came out, and many times has it come across my mind that it should have a video game counterpart. I came across it on Gamefly and decided to try it. I am so happy I did!?!? It starts off a little iffy but then as time goes by you can see practically all the epic places and scenes of the anime in the game!! The fighting is really well done, all the characters fight as they do in the anime. I kinda wish you could start a fight whenever you want, but there is so much else you need to take care of while you're not fighting that you never get bored. This is a great play, more stuff to do as you play on. But if you really liked the anime/manga, TRY THIS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Pvtjenkins (PITTSBURG, CA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

All together its a great game its a bit on the short side and some of the missions seem pointless, but one of the great aspects is the fighting, enabling you to use regular attacks and combos while also allowing you to use devastating moves and special abilities that are completely hands on unlike their cut seen counterparts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the game was great!!!

posted by taria0110 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

naruto broken bond was a very succsesful game,i really enjoyed the game.as i recall the game took me about 17hours.most poeple would say about 13hours to complete.i really like how the fighting works.the only thing that i did not like was the graphics.oftenly,the mouth movments did not go with the vocies.but i will not complane.other than that,by my opinion the game was fine. thats why i rated it a 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A step above RoAN

posted by aerophex (CENTENNIAL, CO) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

22 out of 32 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I'm 14 hours in, and only about 1/2 way through the story. I'm in love. Questing is more than just Naruto vs. the world, you NEED to bring other characters along on missions to complete tasks and it is lots of fun to combine jutsus! My g/f has fun doing the side missions with Choji and Shikamaru while I play through the quest, way cool!

The fighting is tough, the CPU seems to land substitutions all the time while I'm lucky on a few of em? Not impossible though.

Some of the camera angles are still tough to deal with. <----My only complaint!!!

If you played RoaN play this you will be happy. If you are new to Naruto why are you reading this and not watching the show? Catch up!

Shippuden game please!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its an okay game but needs more story to it.

posted by Guitarfrek (BRONX, NY) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I played the game for 5 days and already finshed.Its a fantastic game but you start to get tired of it.The Battles online are great but the story is to fast and you have to do the same procces in the game everytime!All I gotta say is I like the game and you have to be a naruto freak to like the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesomest game that ever came out

posted by narutoshow (SAVANNAH, GA) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome. it follows the story perfectly. you would want to play it over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Naruto The Broken Bond

posted by AnbuNaruto (EDMOND, OK) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This sequel to ROAN is an excellent game. The story follows the anime and manga great,the filler levels can get a little annoying but they can be fun. In vs mode it's basically the same as ROAN, except the team battles. You can go two on two, one on one, or two on one. The game play is pretty easy to master, so once you play through the first few levels you should have it down. So Naruto The Broken Bond 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good, nice update from 1st game

posted by ziggy5000 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The Naruto Games are not deep games to say the least, but they are a great deal of fun. If you are a fan of the series, pick it up and enjoy playing in the Naruto World. They have enhanced the game by allowing you to control other party members and using their ninjitsu or bloodline capabilities to progress through the game. The fighting engine within the game is much better than the first game too!

The down side, for the most part, is figuring out how to make it through the adventure zones that are somewhat like mazes. In addition, the game glitched out really hard about half way through the game and I had to restart.

Either way, fun time for Naruto fans, and a rather confusing game for non-naruto fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Rental

posted by JokerFear (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I recommend this game naruto anime fan or not.
it's a great mix between a fighting and a rpg game.
all though is the story mode you plat with only about 6 characters but when you play online or your friends you get a lot more.

the rpg part of the game has many puzzles and minigames. It follows the storyline pretty well although they have added some made up stories indtead of sticking to the actual main story 100%

the fighting system is well thought out. Much more than you would expect from an rpg. It's no mortal kombat or tekken but it works really well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NARUTO ROCKS

posted by flipsk8r4v (TUCKER, GA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Naruto is the best ANIME ever created.
This video will make no sense if you didn't play Naruto Rise of A ninja or if you don't watch the ANIME or read the MANGA
THIS GAME IS AWESOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing New, Same Game Different Plot

posted by TheBeard (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, Naruto: The Broken Bond is the same game as Naruto: The Ultimate Ninja. It is a template based game, where they plugged in new dialog and a few new characters. Same fighting, same combos, same jutsu, same style quests, and the same races. If you played Naruto: The Ultimate Ninja, you've played this game to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is rated 15 yrs. old or YOUNGER!

posted by Vegita420 (SYRACUSE, NY) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is great, if your under the age of 12 that is. Just to get it out beforehand, I'm 29 years old, and yes I am a Naruto fan. The game does a decent job of recreating the series (The original Japanese voice cast is an option), it's a watered down Funimation version of the show, all of the things that make the anime enjoyable are gone. Not to mention the graphics are extremely lacking in this game.
Between the poorly animated story scenes, there even worse gameplay. Many of the mssions are childish hide and seek games or navigating very simple traps and mazes. The figting is very simplistic reminding me of Dragonball Z Burst Limit, and not enjoyable at all. Some of the cutscenes are interactive, but it's limited to following simple button commands as they come up one at a time on screen. No matter how fierce the battle or how hard the hit, your charachter usually simply falls over when they die.
Overall, if your a bored Naruto fan, the game is fun for a little while, and the online matches can be fun, but this game get's old quick. If you put it on your list, put it on the bottom

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

better then the other Naruto in most ways

posted by Legalizeit (ATASCOSA, TX) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i loved this game but i really wish it didnt end the same as the other games this game could of got a 10+ if it was longer i beet it in a day and it ended with me asking so much ?
it was a mestup endng it it finly was getting really really really good and then just ends like that well what can i say it was worth renting
and i cant wait till another one comes out with an even longer and better one but for real it needs to be longer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What i Think of This Game

posted by AdamScott (ELKHART, IN) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

i would rate this game 3 out of 5 stars for these resons for one it was short a few dumb things u gotta do that have nuttin to do with the overall story line After game ends nuttin to really do the End Battle Has a few flaws as in when u gotta use Last Move u can only use one bar or u gotta start Over

I Didnt like using the same thing over and over to make bridges and ect

The Grab Moves are to static Only 2 Kinds of Grabs so it gets boring easy
The ninja are 2 Easy
The <- B Dont work very well
The Attack and Defence Scroll Are Kinda Outdated They Used mostly the same for the 1st game
Overdrive was a bit dumb. as in they used the same anime play back for both games.

Main Bosses tend to be to easy u can use the x the whole battle and win The people your facing should be able to use health pills and such too

The Puzzle's Are 2 Easy

Besides that the overall Game was Fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Naruto the broken bond

posted by akshun (KIRKLAND, WA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I thought that the game was really boring. Played it for 1 day and shipped it back. The game needs more action and a better way to duel their powers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST NARUTO GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Gamerboy72 (SPRINGVILLE, UT) Jun 19, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is awesome and the free rome around the village is so fun and i love the tree to tree action and the storyline has a very unique edge this game is worth the wait in the mail and worth the time and effort to beat the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!!!!!

posted by gameflytimefor (ELK GROVE, CA) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game waws absoultley amazing loved it. I love this game and i love gamefly.I couldnt think of a better and cheaper game service than gamefly.Thanks gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Broken bond

posted by darkfayt20 (LOWELL, MI) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

This is a fantastic game....BUT it is ruined with stupid long and pointless quests....I got to choji.....and quit playing, the gate puzzles were pointless....your a ninja, just jump over it, why do i have to find a gate switch, why cant i just blast it open with a rasengan or chidori?

Anyways, the game is amazing, graphic wise and gameplay wise but becomes unbearably annoying with pointless quests and puzzles that are not neccesary

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Valley of the Video Game Review

posted by GameboyID (HOSCHTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I started with a six because I sent this game back before I finished story mode. I added 2 points because the gameplay and non-story gameplay modes gave it a flicker of unoriginality. A flicker. Adding new characters ( and adding Zabuza and Haku) still didn't make me forget Rise of a Ninja. Also, what's up with Kakashi's third jutsu. I know he knows a lot of jutsu, but that made everyone just stay away from Kakashi, because if you're like me and suck at Kiba's Fang over Fang and don't understand Zabuza's Silent Killing, the only third jutsu of Kakashi's that you're gonna like is his Fire Style: Phoenix Flower Jutsu, and that one is less cool than Sasuke's, because Sasuke's has the Uchiha symbol show up in the flames.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

my own game

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

grrr. u expect me the memorize all this steps just to summon? i got more important things in my life to memorize

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of my favorite's <3

posted by ilovehugsss (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

one of my favorite's def goes pretty quick, fight's are so cool and so enjoy and grab those achievement's and rock out xoxo hugz out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rise of the NInja was better, still okay

posted by Cubano7649 (PANORAMA CITY, CA) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

So afew years ago I rented Naruto Rise of the Ninja and was actually pretty obsessed with the game for a good amount of time. The graphics were top notch and the cut scenes looked as good as the Anime cartoon, later I found out they actually were developed using the same technology as the Anime. The fighting wasn't terribly creative in that there were not a lot of combos and playing other characters was more for fun then necessity. In this game they made some changes some helped the franchise and some not so much. The cut scenes are developed using the Xbox system and unfortunately don't look good, the characters don't seem themselves and the American voice acting is way below good. Characters don't move or talk like they do in the series so it just feels strange. The world has opened up and the free roaming world still as much fun to explore as it was in Rise of the Ninja, however now friend characters are needed more frequently and this can be good at first but later as you discover new locations and find new tell tale signs a certain character is needed for said secret it can become annoying. It would be nice if Naruto could pick up some tricks to compensate or work around the secrets but its a part of the game I found bothersome at times. This time around however the fighting mechanics seem to have been streamlined more free flowing its actually fun playing as different characters you begin to pick out favorites early on in the game as you discover each fighters tricks.

Overall as a fan of the Naruto series I would say this game could have been better more refined for real fans of the game. It just came off a little generic in delivery. This game is definitely a fun rental but with all the other games coming out this fall might want to blaze through this game, say a fun weekend rental while waiting for this years "it" game. Its a fun game just not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good if you like repetition

posted by Thanatos_0 (ABSECON, NJ) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

First things first, if you are not a naruto fan, then don't even start to consider getting this game. Second if you are a naruto fan then the story mode is going to take you to all the places you know and love, but your going to have to fight through repetition thats going to make you hate yourself to see it.

The fighting is well done and much improved from rise of ninja. You now have to build a power bar, similar to street fighter 4, and have enough chakra to execute your jutsu. This same power bar is your rage meter so you can only abuse one or the other. The list of characters you can use has been much expanded as well, but you have to beat story mode to unlock them all.

The story mode is filled with so many repetitive fetch quests that you will lose your mind. Many of them are side quests, but many more are part of the main story. Training to increase the strength of your allies is a repetitive bore as well, but a necessary one if you want to make it through the last chapter where each of them will have a fight. Last and in my opinion worst of all every time you travel to a "new" area you have to play a game where you jump through rings to get to the end each taking nearly a minute. Many missions require you to go to most if not all of the four areas the game has, backtracking through everything you've already seen a dozen times.

So take it from me if you love naruto, or repetition then this is the game for you. All others look away and ignore the existance of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

naruto!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by avatar3 (RIVERDALE, GA) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

best naruto game ever. I espeacilly liked the sasuke part!!!!!!!!!!!!
hope you like it to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse