Rent Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations for PS3
view large frontback

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.1

1664 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Doesn't Dissapoint or get old.

posted by Wisdomxiii (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As someone who picked this game up based solely on the fact that I've played all previous titles in the series I was actually expecting to be disappointed with the same rinse and repeat gameplay with a few new characters added.

To my pleasant surprise in addition to a staggering new roster, (which includes every past hokage, the current five kages, the Kakashi gaiden team, as well as a host of notable support characters.) there was also an added layer of depth to the battle system.

At the sacrifice of most of the story telling one is able to breeze through the main campaign in a few hours and unlock all of the games many characters. Not at all a bad thing as we've all heard the story a number of times and for those who haven't there is still enough cliff notes for you to understand what's going on.

Free Battle is where the game really shines. The substitution guage seems like a limitation at first but quickly becomes the dividing line between skill and button mashing which the previous games could have suffered criticism for. Now one can teleport instantly from danger at the expense of this slowly refilling gauge. This adds another layer of strategy as now, players can cancel their combos mid swing to avoid being taken from the back like someone who dropped the soap in a prison shower.

Timing is everything when two skilled players clash and an attention to detail and an understanding of the other characters movements will decide the very exciting battles.

Also unique to this installment is the ability to customize your ninja tool roster. Tools are gained by playing the additional modes such as survival and tournament against the com. This adds incentive to play these otherwise repetitive modes other than gaining PSN trophies.(Though the tournament mode is a lot of fun with a group of friends)

Over all this game has tons of replay value and it seems as though the more it's played the more polished and ninja like you feel as a result.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Good Game

posted by Dashinthis83 (DAVISBORO, GA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game have loads of characters to use with many different attacks. With each addition to the series it seems to get better and better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good

posted by seanfart9 (ROCKMART, GA) May 1, 2012

Member since May 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

let me just say this is an improvement from the last two games. the new fighting system makes it very fun, and there are many new characters and battle stages. with those new characters the ultimates got very good too. they kinda sucked on naruto storm 2 however on generations all the new ones are very good. with new online modes like endless and tournaments theirs much to offer even after finishing the story. while the story was better on storm 2 this one is good too it allows you to go through each characters individual story. and for people without online their are tournaments, free battles and survival for you so enjoy. also they added a shop to the game u can but new substituiton jutsu and ninja tools to use etc... very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What happened here so many missing parts!?

posted by jimasu28 (HIGH POINT, NC) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

In the first two games there was so much offered in the single player game. Something that was really great about the first two and especially the first one was the great single player modes. The second one had true boss battles that separated that particular fight from all normal fights. Also there were mini games that added to the character of the game to give it a feel of being a true part of the anime.

Another aspect that I personally miss is the fact that there is no cinematic for repelling or countering the super attack. Again that is just something that gives the player more of a feel of the way the anime works.

The last thing that I miss personally is the game bonuses for completing the fights in the game. They have bonuses but they are virtually the same.

Overall I did enjoy this game and being able to have characters such as Haku and the First Hokage that are personal favorites are finally playable characters. However, the game is good overall it was just missing some of the key components that made it so enjoyable in the first two installments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nowhere as good as it's predecessor!

posted by D0CT0R (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I loved Naruto Ultimate Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 and it's only flaw was the matching system for ranked games. I would've thought that they fixed some of the issues with the sequel... but I was let down the instant I played. I found that it was WORSE!

The Multiplayer system takes more time to connect to an opponent than you actually spend fighting the match.

1) First you have to either host or search; if you search then you have to choose a filter and if you choose best connection, by the time it takes to generate a list they will all be full.

2) PLUS if you click on A SINGLE room that's full, then the entire list gets forcefully dumped and you have to wash, rinse, repeat until you find a room.

3) If you search for same level players then it will only show a few people usually with a bad connection.
IF you join a room with a bad connection then the entire match will be choppy as the "Transmitting..." window shows up every few seconds.

4) If you HOST then you will probably get a player that is a WAY higher level than you are and usually get pounded. Once the matches are over there is no option to search for connections, host or even go back to the ranked lobby. (Like you could do in UNS2)

5) It also warns you every time that you will loose the replay if you leave, by the time you go through the song & dance again you have spent more time in menus than in a game.

6) In UNS2 you could see what character(s) each player was choosing and respond accordingly, in Generations you are picking blind so you get matches where you are playing a character that is completely superior to theirs & vice versa or you are playing the same characters and the match is really boring.

7) The Story mode in UNS2 had open areas you ran around in, Generations is just anime clips with battles in between.

8) As far as I can see ALL of the boss battles/quick-time event style of battle are all gone, one of the things I liked.

They had a perfect formula & IMO they messed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Going backwards instead of forwards.

posted by Alugami (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

We all love our anime, respectively, and just like we hate it when big movie companies come in and destroy what we love about our favorite shows, we also hate it when games don't live up to their show counterparts. More so in games because this is where it really matters. You're thrust-ed into a world and expect to be able to play to the fullest of the creators ability. This is not the fullest of their ability. As someone who has owned all three Naruto Ultimate Storm games I am very disappointed with its latest installment, and here's why.

(Yes I jacked this format from GI, its the best one for reviews, bleh.)

Concept: Take Naruto and 72-playable characters and stick them in a game where they brawl until their heads fly off.

Graphics: Use the same exact character models from the first two games and then add a couple more. Take the environments from the first two games and then... add two more.

Sound: All your favorite sounds and superb acting from both English and Japanese voice actors.

Entertainment: You might find this entertaining if you just play with someone in your household.

Playability: Playing online usually results is spamers, and playing single player results in NPCs who have way to much boosts which often results in lowering the difficulty. Once you beat the story mode and gain all 72 characters you won't touch the single player again.

Replay: Moderate

There are several reasons I say this game has gone backwards from its first predecessor. In the original games you were given three health bars, sideways wall fighting, button mashing, not limited substitutions and a functioning, unique, single player. This game, like the one before it, takes all these exciting elements, previously not given in any other Naruto game and trashes them. The single player looks like it was done by someone who doesn't even care... "Here we've sectioned off fights in the Naruto universe and everyone you fight gets a + attack bonus for whatever reaso

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Generations

posted by Bob1200 (ENDICOTT, NY) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok, So I Recieved This Game On 3/14/12, And I Have 1 Like, And 2 Dislikes (Or Possibly 1, Depending On If They Tie In Together) So The Like: Massive Amount Of Characters, And The Dislikes: The Story Was Too SHORT, Because Unlike In Storm 2, It Doesn't Have The Free-Roaming Capabilities, Which Made It A Much Longer Game For Me. I Beat The Story Mode In Under 11 Hours, Although The Boss Battles Are Also Missing, But I Don't Really Miss Those Cuz They We're A Pain In The First Place Sometimes, lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWesome

posted by joshhelm (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

this game is not terrible at all it has smooth gameplay and even though I never saw the whole series i love the story mode. I saw great progrees from videos of the last game naruto had and dang its just Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sorry didnt want it to be short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dull

posted by Geomancer (PORT HUENEME, CA) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To paraphrase Yahtzee: What happened to the days when we expected sequels to add features?

Seriously, gone are the 'special' battles such as Pain vs 6 Tails and Gaara vs Deidara.

Gone are the special conditions, such as keeping HP above 50% or finishing off the opponent with your uiltimate jutsu.

Some new characters are not worth everything they took out. This game is functional but Storms 2 is more fun. Believe it! (And now I hate myself)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by Zangetsu (DANBURY, CT) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

.

posted by Pukinglollipop (ANNANDALE, VA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

The LONGEST game ever!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Solid Title

posted by erttre (ORLANDO, FL) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

Many people don't like this game and calling it a filler because of the lack of content but i'm here to tell them suck it. The game is based on what happens in the show and manga and honestly nothing really happen from when ninja storm 2 came out and when generations came out. Sure there was a few plot twist but nothing really jaw dropping. So instead of making a big interactive game like ninja storm 2 on so little content they took a stroll down memory lane and made us remember why we fell in love with the show and the ultimate ninja series. With ten different perspective to the show each of them making you realize the message of the show and the emotional journey of the characters. Well except for the killer bee story line that was just for the pure enjoyment of the fans that arc is freaking hilarious. All in all it is a good game to rent i'm not sure about the buy it is a pretty quick game and all you would be left doing is free battle and online battle and there is not that people online due to the succesor of this game ninja storm 3 being already released. CAUTION YOU MIGHT NOT LIKE THIS GAME IF YOUR NOT A NARUTO FAN OR IF YOUR NOT GOOD AT FIGHTING GAMES THE BATTLES ARE VERY CHALLENGING.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Unplayable

posted by TrophyBoost (NEW YORK, NY) May 28, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

Unless you are a die-hard fan of the series, you will not have the patience required to try to play this game. The latest update, Vers.1.01 downladed, said corrupted. I deleted and retried, then it froze at 51% loading. I deleted the install and save file, and re-did. Same thing, over and over and over again. Dont believe me.... google it. For the lucky few who even get the opportunity to play; they are plagued with freezing... some even end up having to delete their saves in order to continue. Only fanboys will vote differently than this... I have played over 350 games on my ps3 alone, and have never had this happen. Maybe I have a bad disc, but google kind of proves that this game is bugged. Renter beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

can be a frantic fun game and a frustrating one

posted by Ricky_keim (SOMERSET, CA) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

lots of characters from the Naruto universe and a good selection from the shippuden series in the story mode it handicaps you on purpose so that can lead to a lot of frustration but fun can be had and lots of different combos of characters can be used to create some variety with the roster. the battles can be frantic and can get crazy but it can be fun too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth the rent

posted by nonames (EAST ELMHURST, NY) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Oct 2004

the gameplay gets very old very fast. the game difficulty is all out of whack, and the combat system is poorly done. here is naruto's attack combo OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO,
here is another naruto combo OOOOleftOOOOOOO.
how about skills? triangle then circle. super attack? triangle then circle, that is of-course if the super attack decides to work, as older naruto i have tried to do demon fox rasengan and only got a normal one, and yes, my chakra was full. as for the ai, even on super easy mode the AI will destroy you. i got up to the kakashi vs itachi fight in the young Naruto storyline and couldn't even get him down to half health. also, this game is one big contest to see who gets the last substitution jutsu off. you go to do a "combo", the enemy substitutes, then "combos" you, then you substitute, this goes back and forth till one of you runs out of substitutions. your team mates are also useless. in the itachi fight you get asuma and kurenai. asuna does a small smoke cloud attack (which the AI dodges easilly) and kurenai does some stupid invisible flower walking technique, which ofcourse, the ai dodges. kisame (itachi's partner) does a shark water torpedo attack, good luck dodging that. as for the story, you get to do 2-3 of the big fights from each chapter of the anime (the least they could do was let you go on missions from the anime,playing through the story of naruto and naruto shippuden) .All in all this is a bad game. if you want deep combat, go play mortal combat, or one piece: pirate warriors. go get something better, get dark souls, metal gear solid 4, or even little big planet 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hmm

posted by kamigy (DAYTON, WA) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2007

Hey I'm grump.
I'm not so grump.
And were the game grumps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for what it is.

posted by ittybitty (NEWFANE, NY) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

Good Anime fighting game but not something I enjoy. I just did not enjoy the way the story mode plays out. Still image boards with narration telling the story, then jumps into fighting and then back to story boards, and more narration . If you enjoy this Anime series you will enjoy this game. if you are not a fan then do not bother because it just isn't interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by MegaOGbeast (JEFFERSONVILLE, IN) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

this has been the greatest game i have ever played in my whole life, i used to not be a big fan of naruto untill my little brother showed me this game the grahics are the best i have ever seen and plus ONLINE BATTLES yes thats right i said it ONLINE BATTLES and movies make this the game to be remebered for a very very very long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad game!

posted by Dvon (WESTVILLE, IN) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

It was a pretty good game that I liked just like Naruto Ultimate storm 2. The only problem is I was hoping for more replay ability! Other than that I would say it's awesome..... But one person's opinion is different than another's! Try it out for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Naruto Generations. I'm just gonna call it that.

posted by Naphtali357 (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Naruto Generations is a well-crafted game with fast-paced action, strategy (yes, you actually need to think before you do something- AND IN THE HEAT OF BATTLE, TOO), and it's perfect for any Naruto fan. And even if you're not, you will still enjoy it. And if anybody tells you that this game is just some contemporary DragonBall Z- they are either lying to you, have never played it for themselves, or a person who wishes he/she had a flying car.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good solid game

posted by Jayblite (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

If your a Naruto fan you should definitley get this game, the character roster is huge and playing the story is like reliving the series all over again with a nice balance between old and new. The attacks are great, the gameplay is nice and can fit the way you prefer to fight, and the graphics arent bad. there are also alot of modes to keep you busy and a good amount of trophies are unlocked by the time you complete the story. The only reason i didint give it a 9 (I have never given a 10) is because the online was a little lackluster and could of used more variety and simplicty since they added in.

All in all a great game for newcomers, and naruto veterans alike, just could have had a better multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Naruto: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations

posted by KillerB13 (ODENTON, MD) Oct 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is the best fighting game ever to come into play since the sequel of this game. Even Soul Caliber cannot compare to the action and mobility of characters that this game can. A full use of the 360 degrees of every level. A huge selection of characters with their own strengths and weaknesses. I just started playing this series a few months ago and I cannot wait for the next edition to come out in 2013. If you enjoy one on one fighting games...this is the king of them all. There is no equal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One game too early...

posted by Kingofhearts307 (KANEOHE, HI) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Note the title of the review... Generations is one game to early to have the complete roster you want. Oh how I wish I could play all the war arc characters.

Back to what is important, Generations has great replay value. All though most of the modes get repetitive, I found the most fun in the online play. Choose you favorite character, customize you ninja tools, the duke it out with others doing the same. Queuing for matches takes a while, often leaving a lot of dead time waiting. But, the high speed fights make it always worth it once match starts.

The campaign and modes to unlock everything are kind of repetitive. I wish the campaign was free roaming, but that would be too much to expect.

All-and-all if you are a fan, you will enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

posted by BFELI12 (BALTIMORE, MD) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Thee only reason why I got this game was to just use the characters. But it's too freakin hard for me soo F it the most annoying part is the com constantly throws those stupid knifes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really fun game.

posted by pandajackjack (HAZEL PARK, MI) Sep 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game entertained me for hours. It was really easy to get the Platinum Trophy too. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse