Rent Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.1

2127 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Eh its okay

posted by Hakai (GREENFIELD, MO) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played Ninja Storm 2 and I liked the RPG part of the game, sadly on NUNSG they removed that part of them game which made it a very very short game. You'd think that it would be one of their larger games? I got the game in the mail around 12 this morning and I beat it by 8 pm. I also cooked dinner and did other things. It is short but sweet. I am sure if I had someone to fight against via online or in person it would make the game even better. But I lack online play so I couldn't. Satellite sucks.

Overall the game was pretty cool, nice gameplay, awesome characters. Oh and the Ultimate attacks were pretty sweet.

8/10 in my book

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great fighting mechanics, Horrid Storyline

posted by BlacFireL (WARREN, OH) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Ok, how should i begin this. If you're looking for a storyline based naruto game like NSUNS2, then this game has failed.The fighting is still as it was remembered along with a few great new aspects, such as, the sub bar. Now for those more experienced naruto players this is a letdown because it limits your sub mobility, as to before u could be done unlimited times with the right opp. But on the brighter side of the bar it can easily make even the most inexperienced look like a untouchable (but only for a limited time). And the fighting has improved with things such as, being able to chakra dash in the middle of a combo, to make it look like a seemlessly endless combo. Also thrown in there is the A.i. difficulty has no option, which in my case, I felt was below me, because as an adept naruto fan, I beat the story in one day, too easy. the story also sucked like playing madara story, you never actually play as madara just the akastuki. as a naruto fan the story did disappoint but the fighting didnt, and all along isnt that what we really cared for in the end!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best naruto game out there

posted by audra09 (AKRON, OH) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

26 out of 41 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

this game is great its full of color and everything the fighting is alot smoother then ninja storm 2 and the story is crazy long if you havent seen the show or you just started to watch it this game contains spoll in the episodes the online is great now i can face my opponet head to head thanks to the sub ninjusu bar it only lets you use it three to four times some think its a let down cuz of that but i think its great i love this game i think you should buy it right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

well its good overall

posted by Mr_FREAK420 (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game itself is ok but, i never have played any of the other Naruto games that are out so i cant base my review it on its improvements because i dont even know if there were any lol but anyway, yes it was a fun game to play and the animation was great imo. also i had one problem with the game's story mode because it refers to Tobi as Mardara when even in its Manga form we havent had his identity revealed to us yet, and i dont see why they only let us use some characters while others are just support i mean if i wanna play as a character from the show why not give us the choice of all of them lol alright it gets a 7 from me :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

HORRIBLE

posted by haydenb (HULL, GA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I expected the fighting system would be similar but they are exactly the same. There r three differences between this one and the one right before it. First More Characters Most are just different forms of naruto and saskue. 2 substitution bar which allows you to substitute only 4 times in a row. 3 the story the completly removed story mode and replaced it with what they did in ultimate ninja 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Half the game it used to be

posted by shuya82 (ANOKA, MN) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you want the fighting system with more characters, and nothing else, this is the game for you.

The town exploration and talking to NPC's has been replaced with back to back battles seperated by narrated slide shows of things from the show, almost nothing new.

In my opinion this is a huge step backwards not even close to as fun as the originals, however the combat is as simple and well done as usual.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Can it surpass Storm 2's high quality?

posted by Frazzleberry (FREEVILLE, NY) May 18, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

In short, no.

Storm 2 had several things that were PERFECT and it's odd that they'd throw them out for a sequel.

Here are some -'s

1. They removed boss fights.
To me the boss fights were the perfect way to end a chapter in the story mode in Storm 2, you'd fight a couple normal fights through the story chapter and finally you would have this amazing boss fight with epic quick time event cinematic.

2. They removed the chapter styled story mode and replaced it with a 'pick one of eleven characters and watch a narrated slideshow that recaps their story'. I know they had to get rid of the adventure mode and the CG for the expanded character roster but it really gets rid of the emotion that Storm 2 nailed perfectly.

3. They didn't fix the Multiplayer. Leaderboards are still broken with over a hundred people with maxed out points, people are still using cheap exploitable character combinations. And maybe this was just my connection but I felt some input delay.

There are some +'s to the game.

1. The studio that produces the Anime lent themselves to create 60 minutes of original high movie quality Anime cutscenes which are used in the opening and ending of each of the eleven character stories.

2. 50+ Characters and 10+ exclusive assist characters, bringing in the Series 1 characters and some from the next Story Arc.

3. In Storm 2 you pretty much just beat the story mode and did some quests to get more ninja tools and letters from fellow ninjas. This game introduces Survival and Tournament modes which will give you an additional 20+ hours if you want to complete it all! z

In the end though Storm 2 is a much better video game, not just for fans but newcomers to the series. Generations is pretty much just targeted for the fans and it kind of hurts the experience in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Nerfed the ---- out of this game&a

posted by Crankydil (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have played the Naruto game that was befor this garbage they have put out. I played the other naruto shippuden for about 2 years. The only thing they did good on this new piece of garbage game is the amount of players to choose from. There is really no story to the game it just rehashes bits and pieces. You now have a stupid gauge where you can only Sub- 4 or 5 times-- THEN YOUR--- out of luck as the other player beats a huge combo on you more than once befor your SUB gauge builds up again And ADDING to that they can break their combo to a dash and repeat the combo leaving them with a full Sub Guage. And for the other players you can choose from shouldnt really even be there they suck so bad. You cant see who the other player is picking when you online match and this is on any mode Vs. There is two different ranked ways to be played. One is like befor and the other can make your player even more" over powered" . Players can get tool belts and put ten explosive cards it the tools making them explode you all over the place. This game is very disappointing to the one befor it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Played the last one, disappointed.

posted by TheFactSphere (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I'm going to start off by stating the title again, I played the last game in this series. Naruto Ultimate something something 2, and I really got a feel for the RPG-ish story line which I ended up really liking.

So basically this game has dumped all that it worked for the last game in favor of a fight-to-fight basis with no boss fights. It now favors an incomplete narrative told be the worlds least interesting voice actor and some cut scenes with 90% of the actual dialogue taken out.

There are....7 or 8 I believe total story's, some only 3 fights long while others seem to go on forever, repeating fights from other storys, (I'm looking at you, Raven boy.) They have no difficulty choice until the fourth time your face becomes the new decoration for the ground. It starts you the first battle at a nice place but the difficulty curve decided that it was going straight up after that, with some rounds enemies being 3v1 with a +90 attack bonus.

Supplementing it with this many characters is nice, if not underwhelmed by the fact that the same 3 characters are still overpowered and constantly used.
(Cough cough Deidara.) Other than that I have no complaints about the characters, it's very widely spread with a whole lot of choice.

Voice acting is what you'd expect from this game, nothing all too special.

Some of the cut scenes have horrid lip-syncing, but that may just be because they hastily translated it from Japanese. (At least I hope they did? There is no excuse for a characters mouth not even moving.)

Overall not a /bad/ game, but certainly not the best story-wise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best naruto game ever

posted by dragonball (SAVANNAH, GA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

this is the best naruto game to date add me at ninja navy seal (xbox)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by ToothPic (BRONX, NY) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing , i love everything they added to it especially the different generation character :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Fan Service

posted by fatbatman51 (BELVIDERE, IL) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Naruto fans will appreciate this title as it brings together both Naruto generations (both young and current) together in an average fighter. The story mode will have you playing as around 10 characters' separate stories which aren't all that exciting to experience. With some nice flashy ultimate attacks, gamers will be impressed at first glance. But the combat for a fighting game does not offer too much depth and basically comes down to how many substitutions you have. Another positive is that the game offers an impressive 72 character roster (even though 8 of those are just alternate forms of Naruto and Sasuke). There is barely any customization across all game modes and the combat gets repetitive. Not terrible, but not that good, worth a look if you really enjoy the Naruto franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by tejada23 (LAUREL, MD) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

srory mode is great and in multiplayer modes there are so many characters to choose from!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BAD DISK

posted by narutofreek (BURLINGTON, WA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Someone played the game last and dented, i got my game today next thing i knew THE game wouldent get past the loading screen, thanks to who ever got the game last and killed the game now i must wait till another copy arrives, work of advice CHECK THE GAME BEFORE YOU SHIP IT BACK AND REPORT IT... thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by h3llzb3ast (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Best naruto game on the market. Thats all I really need to say, if you enjoy Naruto(and maybe even if you dont) I recommend this game to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Naruto deserves better then this..................

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

After playing 2 I had somewhat high expections for Generations, and after playing Generations, I was more than disappointed.

In story, instead of being able to fully explore the Hidden Leaf Village, the Sand Village, etc. you instead are forced to read the uninspiring text and then finally after its over you finally get to fight. Remember those fun and exciting battles scenes in 2? Taken out. Remember the fun and engaging story line in 2? Gone. So what's left in Generations? Pretty much nothing.

But oh wait the fun doesnt stop there, in story the CPU you end up facing gets advantages like being able to awaken, either a defense advantage or an offense advantage, while you get..........................nothing. It's like the CPU is on HARD or higher. Attacks relentlesly, subsitutes 24/7, blocks all the time. So the developers thought this would be an improvement from 2? What happened to common sense in this world?

So story is a complete FAILURE in every aspect possible.
Sad face :(

So the only thing I see they improved on is the character roster size. That's it? Seriously?!?!? You think you can ruin the game completely and only make the roster size bigger and you think that makes up for it? WOW! How in the world morons like these developers have jobs is beyond my understanding. Heck, I should have a job instead of these clowns bcos unlike them I actually have a brain and use it.

I played this game for 1 hour and taking it back to Gamestop tommorow to get 2 bcos Generations was a complete FAILURE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

eh.....

posted by hulk432 (MANASSAS, VA) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

same game a few different characters..... nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

naruto ultimate ninja storm generations

posted by jobhunter12 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I think its a good game but it's just not my type of game. I like the free roam aspect of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

unsatisfying

posted by Declanator (BREVARD, NC) Jun 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

It wasn't really satisfying. I really didn't feel the epic force of their battle as the show makes it look, I just needed it to be a BIGGER fight instead of this tiny little ring.However the game felt really fast and really did well in the speed and combat but it just needed that bigger and more epic battles that made you realize theses guys are like gods compared to normal people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not worth it if..

posted by GameBulldog (CUPERTINO, CA) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

If you got Ninja Storm 2, then there is no point to get this one. It's pretty much the same, its just a filler so they could make some cash for more Naruto games. Buy ninja storm 2 or the newest installment. Unless it's on sale then go right on ahead...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by Endersteve461 (WOODBINE, MD) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I played this game and enjoyed it very much. The characters are well designed, No lag, smooth playing. Online mode is pretty good. Be warned a few characters are very spamable such as Itachi, Minato, Hidan, and Tenten.
Over all a great game I highly recommend to all Naruto fans. When finished with this game try out Ninja Storm 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this gama is awsome

posted by jhjhjhjhjh (ORANGEBURG, SC) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this game is awsome10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this will be simple

posted by ZacharyBinxxx (WHEELING, WV) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

This will be simple The game is great the Story line i say could of been better but still was good. Fighting CPU's or Real Players is fun but the whole you charge up your chakra is kinda to fast i charge myself up a million times & use my specials as much as i want i call that noob-ish come on that was the really lame part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really good

posted by Vzgoaper (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Awesome game!! Cant wait for Storm 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nothing New

posted by Xosanj (FONTANA, CA) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Game is very good but it doesnt do much other than give you some smoother move sets than 2 and characters that should of been dlc for 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse