Rent Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 3

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.6

694 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Playing the game series is absolutely worth it! :)

posted by firefox420 (HAWTHORNE, CA) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, they could've done better, like the first ultimate ninja storm game where you can roam freely throughout Konoha :(. It would be nice but I guess the designers find it hard to work. Overall, I think this game has a much better taste in graphics for the ultimate moves and the story aligns with the shippuden anime so it really makes sense. I loved it, hope they come up with another one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not too bad!

posted by kimkyok (Dubuque, IA) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game if you are into the Naruto franchise and a lot of story!! Even my girl friends were watching this and just wanted the story. But the combat system is quite nice even though it could be fleshed out some more and can feel more like a ninja action game than just a better version of Tekken. As soon as you get through the story you get a bit tired of the repettiive game play and some quest that seem to give you no real challenge. The open world game play could have been even better if they wanted to make it more, expansive and interactive.

Naruto is slightly stuck in this combat system since the first one came out and they also have taken a step back with some things that were taken out. The online play is what you really want for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Down Right Amazing Game

posted by jutogamer (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 5, 2013

Member since May 2012

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The best storm game to date in my opinion. With its great animations and big replay value it’s just a great naruto game. I think all fans of the series will enjoy this greatly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Awesome

posted by seanfart9 (ROCKMART, GA) Mar 4, 2013

Member since May 2008

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

There could be more new characters, but overall they did excellent with the story and game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Storm3

posted by keyshawn5 (STOCKTON, CA) Jul 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

awesome game 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

let me just go out and say this

posted by kbildens (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is a copy and paste of all the other installments, but the developers pulled it off and made this game absolutely amazing. all i can say to you is this, if you hate this game your a fool ya fool. sorry about killer bee back their he interrupts me like that alot. anyway back to the game. this game will keep you playing especially if your a diehard like me. loved the story, glad its not to long. the game featured stunning graphics, awesome voice actors and awesome specials. in the gameplay itself their is the free roam like in the 1st and 2nd games and at times their are even free roam battles which remind me somewhat of dynasty warriors if you dont know what dynasty warriors is i suggest renting as well. this game featured alot of bosses where completing a quick time event is so cool the bosses are challenging. but what i like most of all is making an amazing combo using just cancels this game is pure EPICNESS!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Naruto Review

posted by LonnieR (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I want to go out and say that this game was clearly created for the ultimate fans of the series. I myself watch the show but the game really doesn't do it any justice. During story mode you will run around similar to Naruto Ultimate Ninja storm 2 and be bombarded with numerous cut-scenes during battles which gets annoying. The game-play is similar to the other installments and is really fun but there are numerous flaws with the actual fighting system. During online play you will experience the numerous flaws with the fighting system. The substitution jutsu is meaningless now because if you use it you enemy will just chakra dash into you right after. Using the substitution jutsu does not keep you safe. Keep in mind you can only use the sub 4 times before it depletes completely. Once it depletes you simply lost the match because you can't guard or dodge anything. You also have the ability to awaken at any time now but that's flawed because now people will awaken during combos and drain an entire life bar. With every fighting game some characters are simply better than other. If you happen to pick the wrong one your screwed. Simply put the substitution jutsu limitation breaks the game. A lot of characters are exact copies from other installments. Have fun with the story mode and play a few online matches... after that... trade it in because there is no lasting appeal. I rented this game for only 2 days. I beat it the first day then spent the next day with online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same old same old....

posted by raymondx (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) May 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So yeah its the same old stuff with a few nice new features to story mode and cleaned up jutsu's and fighting moves. But its still lacking in variety of game play modes which is still dont understand for a ps3 title. I want to give the game a better rating but its kind of a waste of money if you have the previous titles and just play two player with your friends.. Also i hate the fact i have to run around and do random b.s. in story mode, I just want to fight not run around an talk to people..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy Platinum

posted by Leo_the_Lion25 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

I got the Easy Platinum in 11 hours and 13 minutes, but if you playing this and don't buy the 10 dollar DLC. You need to play the game without the update DLC patch because you will need to S rank the DLC missions to get the platinum when you don't have the DLC. So playing it without the update will enable you to get the S rank Boss battle gold trophy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My opinion

posted by rmj (FULSHEAR, TX) Jul 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

very fun game to introduce the story to me by also playing a very fun game . Even though it stages can be hard the online mode is very fun to play around with your friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fit for any Naruto fan!

posted by Tjay93 (CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO) Jun 12, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is nothing short of spectacular, best Naruto game yet. You don't get that very often, like how DBZ got lazy after Tenkaichi, but Bandai Namco never fails to amaze me when it comes to UNS. The dynamic backgrounds, the beautiful combat engineering with insanely detailed character specific combinations, the cinematic improvements that relive Narutos greatest moments, it's all something that keeps me buying each installment. A must try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's meh

posted by ourrockk (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This is a good game if your looking for some quick fun with friends. The unlocking of characters is tedious and the combat is repetitive. NO REPLAY VALUE AT ALL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Do Better!!

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Feb 25, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

It is hard for me to give this game a 6 because I so desperately want to give it a higher rating. This series has proven over and over again on how they can simply nail the visual display which is mostly why there are such high ratings. After I played the second game in this series I was excited to see how the creators could stun me once more with the giant battles and very deep story, unfortunately this game just fell with its lack of giant battles and more of the regular battles which you can do in free mode. That being said, combat has significantly improved making it a little more of a challenge and fun to play rather than being a chore and the new feature of adding Ultimate Decisions to determine how the next bit of gameplay will pan out but there are so few that it is hardly noticeable. Adding secret actions as well was a nice feature as well but since there are too few and how to do some of them is confusing since the game will not tell you what the icons indicate (but I guess they are "secret" factors). This game has so much potential but it took a few steps back and the new features were not enough to make up for it. I am still excited to see the next addition to this series but I do not hold high hopes, this game I have to say was a nice rental but I would never pay more than $10 for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best

posted by Wolf_house08 (ROCKY MOUNT, NC) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Found it to be very entertaining like watching the tv series would really recommend this game to anyone who's a fan. Gameplay cutscenes are long and fights are short depending on how you play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game falls short on many levels!

posted by gamewiz113 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 29, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

For the third game in the Naruto Storm series (4th if you count generations) you would think the game would improve by now. The game-play is exactly the same from Storm 2. Then to top it off Storm 2 was actually a step down from the first Storm game. In Storm 3, we get a lot of recycled characters with recycled move-sets and short unappealing ultimate specials. In the first Storm game, we got to do wall battles, jutsu clashes, free roam in story mode and longer more epic ultimate specials. From Storm 2 and beyond, all of these things were taken away in favor of online battles and new but very dull characters and repetitive game-play. I'm already hearing rumors about a Storm 4 which is inevitable, but lets just hope CC2 will finally listen to fans and make the necessary changes to make Storm 4 the true Naruto game fans deserve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by dglopez (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Aug 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

This game is Epic! I love the story mode as much as I love the actual Anime! Thumb Up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Well, it's definitely a Naruto game.

posted by Nait_Phoenix (MENIFEE, CA) May 28, 2013

Member since May 2013

And that's all it is. It's a game about the manga series, Naruto (utilizing it's anime adaptation as the art direction). It's a fighting game with over 80 characters in it; now most might dispute the possibility of this, but it's very possible when the button controls handle very similar with EVERY CHARACTER. Where it really dials down to is whether your character's special moves (i.e. Jutsus) are effective enough and whether you can successfully pull them off while trying to dodge your character's attacks.

The story is bizarre. Anyone who hasn't read the manga or seen the show will get lost in an instant. The game's story starts when the previous left off, and while that is to be expected, for those who did not play the previous, they have no clue where they are story-wise as the characters cryptically speak of what the main character, Naruto, did. Not only that, but there's too much dialogue and not enough interaction with the story. I felt myself skipping many scenes by the fourth hour of playing it.

A feature they added to the story mode was the Ultimate Decision mode. What it boils down to is whether you want a challenge or just wanna get through a certain stage. While it's a great feature, it doesn't change much up in the story. Had the story not been adapted, this feature could've greatly improved the choice "dilemma" it tries to convey. And while they tried to give you a choice of difficulty, there are times it will amp up to ridiculous for no reason.

The art direction is great. Cel-shaded and cartoony while not being overly ridiculous looking. The characters' flashy super moves and ultra-super moves are exciting to watch, but too easy to pull off to the point where you'll feel like you've seen it too much. And the stages are really just there. To the point where we have interactive stages in most fighting games now, they're uninspired.

This game is fun, but it's not the kind of fun that will keep your attention for hours unless you are a fanatic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

1st time ever

posted by RawTalenTx704 (DENVER, NC) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

This was my first time ever playing one of these games and I thought it was alright not really my kinda game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Naruto

posted by Acknowledge (YAKIMA, WA) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

Naruto Ninja Storm 3 was a great Game Though I Felt that there was more cut-scenes then the actual interaction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Random Ninj-iffilty

posted by notsuh86 (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) May 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

Though It took me a while to get used to some of the controls, sometimes the lower difficulty would be more difficult then the higher one. as well as sometimes the atemt to side step an attack turned intoa step towardsan attack. story/adventure mode was acurate to series, while skipping all "fillers". ccontrols are simple, but there were definetly times ON HERO/EASY CHOISE that had me hantng to snap the controller in two. some fights were just too cheep... The extra costumes were nice extras, but somewerenearly impossible to get and not very impressive...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is Storm 3 Worth Your Rental? Find Out.

posted by MikailArksot (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I'll admit, I was extremely hyped for this game ever since it was announced. Finally, a new Storm game for me to enjoy. After the crushing disappointment that was Generations, I had something new and amazing to look forward to.

What I got was a mish-mash of different feelings.

The graphics haven't improved, much like the other games. There are a few differences here and there, some are aesthetically pleasing and others not so much. I guess the sarcastic saying of "Unique art style, do not change" is in effect.

Sound effects are pretty much the same, give or take some new ones or revamped old ones, so nothing special. However, the soundtrack is stunning, as usual. Dynamic, majestic, and simply incredible to listen to. As for dubbing, which is sound, the lip syncing is awful. Simply awful. They barely tried this time around and that disappoints me. I read aloud the lines and was able to sync up better than those guys did.

Gameplay hasn't changed; the substitution bar returns from Generations and now there's two Awakenings. I forget the other name, but one is Instant. However, ones with normal can't transform instantaneously and vice versa. There's also the Support Combo, which is holding down the circle button. Haven't found much use for it yet.

Story mode seems cut and paste from Storm 2; nothing much has changed gameplay wise. Story wise, yes; going from the Five Kage Summit to just before the reveal of Tobi, to those who read the manga. I consider it a waste of time, but it's much better than Generations's story, which was fight after fight with cutscenes in-between.

Overall, this game is rather fun to play, especially with the giant roster of characters this time around. If you're a die hard Naruto fan, like me, you will enjoy this new game to add to your collection. All I know is when Storm 4 is announced, I'll be on it like Naruto on ramen bowls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by josh1655 (GOOSE CREEK, SC) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I dont have to have the cd in thankyou for the Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by mc_trollin (BURKE, VA) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

If you're a fan of the anime/manga, this game is a must to play. You might think that already knowing whats going to happen takes away from the story mode, but playing through it you'll notice tears forcing their way out because the game is just that good. I do have to say that some of the cut scenes are lengthy.. some of them going anywhere from 10-20min long. The other modes are solid as well. If you're not familiar or not a fan, try this game anyways and you might find yourself liking the game yourself. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awesome

posted by gabrielagalvez (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i loved this game theres a bunch of characers and the online gaming rocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Holy Chiz

posted by megaxis (HOLLAND, MI) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

this game is just down right awesome. from the intensity of the online multiplayer to the cinematic story mode. my only complaint is that half the game is cut scenes and not back to back fights. the roster could include the edo kages and kinkaku and ginkaku but even without them this game is still very fun and very replayable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse