Rent Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.3

3098 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by RaFFyy (LYNDEN, WA) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

34 out of 38 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best Naruto game out there and trust me I have played my share. For example the first two Naruto games for the xbox 360 (Rise of a ninja and Broken Bond) were ok but no where near as amazing as this game. As for the 23 interactive and destructible stages, they are what they say they are you can basically run train on the things around you or use the very things around you to run train on your opponent. There are much more elements to the game as to why I gave it a 10 out of 10 but just to be fair you should either rent or buy it to find out why. Oh and remember you can buy it here after you rent it for a great price... just saying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Naruto Game on PS3

posted by Wolfy (HANOVER PARK, IL) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of naruto/shippuden, this game is a must get don't rent buy. If you rent this game u gonna hold onto it for months, and that basically paying for it (after the charges ea month).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't Fix what isnt Broken

posted by Tanoris (LANCASTER, CA) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

25 out of 35 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The Second installment in the storm series and it's pretty good. Fans of the series will love that it goes from the beggining of the shippuuden arcs all the way to Pain.Don't get me wrong from the title, the game is great! Story mode is epic, you have the anime fights reinacted in Storm 2's AMAZING graphics and the Boss battles are just more of a reason to pick this game up. Let's not forget the addition of Online finally, and with rankings too. The gameplay remains sadly the same with your basic "O" Combos and triangle for jutsu then ultimates. Awakenings are still in the game and are as cool as ever BUT the one they they did change for the WORST, was making awakenings have no ultimate attack like in Storm 1. Asside from that we no longer get those cool slo mo over the top beautiful overexagurated ultimates the first one had, they dumbed them down to about 3 seconds per character to make gameplay more fluid but in my opinion the over the topness was what ultimate ninja was all about. Overall, good game, they took out things that made it great but its still worth renting on gamefly if your a naruto fan youll love it if not, might want to just go to a friends house to try it.
Gameplay 6/10
graphics 10/10
Story 10/10
Replayability 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Zangetsu (DANBURY, CT) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It was amazing the boss battles were very cinematic! It may be better than the first one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You wont stop playing :D

posted by rgarcia26 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is absolutely addictive. I have purchased this game the day of its release and find my self still going back to fight friends and online matches. The graphics are beautiful, with nice cell shading graphics that will leave you stunned. The boss battles are intense and very engaging. The reason I didn't give this amazing game a 10 is because of the boring collection of items you need in order to get 100% completion. walking from village to village and along the way collecting items is not only repetitive but boring. Another annoying factor is the online matches. You would not believe the countless matches I have been close to victory only to have the soon to be loser disconnect his PS3. Its very infuriating especially since the developer didn't really have a way to discipline those who disconnect. All they did was show the amount of times u disconnect which eventually reset with more matches fought. Yeah, I'am sure they learned there lesson. They should have had the system that marvel vs. capcom used which groups disconnecting players with other players who disconnect. All in all the game is amazing and definitely worth at least a rental. Have Fun :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Naruto Shippuden Ultimate Ninja Storm 2

posted by robcastor729 (GOLETA, CA) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Having never played the first game the controls are something to get used to.
If your a fan of the anime then this is the game for you , but if your looking for a game with depth then please look some where else.
It won't hold up to alot of peoples standards
But again if your a fan of the anime then please try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ultimate Ninja? More like Ultimate Game!

posted by Rody599 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best Naruto game I have ever played in my life! There are hardly any flaws, everything is just perfect! First of all, lets start with the Story Mode. It is very dramatic and intense it follows the naruto shippuden series a lot too. The fighting style is epic like the last game. The only problem is that they took out the epic button mashing cutscenes that we all loved so dearly. Online battles are great! Theres hardly any lag at all and you can battle with friends or ranked anytime. Many Characters, Great storyline, epic battles, fun online matches. Any Naruto fan would be missing out on a lot if they don't get this game. This game in my opinion is a total buy! So what are you waiting for? Go and get your own copy NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Epic!

posted by Sinleon (OXFORD, AL) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Well this game is better than its original. Probably much better but i wrote this review so people could see the good and bad in this game.
Naruto Ultimate ninja storm 2 is a good game that you can spend very good money on -even better if you have internet-. The story line is great it can be a let down cause its drifting away from the true storyline but comes back with epic cut scenes that are improved versions of the original's scenes...well i think so :). The story lines length is so long i was about to give up on it lol but i came right back to it wanting more! With plenty of battles to keep you occupied you will find the story line had quite of bit of work put into it. To even boast the game's quality they put a good versus mode in to practice with characters and learn their every move. With so many characters to play you will have more than enough of them to test each one for your very own playing style. Also when you think your ready you can go out to face the world and earn rank and points to show off to your opponents. But sadly the online battles end up with some player thats spams moves and presses buttons. But i am a hypocrite haha i to spam moves some times just to win. But it is a great challenge and who knows maybe a storm 3 will come out improved and ready for all us die hard Naruto fans to play! So you can read my review or other people who wrote it and you can also go to the critic's reviews for what they think about it also. If this review turned some of you players to rent i hope to face you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

LOADING ISSUE

posted by alimillings (MIAMI GARDENS, FL) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I dont appreciate a game that freezes during a already annoying loading process

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by chefcolby (SPRINGVILLE, UT) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was actually one of the best games ive played, i prefered the set story but do like a little roaming, you know what i mean, compared to the first i would actually say i liked the first better because you had free roam where the camera followed you while this one you had free roam but you had set areas then it would pause and you would be in the next area, but the graphics where twice as good and the story was well incorporated into the game, the only other thing i didn't like was the internet play, yah on paper it sounds good but in practice it kind of sucked, i have on ok internet connection 5mbps but there was a 1 to 3 second delay with the moves so when they where attacking you couldnt block because the attack already hit you you stand up then block like an idiot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEAST!

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

EVERYTHING IS BETTER THAN ORIGINAL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is frekin awsome

posted by haloman123 (WILLARD, NC) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

the game is frekin awsome thats all u need to no

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by Synzaku (CANOGA PARK, CA) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Overall its a Fun Game, but the thing that let me down i guess not due to the game creators but just due to me being impatient. Since i already knew the event's that was to come i really got bored easily with the Story Mode. The Free Battles and Online Battles were the only things that pretty much caught my interest in the Game. But even then that became to repetative as well.(Let me state again Online Battle was HELLA fun :D)
Its a Good Game to RENT but i wouldnt get it for keeps, because once your done with the story,gathered every trophies/Characters, your pretty much Done. You will get bored with the game after a few weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun!

posted by Alli (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Love Naruto and I love this game. Gameplay is much better then all of the ps2 games I have previously played. Open gameplay is great but it does get a bit confusing when the camera angle randomly changes to the com.
Cut scenes are lovely but they get a bit long. I suppose if you haven't seen Naruto its really great but for someone who has both read the manga and watched the show it got a bit tedious. I adored the interactive cutscenes for battles though, and arcade mode is very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

absolutely the best game ever made

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

10 out of 43 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

much purchase, rent, demo, trade, borrow, and play obsessively

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Still waiting........patiently

posted by Pmoted (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I started my Gamefly account just to get my hands on this title. Tried the demo and I have always been a fan of the DBZ fighters so this was a no brainer for me.
Unfortunately it still hasn't been sent and I am confused why Gamefly doesn't purchase more copies of it since it seems so popular.
I'll give it another week after that I might just cancel my account and bite the bullet and go buy it.

Game does look like a ton of fun though..........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just not there yet...

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

I have enjoyed the Naruto series (both the show and games) for years and had played this previous title giving it a 5 out of 10. This game fixed some of the key problems that I had with the previous title but still had very large issues that need to be corrected. Regular fights may feel too unfair at times given that the combat is basically one combo after another, again, again, and again until one players health bar is gone rather than close encounters with small combos and lucky chances with super moves. The so called "open world" still feels empty and pointless with a terrible camera view and still no point in having the open world, it was basically used as a good excuse to waste more time by running across the whole map (which can take up to 5 minutes) to have a 30-80 second battle if it is not a boss battle. Looking for items on the map feels pointless as well considering the items you find are hardly relevant for anything you do. What this game has done to make me appreciate it however, is how beautiful the graphical design is, once again the visuals have beyond stunned me making the show look awful in comparison. Not only that but by adding far more giant battles that mesh both combat and button pushing icons makes me happy to play this game and if you do well in the button pushing icons you are rewarded with a scenario from the show giving you more background on the story. This game took me roughly 16 hours to beat which considerably long for a fighting game but it just pains me to say that most of my memories from it revolve around reading/listening to dialogue or running across the large map with a terrible view and for no reason. This game is definitely on its way to something great but as of now it is not even close to an amazing fighter, if you are looking for a deep story with great visuals and fighting to make up for its short comings then this is your game. If you are looking for the best fighting game, do not even touch this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, But

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is great, though it has a good bit of problems, but they more focus on the online battles to where players can abuse things like a character's easy-to-use jutsu, tilt or something like that. Or even worse is that people with rapid-fire controllers abuse that to dodge anything you try to hit them with, making them impossible to damage while they just slap you around.

This game has a GREAT story/adventure mode, filled with a bunch of side things you can do in the form of missions and other stuff to pass the time so you can continue on with the story and the epic boss battles that await you. There is just one boss battle that you do not have to fight under those epic conditions though and that's the final mission you do after you beat the game involving Curse Dolls and you fight a Shadow/Dark Sage Naruto to fight to see if it or you are the "ultimate ninja".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by malwhetstone (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

the best game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Second Wave

posted by GameboyID (HOSCHTON, GA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I own this game, so I can give it an 8 automatically. Gameplay features and boss fights give this 2 points, but taking away the non-story mode feature from the first and replacing with others (especially Tonton's pearls) isn't cool, and the online can't repace it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

?

posted by killerred12 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this is the worst game i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Naruto Storm 2

posted by KillerB13 (ODENTON, MD) May 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

Best rpg and online fighting game ever. Loved the anime and is perfect for anyone that does as well. First game i ever played that had both its own story line, free fighting mode against comp or another player and online battles that can get intense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

send another copy in its place ..

posted by broom4sale (CLEVELAND, OH) May 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game that was sent was defective it would show the game on the ps3 list but the picture wouldn't show up its just black.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

naruto

posted by darknesshine (BAYSIDE, NY) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

story line: ok. it is a little bit boring if u watched the anime before
graphic: o.k
control: difficult
easy to fall into sleep: sort of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Fools Errand

posted by Tryand (JENKS, OK) Mar 20, 2012

Member since May 2008

Completion: Platinum
Graphics: Great
Sound: Good
Story: Good
Bugs: Some
Frustration: VIOLENT
Replay Value: Some
Verdict: Don't Bother

This game was just about what I expected it to be. The story mode, which has some pretty graphics and is fun enough if you are a fan of Naruto, is for the most part a cheap rpg. You waste tons of time running around, talking, opening then closing menus and collecting things that you don't really ever need. It covers the story pretty good and I really liked the quick time event fights for boss battles. The fighting was a lot of fun, but you have the typical AI that cheats and moves that only seem to work properly for the opponents.

Overall the game was pretty fun for a fan of the series, unless.......

Getting the platinum in this game was the most frustrating one yet. They just made you waste time for most of them, I finished the game like 3 weeks ago but just now got the trophies done.

The online mode killed what fun this game did have. You have the usual quitters, the cheaters (lagswitches), the trash "pros" who just pick the cheapest characters and win all day for no reason etc. The ranked matches don't matter since you can pick who you fight and quit if you start to lose.

The worst part was the matchmaking. This game has some terrible design for menus and too much loading, no excuse for it now days. You wait for it to find sessions, by the time you get to one its full and then it kicks you back to the menu to search again instead of letting you try a different person, or you get stuck transmitting. In 20 minutes you might get one or two 50 second matches and when you need 50 wins (looked like just 10, but they hid more in the titles you have to get.....) you are in for a long, frustrating, annoying, anger filled experience that might cost you a few controllers.

With the new game out already, don't bother with this. From what I hear it has the same matchmaking, but you don't need it for the platin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse