Rent Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.2

4299 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well, all around pretty excellent...

posted by mmmcake (ALTO, MI) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

30 out of 31 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

This is a great game, with good graphics, and fully voiced acting.. when some of my characters died i actually found myself caring a little bit..
but the story line and fighting are what really showed, the controls are quick and simple, and the story goes very deep. i used to be really into the show in like 6th grade, and this actually interested me, it's all around just a good game, worth a buy for the playing hours put into it. the only con was walking around from city to city to get dolls and pearls.. and material collecting, just kind of boring, but this game is a good challenge, and very long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Anime Game Ever!!!

posted by VizardIchi (DENMARK, WI) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I just recieved the game this morning at 10 am, and ive been playing it since then. Non-stop. The game is very addicting. (spoiler) the beginning of the game starts out slow and seems to drag on, but for all of the naruto fans like me, pushing through it makes it so much more sweet when you start on the acual missions like recuing Garra from the guys in black cloaks (spoiler end). The grapics are amazing and the voices are dead on. The fights are even better, while yes there are 2 bars of health for everyone you fight including yourself, but with well timed combos and constant button mashing, you fly threw most of the fights with little to no challenge.

For those of you curious about trying about the game, i would recomend it to everyone. This game is long and will have you hooked for hours on end, and after beating it, like myself, i will probably be re-playing the story mode for all of its epicness. the only downside to the game is it reveals everything that you may have not seen in the manga or subbed episodes online, so if your one for wanting to see the fights happen while you sit back and chill, then do that as soon as possible before you start the game up. And as a side reminder for all of you achievement hunters, this game requires endless hours of play time in order to achieve some of the achievements. Good luck to all who play and hope you enjoy it as much as i am right now!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

review from a fan

posted by Synbios21 (EDMONDS, WA) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

first let it be known that i am also a fan of the series, and current on it to the events in this game, if you aren't watching subed versions in the 150+ area, this would be a spoiler game just fyi

that being said I really enjoyed this game. being able to play through the fights was fun, they have some button combination sequence things you do in bossfights that are like special events and uber powerful attacks, again if you watch the series its like reliving the best parts of the fights without the dragging dialogue, it does move rather quickly though and doesn't take long to clear everything, which is a little dissapointing to me, but I understand as to unlock all the characters in the 2 player fight mode you need to clear the entire story mode.
the game is really beautiful too, it has alot of attention to detail and the fighting system is really basic, but also fairly complex as they added a way to combo attacks with support characters that can be OP if done right,
If you aren't familiar with the series at all but enjoy a good story, it is an awesome story, I would strongly recommend watching it in japanese with english subs, as the english will make you not like the show, its gross, its not the coolest fighter ever, but its got alot of cool characters with alot of different styles and abilites, and a fighting system that you can have alot of fun with without needing to spend too much time learning it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best

posted by MyGenetics (RIVERHEAD, NY) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I always have been a fan of the Naruto series but not the games, This is really a true balance fighter with loads of characters that will even make fans new to the series have a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Ultimate Ninja series comes to the Xbox 360!

posted by LandoDoes (NORTH FORT MYERS, FL) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Now, I'm a big Naruto fan, and have been following it religiously since it's first appearance in Japan's Weekly Shonen Jump. I'll try my best to review the game from an unbiased point, though I assume anyone who is even remotely interested in Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 has some experience with our orange jumpsuit wearing ninja.

Graphics: 10/10

This is truly where the game shines, everything from the character models, to the background design in levels, and the world in Ultimate Adventure look absolutely gorgeous. It every aspect it truly captures the feel and the look of the Naruto Shippuden anime.

Game-play: 8.5/10

Here is where fans of the Ubisoft games seem to find disappointment. Anyone expecting a Street Fighter, or Tekken style fighter, look elsewhere for this comes closer to being a Naruto simulator than a legit fighting game. It truly is an easy-to-learn-but-hard-to-master fighting system. If you're looking for a game to compare to, it would be closer to a game like Power Stone for the Dreamcast, or in a sense to the Dragonball: Raging Blast game (it being a Dragonball simulator rather than a fighter).

Story: 8.5/10

The "Ultimate Adventure" story-mode is what you could expect from an anime based fighting game, it serves to provide narrative tie-ins for the fights. It's an enjoyable experience in my opinion, with about 25-30 hours of game-play (12-15 hours if you ignore side-quests).

Online Multiplayer: 8/10

One of the major selling points for this game for many Ultimate Ninja fans, was the chance to finally get an online battle option. While it's obvious that it's CyberConnect2's first attempt at online play, it's still quote enjoyable. You can customize your own "Ninja Info Card" with an image taken directly from the anime, and a title that you unlock by playing (over 100 titles). The only issue I can see with it, is that sometimes the latency is an issue and you get some lag, but that's maybe 1 in 5 games.

Overall score: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is WIN

posted by BludSqualo (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Playing UNS 1, I grew bored quick. It just didn't grab me at the time...now UNS 2 is out, I've played it, beat it, played online with it, and STILL I play! The graphics are superb, and I'm not a gamer who cares about graphics! The gameplay is simple yet effective. (Wish my friend knew more combos besides BLOCK GRAB RASENGAN REPEAT) And with the story, I'm finally caught up in the Naruto Shippuden story! No more awkward moments on the subject around my friends and family! You can rent, buy, or steal, (Don't steal) this game is GREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent(may contain spoilers about story arcs)

posted by Cloud324 (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying i am a huge naruto fan and am very familiar with the story and chrachters of naruto which might affect whether or not you will like the game i did buy the game since gamefly did not send me it and i did not feel like waiting 3 weeks and not getting a game just to wait to get this so i bought it ok so naruto ultimate ninja storm 2 is nothing like your typical fighter like tekken or street fighter it gives you full control over the stage you are fighting on being able to move quickly around it there are 40 chrachters in the game which are all fun to play as and work just like they would in the anime there are about 40 chrachters in the game and all of the akatsuki members except zetsu are in the game but for the most part if you have a favorite chrachter he or she will be in the game the fighting in the game is very smooth with each player having one jutsu which is usually some kind of elemental attack which uses chakra(energy bar) then you have your ultimate jutsu which uses even more chakra and deals more damage each charachter can also enter awakening move for some charachters it can completely change there fighting style others barely changing at all for example naruto can turn into the 4 tailed fox in his awakening which is a huge diffrence but some chrachters like sakura will only get stronger attacks and 1 or 2 new combos each charachter also has ninja tools they can use which are in limited supply and shurikens to throw which are unlimited and each chrachter also has about 5 to 7 combos including awakening mode combos and one throw for each charachter this game has a online feature which allows you to play online with people around the world via xbox live or psn.Lastly the story goes from the beginning of shippuden when naruto gets back home from jirayas training to the destruction of the leaf village in the end this game is a must for any naruto fan and i reccomend it for people who are not as well just because it is that good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Living the anime

posted by SamuelJTJ (BRONX, NY) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Ultimate ninja storm 2 fight system is the closest to the anime that i've ever seen. Kudos to the developers. Naruto fan or not if u like fast paced fighters. This is for you. Not to mention the story stays true to tyhe anime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks. (May has some spoilers about arc)

posted by Zarkashi (CLEBURNE, TX) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ultimate Ninja Storm 2. Hours of fun for you and your friends, and that's the multiplayer, people. The story is about 7-8 hours of gameplay, if you don't do any sidequests. I literally can play this for hours with friends, and I'd say four people is perfect. Loser switches out.
The Good: The Story. It goes through the whole series of Shippuden, minus a few story arcs. (Will of Fire was one I noticed.)
The characters. They all have their skills from the anime/manga.
The combo's. Some of them work in the users Jutsus. One of Kabuto's combo's summons a dead anbu to strike the opponant. I

The Bad: Blocking. Everything but Grabs can be blocked. Wind rasengon? Hold block and it ain't no thang. It does break after continued use, but it will take a full combo. And, say you block someone's justu; they have a second or two animation for standing back up and getting into position, leaving them open for Ult/normal jutsu or a combo.
The Ugly: Substitution. You can Substitute ANYTHING. Hit block at the right moment before getting hit and you're instantly behind them. It does take chakra, but that's easy to get back. It gets pretty silly when you're in a combo just spamming your block buttons.

Over all, it's a great game. You'll have a lot of fun if you beat the campain (Which unlocks most of the characters excluding Killer Bee, Yamato, Taka Sauske, and Lars.) After that it's nonstop matches your friends/ Online matches. Great pick if you get it, hope this helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by deandre (SAN MATEO, CA) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is s very fun game and it conpliments the brillientness of the naruto characters. i am a big fan of the naruto characters escpesialy naruto and sauske.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Three words: Ultimate Ninja Storm!!!!

posted by Malik150 (AURORA, CO) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is extremely over the top in graphics,detail,and fight simulation.The moves you get to experience with naruto,neji,lee,sasuke and the others blow your freaking mind.Take my word for if your looking 4 the perfect game that can make laugh,mad,and focused.....,"Here is your game"! Deliverd always on time from gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

did you like the first?

posted by austis6 (CUTLER BAY, FL) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

if you liked the first you will like this one it adds better graphics, not many bugs alothough one time i got stuck in a rock and got owned. but all in all a very solid game defintely worth renting...buying only if your friends come over alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm 2

posted by JosephMF (NAMPA, ID) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I first got the game I was really, really excited for it. As to what I suspected it was a great game. There are a few things that are bad but there just minor stuff. If your a fan of the Naruto Shippuden series than this should be good, and bad for you. In the game there are some stuff that is missing out of the series but I could not really complain over it. This game will kind of be a spoiler for you if you have not watched all of the series that have not been dubbed yet. So basically if you want to just play the game and really dont care about the series much than I say go ahead and play it, but... if your a person who really is a big fan of the series like my self than you might want to wait. It just depends but my finally rating one this game is a 10/10 graphics are amazing, voice acting is just perfect, and this game will not be downer for you it will make your day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is amazing.

posted by JulianR (HOLIDAY, FL) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is quite amazing, the gameplay is the best by far. A lot of people are saying you need to play Adventure Mode to unlock all characters, but all you need is to get SP, you need 700,000 to unlock all characters without different costumes, quite easibly attained if you know what you're doing.

Also, online is sometimes not the greatest with a bunch of lagswitches and people who don't like to play the game fairly and spam Rasengan, First specials, and also team specials, while doing so, running with shurikins and then when you rush, they use ultimate, pointless to even put combos in this game if you're just going to do the same thing the whole match regardless of how the other player is playing. But otherwise, without lag, and spammers, online is quite amaing as well, this game is also a great game to play with a bunch of friends, switching off with losers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Occams (BATON ROUGE, LA) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Visually, its like playing the anime. Just brilliant. Worth your time. Do it to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by tcondon153 (EL MIRAGE, AZ) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty awesome i mean the storys great even though its not exact it doesnt matter at all because they make up for it with the awesome battle cequences and action commands.they have so many characters in it i mean they have all of the akatsuki except for zetsu and they even through in killer bee,although im not so happy about them putting in lars from tekken 6 imean that just ruins the whole ninja thing they got going.all you people out there that think this game sucks because the storys not perfect you are idiots because if they went exactly with the story line the game would suck because all the fights would be too short. all and all this is a good game and its woirth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by justinlopu (BRONX, NY) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome and has the extreme action I love!

Rasengan!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good Naruto Game

posted by Tatsumaru (EVANS, GA) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The first thing that can be said about this game is that is beautiful. Especially when you see it in HD. The Ultimate Adventure((Story)) Mode was filled with tons of things to do but what I thought shined above all were the boss battles. The explosive action in them will have you wanting more when you're done with the game. I enjoy the normal fights but the boss fights were a notch above them since you felt like you were truly interacting with the anime through them. The online and verses modes are a blast but can sometimes be held back by connection issues or lag, quitters, and/or spammers. Overall the game is a must buy for fans who are looking for an action packed Naruto game with plenty of things to do on the side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great and Atrocious

posted by Biglerst (WALDORF, MD) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The fighting is outstanding

The graphics are 8/10

The story line is atrocious, seems better for young kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm 2

posted by JustShazam (BRONX, NY) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was fairly good to say the least. The adventure based mode is absolutely amazing. The story sucks you in, the boss fights are really fun and is very active, so you're not just sitting there watching the cinematic. There are also a bunch of side quests to complete if you are into that, to earn the full 100% completion to the game, which gives the game a lot more play time. There is a downfall, to me at least. The multiplayer isn't as competitive and fun as the adventure mode. It seems they put a lot of time into the adventure mode and took the multiplayer down a level from previous Naruto titles and also focused on online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

RASENGAN!!!

posted by jayroboy12 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Experience the Naruto Shippuden show with this awsome fighting. Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 takes place during the events have taken place so far during the show. Just about every single character is in the game including the evil organization known as the akatsuki. The game is very simple to figure out and the jutsus are really cool. In online mode you can choose between team match, which is where select xetain characters to help you in your fight, or single match, which is just you by yourself. You can select between a normal match or a rank match. In story mode, you live the Naruto story starting from when Naruto returns home ending with the big fight between Naruto and the Akatsuki leader. There is button pushing during cetain movies so pay attention. There isnt as much running around like in the first and there are no breaks in between fights like the first game. If are not a Naruto fan I wouldn't play this game. If you are but havent gotten this far in the show and dont want spoilers then dont play this.....yet. To sum it up this game is great and I am not really a big fan of the fighting games but I am a huge fan of Naruto.
By the way, you people that havn't gotten this far in the show. You all are missing possibly the greatest in Naruto history. The showdown between Naruto and the Akatsuki leader. EPIC!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

5 stars

posted by narutodbz (MADISON HEIGHTS, VA) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is incredible.. follows the story line almost to a T...if u are a naruto fan..this game is a must have!!!!!..everything is great from the free movement to the cinematic battles.. will keep u hooked til the end of the adventure and still more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

how many copies?

posted by JBHermit (HERNDON, VA) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

How many copies does GameFly have....one?? might have to break down and buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

uhh.

posted by parcheesy (MAPLEWOOD, NJ) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 19 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

They shipped it out a day late..aka release date was 19th

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YES

posted by digifan11 (O FALLON, IL) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

im glad tht fer once gamefly pulled through they r sending it to me :D srry to whoever didnt get it but thts happened to me plenty it looks awsome and i cant wait to play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse