Rent Naruto: Rise of a Ninja for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Naruto: Rise of a Ninja

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

5207 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Action-Adventure-Fighting- ... Anime style!

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Oct 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

89 out of 97 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is the anime brought to life. It plays like a third-person action-adventure platforming game, but then you suddenly find yourself playing a fighting game once you meet up with some bad guys. It's all done in great graphical style, and it actually looks very much like the anime (like the new Simpsons game actually looks like the Simpsons). It's especially cool for fans of the show, but people that may not know or care about Naruto may very well enjoy it more since they don't already know the plot.

The story follows the first 80 episodes of the anime, so fans will most likely notice more of the little details in the story. At various times throughout the game, there are actually cutscenes straight from the show. It really helps draw you into the story.

You start off running around a big, open city doing random tasks for the townsfolk. Basically, nobody likes you, so you try to change their minds by helping them with various fetch quests, races, and the like. You'll also end up strolling through the forest and beating up bad dudes. And that's where the real fun starts.

The meat of this game is the fighting. It plays like your traditional side-view brawler, like Tekken, Virtua Fighter, etc. but with a much simpler combat system. There's really no complicated button combos - it's all fairly simple punch, kick, and throwing moves. There are special jutsu attacks that you summon by moving your hands around to form different symbols, which is done with the analog sticks. Then you unleash the move, which plays out like a mini-game involving various button presses. It's actually very sweet-looking and entertaining to pull these off.

The fighting system can also be played over Xbox Live, with tournaments and the whole deal.

Basically, every fan of the Naruto anime should check out this game. Non-fans may very well become fans after playing through it. Anyone else who may enjoy some simple fighting game action should also get a kick out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Naruto lives to rock again

posted by Gamrkid588 (BURTONSVILLE, MD) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Naruto Rise of a ninja is the best Naruto game
I've ever played.
This game put's you on Naruto's journey right from the beggining.
You learn almost every jutsu Naruto learns in
exactly the same order as he did on the series.
It put's you right in the feel of the Naruto series.
Naruto rise of ninja is a great game.
I seriously recomend this game to any looking for
fun on X-box360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not perfect yet still well done

posted by Axlthehntr (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Naruto ROAN is a difficult game to review. It for one it is a game that belongs to several catagories rather than just one. It is a Mix between Action/Adventure, Platforming, and Fighting all in one package. Many will be sceptacle of the game simply based on the fact that it is based on an anime series, which in the gaming industry is usaully a bad thing. However, I am glad to say that this game is one of, if not THE BEST ANIME GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED. Let's get started.

Story:
For fans of the anime, the story starts off right in the very begining of the series and stretches out to around the end of season 2 concluding the Chunin exams. The story of the game is told via a mix of in game dialogue and clips taken straight from the english version of the anime (though a patch can be downloaded to replace the dubbed voices in the anime scenes, though it will just mute all in game dialogue) The voice acting is a mixed bag. If you hate the anime in english you will hate all of it, if you don't mind it you will be bothered by the horrible quality of acting from some characters, yet others like Naruto are just fine.

Gameplay:
Now the important part, the gameplay takes a bit to get used to because it runs off of two different engines. You start out with your standard running and jumping in Naruto's home in the Villiage hidden in the Leaves (Konoha) In these platforming areas you do no fighting, only run through obsticles and it is all very fun and enjoyable. Combat is handled kind of like an RPG where an enemy jumps out at you and then your surprised with a full fledged fighting game scenerio. You have your standard combos like punches and kicks, and then you have your special moves or Jutsus (as the game spells it). These technichs are fun to pull off becase they are activated by holding the L Trigger and presing two directional combonations with both joysticks to mimic hand signes. Works great.

Will please fans and newcomers alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is naruto uzumaki believe it

posted by onemic (Stroudsburg, PA) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

first off I was not a fan of naruto, I am a big fan of anime just did not get into naruto. That all changed when I started this game, One of the best anime based titles ever! I went and bought the first two box sets and at first thought hey why did I waste my money, I watched the first three shows and I noticed I seen this already. No wait I played this already, the game is that spot on. the look well let me put it this way you would be hard pressed to try to tell the difference between the game and the show. the way they made this game its like each action or move you do has its own engine, then theres the platforming and I'm old school I love my platforming a game in itself. It's just wonderful, like everyone else has said the fighting is also like it's own game. to do jutsu you have to use the left trigger and the two sticks to pull off the hand movements. Bottom line fans will love it and non fans will become fans because the story is that good. The game is fairly long I have about 15 hours in it now and theres a lot more to go, if you ran through the main story and nothing else it might take about 10 to 12 hrs. I don't know about eight with all the side quests and races and other stuff. but hey real mcc you can have your opinion. so if your looking for a real game or for that matter a real great anime game this is the one and its worth buying for the collection, all you other real mcc's stick with halo 2.5 believe it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is good, BELIVE IT!

posted by Dubctown (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Naruto is an anime show that airs of Cartoon Network. It is arguably one of the better anime's next to the Dragonball Z series. Unfortunately, the shows games haven't always met up to the shows standards. But now, Naruto fans have a game even they can brag about.

Good
1.Entertaining story that follows the plot line of the show.
2.Easy to pick up and fun to play, fighting system.
3.Fantastic cartoonish visuals that rival that of the shows.
4.Excellent online mode where players go through ranked matches in a scenario set in the Naruto universe.

Bad
1.Very easy to beat in only a couple of sitting.
2.No replay value in the story mode after all quests and side missions have been completed.
3.Doesn't include the entire roster expected from a game on the Xbox 360. (Which seems sad because Naruto:Clash of Ninja for Nintendo Gamecube/Wii features a large roster.)

Overall this is a game that any Naruto fan is going to want. But for others, I would probably tell them to rent it first. I personally enjoy the game and even after completing the story mode I go online and fight people from around the world. See ya online!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, but lacking a lot...

posted by deviantKtW (BLUEFIELD, WV) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First of all, This is a good game... One of the best anime games I've ever played.
It's gorgeous, detailed and richly textured graphics mixed with the nice cel-shaded characters makes you feel like you're in the anime.
Konoha Village is very expansive and awesome to run through. You can run around and explore further with every new jutsu you acquire.
People actually get mad at you for bumping into them.
The fighting is simple, dynamic and very strategic. Spacing your combos and your jutsu correctly is key. The jutsu in battle are very cinematic, with a bit of a mini-game feel to them. Depending on the character, you may end up hitting buttons with precise timing (a la Naruto) or aiming your attack at your opponents.

---

As great as all that is, I feel obligated to point out what made this a "just rent and no-buy" title for me.

1. The game is short. Just about 5-8 hours and everything is over.

2. The lack of characters, even just character models of the anime's characters walkin' around would have been nice. There is a multitude of character models that are identical. All the lovelorn guys are the same, the ramen delivery recipients are the same, and a lot of the other ones are the same as well.
There are about 10 fighter characters (Naruto, Sasuke, etc.) and about 10 random fighters such as bandits, ninjas, etc.
I just get tired of fighting the same one over and over again over whatever handbag or shovel I have to get.

3. The voice acting for every one of the fighters is there, however, that's where it ends. All of the supporting roles (Jiraiya, Ebisu, Hokage Sarutobi, etc.) are all wrong.
First of all, we don't get that many characters in the game and now the ones we do get, are voiced by different people.

---

All that being said I still enjoyed the game. I just found out that my hopes were a little high.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow a Good Anime Based Game

posted by ChicknSoup (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is like several games in one. To begin with you have a free roaming 3D game which unfolds and expands as you get more powers. You really have a sense of it being a real village because of the people located throughout the village. The people begin by hating you to begin with and as you do more missions they start liking you.

anyways you go on missions and encounter bad guys and the game switches to being a fighting game which so far has been a little too spastic button mash experience for me but I'm hoping it will become more of a subtle experience as I play it more. The jitsu system is definitely interesting although a takes some practice to fend off your attacked and perform the manuevers using the analog sticks of the controllers.

Completing missions gives you several forms of currency that you can use to boost your character in one of several different ways via training and equipment and gives you a definite set of goals to work towards.

The cut scenes are mostly taken directly from the anime which is proper since the game at least for the lower levels I have played with some filler type adventures.

I was slightly dissapointed with the voice acting since they dont have all of the voice actors from the english dub of the anime providing the voices but they are a decent imitation. Without checking the credits I assume they have the same actress doing the voice for naruto since it sounds spot on.

I'm somewhat sad since although I haven't finished the game becase there would seem to be no material for them to make a sequel to the game. Shrug maybe shippuden or filler episodes of some sort.

If you are a fan of shonen anime and/or the naruto this is the perfect game for you. You will appreciate the nuances that have been put into the game. For all others though I worry that they won't understand the love for the #1 knuckleheaded ninja but will appreciate the game as a decent animated adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Naruto Rocks

posted by shai23 (CANYON, TX) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful


Naruto has a great fighting game that could have stood on it's own, but instead the game has a very large story mode that takes the player through the first 80 episodes of the anime. Exploration, races, hide-and-seek, quests (story-line), and using various ninjutsu techniques to discover power-ups in a very Zelda fashion make Naruto an incredible game. Fans should buy, but most everyone should at least rent (and then decide on whether or not to buy).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Naruto Game Ever!!!!

posted by BertoBx (NEWARK, NJ) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

this is a great game for people who watch the anime and its also good for the people who dont watch it because playing the game you will learn all that Naruto and his friends have to offer and the online play is also great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Abover average platformer... Horrible Fighter.

posted by kokoru (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 2, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Naruto: Rise of the Ninja is a surprisingly well made game by Ubisoft.

As a platformer it definitely does everything right. The control on the over world is spot on, and the use of the animes world and lore is represented perfectly up to that point. Speaking of which I seen Naruto about 2 years ago in Japanese and what it did best was remind me why I liked it so much... Sadly silly things that added flavor to the series and more serious moments have been removed or toned down due to it being based on the kids version (Cartoon Network version) which isn't to bad, but kinda sad because the story was mature.

Running, Jumping, Grabbing ledges, and learning new moves (or new uses of existing moves) that allow you to go to areas you couldn't get to gave the game a very Banjo Kazooie/Mario/Metroid feeling. Back tracking wasn't necessary but made the over all experience more fun and the little side quests were a bit repetitive but still enjoyable.

What keeps this game from getting a much better score was the fighting engine (combat system). There are no explanations for how to be "good" unless you learn little tricks through the story mode but the first time I tried arcade mode I got torn apart without a first date. Even after I eventually learned how to fight a bit better I still have to say that the A.I was either to good or the combat was too hard, albeit simplistic.

My score of 7 is actually as a non Naruto fan, because as I said earlier the platforming aspects of the game are really good, but the combat sucks...

However if you ARE a Naruto fan, I think you will stick around as long as I did to find that beneath a sloppy fighter there is a very enjoyable game in there that takes a little adjusting to get used to!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rock you like a [leaf] hurricane...

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Dec 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ARE YOU A FAN BOY!? ARE YOU!? if you are, you dont even need a review cuz we all know your gonna rent this game anyways. if your like me, and never even watch the show on cartoon network(but hear ur geeky anime fan friends talk about it)then you might wanta read on.
1.you dont need to be a huge fan to enjoy this(but it will help). luckily for those of us who dont live in the freakin leaf village and know the whole story of Naruto Uzumaki, this game goes through the majority of the story to date, from the first episode to the [barely] recent ones.
2.if your color blind (you shouldnt play video games...but)you will HATE this game. i've seen cell shaded games before, but this game really pulls it off well. the bright vibrant colors and graphics will make you feel like you are watching an episode of the show.
3.ever had one of those daydreams while you were driving where you were running with amazing agility and speed, or maybe running on the paralell power lines, or even jumping from tree to tree to building to street and back again, but then you swerved to avoid hitting oncomming traffic? well, now you can do that in a game where there arent any cars to hit you (kill joys). the gameplay in this is good. i'll have to admit i played uzamaki chronicles for the ps2 and then bashed my head on the wall and though it was a waste of time(i coulda had a V8 instead!) but this game is nothing like that. it actually makes you want to like naruto and his anoying catch phrase. WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO BELIEVE NARUTO!? WHAT!?

anyways...if your a fan, buy this game. the multiplayer has a good amount of replay value. if your just curious about the game, rent it. you will most likely not regret it. im sure that if the story doesnt appeal to you, at least running up walls, walking on water, turning into a naked girl(for whatever reason), beating the crape out of your teachers (take THAT!....sir!), and defying god (as if the above dont do that already) by cloning yourself, will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mediocre - Belive it!

posted by Deadend (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off, the game looks great. It looks quite like the anime, which is what can be expected. The framerate is generally blazing fast and running around Konaha is great fun, once you get the sprint ability. The game feels a bit like Assassins Creed Jr. execpt it has more variety to missions. Even though it all comes down to fighting.

Fighting is where the game sucks. At best it's better than the last Naruto fighting games. Which means it's still far from great. The AI can be cheap to the point of making you want to punch someone. The rage-mode mechanic is terrible, as the instant you activate the AI decides to jump around nonstop and be impossible to hit, or pound on you with a combo that lasts an hour or 2. Then they get a rage mode too, and ruin your face.

The combat is just boring, although its flashy looking when it goes off well, but you never get to see yourself perform big attacks because the AI finds a way to inturpt without fail. I have been been grabbed in the middle of a punch, it feels like most AI moves take priority over player moves and the game just feels bad.

But it's short, and when you win, you feel happy. Worth renting, not worth keeping.

Oh, the storyline is also heavily choppy. If you don't know how it goes, it's confusing if you try and care about the characters. The game could have easily been 20 hours long with diversions, character development and maybe more than 4-5 areas. The idea of a free-roaming-fighting- RGP- ish game is quite appealing, but the game makes Jade Empire look like Baldurs Gate 2 with Throne of Bhaal included.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool premise, but lots of tedium

posted by Zerointerr (VALPARAISO, IN) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Been a fan of the naruto anime for a while and was excited to see that this was not just another fighter. The game is beautiful to look at, the quest system is interesting, and the role playing aspect is fun. What detracts from the game play is the constant running back and forth between locations that you where just at, the camera is a huge frustration along with the flying thru tree's minigames and the required quest ninja races. The races are what made me put the game back in the envelope and send it back. I found naruto very hard to control while racing coupled with a horrible camera made me extremely frustrated. Its sad, I had high hopes for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One thing right, everything else wrong

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

First off, I need to say job well done to Ubisoft for being the first company to offer the original voice actor work done in Japanese. I can't stand the english voice actor and I hate to watch anime done in english.

That being said, this game just made me mad. Apparently Ubisoft wants to be known as the fetch quest gurus. Because that's every game anymore. This game has two major flaws and this is one of them. Many of the quests you do involve helping people find things or get things. Sometimes in a limited amount of time, but usually it just takes longer than it should. The first part of the game is all, get me money, or find some guy in town. Really boring.

Then we get on to the fighting. The whole purpose of this game. Well this would be good too except they decided to take it the Tekken route. What do we hate about Tekken? If you don't know the combos you will never win. Yep, here too. So unless you take the time to learn the combos, even the lowest of enemy can wipe the floor with you.

So, let me add more to the pile. Early in the game you have boss fights. Really hard boss fights. In fact you have a very small chance of winning. The one in the water village took me 8 tries. Fighting one guy 8 times to win only to fight someone else is not fun. The fight mechanics are horrible. Block almost never works. Enemies have so many blowback moves it's ridiculous. Then they have so much chakra that they just need to do a quick blowback, do some magic, then you just lost half your life. Oh and if you use your chakra, it almost never actually does any damage.

Sure you have powerups and ability enhancements. They do very little and come a little late. Apparently Naruto lives a life where he loses frequently and is put up against enemies he'll never win against. I guess that's why he's so angry all the time.

In theory this game sounded cool. In fact it is fun. Except for the fetch quests and impossible battles. Yeah, so 3/4 of this game is a let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Sucks

posted by Nemesis1 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I got stuck on the story mode and had to start a brand new game it has to many glitches do not rent or buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

You gotta love Anime to like this game...

posted by drew489 (MERRIMACK, NH) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I guess that should have been obvious but I tried playing anyway, even though I'm not an Anime fan.

First off, the game would NOT load all the time. It would freeze in between scenes and it would reboot the game. So that just killed it for me right there. The disc looked fine and my Xbox is fine so....I think there's programming error.

So I tried playing just the fighting version (non story mode). Wow, it reminded me of 12 years ago playing Mortal Kombat type of games. Granted these games are big in Japan but not so much here...in my opinion anyway. The controls were weird, the gameplay was even weirder and it just didn't work half the time.

I gave it a 2 because it was kinda pretty...graphically speaking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Decent Sandbox, terrible mechanics

posted by Xenith (ALTOONA, IA) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Naruto: Rise of a Ninja is in direct competition with other games with the same name (ie- Narutimate Hero/Ultimate Ninja, Gekitou Ninja Taisen!/Clash of Ninja), but is the first to be released on the Xbox360. This; however, does not make it worth the purchase.

As a sandbox (free-roam) title, it's the best of the options (NH3 had a decent RPG mode, but was too constrained). Most of the missions you undertake involve running from point A to point B, collecting coins for villagers, or tracking down a particular person. You're able to run fairly quickly once you get up to speed, but most of the areas you find yourself in are small hallways, effectively negating your speed.

As a Naruto game, it naturally has a fighting mode. And that is precisely where it fell from grace. Battles consist of hitting X and Y combined with the analog stick to attack your opponent, and the B button when hit to use Substitution Jutsu to appear behind your opponent. Problem: the NPCs are relentless, and pressing X and Y will only create openings for them to attack you. "Oh, I'll just press B to counter," you think. Wrong; the jutsu rarely succeeds, and you end up wasting the entire battle trying to substitute out of the combo, and die.

A shallow fighting system ruins the game, personally (hard to enjoy an entire game if you can't beat a story battle to proceed, isn't it?), and the not-quite-sandbox sandbox doesn't help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Had potential but failed

posted by barracuda (OAKLAND GARDENS, NY) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Rise of A Ninja follows the Naruto anime. The story moves so fast, it doesn't make sense especially for newcomers to the series.

The game has a bit of action platforming and fighting, both which are not too great. You play as Naruto throughout the game accepting missions like racing and doing dirty work for lazy ninjas around the village. Sometimes you will engage the same old generic bandit ninjas and key characters from the show.

The fighting segment of the game is like Naruto: Ultimate Ninja. It's the same button mashing game. What makes the fighting worse is the substitution jutsu that instantly attacks your target from behind by blocking at the moment you are attacked.

It had potential but it technical flaws, glitches, and weak gameplay ruined the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good but too short (8 hour game)

posted by therealmcc (RAYMOND, MS) Oct 31, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 26 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

The game is fun and all, but it only lasts 8 hours WITH the side quests. Its a rental, but not a buy since it only last 8 hours...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

for naruto fans

posted by drechao (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

this is fun for about 3 hours and for the last few hours of the game it is boring and predictable.rental for none naruto fans and a buy for naruto fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Naruto Rise of a Ninja

posted by richardcypher (GRAHAM, WA) May 13, 2013

Member since May 2013

I had played the newer Naruto games and thought this would be like them with the free play fighting, but it is just like Mortal Kombat fighting style and I didnt like it all that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Annoyed me

posted by lonewolf1991 (WINDER, GA) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The game play was fine the stories were pretty accurate, but the voice acting was horrible some of the voices were monotone, and there were lots of mispronunciation of words like Naruto, Sakura, and Ramen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Naruto

posted by Kakashi_Hatak3 (SALIDA, CA) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Naruto rise of a ninja is a great game. it sometimes gets repetetive during some of the side missions, but the story makes up for it 100%

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORSE GAME MULTIPLAYER EVER

posted by EnvySniper92 (TACOMA, WA) Jun 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

The story and gameplay for the single player is good but the multiplayer is complete and utter TRASH i have never seen a worse multiplayer and the players are the worse people on all of console gaming they spam the same moves over and, over DO NOT PLAY THE MULTIPLAYER ive been playing for 2 days and 3 times i have almost punched a hole in my tv because of these TRASHY PLAYERS if you are going to buy or rent this game DONT its not worth the anger it will cause you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DIDn't even work

posted by Timster27 (EASTMAN, GA) Mar 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

DIDn't even work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse