Rent Naruto: Ninja Destiny for DS
view large frontback

Naruto: Ninja Destiny

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

360 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Crouching gameplay, hidden graphics

posted by Gibdoa (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Apr 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I first played naruto ninja destiny I thought, "could they have made a better fighting game?" The answer, quite simply, is yes. Based on the smash hit anime and manga, you play as naruto uzumaki and all his friends(and enemies) as you use your life force, or chakra, to literally bash your opponents to pieces and win, um... well, the match. The game has startling graphics for a handheld fighting game, but what really hooked me was the very easy to obtain special move. Similar to a final smash in super smash bros. brawl, this move is obtained when you fill up your chakra meter 100%. Then you can unleash a character specific move that is usually devastating to an opponent. The fans of the series will recognize the references and hints from the TV shoe, such as Jiraia's special move, riding the toad king. The game has a card battle system on the touch screen that allows you to up your health, up your chakra, or make you invincible. The game has a serious treatment, with a large cast of playable characters, mostly hidden. Also, if you defeat enough enemies, you unlock the nine tailed fox version of almost every character. The game has wifi and download play, so you can battle people who don't own the game. It also has a story mode, but it's very short, and veteran fighting game players should be able to breeze through it. In my opinion, the best mode is the arcade style mode where you battle random characters on random stages. The only problem is that that mode is partially hidden in the battle mode option. Overall a good handheld fighter. you probably don't want to buy it unless you're a hardcore naruto fan, but definitely worth a rental. But, then again, that's what gamefly's for!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

small step for Naruto fans

posted by hoffsnacks (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The newest Naruto fighter, Ninja Destiny isn't there quite yet. The game is fast and addictive but very limited. The unlockable character list is solid but you only get 1 or 2 special moves that only require you to hit 1 button when in close similar to a throw. The combo system holds up as a simple mashing of 1 or 2 buttons and you build chakra similar to a super move bar from other fighting games. Story mode is over in a flash and a straight line, no opportunity to choose your "destiny". Overall a fun, quick Naruto fix for hardcore fans but very shallow in the long run. Perfect rental avoid purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

badddddd

posted by lightkill (MASTIC, NY) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played it for about 5 minutes, there really isn't much to say about this one just not what i expected at all. the same moves over and over again bored me that i sent it back the same day i recieved it.im sorry naruto but you disappointed me :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game sucks!!!!

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is Horrible I`m a fan of Naruto & I like every game of Naruto except for this one. The worst part of the game is the fact that there is no tutorial or training so you get killed helplessly. Another thing is the first fight your in your enemy is doing 8 hit combos and as soon as you fall down your enemy runs over to you and knocks you down again and he will do this until you die. You deffinitley should not rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it is bad1

posted by jhjhjhjhjh (ORANGEBURG, SC) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

it`s bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disapointing game. :(

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 22, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

:( This game is a big disapointment. I like Naruto games but this one is as bad as Pokemon being canceled! (I hope that dosen't happen!) I played it for a few minutes and sent it back the same day I got it! Mostly, it was a big waterfall of disapointment! I started out fighting and I couldn't get the controls! I also realized that there was only a few characters to play as! The graphics make you cry they are so bad! WORST OF ALL I COULDN'T WIN THE FIRST FIGHT!!!! If you are a Naruto fan and you want this game, heres a tip DO NOT EVER RENT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucked so much!!!!!!!!!

posted by Drags130 (FOREST HILLS, NY) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

I don't even know where to start with how bad the graphics and game play is in this game. The game is short. I beat the game in 20 min or even less. The game doesn't tell u how to play and no matter how many times that i played i never unlocked a new character. Don't rent it or buy it and if u do ur very stupid because u are waiting 3-4 days for a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good characters

posted by 8buba00 (LOUISIANA, MO) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

Sorry about the first one. I would rate it a 6, but three of the characters are the sanine. sorry if I spelled it wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow worst game I ever played

posted by DJay14 (DANDRIDGE, TN) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Seriously this is the worst game I ever played it took me 20 minutes to beat the entire game and the animation sucked for a Nintendo DS game I really suggest no rent this game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really Easy

posted by Vampire99 (GARNER, NC) May 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

This game was super easy for and the graphics were okay..but they need to make a lot of improvements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lag-tastic

posted by Warlock (LOS GATOS, CA) May 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This game runs fast. maybe too fast, because it lags like no tomorrow. your character is unable to fight because the other player is faster, stronger, and way too high difficulty for starting player. Plus, there's no save feature that I was able to access. please excuse my spelling, I'm actually rather tired as I write this. It went in to my ds for about three minutes. then into the mail it went, like a flash. My next game is universe at war. Lets hope it is better. All I can say to anyone maybe wanting to play this game: get a different naruto game before this one makes you cry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by markes90 (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

I bought the game before I played it hopeing it would be good. the game was so bad I almost cried. the story was short and you had to play the game like 50 times before you got any of the good charecter. the gameplay was boring all you did was run up and smack your opponet. and the worst part was when you fight someone the super move would be 2x as strong as your. my end verdict even if the game was given away for free you should not play it. you can do better than this. jigsaw puzzles are more fun.

markes out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow

posted by Bangirasu (VALLEJO, CA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

first thing i looked for when i turned the game on was a tutorial, there was none. it took sometime to figure out how to do everything by pressing random buttons. If there was someway on how to play i would of kept the game for a day maybe, but i played for an hour....got fed up doing the same thing over and over, so i put it back in case and put in the mail box. one of the worst games ive played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Utterly disappointed...

posted by bryan108 (BOULDER CREEK, CA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I would have given this a 1 but since Naruto is awesome I gave it 2.

I got this game today, and from the first second I started playing it I could tell it was cheap and horrible.

The audio is absolutely TERRIBLE!!! The wost Ive ever heard. And the music is HORENDOUS!!! I have to turn the volume down cuz the music is so bad and just annoying.

Fighting is boring and too simple. I got bored the first minute of playing!!!

Basically this game is just a disgrace to naruto and a disappointment to naruto fans. I'm warning you do not rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

THis Game Rocks!!!!

posted by maniuzamak (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

It was a good game except that it was hard to get GAARA OF THE FUNK! I liked how you could pick between jutsus like Rasengan or Uzumaki barrage. I wish that you could switch between Sasuke's jutsus, like Lion's Barrage or Chidori. You couldn't get Sasuke's original suit either...you could only get the second color. But I still say THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst ds game ever!

posted by Arashi (WILMINGTON, NC) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

do not rent this game, its absolutely horrible, graphic wise, story and gameplay. Im a huge fan of naruto, but this game makes gameboy advance look better. if your a naruto fan, stop hesitating this game isnt worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »