Rent Nancy Drew: The White Wolf of Icicle Creek for Wii
view large frontback

Nancy Drew: The White Wolf of Icicle Creek

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.9

196 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Wasn't what I was expecting, but...

posted by Alicia243 (COLUMBIA, MO) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a decent game to play. I was expecting more than cooking, fishing, and stuff like that. The snow ball fights are a lot of fun. The ice floe part was hard at first, but after failing about four or five times, you can do it. At least I did. The racing with the snow-mobile was hard. I kept hitting it a lot. I crashed more than I usually do on the PC game.
Besides the action you get with the Wiimote, it felt more like the computer game than Wii gaming. There should've been more Wiimote action.
The graphics were really good. Just like the PC graphics. That's just it. A lot of the game is just like the PC version. Except all that action you get to do with the Wii remote.
I expected a lot more from Her Interactive, but I'm pretty sure this is just a test run for all of us to see how we react to the game. I think this might be the last Wii game from them, but I pray for more because I love Nancy Drew. Any chance that they'll make more, or at least more new, is the chance I get to play it. (Besides, I'm a member on their website.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Literally as fun as house cleaning.

posted by JolyStNick (AUBREY, TX) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First off their is no fluid movement in the game. There is no environment but rather you navigate through still images of what is front, back, left, & right of your position. It's almost like playing a game with so much lag you get 1 frame per 3 seconds except you can tell it was designed that way.

As for the mini games, it's like the developer was just trying to give me something to do with no consideration as to whether it was fun or not. To give you an idea the first level will have you literally walking around the hotel cleaning rooms and picking up dirty towels.

I didn't make it far in the game because it produced an exponential amount of suction that was becoming stronger as I played. I was afraid that its small-blackhole like vortex would eventually become strong enough to suck a stray object in the room at damaging speeds toward my 48" Plasma TV. So I had to turn it off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow. Awful.

posted by WCrawford (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'd heard good things about this game in particular, and about the Nancy Drew series in general, so I figured I'd give this one a try.

First off, the intro is forever long (and horrid quality), and if you accidentally hit a button (including the B button on the bottom) it will skip it immediately, with no recourse.

Controls are horrid. The cursor looks like some kind of key or tag or something and looks like you should be using it, but no... that's just its shape. The game guides you from goal to goal automatically and doesn't give you very much choice.

There are stupid little mini games and things that just tick you off instead of entertaining you.

Being an avid fan of adventure games, I can't say enough bad about this abomination. The only reason I didn't give it a 1 was that it didn't set my Wii on fire or anything when I tried to eject it... And you have to leave room for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Gaming like it's 1992

posted by mrbarky (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

OK, I'm not much of a mystery gamer, but cam they dump these static movement game mechanics once and for all? I don't expect grass blowing in the wind given their budget but this looks so stale and lifeless for this day and age.

And then there are...the chores. Nancy has to be both maid and cook. So, you'll be stuck making beds, grabbing used towels and cooking. Oh, and you get to shovel snow too. All while solving a mystery. Why the game designers would want to add soiled towel retrieval duty to your game experience is the true mystery.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ZZzzz

posted by NIMCOR3 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was realy boring nothing that grabbed your attention to keep on playing there was to much reading and not enough gameplay. its one of the worst games i played its not even worth renting its just a wast of time it very boring storyline 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yawn!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jun 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i didn't really enjoy this game at all it's boring i give nancy drew 1 white wolf out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For those who have played the pc games

posted by Jonocross (AMELIA, OH) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very similar to the PC nancy drew games. The Wii adds a little wiimote extra to the game but otherwise it's your typical nancy drew game. If you like those games, rent this one because as you know, after you beat it the replay ability is pretty low.

My rating and review are based on this game as apposed to other nancy drew games not other wii games in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The only Mystyery is why I rented this game

posted by shawncdh (OREGON, WI) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I wanted to solve a mystery not cook and clean for guests of a hotel. Too much busy work and not enough fun make this a poor game. The set up was good but the gameplay was just boring. Why can't anybody make a good mystery game. The Agatha Chrisie games are better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is There a Worse Way to Waste Time.

posted by 6to10c (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love slow puzzle games, but this is awful. Every tiny step you take in a room requires the game to load forever. This game takes so long to simply cross the room that it is simply not worth playing. I can't even multitask while playing it because it goes too slowly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Love it AND Hate it!

posted by HockeyStud (IRVINE, CA) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

Okay, so a 50/50 rating was the best I could do with this game. There were so many things I liked about this game, but there were also an equal amount of things I didn't like.
The "Pros": Decent graphics, intuitive gameplay and a fun storyline. The "Cons": Too much game stopage and loading, spoken character scenes were long and drawn-out and there was no smooth scrolling or scanning of an area.
One other note of dislike: Even though the game is obviously called "Nancy Drew", it would have been nice to be able to play the game from a guy's perspective. What I mean is, it was hard to play this game and not shake the idea that all the characters were interacting with a girl and I almost felt that I had to think the way a girl might think in order to really immerse myself in the story. It's not the same as controlling Samus Aran in the Metroid series.
Having said all that, this is still a fun game. And I'm sure that my little gripes could be easily overcome. This is why I felt it only fair to rate this game right in the middle. But try it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »