Rent Namco Museum: Virtual Arcade for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Namco Museum: Virtual Arcade

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

486 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Old School Classic

posted by skuuly72 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

With today's video game technology its great to go back and play some classics from days gone bye. updated versions of the classics are included but i find the originals are the best. with 30 or so of namcos greatest hits in your system you cant go wrong. this is one to buy and break out once in a while for great fun. and for us "older" players to introduce to our children. rating :7 skully72

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yes! Classic games for all

posted by parakeet (PORT RICHEY, FL) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I looked at the cover of this game, I knew it was going to be good-- it was jam-packed with incredible old school favorites. I'd been waiting for years for someone to finally make it possible for home console fans to play the arcade legend, Galaga 88. And now we can!

The dimension-warping, three-ship-joining, best game in the Galaga series is now here for all to enjoy. There are also many other juggernauts from the arcade days, including special editions in the Pac Man series. Some of these were rare even back then. There is also something called "Arrangement," and I don't know what that means-- but who cares, this catalog of games is so good that the rest of the list more than makes up for it.

If you have a party coming up, this one will provide lots of choices for you and your friends. If you want to set some records, you don't have to come up with a roll of quarters like we used to do -- this bundle of games is ready to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Classics for Achievers

posted by Moginabox (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Not a very addicting arcade, but it's a decent rental for achievements.
Some games can be addicting such as Pac-Man, Rally-X, Mappy, Ms. Pac-Man, and Galaga.
The newer version of Galaga is quite confusing at first (it's like an entirely new game), but it's highly addicting.

Overall this game gets a 7/10
Balanced addiction factor
Enough games for 1 person
Achievements to accomplish are really EASY
Namco always leaves out ToyPop :(

If this Arcade had ToyPop then I would of given it a 9/10 ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent Blast From the Past

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jul 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It was fun to revisit some of the old arcade classics from the 80's. Unfortunately, the 360 controller isn't up to the task of controlling these simple games and I found Xevious and the Pac-Man series of games to be quite frustrating. Having the ability to work two buttons at once and have precision steering of your pac man was just missing and it took away from the games appeal. Nice to see some of the other oldies like Pole Position and Rolling Thunder included as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by BadGame5s (AUGUSTA, GA) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 47 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

Bad graphics (old game, duh, but horrible even for old game) the screen is tiny and only playable area is the middle third of your screen.

THe games on the front of the box (pac man, dig dug etc) are only playable as weak unplayable versions (think japanese import) not the thing you see in a actual real life acarde.

If you want something that you'd find in a acarde this is not it.

First and only review written because this is so horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Namco Virtual Arcade single player

posted by PrettyCrzy (CANTON, OH) Feb 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is only 1 player. This takes away most of the fun of playing with friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NAMCO MUSEUM: VIRTUAL ARCADE

posted by KAMDENDEVO (PETERSBURG, VA) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

THIS GAME WAS NOT A GOOD GAME TO GIVE OUT. IT ONLY PLAYED TWO OUT OF ALL THE GAMES ON IT. I WAS VERY UNHAPPY WITH THIS SELECTION THE GAME IS VERY DAMAGED WHERE IT DOSNT PLAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Nice for the Oldies

posted by Gameisname (FAIRBANKS, AK) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Namco's greatest classics, from Dig Dug to Pacman, have always been with the older generation, and always will be. They remember it all, the Atari 2600 ports, like Pac-man (though I remember the game sucking for the Atari 2600,) the arcades, and the millions of quarters lost to hyper mode on Ms. Pacman. This game brings it all to your home. No more quarters at stake. Play all of your childhood arcade games! Now, to the newer genration, this game might at first seem like a game for geezers, but it has its moments and you are able to share much family time playing one of the many games smushed into this one disc. I suggest this game for all those who love the arcade and those who are always searching for a way back to their youth (Cmon, we all know you try everything.) All around classic title. Just wish that it would get some better hype. This game will sure to dazzle you with multiplayer games! Play against your friend in Finland! Anyways, all I'm trying to say is that this game is a must for the ones trying to relive it all. I rate this a 9 outta 10, and thats saying a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So very disappointed!!

posted by Broon43 (NAPLES, FL) Aug 8, 2009

Member since May 2009

O.k., many of us grew up loving these games, and most of them are still great and fun to play. The collection of so many arcade hits itself on one disc is thrilling, but there are some very very bad titles included on this disc, too. This is NOT why I'm giving this game a 3, though.

This is the first XBOX 360 game I've ever encountered that:
1) does not have one single achievement to gain on it

and

2) does not even register on your games played library.

For that, I am giving this disc a very low score, mostly for the lack of Gamerscore. I just found this very disturbing, but I'm a person that plays the games and likes something to show for my time spent on them.

But, if you're looking for a great collection of old arcade hits, including some new variations (thinking of Dig Dug Arrangement which was very cool), then check it out. But, if you're expecting some Gamerscore to go with it, stay away from this selection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A complete waste

posted by Remy87 (NORTH LAUDERDALE, FL) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I was very disappointed with the lack of content and the games themselves,not worth owning, renting, or playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »