Rent Namco Museum Remix for Wii
view large frontback

Namco Museum Remix

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

468 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a rental

posted by dr0ker (BEREA, OH) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty cool for a rental, but it won't take you more than a few hours of play to get bored. Don't expect much and you will be pleasantly surprised at how unique some of the remixed games. It just gets pretty boring fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Remix but not completely.

posted by raynes (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Being a huge fan of retro games, when I read about this game long ago I knew I at least wanted to try it. So when it appeared on gamefly I decided to rent it. I'm haven't been disappointed but I haven't been thrilled either.

The first thing that should be understood is that even though the cover says 14 games in all, that does not mean 14 remixed games. I means 5 remixed games and 9 old emulated arcade "classics".

First the remix versions.
Galaga: You are basically protecting pacman while he rolls through a 3d luge course. I found it to be pretty fun and it seemed to keep what Galaga is all about, shooting bugs.

Rally-X: Go Karts trying to capture flags. I seemed boring in single player, multiplayer was more fun. I haven't really played the original the friend I was playing with said it was just like it.

Pac n Roll: Seemed just like Monkey Ball.

Pac-Motos: You have to know red balls off a flat board without being knocked off yourself. More fun in multiplayer.

Gator Panic: Like whack a mole.

Now on to the emulated games:
Galaxian, Dig Dug, Mappy, Xevious, Super Pac-Man, Pac & Pal, Pac-Mania
These are all pretty much ones that have been released in tons of other systems. The emulation seems to be spot on.

That leaves Gaplus,and Cutey Q. Gaplus as far as I can tell is a Galaxian clone. Cutey Q seems to be a breakout type of game. IMHO both games really should have been left out.

So is the game really worth it to rent (or buy)? I think it's worth to rent. I don't think it's worth buying at $40. At 19.99 it probably would be.

Good:
Galaga Remix is fun.
Remixes are fun in multiplayer.

Bad:
Motion controls aren't really used.
Not all games remixed.
Emulated games are the same games we have gotten tons of other times.
Feels like a budget title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad, But Not Wonderful

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was having lots of fun with the new Remix games that are in this title. I can see this game being fun for about a couple weeks or so. I sent it back after 2 days because I became bored. It was cool to play some old classics, though. I just couldn't find the original PAC MAN game....and why did this have to be all about PAC MAN anyway?

Overall, I wouldn't recommend buying this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not great

posted by scrat66 (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this game looking for some "old school" style Pac Man stuff. Didn't live up to my lowest expectations. My kids and wife wouldn't even play it. Unsuccessful attempt to upgrade a classic. Good graphics, but boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A disgrace

posted by tropical (MC ARTHUR, OH) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a total disgrace to pac man. I would NOT recommend this game to anyone. I was looking for the original pac man, but it did not have it, so okay, how about some other good games........Wrong!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Namco never lets go of the past.

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) May 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I dont care if they have the original pac-man, I can just play it on the Wii anyway for Vertual Constals on Wii shop

I can garentie that this is more of a party game then a 1 player game. it is way more funner that way. I mean sure they got the other one player games like that pac man world thing, but that is when you are alone and "waiting" for company. This game is epic cause it has the classic arcade games that were before the remix came alone. Like 'Rally X' turns into 'Rally X remix' it's got the same rules so it probibly won't make sense if their are 2 of the same game. The onley difference is that when you complete the intire levles of the game, you can play as "Red Mode" which you have to catch Pac Man but cant use the smoke attack. See how that feels when Pac Man escapes now. 'Galiga' turns into 'Galiga Remix' I had a lot of fun with my freinds shooting those bugs and insect trying to get pac man and stuff. 'Gator panic' is really a lot more like wack a mole BUT WITH 4 PLAYERS! you will never know who got the most gators just like who got the most insects kills in 'Galiga Remix.' Now for another cool game, 'Pac Moto' it is more like a mix of fighting and strategy mostley you have to nock the most items out of the stage or nock your freinds out of the stage just for the fun of it.

So anyway that is my review Great games are for the Partys just like Tekken X-D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good But Left Me Feeling Empty! Should Be $29.99

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 29, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this one; however only a few games were re-done and they were pretty good. The rest were like a regular game (and if you want to exit) you will have to go to the main Wii menu. The graphics are nice and the layout is good; the music could be more. I would say rent it but just like EA Playground wait until it is a lite month because November is going to be a HUGE month for releases!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Good

posted by Goosey (OCEANSIDE, CA) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 36 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

DO NOT RENT THIS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disapointing

posted by Pearl51 (CHESTER, PA) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

If you are are a fan of the classic pac-man game this game is not for you. This game does not contain the original version of pac-man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DOES INCLUDE THE ORIGINAL GALAGA !!!

posted by ryandanzig (ROUND ROCK, TX) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

i got this to play the old Galaga from 1981 but it's not on the disc. it instead has some ultra lame Galaga/Pacman mutation. DO NOT RENT THIS DISC IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR THE OLD SCHOOL GALAGA !!!!!!!!
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Where is PAC MAN

posted by Cowlich (TEMECULA, CA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

OK i understand hat we have some WII upgrades, but where the heck is the original PAC-man?

I hate to say it, but I have yet to se a WII GAME worth playing! Thank goodness for renting! SAD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »