Rent NPPL Championship Paintball 2009 for Wii
view large frontback

NPPL Championship Paintball 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.7

661 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Please Read about this great game

posted by cpospo (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

33 out of 35 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game is THE only paintball video game worth playing, also it is very much worth renting or buying because it is like a real game of paintball. I used to play paintball all the time with my friends however our local field closed and we all have been busy on the weekends. I saw this game and noticed it was made by activision and by paintball pros, and fans. The game has a realistic feel with the zapper( which I HIGHLY recommend), and everything about the game is as close to the real thing other than going out to your local field and playing. The career is interesting and unlocks many diverse REAL pieces of equipment! Overall the game play is smooth, real and exciting, you feel as if your outside running, popping and diving. Don't let the controls let you down at first it takes some time to get used to, I recommend the training drills, they really help. This game has everything a real paintball game has, so I practice drills and strategies so when I go on the field around once a month I can show off. This game is great and by now you've fallen asleep or stopped reading, but I thank you for reading and hope you enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A game that can be taken that extra mile.

posted by SirKilalot (NEW ALBANY, IN) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is definitely a game I enjoyed. Maybe thats because I like to play paintball. Now, no game-no matter how realistic-will EVER replace the real thing, but NPPLCP-09 is a good attempt.
For the Wii, it definitely mimics the real thing very well, with tilting the remote to the side to look around bunkers, snap shooting, sliding, crawling, diving, all aspects of the real thing are there. As good as this game is I think it can be taken that extra mile. It really needs to have detailed custom character creator, like some of the old Tony Hawk games. That way you can put yourself right in the game, without being limited to selecting a handful of faces, skills, team colors, etc. Its also a little too hard to earn skill points and I think the field creator could be simplified a little, not thats its VERY versatile as is.
I know its NPPL but I really wanted to see a woods field. There are plenty of fields that would love to be featured in a video game, such as Oklahoma D-Day, The Fun Farm, Conders, Open Range, Asylum, and MANY others all over the country. After all, paintball was born in the woods. Maybe if this game gains enough popularity other leagues like XPSL will join in and the game could simply be called "Championship Paintball 2010." (hint-hint game makers) The game of paintball is riddled with competition of coarse, but paintball is meant to be just as entertaining as it is competitive. So lets see some woodsball, huh?
I give this game an 8/10. If you don't have an indoor field near you, you may want to buy this game for the cold winter months, or Wednesday night anytime of the year! This verson of NPPLCP may not become your personal favorite shooter, but its definately worth your time, even if you play alot in real life!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

frustrated

posted by Creecher09 (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to a nice shooting game but this one isn't it. I only lasted a few seconds in the training stages and I got frustrated cause it was hard to control the gun. It doesn't tell you right away which controls to use either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by himynam (GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hardcore paintball fans that want to bring the sport to their home gaming consoles: this is your game. Activision has done a decent job bringing the feel of real-life paintball to home consoles with NPPL Championship Paintball 2009. But, is it enough to captivate the casual paintball fan or the gamer looking to lose him or her self in an immersive first-person shooter?

NPPL Championship Paintball 2009 is easy to dive right into, all you'll need to do is select a character from a list of real-life professional paintballers, each with his own base attribute package, choose your team and dive right in. You'll want to jump into Career Mode, where you'll begin your career as a lowly Division 2 competitor with standard equipment, but after winning a few tournaments you'll have plenty of points to spend on upgrading your gear and attributes.

Playing through Career Mode is certainly fun, but it gets repetitive real fast. Although the game is packed with authentic paintball tournaments, each played on their own unique field, it doesn't do much to alleviate the feeling that you're executing the same operation over and over again. Yes, gamers can customize their "breakout" strategies before each game, but it doesn't feel at all necessary and doesn't seem to have a significant impact on team success. Once I figured out that my AI opponents had almost no chance of hitting me while sprinting and strafing I was able to dash up the sides of each field and infiltrate their ranks with ease, picking opponents off at close range as they were occupied dealing with my bunker-hugging teammates.
And, although the credits you earn with each tournament win in Career Mode can be spent on fresh, powered-up gear, your gear doesn't seem to have an impact on the in-game experience. I played through several tournaments and spent my earned credits on the best markers, hoppers and barrels available to me, but didn't' notice any appreciable difference on the field.

.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really good game

posted by ALVYROCKS (COSHOCTON, OH) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know why its rated 4.9 because if your really into paintballing like me your love and i learned a lot from it so when my team goes to tournaments i'll no what to tell them and what to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not A Rent

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is not fun to play. It's really hard to get in the game if you're a beginner, but I play paintball and even I have trouble playing. The modes are all really bad and this is only fun for about 5 minutes... DO NOT RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Effort

posted by JBiz227 (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played paintball for close to 10 years now, most of them competitive. The controls are the closest you're going to get to actually playing paintball, but there could be more effort put into the controls and the friendly AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game!!

posted by kodymolly (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i recamed this game!! 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

nppl championship paintball 2009

posted by dolphins54 (BUCKEYE, AZ) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game has the best wii controls of any wii first person shooter. this game is awesome for kids 5-10 years old. it is only 1 player and no online play. very challenging but easy to play. great game 4 kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by pwalsh (BURLINGTON, IA) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I had low expectations for this game but was pleasantly surprised by the great game play. Fast paced and very technical, yet easy to maneuver. Great first-person shooter and very life like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

quick burn-out rate

posted by BDolby13 (COLUMBIA, SC) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Smooth play speed. Graphics good. Overall games over to quickly, and match to match to much the same. NO flavor. Good for a few days but then quick burn out rate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NPPL dosn't live up

posted by arnoldjim (BINGHAMTON, NY) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Ok, I got this game because its paintball, which is awesome. The graphics are great and the layout is good. A very real exp. but the game play is rough, it's hard to see your oppenant. WHich gives them the advantage. If you are shot, it puts you in to another player, who is never in cover which makes it hard to try and find your bearings. Not a bad game, just takes a lot of getting used to. A very cool exp. to anyone who wants to know what it is like to play paintball with 500+ balls flying at you. Since it is the first person perspective.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NPPL Championship Wii Review

posted by ltmario (WINCHESTER, VA) May 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is really a fun game, especially for the Wii. The controls although are hard to get used to, but then you get used to them after a while, it really feels like your playing a game of paintball. Some of the cool controls are the trigger buttons, for there are 2 instead of one, being the z and c buttons, so it makes you feel like you're walking the trigger. This game has a lot of real life things, such as the gun and gun equipment (such as the hoppers and air tanks) and the fields that you play at. This game is very fast pace, just like a real paintball match. Each length of the game averages 1 minuet. Before each match, you can decide a break out plan, which means you can tell your guys were to go. The graphics are pretty good, considering they're on the Wii. There are some downsides to the game. Your teammates are either good or terrible, such as you'll be 4 seconds in to the game and your team has either been eliminated or has eliminated all of the opposing players. It can be really unpredictable. The enemy AI is stupid, or to smart, such as you'll pop up and your out a split second later. Or they'll be taking your flag with you right there and start running to the other base, which would be a easy out. Overall, I give this game a 7.5, worth getting if your into the game of paintball, but if you ask me, just go out and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Big Disappiontment

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Dec 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game was ok but a big disappiontment to what i was expecting. Its a decent game for a rental but i would never consider buying it even if it was alomost free. The graphics were good and the gameplay was easy to master, i just didn't like the speed of the game. I mean if you blink the game is over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nice game

posted by donkyass (NEWARK, CA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this ROCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is horrible

posted by megreece (GAINESVILLE, TX) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you take 3 shots and then you have to reload that takes for ever and then theres shots being taken everywhere and you cant even see where there coming from. this is horrible. dont even think about renting or buying. it will waiste your time and money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

nppl paintball 2009

posted by brainde (BOERNE, TX) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it is a really good game kinda complekaded but really good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not a bullseye

posted by EDAWGYO (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

When i first got this game, i was hoping that it would be a big feild and shoot and last for 2 min. but i was wrong. if you get shot one time, your out. but the game play is prity cool; you can make your game plan like football, chose your team, and buy better equipment. i give this game a 7 for a little bit of boaring disappointment. but you mite like it, you might not. it all depends on you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not waste your time

posted by vicman87 (EVANS, GA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game only lasted 30 secs every time I played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Nov 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game was horriable and I never say that about a game it just is all wrong.
If you say you like this game I have no clue why.
Th camera is everywhere it just is horrible would I recommend it NO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid game.

posted by attitude (COVINGTON, LA) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

WARNING! do not rent this game it was sooo stupid. i tryed giving it a chance but it was just plain dumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bummer...

posted by wiiwiiwii1 (OROVILLE, CA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

broken controls, HORRIBLE graphics,= SUCKS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NPPL 09

posted by jm20810 (FOLSOM, PA) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING

posted by raddy5 (AMARILLO, TX) May 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo boring. The only thing thats good about it is that its paintball, which i love, but it still was boring. and it even let u cheat by just wiping off the paint that hit u. still BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NPPL Paintball Championship

posted by tlw2827 (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The game specializes in accuracy, speed, and functionality. However, once completing the practice stimulation, it was rather difficult to even move to the next level. Visual impairness within the game was my problem. Others that don't mind repeating the same level over and over, may find it stimulating. It really needs and instruction manual with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse