Rent NPPL Championship Paintball 2009 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NPPL Championship Paintball 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
4.9

3426 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Keep an open mind

posted by Notaro (OCEAN CITY, NJ) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

104 out of 115 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Looking through the reviews for this game, one thing seems very clear. Almost no one is keeping in mind the fact that this isn't Ubisoft's next big FPS release, this is the paintball equivalent of NBA2k9 or a new Madden. It's not a groundbreaking FPS, it's continuation of a sports series. Just like any other sports game, if you aren't in to the sport, you probably won't get much out of the game. None the less, it doesn't do a bad job at all in the FPS category if you're ready to apply the rules of paintball to your normal sprint and mash the trigger routine that so many people enjoy. Graphics aren't so hot and there're no groundbreaking improvements, but what could they really add? As for the people complaining about the AI, try playing online. It's a paintball game, how much could the singleplayer offer anyway?

-If you like paintball, go for it.
-If you have any interest in the sport, check it out, it might be some insight.
-If you just want to try a shooter that's a little different, it's not a bad rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dull and tiring

posted by schmoovey (LEHI, UT) Jun 6, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought I would give this game a try, since it seemed a bit different than the typical sports game, but unfortunately I lost interest in this game the moment I popped it in. The title screen has an annoying screamer band playing in the background while you watch low rate live action video playing behind the title screen menus. This might be great and pump you up the first 30 seconds, but to listen to a guy scream and scream endlessly gives me a headache.
At first, I tried a shot at the campaign, but there were no on-screen hints to show me what the controls did, so I then decided to do the training...or should I say endless load screens.
During the training sequences the trainer's voice sounded unenthusiastic and the training was repetitive and boring. Although the training did teach you the moves, few of them were practical and easy to figure out based on the on screen hints. Did I mention how endless the load screens were? Between each training stage was another load screen that seemed to take forever. So basically, you'll spend more time in the load screens than you will in the training.
The single player campaign takes way too much time between load screens as well. The single player (campgaign mode) was challenging, but it gives you very few options as where or what you want to play. You can only start with a 3 v 3 map in one tournament until you unlock the 5 v 5 maps and other tournaments, etc. You can choose different characters and different teams to play with, then alter their stats a little, but that's minimal at best. The graphics are poor for a 2009 game on the Xbox 360 throughout the game.
I gave this game a shot, played the game for about an hour or so, but go so bored with it that I put it back in the mail the next day. Paint ball is a lot more fun IRL and there are no load screens to deal with.
BTW if you're an achievement junky, don't bother. There's only 13 of them and most of them were for multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been more.

posted by Xanide (LIBERTY, TX) Jun 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you played greg hastings max a couple years ago then you might as well wait till the new greg hastings is out. This game is only worth a rent. Not all of this game is bad though. Let me break it down for you.

Pros:
Good graphics
Realistic paintball physics
Plenty of single player tournaments
Double trigger shooting is a neat idea

Cons:
Clunky Controls
Snapping is aweful
AI is stupid
Needs more gear
No one plays online anymore
Menu music sucks
The characters repeat the same stupid things over and over

Lets start with the pros. The graphics are pretty good. Their not the best but their better than alot of other games out there. I love the blur effect they put on the paintballs. Its really awesome when you break (start) and you just see tons of paintballs flying at you like arrows off of 300. The physics are really good to. When you shoot a bunker it actually caves in to the paintball like inflatable bunkers do. There is plenty of single player to keep you occupied for hours. This game has a feature of double triggers which you press RB and RT to shoot faster. Ok, Now for the cons. The controls are very clunky. If you are running near a bunker you can press "A" to slide into it or if your near none then you will dive. When you try to dive into a snake it will slide, in which you will not have time to prone so you get shot. So dont slide. It also takes about 3 seconds to go prone. That gives you 3 seconds to get shot. Not cool. The AI is very stupid. You tell them to go to a certan bunker and the eventually end up in the one your in. They dont even try to relocate themselves, they just stay there. No one plays online anymore which is the whole reason i got the game. After you beat all the tournaments there really is nothing to do. The characters are awlays shouting "YEAH" or "AWESOME"... it would be "AWESOME" if they would just shut up. This game could have been more. So for everyone who plays games or/and paintballs, I reccommend a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NPPL 09

posted by WebbD30 (VALLEJO, CA) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

34 out of 50 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

This game by far is the best paintball game by far i am a paintball player of 4 years and i feel they did in excellent job with the features the only bad things i saw wrong with the game were

1.lack of equipment(guns hoppers ect)
2.lack of Tornys /woods ball could have been alot more in dept and longer.
3. a big on i saw is the hitting a target i mean i would shot a another player and it would take me a good 50 60 shots to get him out.

other then those the game is great and fun to play i would give this game a 6.8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game!!

posted by BIGRON213 (COMPTON, CA) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Best paintball game out there. Awesome marker selection. Realistic controller action. Awesome graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its a paintball game! What more can you expect?

posted by fsklax31 (WESTMINSTER, MD) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you like paintball you might want to rent this game. It is def not a buy. The game was as good as it is going to get for a paintball game so i have no real pros about the game. The cons i have are what made this game uninteresting.

1. Depending on the tournament field you played on it was hard to see the opponents. Def needs to be changed so you can see the opponent.

2. The biggest con was that every tournament had its 5-8 qualifying matches before you could play in the real tournament which was only 2-3 games long, but every time you played the qualifying matches it loaded back to the "team" screen. When you selected your next game i then loaded in to the next game. Was very time consuming. They should have just kept going through the games. Could of been like "oh you won, congrats! Next" instead of LOAD!

The game was beatable in a few hours, but it took longer with all the loading screens!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just average

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Dec 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

18 out of 32 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I remember a few years ago, when a paintball game came out for the original xbox. And i thought that game was pretty cool. But asfar as this game it is practically the same general game. It has a few more things like online mode, but the online mode isnt really that good. The campaign mode is pretty boring and is pretty much the same every single time. There is like capture the flag and stuff like that but its pretty much the same. Also i really wanted a third person paintball game, but its first person and i think it would be much easier in third person. Also the maps are all really small and compact maps which isnt as fun as if there was more space to run around. One last thing is the graphics were ok, but prouble shouldve been better. So if you like paintball go ahead and rent it but if you dont you wont like this game and there really isnt much fun in this game. It couldve been much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NPPL Paintball 2009

posted by xFingersx (ERIE, PA) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

11 out of 22 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you liked Max Hastings paintball a few years back than your going to get the same feeling out of NPPL. It's pretty much just a MHPB remake with slightly better graphics and new gear. An all around good time very easy learning curve for beginners!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Very Bad Controls.

posted by SPirate (WILMINGTON, CA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was boring to say the least. The whole campaign is spent doing tournaments in arenas that look EXACTLY the same and most levels can be beaten in 1 min or so after you've leveled up your character all the way. I also understand that it may not be fair for me to say this is boring because I don't really know much about professional paintball, but even if I enjoyed the gameplay the controls would have done this game in. There are so many bad control choices I don't know where to begin. For instance, if you want to dive to cover you must sprint with left bumper and press A but other times when you want to slide to cover you might just be going alittle to fast towards a bunker (Without holding LB) you dive anyway leaving you out in the open flat on the ground for anyone to shoot. The only saving grace for this game is the achievements are easy to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Honestly... Waste of time

posted by zachtothej (DENVER, CO) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game I thought would be fun just as a light hearted game, I didnt expect muxh from it but all it is is repetition, you play mtch after match of the same thing, go capture the enemy flag. The only thing that changes is how many people are on your team. Also when trying to shoot at someone and the game Lags so much that you jump around and die, well that get annoying. I played through bthe whole game sadly which takes like 3 or 4 hours just for some achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not very good...

posted by Wkdspartan (Erhard, MN) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are not big into paintball, then i do not recommend this as a rent/buy... the mechanics of this game were far from correct...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is the worst game I have ever played!

posted by Schnuggles (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I don't think they could make this game any worse. That is an exaggeration but not by much. Every single map in this game looks almost the exact same. They tell you that you unlock new items and you check them and they are worse than the one you are currently using. The graphics are just terrible. I could barely stand to play this game. The loading screens last longer than the games. The loading times are about 30 seconds and my average time for beating a match on PRO difficulty is 20 seconds. The enemy AI is really bad but somehow they always position themselves on the opposite side of a bunker from you and they don't even look at you. While I am writing this I have the game running and i had to turn off the sound because the music is awful. They don't even list artists or anything. Paint balls can go through the bunkers on the edges so bunkers are sometimes useless. There are only about 3 dialogues for each action. 3 for shooting someone, 3 for winning, 3 for the start of the game and 3 more for the end of a game whether you win or lose. Also the campaign is the same thing over and over. Extremely similar maps again and again and you have to play about 100 matches to even finish it. I have actually fallen asleep playing this game. Twice. The game sets up tournaments that are the same map 8 times. This is the worst game I have ever played for any of the systems I own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun

posted by dolfan1323 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is fun but really repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nppl 09 review by XsjadoCirc

posted by XsjadoCirc (MIAMI, FL) May 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

first things first this game has amazing graphics with all the gear and bunkers, the character face not so much, but it not a problem becuase they were mask. also i paintball and it pretty close to the real thing, also id pay 45 dollars for a game that i can play anytime i want other than 45 dollars for a box of paint. recommened greatly by me. if u get this game ill see you on xbox live my gamertag is DEATHS SHADOW13

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

5 mins back in the mailbox

posted by devan23 (UDALL, KS) Jun 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

i was excited when i first got this game. i like the paintballing game for the regular xbox but this game was terrible. dont even waste you time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by SuperCheez (KISSIMMEE, FL) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I've never had such a hard time with a FPS. You can't see far enough, team AI is terrible while enemy is top notch. I hated this game even though I was excited about a new Paintball game. Don't rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by vincatall (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

you have got to be kidding
a simulation of a simulation
this game is horrible
complete waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NPPL Paintball 2009

posted by toxicfire (DALLAS, GA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

You have too be a big fan of paintball to like this game. There are only 13 achievements in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont Get it

posted by clown479 (MUSCATINE, IA) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The graphics are horrible, all you do is keep hitting the right trigger the hole game. I played it for 15 minutes and sent it back! I love pantball,but this is not what I was looking for!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I didn't like this game...

posted by RobertMF (TOMBALL, TX) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

As a paintballer myself I think i was expecting too much of this game. It was delayed on the 360 twice so it had better be a really good game. I loved the GHTP games and this game is not great. The gameplay is very repetitive always the same things all the way through. The way to walk the trigger is stupid too. And barrel breaks are unrealistic, in a real game of paintball a barrel break pretty much destroys your accuracy for a few shots depending on your barrel. The guns all shoot the same in the game and they all sound the same. The music gets really old really quick.. the graphics on this game were actually very good. But the AI's are about as smart as a box of rocks.. All in all it's a bad game. Worth a rent but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OK its great

posted by Ltcrakhead (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game is good, of course ya shouldnt be especting much because this game is not like madden 09 or mlb 2k9 or even nba 2k9, a paintball game rarely comes out, and when it does i garantee you, it wont be to everyones expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

2-3 Days =(

posted by mazzantil (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

when i first played this game i got off because i thought it sucked then 30 min later i think "w8...no it doesn't"
then after 30 more minutes i realized "w8...this really does suck!!!"
i recomend "do not...NOT!!! buy this game... i kept 1 and a half days and sent bak just for achievement...DO NOT RENT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Paintball 09'

posted by Tyler66666 (CONWAY, SC) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was very surprised on how good of quality the disk was in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty fun!

posted by conkerer (BURKBURNETT, TX) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Id say the did about the best possible job they could in making this pretty realistic. I have played paintball, and used to own my own paintball store.. This a very fun game. Does not take tooo long to finsh the game but hours of fun.. The online play was not up to par, but I think its xbox lives fault!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trash

posted by jblanco (NEWBURGH, NY) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

this game is trash you will have a better time shooting yourself in the foot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse