Rent NPPL Championship Paintball 2009 for PS3
view large frontback

NPPL Championship Paintball 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
4.3

1154 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

NPPL Championship Paintball 2009

posted by Memphis (HALEYVILLE, AL) May 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

22 out of 22 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As an avid paintball player and gamer I can see both points of view. This game is as close to playing paintball as you can without playing the real thing. The problems come from the video game side of this. The game is a great game but because of very frequent load times, sub-par graphics, and repetitive game play the game gets boring quick. This game becomes repetitive from the lack of adrenaline the real sport brings. Another issue I had, that will not apply to gamers who do not play the sport, is that some of the equipment states were very badly set. Most of the markers did not get the rate of fire that the real marker has. Again overall it is a fun game but there were some details that make this game boring after a couple of days. The AI teammates were smarter than most AI in games and that helps a lot in 7vs7 matches, and the ability to create your own arenas really added to the game. This game is worth checking out if you are interested in the sport and it will help learn the regulations behind the game along with various equipment. Otherwise this game is not going to be enjoyable to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its great

posted by JustinL (SPRING, TX) Aug 23, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This a great game if you like paintball I suggest that you rent it well worth the time it's very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NPPL 2009

posted by Critic121 (WALLA WALLA, WA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a fantanstic, first person shooting game that in an intense scenario filled conquest to be the best paintballer in the world. I was skeptical at best that the game would be worth playing, but once I picked it up, I could not put it down! I recomened this game to go on the list of you gamers that have a game with a long wait on it. It will make the time fly by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ALRIGHT!

posted by tony636 (HOLMES, PA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I thought the game was alright but it was just to easy. I played the whole career, and it didn't really get any harder. If you like paintball try it out, but I wouldn't recommend on buying it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a bit disappointing

posted by tony13 (BOTHELL, WA) Jan 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i found that this was not much if any improvement to Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball. GHTP was a great game butI was expecting a bigeer improvement over the years. I think that the online play would have really elevated the experience, but unfortuanately there was never more than 5 people in a 7 on 7 room. Also, I didn't see any actual star players, a step backwards if you ask me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just.... Not fun.

posted by invincible (MONROVIA, IN) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got this game and sent it back 2 days later. The graphics are nothing to talk about, frequent loading, unrealistic fire rates (and more), and no one to play online with are only some of the game's downsides. The only good thing about this game is the maps. The maps are fun, and have much variety.

Graphics: Average for a ps3. Could have been much better

Sound: The paintball sounds sound real, but the music is annoying.

Playability: The first person is a little shaky, but once you get used to it, it's fine.

Multiplayer: I can't even rate this because there was no one online to play with.

Overall: 3.5

Good: The sounds are realistic, and the maps are good.

Bad: Unrealistic gear, lack of people online on multiplayer, NO OFFLINE CO-OP, shaky first-person, and frequent load times.

So pretty much, don't get this game unless you are a hardcore paintball game fan.

~-StupidZebra-~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever!

posted by emanjax (RALEIGH, NC) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A couple things makes NPPL CHAMPIONSHIP PAINTBALL 2009 bad. Number 1 is the only thing you can do is either enter numerous tournaments, or play a a single match. Number 2 is that the graphics for that game were completly horrible for a game made in 2008. the face look like they've been smeared on a window. Number 3 is that you have no person locater to shoot paintballs at, so if you see a moving figure in the distance, you shoot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wanting More

posted by moviesnob (WHEATON, IL) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found myself wanting more from this title after playing it. The matches seem way too easy and short for a paintball game. Graphics needed a lot of work for a PS3 game, and odd ball moments like disinigrating players after being shot took away from the whole mood. And what's with the voice acting? Don't buy. Rent if your a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad......

posted by Gamer124 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

big let down that's all i have to say. graphics suck and its too easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Holy Cow!

posted by mairondil (LEXINGTON, KY) May 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have never played a game, quit, and packaged up a game quicker than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not goooooooooooodd

posted by ANGEL99PR (KISSIMMEE, FL) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i play the game for 5 minutes and i put it back in the mailbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

You can't see your targets. It's too easy to get hit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rather play the real paintball....

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I feel robbed by such a cheap game. Not only of my money spent on gamefly, but of the time it'll take to send it back and get another. I have a bad left knee and hip, and would rather go out and try to run around playing the real thing instead of this stupid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

oh come on

posted by teamsmithreen (LYNN, MA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

-too hard -bad action - lied to me -bad graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nppl paintball

posted by mantisjr (ELLENWOOD, GA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this game is very neat although your teamates make lame comments i guess thats why its rated E but anyways get the newer paintball games this game is very bad on graphics. the shots are not realistic. the sounds are not realitic so there are so many flaws in this game that i can't name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I can one thing about this game, I hated it.

posted by EvanCD (BERTHOUD, CO) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

I don't know why. I love paintball to heck, and yet this game makes me sick. I hate it. The only redeeming value is being able to customize your guy. That's why I hate this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by FTBear (MOBILE, AL) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I would not recommend this game to anyone. the graphics are horrible, the gameplay is even worse. Each one of the characters you chose from looks identical to the last. If you were to give me this game, I would hate you till the end of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NPPL 2009

posted by JeffOcala (WESTMINSTER, CO) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game would better be suited as an old PS1 title. The graphics are terrible and controls/movement is impossible. Do not rent, you will be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what

posted by justex (BAXTER, KY) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

this game sucks ...don't wast your time on money on one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AN INSULT!!!

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

THIS IS NOT A GAME! THIS IS POO!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Please don't

posted by ThirdI (SPOKANE, WA) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I really wanted this one to be good, I really did. I love paintball and have really been looking forward to a good video game to play during the off season. Why, oh why did Activision have to choose THIS game to be the one they experiment on using a game engine from Autodesk?! Don't get me wrong, Autodesk is great...for drafting, but has no place in the video game market.

Let's find the problems with this one. For starters, there's no aim acceleration. You're either changing your aim at top speed or not at all. Is there any FPS out there that still does this? Then there's the fact that you spend twice (I'm not exaggerating) as much time looking at loading screens as you do playing. And then you have the gear list. Your first set of "new" gear that you can buy is all upgrades, and then a little ways in, you get to buy something the equivalent of a $20 Spyder clone. So much for upgrading.

Ok, let's find some good with this game. One, it's a paintball game. Two, it has no real players in it except for Dynasty doing the tutorials so there's no trademark infringements from that. Three, the graphics are very slightly better on the PS3 than the graphics for Greg Hastings Max'd on the PS2.

Don't bother!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by cdej1972 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

This has to be one of the worst games ever. It's boring and unoriginal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by smoove23 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Wasn't too impressed with the game overall for it first let me down when i couldnt play a 2 player game with someone else so that started off great.

Second, its just not that fun. I didn't expect much but putting in into my ps3 i started getting excited only to be extremely dissapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Are they SERIOUS!!!!!!???????

posted by layedback1 (MIAMISBURG, OH) May 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Why did Sony or the developers let this game go out to PS3? Am I playing Psone or PS3???? Its a disgrace to paintball. Not cool. I tried it for a few rounds then turned it off and mailed it right back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ok...

posted by Linkshrink (CLINTON TWP, MI) May 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

The game was alright. It was too easy and when you got into higher divisions it didn't get any harder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »