Rent NHL 2K9 for PS2
view large frontback

NHL 2K9

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
5.9

69 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

YUK!!!

posted by end120306 (OSSINING, NY) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really excited to try the K-series, this was my first and last. Now I know why I like to stick with NHL. The graphics, the game play, the contols. They said they made hockey fun, I played real hockey and this felt like I was playing Blades of Steel. I can't wait til the NHL version (real hockey) comes out. It's games like these that make me want to save for a PS3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What's new is not necessarily Better

posted by Connradd (RIVERSIDE, CT) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

For me, no hockey title tops EA Sports NHL 2005 for gameplay and graphics. I havenot tried a newer EA title in the Hockey category 'cuz I'm just so darn happy with 05 that it's painful to play anything else.

NHL 2K9 which is admittedly a different franchise. The graphics are lackluster in comparison and the buttons? The buttons are confusing.
The announcers are good but If I were you, I'd try EA first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Hockey

posted by mrleroy66 (SANTA FE SPRINGS, CA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is bad game. There is no need to rent it. This game would be good if this was 1999. However we are in 2009. Don't waste your time with this junk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOOOOooooooo...........

posted by i4cbj9 (GULFPORT, MS) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Ok, Where to begin.......

I first thought that, Because Rick Nash was on the cover it would be a good game.
oops......

Secondly i thought, Since 2k8 was bad, they would have improved on 2k9...
oops....

Finally i thought, hey maybe it'll be a fun game..
oops....

I honestly have nothing good to say about this game, The graphics are weak, The sound is equally weak, gameplay is clunky.
The players look like they were drawn by my 5 yaer old. It was a colossal wasted rental.
Stick with the EA series, It's much better. As for the game of hockey its self, wheres the black eyes, blood on the ice, broken sticks, hits so big your hat pops off, and big free for all's. these games are missing the very essence of hockey. COME ON EA, Do it Right Next Time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »