Rent NHL 2K9 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 2K9

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
6.2

645 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed

posted by Rhezekim (HEREFORD, AZ) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love sports video games and I usually choose EA Sports NHL over NHL2K every year until about three years ago when my son in law turned me onto NHL 2K6 and I thought, wow, this really beats NHL 06 and each year until this year I have been loyal to the NHL 2K series. After playing both hockey games EA Sports NHL 09 is far more superior than NHL 2K9, one of the biggest complaints with 2K9 is all the glitches this game had, this is a game that was tested before being released yet when I played the game in two days I found five different glitches, most were in single play but a couple were in online mode, the play matching system leaves a lot to be desired, it just sits there waiting for your game time to come up, I scheduled a game for 10PM and it never launched, so the leagues are useless if you have people online who belong to the league but they won't match the players up, another glitch was the game would lock/freeze up towards the end of the game, I am not the only one this has happened to, that is why I say it's a glitch and not my system. If you are into hockey like me you might want to give NHL 09 a chance, I like the "Be A Pro" feature of this game. The NHL 2K9 fighting system is a lot more difficult than the NHL 09 is which could be a good or bad thing depending on your likes or dislikes, I dislike it. As for NHL 2K9, I wouldn't recommend renting this game, my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NHL 2k9 - A Step Down

posted by AngryGames (TWIN FALLS, ID) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First, I'd like to say I've been playing 2K hockey since 2k3. Every single year, we play 2k hockey religiously.

One of the first things you will notice, if you are a fan of previous 2k hockey titles, is that the graphics have taken a step back. There's a reason for this: the developers have started fresh, the old 2k hockey engine is gone. This is apparent from the newly redesigned menus that are visually appealing, but a bit frustrating to navigate. Overall, the interface is a plus.

The actual game graphics however are definitely a step back from 2k8. The player models look wooden, flat, and the heads are non-proportional in size. The player faces are downright scary on top of that.

Gone also is the fantastic 2k8 control scheme. 2k9 introduces their "Pro Stick Evolution". This should actually be called "We Copied EA's NHL 09 Controls". While there are some slight differences, the skating control,stick control, shooting, passing, etc, are identical to NHL 09's controls. This isn't a negative in most respects. 2k9 also offers the Classic controls as well as a Hybrid style.

So what about the game? This reviewer's opinion is that it's clunky, with terrible AI (especially your own team's CPU players), a gutted franchise mode, and gimmicks like "drive the Zamboni between periods" that could have been removed and replaced with more time spent programming the AI or making franchise more complete. The goalies are still weak as in previous years.

Even the sliders, normally the ONE thing to save this game's hide every year, as you can adjust every minute setting to create true sim hockey to your liking, are butchered and after 25+ games, it seems that some just don't affect the settings regardless of what you do.

Then there's the CPU players who do constant spin-o-rama moves. It's painful to watch, even more painful to play.

Online offers an upgrade, with proper leagues and stats etc...the one shining aspect of the game.

My recommendation: rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good...but isnt NHL 09

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

NHL 2k9 is finally here and brings you a very good make up gift for the past few years creations.

The Positive:
Team-Up brings a new era of online play for sports games, you are now able to play up to 12 players online in which each player controls 1 man on the ice.

There are some excellent touches that bring the franchise mode to life. In the playoffs, players will slowly grow beards. Now the user is able to carry the Stanley Cup while controlling the player holding it.

The Negative:
While this game has fairly nice game play the AI is once again dumb. People will soon be annoyed by the AI bringing 2 or 3 defenders to the puck carrier in which a couple dekes and passes will leave you many open opportunities on goal, more then you may get in 1 or 2 real games of hockey.

Despite having the feature of Team-Up online people will soon be finding at least 6 players to play with due to the AI being Airheads,with out the ability to tell the CPU what to do or control those other positions you will be finding yourself loses many Team-Up games thanks to the incapable AI.

Final Say:

While this game is alot better then past ones it still has a alot to improve on. If you are a hockey fan that will play both 2k and 09 you might want to just spend your 60$ on 09. If you're a die hard 2k fan then you shouldn't be to upset with this game.

Rent it yes Buy it I will not

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NHL 2K8 Review Part 1

posted by timissmexy (FREMONT, CA) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Create-a-Character: Facially this is pretty trashy. I don't like the way you have to customize every aspect of your face, mainly because with the bad graphics it doesn't really do much. Your eyes will always look squinty and angry. There's only about 3 options for hair: Short, Faux-Hawk, or some kind of mullet. Facial hair as usual didn't improve. Like most games, the longest beard possible is elongated facial stubble. Customization on equipment is decent, a lot of options. I don't really like the layout scheme of the whole thing, feels a bit choppy and a bit too MLB 2k7ish. Made my guy a right wing and threw him on the sharks.

Franchise Mode: First off, the player ratings have me confused. Apparently Milan Michalek is better than Patrick Marleau. I ignored that and went on to fixing the lines so my guy would start. Franchise mode auto-turned off budget, since my guy put the sharks over the cap, which was kind of cool, a nice little feature. Anyways, on to gameplay.

Gameplay: I played for about 30 seconds before slamming down the pause button. I quickly went and switched my control scheme over to pro-stick. I wish there was an option to keep 2k8 controls, as even the pro-stick controls are a bit annoying. I went and switched the camera to 3/4, which actually improved the graphics a bit, made everything look better since it was closer. It took me a while to get used to it but I found my groove, ended up only losing 2-3. So, now knowing how to play I went and started another game. At the end of the first period, Tim Cory (me) had 5 goals, while Torrey Mitchell also was enjoying a nice hat trick. The score was 8-0. Fast forward 2 periods and you will see the end score of 8-7, as I barely won. I guess that was the games way of balancing itself out? Anyways, the next game I won 12-4. The next game, it's 2-2 in the third period. Three minutes later it's 2-6 to the computer. The scoring on this comes in spree's, it really needs some sliders.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Play EA and 2K every year and...

posted by TDBears (LITITZ, PA) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like 2K better. This game is fun and even though they basically copied the EA control scheme, thats good becuz EAs was better.

There are sick signature moves and the game is more realistic feeling than last year. The face off system is WAAAAY better than EA and you can actually check people without having to skate from halfway across the ice.

The graphics are definitely not as good as EAs, and the AI is slighty worse (people overrate EA AI, you can basically score in EA by skating backward, centering yourself on the ice and shooting to a top corner every time, plus CPU EA AI isnt nearly aggressive enough at times). But i think this game feels more like you're playing hockey (the physicality of the game really comes through against the boards and on face offs). I think they also have classic teams and they definitely have classic unis, something that EA doesnt have and it adds to the game.

I mean most people seem to disagree with me and like EA better, but I just wanted people to know that it is possible to like 2k better. The game is mad fun, but you should rent both before you buy because although its not even close to better in every way, I really do think this game is better in a lot of ways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

garbage and horrible

posted by ace57ru (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

this game sucks dont even bother with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not what I thought it would be

posted by xLAGACYx (WARE, MA) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

NHL 2k9 I thought it was going to be really good I have NHL09 but it broke so I thought I would give NHL2K9 a try but after playing NHL 09 and the "be a pro" mode. NHL2K9 is not good the AI is very bad and i always win at least 10-0. As a die-hard hockey fan I was dissappointed in 2k9 the "ride the zomboni" is very boring and not worth the time. NHL 09 defintly wins over NHL 2k9

NHL 2K9 rent at best i dont think its even worth $5 for a rent
NHL 09 DIFINTE BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!!!

posted by MLG2138 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

THE GRAPHICS ARE TERRIBLE AND THE GAMEPLAY ALL TOGETHER WAS JUST TERRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Definitely improving

posted by HockeyFan5 (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Around 2002, EA seemed to lack something and 2K was hitting it out of the park, or scoring a hat trick with their games. Adding the small touches like arched jersey lettering and Stanley Cup patches made it the better option. The gameplay was pretty smooth for its time, creating plays seemed to be the focus. It wasn't chasing the puck and running around wildly. The graphics were comparable, in the polygon era nothing looked amazing, but 2K seemed to have a slight edge there as well.

A few years later however, things weren't changing much for 2K. They billed themselves as the top selling NHL franchise and seemed to stand pat. The Trophy Room and the overall 2K/ESPN presentation seemed lazy and repeated year after year with the same unlockables. The gameplay was still ok, but was quickly being passed by the realism of EA.

2K9 is not a bad game by itself. The controls are nice, although a bit strange to get used to (pressing the right analog stick out of habit will keep bringing up a menu). The presentation is revamped with a clean looking display for achievements and trophies. The game has some details I've not noticed in a hockey game before, such as all four officials on ice at all times and players celebrating goals immediately with team hugs, more realistically than most cutscenes, where players skate off by themselves and pump their fists repeatedly.

The graphics, surprisingly, have taken the worst stumble. Gone is arched lettering on teams like Detroit and New York. The Cup Final patches are barely visible. The Playoff logo on the ice is a nice touch, and looks to be copied by EA now in NHL 10. Players look nothing like their real life counterpart. While the graphics have been improved overall with the console's ability, players still look overly tall and thin. Improved visuals would really make this game contend.

Mini rink and pond hockey are back though don't really add much to the overall package. Franchise Mode is done pretty well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

excellent work by 2k9

posted by canaday (TULSA, OK) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

every now and than a hockey game comes along that is worth getting and 2k9 is where hockey revives itself in the past nhl for ea sports series all were bad and so was 2k but now with 2k9 hockey is back and better than ever ecspecially when you enter the playoffs with your nhl team or teams perferably i do all 30 teams just to add the excitment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2k9

posted by youthD9 (MARLTON, NJ) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

nhl 2k9 is better than nhl 09 bc nhl 09 is al about glitches and thats it. in nhl 2k9 you have to work the corners and pass the puck around to score your goal. thats why its better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by gamingflyb (BRISTOL, CT) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

the only good thing about this game was driving the Zamboni.. Doesnt even come close to the other Hockey game that came out this year. Sorry wasnt my cup of tea....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

REAL THING

posted by Gamer2k (BRONX, NY) Mar 1, 2009

Member since May 2007

The presentation, the feel, the look, all top notch. fun to pick up and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2k finally stepped up

posted by sob2356 (MADERA, CA) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

2k has really brought the fun back to hockey. And indeed thats really why we play, to have fun. Im not a professional hockey player and i dont wanna be. I just wanted it to be fun again and thats what they did. Get this one its a sure win.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »