Rent NHL 2K8 for PS3
view large frontback

NHL 2K8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
6.0

342 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Great Hockey Game from 2K

posted by Moose1220 (MICHIGAN CITY, IN) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NHL 2K8 is another great hockey edition to the 2K series. Nothing has really changed since NHL 2K7 but is still very fun. They did however incorporate
something called the Pro Stick. It is pretty much like the Skill Stick from EA's NHL 08 but I think the Pro Stick works a little better cuz for me it was a little easier. The graphics are also legen, wait for it... dary!!! All of the players look absolutely incredible. They actually look like real people playing a real televised game! I was in shock and awe the first time I popped this game in. If you are a fan of hockey, be sure to pick this up.
WARNING WARNING WARING!!!!

THIS GAME IS, UNLIKE OTHER NHL 2K GAMES, THIS ONE IS AN ARCADE GAME, NOT A SIMULATION! REPEAT, THIS IS AN ARCADE GAME, NOT A SIMULATION! SO IF YOU ARE ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE WHO ONLY LIKE SIMULATION GAMES, LOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE! BUT IF YOU LIKE ARCADE STYLE SPORTS GAMES, you are fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best of the nhl games

posted by akenaten (KILGORE, TX) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for a dynasty mode game then this is your game. I have played both the EA game and this one and for dynasty mode there is no comparison.

EA allows only 1 player controlled team in dynasty 2k8 allows multiple player teams.

EA has no fantasy draft 2k8 does.

The contract negotiation process in 2k8 is as close to the real thing as you are likely to get. Also, unlike EA signing FA and trading is not easy to manipulate.

Lastly, EA forces you to use the goalie (at least in part) 2k8 makes it your choice to determine whether the goalie is player or AI controlled.

2k8 is simply superior.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hockey Perfection

posted by PghMonahan (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Before I even begin, I want you all to know I played both NHL 08 and NHL 2K8. I like both games for different reasons, but 2K8 is the most complete game of hockey. If you want great graphics and a very, very limited control set, go with NHL 08. If you want great gameplay, all the control you need to feel that you are actually "in control" of the game go with NHL 2K8. The gameplay in 2K8 is miles beyong NHL 08. I listened to the Hype Train and first got NHL 08 and after about 4 days with the game realised it has a very shallow control set, even with teh over-hyped and under-developed "skill stick" I honestly think the Pro Stick in NHL 2K8 is far superior than the Skill stick of NHL 08. The control is more sensitive, especially in defensive control. The face-offs are a thing of beauty because they are realistic, not every draw in hockey is won clean. All I'm saying is you can believe the hype train and trick yourself into thinking NHL 08 is the hockey game to have, or you can GameFly NHL 2K8 and realize that the reviews and the negative opinions surrounding NHL 2K8 are complete rubbish and enjoy this game! The only appealing game mode I found in EA NHL 08 was Goalie Mode, an innovative, yet shallow representation of the goaltender position. As a hockey fan, you OWE it to yourself to spend some time with NHL 2K8, it's as close to video game hockey perfection as I have seen. I don't know who they have reviewing sports games these days, but I obviously think it is people who have never had one minute of ice time in their lives. This game is stellar and to ignore it's existence because popular opinion tells you to do so is only cheating yourself out of a far better hockey experience than NHL 08 could ever hope to offer you. Stay true to the game, and please...DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!! Try this game now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be much better.

posted by Checky (NORTH ANDOVER, MA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I had been waiting patiently for this game to come out. I had cleared up my game Q for just this game. I got home from work, popped it in, and just felt bad. I loved NHL 2K7, heck, it's why I play hockey games now. But, let's get onto the game.

Graphics-7
Okay, I'd love to give this game a higher rating, but I just can't/ I actually tested it out, side by side, and yes, NHL 2K7 and 2K8 look nearly identical. With a few things changed (Where is my locker room segway?!), the game's overall appearance during a match looks good, but I expected a little more after they had time to really work with this series. The player creation is awful as well. Everyone looks deformed, but hey, this isn't a beauty contest.

Sound- 8
Aside from the music being so-so, the sound isn't bad. I was expecting them to call the names wrong, but I only heard it a few times. Last year, I spent half the season listening my teams' roster get misnamed left and right. The play calls are rather good, and on time. Also, I liked how the announcers got a bit more enthusiastic during intense drives. Small things like that give it a realistic feel, which is what I think they went for.

Gameplay- 3
Okay, here's where I lost my temper. I usually play sports games on the medium difficulty setting, just to get a little challenge but not get angry. Well, considering Luongo is one of the best goalies in the sport, I highly doubt he'd give up 9 goals in the first period. I usually let the computer control the goalie, and on last year's game, it seemed fair. Luongo gives up goals, but not 9 in a period. The checking wasn't accurate either. I watched one of my guys going full speed slam into an opponent and get shrugged off. Then I saw the same guy tap one of my defenseman, and send him to the ground. Shame, because the rest of the game was good.

If you are looking to get the game, you just have to get used to the new NHL. Personally, I like my hockey a bit rougher. Overall, I give it a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its actually a very good game....sorta

posted by donny2000 (COUNTRY CLUB HILLS, IL) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This title is one of the best hockey games I've played in years in terms of its sense of speed and total player controls. Its a top of the line offering in every sense of the word...for the PS2 that is.

Thetas right! This game plays very well...well enough to garner a 8-9 from me on the PS2 if it were an exact copy of this game...which it should be because honestly this game looks like it was developed for the Sega Dreamcast's launch line-up in 1999. The Visuals look horrible...and on my 1080p hook-up its really unforgiving. The sound is also bad and I can't help but think that this game wasn't upgraded in ANY way from its PS2 counterpart.

Its a shame really. This game should and could have been special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

2k or not 2k

posted by gamerjim (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I love 2k sports they have excellerated the sports gaming world in so many ways, from NFL2k one of the best football games ever to their Hockey and Baseball renditions 2k has allways been as good or better in many ways than any other. This yaer has been a let down with porting of 360 to ps3 the games loses a lot, and with that to explore what the games could have been, bothers me in so many ways. Just getting by is no longer acceptable.We as gamers pay for these games with the expectation that we are getting the best effort not last years update. To put it as plain as possible the game stinks last years graphics and last years renderings not good at all dont waste your time, play dare I say NHL08 EA at least tried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

such a 1990's game

posted by llws2010 (KENOSHA, WI) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

you would be better off buying blades of steel theres no difference

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A PIMP HOCKEY GAME

posted by skeetr01 (COPPER CENTER, AK) May 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

this hockey game is so next gen its UNREAL its so like playing hockey in real life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good hockey game!!!!!

posted by tru2dagame (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

this is the first hockey game i have played on the ps3 and i think the game play is great i think they made the goalies alitte to easy to score on so you got adjust the goalie settings alot the graphics are good i thought they should have been better for the ps3 don't get me wrong their still good and the replay value is high, after i rented and played a season i returned it and when out and bought it, so if you like hockey it's for sure a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but doesn't quite score a goal!

posted by Geist13 (VACAVILLE, CA) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The last time I played a Hockey game was years ago, when I was but a wee lad. I believe it may have been on super Nintendo. What a huge change this game is compared to childhood. The game did impress me, however I must give my two cents.

NHL 2K8 is a nice looking next gen game, but the gameplay itself could use additional re-tooling.

Pros:

All of the teams with current rosters are intact. As well, as a few surprises.

The graphics are far superior to that of older versions, but not up to what the Playstation 3 is capable of. Although, I discovered no glitches in character animations during gameplay, very good.

Deep training mode with complete interaction. Repeat until you become a pro gamer (good luck).

A.I. works well for both defending and opposing teams.

Voice-over sounds crisp, fluid with no breaks or repeats.

Playstation 3 controller exclusive. When acting as goalie, using the controller works well when positioning your hands where you want the goalie to block the puck. However, tricky the first few times.

Cons:

Play mechanics could use work. Controller layout needs to be re-tooled, and simplified. Too many button combinations prevent fluid gameplay, often results in frustration.

Player special moves are nearly impossible to do when playing a game. It is best just to forget them instead of frustrating yourself trying.

The game's learning curve could be adjusted to accommidate difficulty of controls.

Could use a few more fights to give it a more realistic Hockey feel. Fighting controls could be redone, too sloopy. (personal compliant)

I have read that NHL 2008 is much better than NHL 2K8. Better animation, graphics and a world of difference with the controller set-up. NHL 2008, should be shipping to me shortly so that I can determine the better buy.

In short, NHL 2K8 is a sleek looking game, but frustrating play mechanics bog down an otherwise smooth gameplay experience. Rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AWFUL

posted by champions4 (MARIETTA, GA) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Never rent this game!!! IT is very dumb and boring and you will hate it i promise you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Move over 2K

posted by Lakermania (INGLEWOOD, CA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

There's a new leader in the Hockey world. EA has a better product in terms of overall gameplay and feel. The only nod I'll give 2K is the uniforms look better than EA, but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »