Rent NHL 2K8 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 2K8

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, PS3
GF Rating
6.1

883 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

dont bother with this game

posted by thegenerel (FINLEYVILLE, PA) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented both this and NHL 08. After a spending part of the afternoon with both, its obvious that NHL 08 is the better game this year.

2k8 may have a slight edge in franchise mode, but the menu/interface is so clunky, I got sick of trying to manage my team while simulating.

The controls feel unnatural. I stopped playing after the first period. Why waste my time on this when NHL 08 is so much more enjoyable?

Even the soundtrack sucks. I just muted my tv.

I got both this and NHL 08 on a Saturday. Im keeping NHL 08 and sending 2k8 back first thing Monday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Simply put...

posted by blackfire8 (SOMERSET, NJ) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game didn't live up to expectations, period. The button layout makes no sense, the graphics are dismal at best, and let's face it, the game is weak. The AI is so incredibly dim-witted that they can be passed with little to no effort at all and once you've figured out how to score easily, that's it, you don't even do anything else because it probably won't work.

The sad truth is that the commentators know more about what's going on than your opponents. And you'd think that 2K Sports would have realized this and actually tied the two together in some way or another to achieve a less bland AI.

I love being a goalie because it's a challenge and a different perspective on the game. But in 2K8 it just wasn't enjoyable. I didn't feel like I was in the crease, I felt like I was sitting behind the net watching someone else be the goalie and occasionally centering a circle on a target. Now I understand that no company has gotten it right yet but come on, at least let me cut down on my own angles. And the sensitivity on the view zone, or whatever you call it, is WAY too high.

I have never not wanted to end a game in a tie for fear of a shootout before this game. The NHL Hits series had a better shootout setup than this. I find myself breaking into a sweat trying to get one more goal as the clock ticks down past a minute in the third quarter just because the shootouts are more work than they're worth. And they are nothing but work, so much so that it detracts from the fun.

All in all the game is just not fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't Believe the Mis-Hype

posted by Threatend (ROUSES POINT, NY) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

As an ex-hockey player of 20 years and an avid fan of realistic (not arcade style) hockey games, both the likes of EA and the 2K series, I have to say that this game rocks. I have yet to play EA's NHL 08, but that is coming soon. So, this is not a review of which is better but only a review to tell you that this game does not deserve all the negative criticism.

The biggest challenge, of course, is the learning curve of the new controller configuration. What's now known as the infamous Pro Control and bumper/trigger buttons will become famous - eventually. It took me a good 6-8 hours to grasp these new controls, and yes I too was frustrated. But now I love them. It makes the game so much more realistic, being able to set-up passing plays on a power play to actually being able to deke out the goalie on a breakaway by controlling what your stick is actually doing to performing a real one-timer and picking your corners. You will have to customize the game settings to your liking, and tweaking things does take time, but you can make the game play and look exactly like you want it to. I've been waiting for a more realistic hockey game like this since hockey entered the video gaming spectrum. There are many options and additions to this game that are cool. And, after about 30 hours or so, I have yet to run into any play problems. My only real complaint is the music selection - I prefer heavier tunes to thrash around the rink. Korn is OK, but there are many other great bands to choose from. And Quiet Riot? Come on... But, for game play, this is a great base to get almost exactly what I want out of a realistic hockey game. There are a few things I'd add and/or change for next year, but for now, I'm addicted.

Give it a try, and be patient with the new configuration - it'll come. I'm sure you'll enjoy it, too.

By the way, when you get a chance, check out my band at myspace com/threatend for some good heavy, alternative music. I'd appreciate it! Rock on...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What Happened???

posted by cybertron7 (BRONX, NY) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

To sum up this game, I really want to know how can NHL2K7 actually be the better game. I can't stand the controls, after playing a couple of games my hands started cramping and then the graphics truly suck!!! IGN says this game has the better graphics for this years crop of hockey games....I certainly beg to differ!! I do not know what happened from one year to the next but all I can say is STAY AWAY!!! Get NHL08 you will be happier you did!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why the hate?

posted by vexaxel (COTTRELLVILLE, MI) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Whats wrong with this game people?! "Oh...The controls are different to accomadate the grand new features and there a wittle tough." GET...OVER IT! If you actually look at the layout and play it and TRY to work with them its not that bad! The graphics are spectacular and follow suit along with all the next gen games. Replays are the most beautiful thing I have ever seen, with up close shots that aren't clunky and keep the same quality graphics as the game play. I can confidently say this is a grand succes for the 2k seris. At LEAST rent it here people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is horrible!!!!!!

posted by ACustomer (JACKSON, MS) Sep 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible!!! The new Pro Stick feature is too confusing and is not a good feature at all. Now I loved NHL 2K7, I thought it was great, but NHL 2K8 is nothing compared to 2K7. To me NHL 2K7 is better, the online play is good, no lag, but the new features are just too complicateed. I gave it 2 stars cause of the graphics, the graphics are pretty sweet. But I suggest nobody to buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what the heck

posted by BLKSUPER1 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

why do the makers of games think that changing the button configuration will make the game, better stop thinking that. what was wrong with 2k7 setting ??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls like a fighting game, on ice!

posted by chrisphil (HARRISBURG, PA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

NHL 2k8 is trapped in the last-gen. Last-gen graphics, last-gen controls, last-gen gameplay. Not to say the game doesn't do anything right. The puck physics are great, and the animations look good, but they have been good for the past 4 years. The "new" ProStick (which is a rip-off of EA's skill stick) is poor at best. Moving the passing and shooting to the LB&RB didn't work and 2k needs to do away with the LT modifier button. If you need a modifier button YOUR GAME IS TO HARD TO PLAY! Online play is the same as last year, however the frame rate does dip a bit when playing online.

In the end, if you want a hockey game this year, get NHL 08. NHL 2k8 took 2 steps backwards this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

terrible

posted by venom71 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 57 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

this game is terrible nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 nhl 08 Rules Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rnhl 08 Rules ules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules nhl 08 Rules

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underated

posted by Stoke86 (Los Angeles, CA) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

good game & fun. pretty descent graphics. only thing i didnt like was whhen you switch sides for every 1/4 you can see the goalie net as good and its harder to score. overall good rental.not waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hockey was never sooo complicated...

posted by Cloud007 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Aug 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

So the first thing I noticed is how they completly changed the controls from 2K7. Whick in my opinion was a mistake. They made it so hard to just simply shoot with all of the buttons you have to push that the only person I know that could play this game would be Goro.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

IDENTICAL to last year

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Aug 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

The 2K series continues to urinate on its legacy for anything but basketball with their latest outing. NHL 2K8 is the usual outing from the 2K series, that does a masterful job of not innovating or really changing any actual mechanics. The game is the usual "not bad" outing, but it doesn't feel different than 2K6 or 2K7. This series, even moreso than Madden, could have simple downloadable roster updates and it'd be the same as the usual commercial release. Sure, their first title was amazingly good --- but when you coast on fumes for a few years, don't expect people to not really notice.

Checking is still a lot of fun and when you nail somebody, you really, really feel it. The guys go flying. And that is probably the best aspect of the game. But, when you have smaller guys taking down defensemen without a huge problem, there is a bit of a disconnect that kills the visceral nature of the violence. That they do have certain guys being really prone to being in the box (Dany Heatley will be in the penalty box A LOT kids). The fighting is still abysmal. Rock 'em, Sock 'em Robots on ice, to be generous. They also have bugs that are hard to excuse. Just for an example, last season, they had a glitched achievement (Revenge, which you got if you scored on a penalty shot). The IDENTICAL one is glitched this year. This, to me, reeks of them basically re-releasing the same game from last year with new rosters. When your glitches don't change year to year, that is hard to excuse.

If you haven't played in a few seasons, pick it up. You'll like it. If you played last season, don't waste your time or energy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL 2K8?

posted by XxXst0n3dX (BIRDSBORO, PA) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The top game of the hockey season. The new features help the game move so smoothly it seems as if your holding the stick and dekeing down the ice to put the puck home. The superstar moves, pro control, and crease control add depth to the game for those who like to focus on one aspect of hockey. However some say its too easy to score. If your on easy and are constantly on the rush then yes it is. If you are on pro or above the CPU will stay with you in scoring hitting, PPs and PKs. As far as im concerned, this game was the best release by 2K yet and the best hockey game of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent game

posted by phuture909 (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) May 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Some graphical improvements have been made. Main Menu: The new menus are a tad confusing at first but you'll get the hang of it with time. Shooting: The new pro-stick feature is a sleeper for me. Franchise: The fact that you can only view about a week into the Franchise schedule in one screenshot is also a drawback in my opinion. Player edit/creation: easy to create/trade/edit.
Achievements: easy 810, medium 150(win 100), penalty on all-star still glitched.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Coolest game on earth

posted by Bradness (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) May 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

I love hockey. NHL 2K8 is an ok game for hockey fans. The graphics are great (as with any game on the 360 just about) and the player movements are impressive.

The controls on this game is what kept it from getting a higher rating. The use of the right thumb stick combined with the shot and pass buttons can make it difficult for some that are so used to the A or B button for pass/shoot. The controls and game would be a lot better if they kept it simple.

Game play is fun, heck it's hockey you either love it or hate it there is no in between with it.

Training is fun and simple even for folks who are new to the sport as it starts off with how to skate around the rink, puck control, ect.

Superstar moves are a blast to use against goalies and other players alike.

I gave it a 6 for my rating which IMO is high, without having 4 players on the same TV each with a controller this game would be a dismal 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Phoenix11 (DARDENNE PRAIRIE, MO) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

Now, I'd probably rather give this an 8.5 rating.....but that wasn't available. I must admit I have followed the 2K hockey series from day one and have always enjoyed their games. So I am a bit biased, as I haven't yet played the recent NHL 08 (which I probably will get as well).

But I am very surprised by all of the negative comments on this game. I tend to think most of them are based on the different controller layout/scheme. But let me know tell you, once you get adjusted it puts you 'into' the game so much more than previous versions. I absolutely love the one on one breakaway moves available to you......very dynamic. Defending also seems to make sense by moving your stick around or putting it to the ice with the right analog.

I have seen other comments regarding the graphics. While I am a bit surprised that the team names at the loading screen aren't a little sharper that is about my only nitpick. I would agree that with this game they did take off some of the 'sheen' on the ice , while brightening things up with more color.....but in mind it's just a small way of trying to go a little retro. And I personally don't mind being reminded of the EA NHL glory days being played on the Genesis.

I have rated it an 8.5 only because it's missing just a little something. This could be because I'm only 8 games into it and still adjusting to the controls, or it could be that it's a current, new control change that will be improved upon next year.

I love this game, and I plan on giving training sessions on the new controls so that we can get some great 4 player action going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

08 Blows this game away

posted by strokes89 (DUBLIN, OH) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Honestly, without preference, I think this game is complete trash. After owning NHL 08, which I LOVE RENT THIS, this game felt like i went back 10 years. The graphics on my non-hd tv SUCK (yea I know but im not made of money) so just rent NHL 08 and save yourself a lot of frustration and hate. BTW, I play goalie in hockey and the goalie mode is fun here its not at all like real life, but fun. Got this game a 2 instead of 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do They Actually Test These Games Before They Sale

posted by Bighurt (BOWIE, MD) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I just had a thought, do they actually test these games before they put them out for purchase. The control in this game is far to difficult, it has buttons in certain places that just makes this game almost impossible to play. And the worst thing of all, unlike in 2K's basketball version. You are not able to adjust the controls. Everything else about the game I like from graphics to the speed and pace of the game. Maybe next year they will try a new approach.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game

posted by whaler39 (PLYMOUTH, MI) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

very good game.

Strengths-Goaltending-- Playing as the goalies is the best part of the game. everything to playing the puckbehind the net to customizing the goalies pads and masks. it is a great thrill to be the goalie for the redwings.

everything ele could be alil better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WHOA!

posted by xboxgirl (TEKAMAH, NE) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Way to many buttons compared to the EA version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

oh where oh where has my nhl2k gone?

posted by Adder0 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

I have always been a 2kfan over nhl. 2k Always had the slight edge in graphics, the grand edge in engeaging gameplay and also game options. I dont know what happened this year. 2k missed the mark this year. Although the presentation, graphics and game modes are still league above what nhl has to offer. 2k took on drastic gameplay changes which completely change the feel to the game. They have tried to simplify the controls. The passing element which always made 2k stand out is missing and you now have to use the sticks to control your shooting and puck handeling. NHL2k feels more like the NHL franchise this year...,NHL does it better this go around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

HIT THE ICE

posted by Gamer2k (BRONX, NY) Oct 11, 2007

Member since May 2007

Not bad, not all good. they tried to update the controls but after a few games it should make you go back the classic 2k controls. other than that the game is solid and still fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

GOOD GAME BUT FREEZES.

posted by Redwings91 (AVON LAKE, OH) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

This game was a good game once you got used to all the moves and all that. In the franchise mode it freezes. When will 2k sports learn to make games that don't freeze. I think they should at least drop the price of the game if you can't even play a full franchise mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »