Rent NHL 2K7 for PS3
view large frontback

NHL 2K7

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

340 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

PS3's Power

posted by sfontana (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is incredible. The presentation is what's the best thing about this game. The gameplay is remarkable. I don't have the words right now....Just get this game...TRUST me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

terrible

posted by Khujo1 (VANCOUVER, WA) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't bother with 2k sports hockey titles. EA is the only brand that understands real hockey dynamic, awful. Wish I would have been able to wait for EA 08. Oh well, live and learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NHL 2K7 is a decent hockey experience.

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Presentation: 7/10

Presentation is a high point of this game. Replays and cutscenes look great. Looks like you are watching a real hockey game.

Graphics: 7/10

Character models and arenas look great. The Crowd looks bland though. Very little framerate/slowdowns issues that do not hurt the experience much.

Sound: 6/10

The soundtrack is meh. The commentary is horrible and repetitive.

Gameplay: 7/10

2K is known for content and this game provides it but they are not worth the time. In terms of the way the games are played, it isn't that fun. The game is too arcadic.

Overall: 7/10

Pros: Franchise mode is deep. Replays/Cutscenes look great, graphics look good aside from crowds.

Cons: Arcade hockey experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, Good Fun

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Great graphics, gameplay, etc. Reminds me of an excellent quality 16 bit version of the EA sports games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not fun

posted by itaru4 (OMAHA, NE) Jun 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

When I want to play a hockey game, I want something that is fast paced with a lot of action. Isn't that what hockey is about?
This game strangely seems to try to put so much effort into simulating hockey that it completely loses that effect. The graphics are nice, but to me sports games have to be more about playibility than eye candy. All the control options and getting a feel for the screen takes time; I can't expect casual friends to just pick up a controller and have any fun together. I enjoyed NHL 07 (ps2 version works on ps3) a lot more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good

posted by Piempster (CORONA, CA) May 9, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

this is a pretty well setup nhl game overall ... controls are smooth and gameplay is above average ... its a really easy game to jus pick up and play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game!! unless you play online

posted by bzmanta5 (TORRANCE, CA) May 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

This is a great hockey game,The graphics probably aren't as good as they could be, but it doesn't look like a ps2 game either. The control scheme is pretty good and reactive. Its a little easy to score goals unless you turn up the difficulty when you first start playing. The Gameplay offline is far better than online, that is if they ever get the online play working correctly. It barely connects to other users half of the time. Online gameplay is alot slower than offline with slower reactions to your controls. Also its very easy to get cheesy goals by exploiting the glitches which doesnt make online play very fun. But all in all the game is good offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

nhl2k7 review

posted by mike23 (COATESVILLE, PA) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

i luv hockey and hockey video game and i would advise u not to get it bcause the grafics look horrible so wait until nhl07 by easports comes out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NHL 2K7

posted by JCPreb (EAST BERLIN, PA) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

If you don't plan to play on line, then it is a great game. On line play has a lot of issues. Mainly with their servers. It is impossible sometimes to get on at all. Other times the lag is so ridiculous that you just have to quit. Apparently they are working on these issues so maybe in the near future it will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fair

posted by TMAC06 (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

i thought this game is just fair. not really all that good but not too bad either. it has good game play, but lacks the intent to hold your focus

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mmm....

posted by numba10 (CUMMING, GA) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

i've always hated 2k games.....and this one was alright but it seemed like they put more effort into the cut scenes then the actual game..... not very realistic.....NHL 07 by ea is much better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's ok....but

posted by frisdohne (READING, PA) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This is a fast paced hockey game that is just a tad above ok. The graphics don't look next generation they look like PS2 cut scene quality. It's ok but definatly just a rental, not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not 07, but worth renting

posted by cheesypoof (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Every year I get both hockey games, EA and 2k. This year EA (only for PS2) really came through with a great game but scoring was way too easy. 2K7 is much more challenging with all of the great sliders to customize game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Well, it's Hockey

posted by applesauce (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

A fun hockey game.
I'd have given this an 8, maybe a 9 if I hadn't played NHL2K6 for Xbox 360. 2K6 is actually better than 2K7 on 360 as well! Simply because the movements are so lifelike, smooth, and things happen in the game that don't in other games.. like the way they trip and fall or get checked, etc.

Back to this game, it's great, smooth, good graphics, but some flaws and imperfections, as well as the variety of falls and trips that occur in 2K6 for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Almost Great but Utterly Dissapointing

posted by Schneetzer (DENVER, CO) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

This game looks great and is fun to play. Unfortunately the following issues greatly detracts:

1. Too many menus. They could have consolidated the menus into a more user friendly system. For instance, when loading a season, you need to load the season, profile, and settings. Many of the disparate menus have similar settings, why not consolidate for better navigation? It's easier to navigate the 9-11 report.

2. FREEZING. I can no longer finish a game and save my season. When the game is over, it asks to save an updated profile and then freezes without exception. OUCH. Didn't 2K do QA and if so, why the egregious release?? Just in case you're wondering, this is not an isolated issues. I have read numerous online posts about the freezing issue and my local EB games told me they would take the game back when they normally wouldn't because of the amount of complaints they have received about this particular issue.

As I said, I the game looks great and plays great, but 100 multiplied by 0 is still 0....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »