Rent NHL 2K7 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 2K7

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3, Xbox
GF Rating
7.2

695 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Gretzky of Hockey Games

posted by BlackEye (DULUTH, MN) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NHL 2k7 is loaded with ton's of fun ideas to personalize the game in every aspect to fit your needs.. You can edit just about anything so you don't hear the same old sayings over and over and over again.. For instance...

When you are loading to start a new game, The loading default song is the average pump up song that gets more annoying as u continue to play games during a season or franchise. In the options you can change that so you can play any song stored on you Xbox 360. Not only can you edit the loading song witch gets more and more repetitive, you can change the arena music. During game play, after you score a goal, get a penalty, start a fight, win a game, or if u loose a game. You can pick any song/or playlist you would like to hear for each of those situations.

There is plenty more to talk about in music but lets move on to the awesome new goalie control settings..

CREASE CONTROL. The greatest idea ever for a hockey game to have.. You can control the goalie in this awesome 3rd person view of the goalie. When a player shoots the puck on you, the puck goes into slow motion where u have to move an aiming reticule over the target of the puck with in a certain amount of time before the puck goes back into real time.. ITs sweet..

And if you were wondering. you can switch in and out of goalie mode during any game.. even if you are playing a friend. Just click down on the right thumb sitck and click button A to get out of it. Its a simple as that

The only downfall wich most games have.. is you will notice your stick going into the goalie and disapear.. But ever game has something stupid like that.. It does not effect game play.. it just looks funny.

There are so many more little control options to master to make you the Wayne Gretzky of NHL 2k7.
I will let you figure out the rest when you rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the Same

posted by Kawika (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The 2K series for hockey has been the better of the two out there since it began. So when 2K7 was released, I was really looking forward to the improvements.

The perspective change threw me for a little bit, but the new graphics are nicely done. The game flows well and there are a ton of customizations you can utilize to make the experience what you want it to be...mostly.

The problems I have are ones that have plagued the 2K series from the getgo. Goalie stats are completely messed up. If you play anything less than 20 minute periods, the stats calculator extrapolates whatever time your using and averages it over 20 minutes, so if your GAA is 3 using 5 minute periods, your reported GAA will be listed as 9 in the stats column. If you opt for more than 5 minute periods, your goalie will be absolutely shelled and still give up a ton of goals.

If you can engineer decent one timers, you'll score. A lot. Fortunately, I was also able to crash the net and pick up some garbage goals, which was something lacking previously in the series.

If you're too far ahead? Don't worry, the computer will decide it's time to score a goal or three and you won't be able to hit its players with any oomph or intercept a pass with positional hockey. And you won't have time for a line change either when your guys fatigue.

The computer will also commit interference with impunity. And so do your guys. So if you turn up the sensitivity for that penalty, you'll be seeing your guys marching to the box as much as the computer. Judicious clearing out of the front of the net is the only way to keep the shots on goal down. And, I don't know if this is true for everybody, but it seems that if my team is overachieving, here come the major injuries that keep your major guys out for weeks.

Still, overall, it is an enjoyable game if you don't mind some of the caveats listed above. Definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BETTER THAN NHL 07

posted by iLLWiLL (PARKLAND, FL) Oct 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This year 2K sports beat EA sports, last year was way different, EA Sports NHL 06 beat NHL 2k6, this year the tables turned. I recommened renting this game before deciding to buy it. NHL 07 is garbage, dont bother evening looking at the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Hockry Game of 2007

posted by Doyle005 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Oct 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I played both NHL 07 and this game. This game is the the better of the two as far as gameply goes. I prefer the audio on NHL 07, but you don't play sports games for the sudio.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hit The Ice!

posted by 65Impala (Grand Rapids, MN) Oct 24, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have to say this is a great hockey game. The playability is smooth, not to hard to master the controls, and the new goalie control is awesome. I find myself not even playing the game and trying for a shutout as the goalie. basically you control his movement, his view, and his ability. if a puck is going high glove side, you are the one to react, if you miss, he misses. its alot of fun! the graphics could be better, but i wouldn't say they are bad. I have played this game and E.A's hockey game, and I would take this one hands down. Have fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one word great!

posted by jaredis11 (OLMSTED FALLS, OH) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

NHL 2K7 has the feeling of on ice action with great graphics and easy-to-use controls. one word great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Get 07 its better

posted by starsfan (GRAPEVINE, TX) Jul 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

I originally got 2k7 and i had fun with it but the number 1 most fustrating thing were breakaways and that if u used the right stick ur player barely moves his stick. EA really did a good job with the skill stick which i admit was stupid at first but after 10 games u master it and u realize how bad 2k7 really is.

As being a goalie in hockey, i really liked how 2k7 did the goalie control which i really liked but the gameplay was kinda easy and i just had to do one timers and id score 4 or 5 goals a game, which got boring. The graphics are good but i think 07 has a slight advantage with graphics.

You should rent both and decide which game u like better. If you play hockey u will like 07 much better and see how realistic it really is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blah

posted by Woogie11b (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game is a straight arcade game. If you don't want to play realistic hockey, and just want to smash people around this game is really good at that. NHL 07 had it problems, but it's way more realistic, and life like, then 2k7. The goalie controls are awesome, and the physics of hitting seemed better then EA (until you notice the faults), but the lack of the "skill stick", and the horrible horrible horrible graphics smash that into the ground as soon as you realize the that the people who made 2k7 are weekend hockey fans, who just watch it for the hitting. If EA, and 2k7 got together they would make the best sports games ever. But until then we're stuck with two sub par hockey games. Both faulting greatly in seemingly simple categories.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was...decent.

posted by zgamer92 (RALEIGH, NC) May 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Not the best game I've played at all. The only thing they had that was really good was the graphics. Besides that, everything was the same. It is way better than last year's version which I regret paying $30 for. They removed a lot of the old glitches. But, it still just wasn't all that fun. It was the same old pass, pass, pass, shoot and hope it goes in kind of playing. If you really want a good hockey game I recommend NHL 07.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was good.

posted by hogand87 (DALLAS, TX) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game was pretty good. The character models really need some more time. Which is why I will not buy this game but it is an excellent rental. Other than that the one timers still are the primary source of scoring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best NHL games

posted by thevulch (CHICOPEE, MA) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

NHL 2K7 is a great game. On the default difficulty settings its very hard to score goals. Most NHL games a notorious for the goalie having some little thing to deak him out. The only thing I would have to say is I wish there was more with the create a team, and why cant any sports games name their players on the unlock able teams???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NHL 2K7 not too shabby

posted by housknuckl (AURORA, CO) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

I've played a couple other previous versions of hockey games and this one is by far the premiere. There's tons more ways to control the game depending on your expertise. Rather than learning the controls to their full potential and then it's no longer a challenge, this game offers extensive controls that require a lot of playing time to learn and master all of them. There's more than a couple ways to have a good chance of scoring goals, you can actually control the goalie when you want to, and as far as the rest of gameplay - there's just too many techniques that you can utilize to completely dominate the other team. I completed a season in franchise mode and it does a good job of breaking up the monotany with team management, practice drills, and even mini games(air hockey, trivia, and shuffleboard). There are a couple of downsides to it; one in particular is on breakaways. I never really did get the nack for scoring breakaway goals or shootout goals. Could be that I just didn't practice that enough. It's also really difficult to get a breakaway during gameplay due to the fact that no matter how fast your skater is and how slow the opposing team is, they always seem to be able to make up a lot of ground in a hurry and catch you just before you can get a shot off. Overall I was thoroughly impressed with it. Highly recommended for moderate to advanced gamers who are hockey fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth the Time

posted by Absinthmin (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Mar 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

This game was a major disappointment to me. I enjoy hockey games but found this one to have complicated controls and made game play more of a fumble with buttons. There are many different game play modes and they do not offer a distinct advantage. The AI did seem to really intelligent for the opponent but was not as great for the team mates. The graphics were not as good as I expect from a 360. This game was hard to get into even when playing the franchise mode, I did not feel like it was my team. Franchise mode, had a lot of options but the setup of your franchise takes hours to do properly. Overall, this game was not worth my time and I think you will find out the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disapointment

posted by DeafMars (ARLINGTON, WA) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is quite simply a disapointment, I'm a casual NHL fan and enjoy playing NHL games but there was nothin here to really hook me. The menus are awful, the graphics are subpar for the 360, and the gameplay isn't very fun or incredibly responsive. If you are a hard core NHL fan I'm sure you'll like it, but there just isn't much here for someone that's just looking for some quick fun. I sent this game back in the mail the same day I got it, sorry 2k sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nhl...reccomended by alot

posted by kupono (OREM, UT) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Yes, well i have been playing this game for awhilenow ever since N64. I have come to find that it is amazing how far we have come for the graphics etc. I would say that this game is way more intense on xbox live, but also gives us a good single player or player vs player play. Franchise is also a great single player play. Even though it might take a bit to unlock some of the achievment (casue you have to win 3 stanley cups) It gives you a nice time to relax anf have some fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best NHL Game

posted by edgekrushe (SHAKOPEE, MN) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I've played both the EA and 2K7 versions of NHL and I have to say that 2K7 outshines EA's attempt. For starters 2K7 has much tighter control, and the AI seems to respond quicker and smarter than EA's version. The fact that the franchise mode is available in 2K7 makes a huge impact. It seems EA forgot about this important feature.
Though EA's version does have better textures, and character models up close, 2K7 looks fantastic. The music in EA is also much better in terms of known artists, but the only time you hear music is in the menu. 2K7 does feature a special mode that allows you to customize music in the game. I actually think 2K7 has better sound effects than EA.
Overall NHL 2K7 is the game that wins this round. It has faster load times, better control, more game modes, and the all important franchise mode. The graphics are very good, and the sound is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NHL2K7

posted by gameflyuse (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

BEST HOCKEY GAME. It is very realistic and has a lot of game modes. NHL 07 is not nearly as good. This is a must get game for hockey fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Better luck next year

posted by chriscrazy (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

Ive been a huge NHL2K fan but.... After this year i am 100% sold to NHL 2007. The graphics on 2K7 are like seeing PS2 on the 360. They are horrible. They just got lazy!! I played the game for like 1 hour and it never got better. I bought NHL 2007 because I was so impressed. I would not recccomend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pick 2K7 As Your Hockey Game

posted by Palmetto (BRIMFIELD, MA) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

If you are going back and forth about which hockey game to buy/rent let this review sway you towards 2K7.

The hockey action is great and much more realistic than EA's rendition. The goalie reacts much more fluidly and is tougher than any hockey game made in the past. You can't just go side to side and score like in EA hockey games.

The graphics are slightly surpassed by EA but makes up big time in game play. All the features are there that you would expect and the franchise mode rocks. This is one of the biggest differences between the two games and a huge reason to get 2k7 instead.

Overall 2k7 beats EA in everything but graphics so you decide whether or not you want great hockey or just something that looks good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NHL 2k7...NHL 07???

posted by shevenden (CLEVELAND, NC) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

I first want to say that I have loved the last 3 years of the 2K series. I don't however like this years at all compared to EA's NHL 07. With the EA franchise including the skill stick I just feel like 2K7 is a button masher now! I do give them credit for trying to include new features like the mood music but come on really....I don't want a feature film I want a bone crunching...speed skating...goal fest with skill!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Didn't I buy this game last....for the same price?

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

Why?.....Why do we have to pay 60.00 for a roster update, and different camera angle and a dramatic score? I know some people live by the "If it aint broke, don't fix it", but this franchise hasn't changed in 4 years.

Most of the glitch goals from 2K6 are still here and that includes some of the freezing .

Underneath the reoccurring problems with this game lies a great hockey game, its just getting very stale. The graphics have improved a bit, but the animations still look strange, and the goalies just look wrong!.

I suggest the competition over this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

nhl 2k7

posted by djs3300 (EL MIRAGE, AZ) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

this game is as good, if not better that 2k6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by steiner (BRIGHTON, CO) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

the 2k games cant go wrong,well ok i lied they need to bring back the footabll then it will b perfect again. the hockey will never go wrong its always going to be great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN!!!!

posted by sillady (ALTA LOMA, CA) Oct 4, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

best hockey game to date!
can't go wrong with 2K Sport!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »