Rent NHL 2K6 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 2K6

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
5.3

1513 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

no next gen but fun fast paced game

posted by oofdashiz (LANCASTER, CA) May 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

im not a big fan of hockey and i still enjoyed this game it dont have great grafix but good enough. The controlls are fine and every thing else is im definetly looking forward to the next game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No Nex-Gen here

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Aside from the usual 2KSports glitches we are coming to be acustomed to on the 360 this is still a solid NHL experience. Graphics are sharper than the Xbox version but not any better.
There are still the 2KSports server issues and game freezes that have yet to be fixed five months later.
I wish I could write a review of 2KSports customer service (1 out of 10). The freezing issue prevents you from playing the franchise mode, unexceptable. But im writing this review based on gameplay. It is a solid sim hockey game, looking forward to next season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun game for hockey fans!!

posted by JGatto (BOARDMAN, OH) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this for the 360 to check it out. It is a cool game. THe ability to play goalie is a fun feature. I also felt that for an early next gen title..the graphics were nice. I am however playing it on a hd tv, so if your not you may feel the graphics arent as good as other next gen titles. The achievements are fairly easy to get. All and all I felt that this was a solid title..nothing grounbreaking..but still a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Achievement game

posted by zgreenwell (DECATUR, IL) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was actually surprised to have fun playing this game. The real reason I rented it though was for achievements and they took about an hour. If you want an achievement game, this one is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hey! Listen.

posted by Toasty (FORT MYERS, FL) Jun 8, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Okay this game might not be "NEXT-GEN", but it does what it was intended to do. Which if you didn't know was to please hockey fans. I don't even like hockey in fact I despise it, but this game was enjoyable. It never froze, it played smooth, and had tight controls. Don't listen too these guys who gave it a 1, it's about a 6.5-7. Give it a shot, who knows maybe you'll score big.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NHL 2K6 360 Hockey

posted by gamejunkie (WEST HAVEN, CT) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Overall I think Hockey 2K6 is a very good game. It's fast, fun , and very much a sim. The only downside is that this game is too much like the current console experience. I was expecting to see a tremendous leap in graphics but sadly the graphics are only marginally better than the XBOX counterpart. While graphics are not the only part of the game I expect and demand that any and all games on the 360 blow me away in the graphics and presentation department. That being said, this is your only hockey choice for the 360 this year and if you are a serious hockey fan this game is a very entertaining game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DONT RENT THIS!

posted by CaptainC4 (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game freezes all the time! I was never once able to save a franchise or season game because the game froze every time it tried to load the main menu. And it's not just my system, I tried it on a couple other 360's and it still didn't work. 07 will be great, but this game is garbage!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by ownerof (ATTLEBORO, MA) May 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not a hockey an but I did enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game, easy achievements.

posted by Aversion (BRONX, NY) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

As the title says, the game is okay, but lacking many features compared to the newer versions.

If you wish to achievement hunt, you can easily get 750 out of 1000 on this one, the final achievement is a bit more tricky to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

For Achievement Hunters

posted by tweakster (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

First of all: I want to start off by saying I have no idea how to play or understand the game of Hockey. Secondly, if you don't have a second controller and someone to help you, skip this game entirely.

For 1000G, it will take you and a partner to strategically manipulate the players. It's really straight forward... FOR THOSE WHO UNDERSTAND HOCKEY.

I found myself at times not knowing how to set up what the achievements wanted me to do. I honestly have no idea what a breakaway is or how to set that up. But I managed to make due and returned the game that very same day.

What more can I say?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Achievement mania

posted by DrPepper23 (SARASOTA, FL) May 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game is actually quite awful, and the only good thing is that it has really easy Achievements. You can get 750 Gamerscore in about 5 minutes, but the last Achievement is really hard to get.

The graphics are terrible, the controls are confusing and unintuitive, and the gameplay is...slippery.

Get it for the Gamerscore and that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

1000 points e-z

posted by HIMCKYguy (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Basically if you haven't played this game yet, get it for the achievements. 6 achievements super easy. All you have to do is play on the highest difficulty needed and adjust the game sliders to make the A.I. dumb as crud and maybe in 30 to 45 mins. at most you have them all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for achievements and ........that's about it

posted by Squiggler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This game had decent graphics and was ok for a hockey game. It was good for easy achievements and that is about it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad For Their First Try...

posted by JStayton (MARTINEZ, CA) Jan 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Overall this was a decent game. The graphics were only slightly better for the 360 than the elder generation consoles, but the game play was solid. However, scoring goals was EXTREMELY easy (even on the harder difficulties). Moreover, 2K Sports did not put much thought into their achievements for this game, with two people easily obtaining all of them in one game (yes, that's right, you can play multi-player against each other and still get the achievements). Being that this game was released early into the 360's existence, I can accept many of its faults. Because of this, I rate this game slightly above average. With no other NHL game to choose from, this game was able to suffice. Now that there are more games to choose from, its playability seems to dwindle, but it is not that bad of a game. I would not recommend owning it, but it is worth the 1000 gamertag points to rent for a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NHL 2K6

posted by SP33DDEMON (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

I think this is an awesome game. The game play is very fun. It's probably because I am good at it. The collision detection was kind of poor since your stick could literally go through somebody' s face. But the game play overall was great. The refs are good. You can easily just pick up a controller and play. And best of all you don't have to be a sports fan to like this game. If you want to keep it you can buy it from gamefly for 15.00.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NHL2K6 Review

posted by thrlride (HARRISBURG, NC) Sep 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

This is an average game but a somewhat easy 1000 points.

This is good for a rental...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NHL 2k6 Is Decent

posted by greatone (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Aug 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

I'm just letting you know, that a lot of people have complained about freezing. Now read below:

I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM MYSELF, just letting you know what I've heard.

Now about the game, it was my first time purchasing any game made by 2K Sports, and will probably be my last in the hockey games. I only got the game simply because it was the only hockey game available and I'm a big hockey fan.

This game was really good, the graphics are incredible, but there are some thighs that should be better. I personally feel that some of the big name goalies tend to let too many goals in, the goal tending is not too great. And my main problem with this game is that there is a way to score every time if you skate to the net right, the goalie never stops it. As far as realism goes, this game is not good, I've been able to score 20 goals in a game and every game I've played the scores are unrealistic for both teams. In most NHL games, they don't make more than 5 a game, if that, this game was never below 5, you'd be lucky if it was below 10 goals for either team. I have always preferred EA Sports hockey games, but they didn't make NHL 06 for the Xbox 360 this year. I have already pre-ordered NHL 07 and am currently awaiting its release. The EA Sports games are more realistic to me, but as far as graphics, I'm expecting them to be fairly similar. However, most reviews I've read tend to think the opposite, but i'm not sure how they can think a 20-15 game is realistic, how many of those d you see on TV?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Child's Play

posted by C1stSarge (ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA) Aug 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

Having been a long time fan of the Playstation, I originally bought this game on the PS2. I've logged what I'm sure was hundreds of games, but, recently, bought myself an Xbox 360. Not willing to wait until September for hockey, I rented this game, hoping for something to hold me over til the 07 games were released. No luck.

This game is horrible. If I were simply grading on looks, I'd award it with a solid score of 8. The visuals are impressive and the skating is as smooth as ever. Unfortunately, the gameplay isn't the same. I started up some games on Pro difficulty level to get back into the groove and was soon beating the competition by differences in the double-digits. I felt prepared, so I entered into Franchise mode with the Washington Capitals. Ovechkin is my favorite player and its always nice to use a team that needs your help.

Anyways, the first game was against the Columbus Blue Jackets. After the first period alone, the score was 4-4 on a combined total of 22 shots. I shrugged it off and went on to win the game 8-5. Both Alexander Semin and Dainius Zubrus walked away with hat tricks. The next game was Atlanta. Alexander Ovechkin picked up 7 goals on his way to leading the team to a 10-3 route of Atlanta. This sounds all well and good because you're still thinking I'm on the Pro level. You'll be dismayed to hear that this was on Hall of Famer, with the computer levels tweaked up just a bit. Absolutely no challenge. This game on the Xbox 360 was rushed for release and offers none of the fun and challenge of the same game on other platforms. Games end with the opposing team having only a few shots more than goals (3 goals in 7 shots) and it just doesn't feel right.

Needless to say, right after that 10-3 victory, this game went right back in the wrapper and is on its way back to Gamefly as I write this.

-Matt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Who cares about graphics?

posted by DFRS99 (BROOKEVILLE, MD) Aug 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I don't get it... you shouldn't be complaining about graphics!! ITS A SPORTS GAME!!! when playing a sports game, you don't pay attention to the graphics as much as you should pay attention to how it plays. As long is it has XBOX or XBOX 360 graphics its fine!! this game is great although its easy to score who cares... this game is great. Its only great if you love hockey though (duh). You people need to stop copying XPLAY...they said the EXACT same thing about how its not next-gen graphics. but this game is so much fun...I LOVE KIckING THE OTHER TEAMS BUTTS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NHL 2kGlitch

posted by Slappy (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 8, 2006

Member since May 2005

If you want to play a hockey title don't play this. Once you get into a season and your really into playing it all of a sudden with no warning you won't be able to save your game and all the lock ups are a nice feature also. The way the game was stripped of features that the $20 original Xbox game had and they are charging $60 for this, NOOOOO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Demand Better as a Game Player!!!!

posted by Tumba1 (SUNRISE, FL) Jul 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

This is the first game for the Xbox 360 I have given a bad rating to. The reason?

I expect better for my money.

The graphics where not impressive

The game itself was not "next level gaming for hockey by any stretch"

If you have played hockey games since NHL 96 on sega genesis (great game by the way, then) you should expect more from a hockey game. Not up to par with what 2K6 could have done.

If you are looking for a hockey game that will provide you and your friends with hours of competitive fun, unfortunately I don't think this is the title for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game when it doesn't freeze

posted by BluWolf27 (OGDEN, UT) Jul 9, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

I rated this game solely on game play. The franchise mode was well done and enjoyable. The best part of the game is actually getting on the ice. There are plenty of sliders you can adjust for anything and everything. I'm not a big hockey fan, but I thoroughly enjoyed playing the game. That being said, I never got past the third game in the season because every time I finished it the game would just stay at the loading screen. There are several "remedies" for this, but none of them worked for me. The bottom line is this - if the game doesn't freeze, this is a very enjoyable game. However, if/when it freezes, it is very frustrating to lose all your accomplishments you received during the last game. I was hoping 2k would release a patch for this game like they did with baseball, but none yet. Take a chance and if you get lucky you will enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun hockey experience

posted by lordnick57 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Jul 8, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

This is an overall good game. The controls are pretty simple so You can get the hang of it pretty quickly. The graphics could be better but they are still pretty good. What made this game fun and different from all the other hockey games is the crease control. It allows you to take control of the goalie and block shots. In all I thought this game was fun but it the 2k7 they have to work on the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mistake to Release This

posted by harddrive (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jun 11, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

This is a 360 game? I am VERY disappointed. The graphics are something that I would expect to see on a PS1 game. There are also a lot of flaws in the AI on this game. When the opposing team goes off-sides the announcers will state it was one of my players. When I score a goal it shows a photo of an opposing player with my goal scorer’s name. Lots of flaws that should have never let this game get released for the 360!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

decent game when it doesnt freeze

posted by onmysonar (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Jun 9, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

so the game itself is alright... i'll admit I'm not a big hockey fan and I mostly rented this for the achievement points. my biggest issue is that every single time i have attempted to play this game, it has frozen on me. its worth checking out especially if you love hockey... but if you have no patience, then you might not want to deal with its constant freezing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse