Rent NHL 2K10 for Wii
view large frontback

NHL 2K10

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.1

241 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty Good

posted by seca82 (BLOOMINGDALE, NY) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a pretty good game it takes a while to get use to the controls I havent won a game yet its pretty challenging Iwould rent this game before buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NHL2K10

posted by Wiisel247 (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun once you figure out all of the controls. They are pretty tricky and sometimes frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK, if you don't follow hockey

posted by pynat64 (ASHLAND, OH) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I must start this by saying I only have a Wii, and have not been able to test the NHL EA waters in quite some time. That being said, if they can actually make a hockey game FEEL like a hockey game -- then they have an easy sell. This game is guilty of when programmers that have heard of hockey and watch NHL recaps design a hockey game.

In the US hockey is not the most followed sport, but the methods of play are fairly consistent across team levels. This game does not get it. It is good to increment and decrement difficulty to adjust player's abilities, but when you have some AHL player on the LA Kings (nearly the worst team in 2009) whose body and photo are different colors (to accentuate obscurity) they should not be able to do a feinted double backhand shot at the impossible angle on one of the elite goalies. If you play this online, and do not turbo to the net to crash and jam a shot in -- give up now. You cannot set up plays, shots, or any form of strategy else the opposing team can easily break away. It works both ways, no defense.

I tried this with the best and worst teams, on all types of control (motion plus, standard nunchuk, and classic controller). Simply put, this is a hockey game for people who do not know what hockey is or how its played. Maybe rent this to test the waters on the Wii, but EA is likely miles ahead of this muck up of my favorite sport.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no instruction

posted by Steponme95 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Does not give instructions on how to play the game. First time users have no idea what to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I don't like this game at all it is too hard

posted by awesome26 (OAK HILL, WV) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

I don't like this game at all it is too hard. I will mail this game on monday morning

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good. Worth It!!

posted by ssampson117 (CANTON, MA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I had a tough time in the beginning with this one, but i did the training sessions and got used to the controls very fast & once you get it down you win and it is fun... i haven't lost yet, but give it a shot (no pun intended) you will get it & have more trouble trying to stop playing the game... enjoy rate it 7+ with better graphics & streamline game play, lots of features this time around :)

Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NHL 2K11 - needs more time in the oven!!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Had a real issue with the gameplay and unresponsive controls. After navigating through a totally confusing navigation just to start a game, the controls did not do anything I expected. Motion plus and classic controller is supported (I don't have these and maybe was part of my problem), but why make this any part of the game, other than an alternate option? For the "first" wii hockey game, it would be smarter to establish a working normal control system with regular wiimote and nunchuck.

I did like the appearance - the ingame player graphics were excellent, and from that I was expecting a bit more out of it. There seemed to be many options like making your own team (I tend to think picking every color, shirt, and aspect of a team are a waste, unless you really get into it, which I couldn't do…) BIG POINT: the tutorial and practice modes worked unlike any aspect of the ingame play. As I practiced the moves I thought "hey, this is fun, I can't wait to do this during the game", but it never functioned for me, almost like my controls were disconnected.

Throughout this game's description, it's continually emphasized that this is a "debut", and first hockey game for the wii - I am not sure that is a valid excuse for the bad design, control issues, and general gameplay flaws. Can't wait to try 2k11 where they make a more playable game and address the flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It`s Ok.

posted by bruinswin (GARDNER, MA) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The games fun with other people BUT CPU is way to hard! When I played vs the CPU my worst lose was sharks14 bruins1 and my best was me2 cans6. Its a beter party game then you vs the cpu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Confusing controls

posted by ntaguitar (NEW MARTINSVILLE, WV) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Spent about an hour trying to figure out the controls to no avail. The small bit of details in the controller setup wasnt enough, I used to love the older NHL2kx games that had interactive tutorials to teach the controls. Maybe I just couldnt find it in the difficult to navigate menu screens but I didnt see any sort of tutorial mode. If I'm wrong and there is more instructions on controls then I will retract this review and add the game to my queue again as I have always loved the EA sports NHL series for other platforms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Awkward and lackluster

posted by HelprMnkee (SPRINGFIELD, MA) May 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Graphics are lackluster, can't expect too much form the Wii, but still. Play control with WMP is nonexistent. Play with the classic controller and you've got yourself vintage graphics, and updated rosters. Worth a gamefly, but it's no EA Sports game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Hockey Game

posted by Virtuater (IRVINE, CA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

OK, so it's not everything you're looking for, but it's certainly a better than average effort. The graphics suck, but what can you expect from a Wii game? The AI from your teammates is a little lacking, but even with that, you'll still get a challenging and fun hockey game. Don't pass it up if you're a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEAST ONE YEAT

posted by willconque (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

OK This is the best hocky game yet. graphics still arnt the best but they have improved. Gameplay is good BUT not as good as the last one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst hockey game ever!

posted by brewmaster (WHITINSVILLE, MA) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game was written by people who know nothing about hockey. Defense is not existent for your team but the computers defense is strong. If the computer gets a break away, most likely their going to score. The goalies are horrible at goaltending. You can make 30 shots on goal and maybe get 2 in, but the computer score's all the time. Graphics and commentary are good but that's about it. These programmers should talk to a hockey fan before making NHL 2k11.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wanted: Better AI Teammates

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 25, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

With the start of the NHL season, it's the perfect time for 2K Sports to unveil their latest NHL game: NHL 2K10.
It has some nice new features in it that most sports games tend to avoid; it gives you the ability to create and manage a roster, make (or refuse) deals with the AI and deal with the Salary Cap (darn it.)
You can also go online and go up against several other players, which is a nice touch.
If only the game controls were simpler to understand. Figuring out the right defensive maneuver can be tough; do I waggle the Wiimote, the Nunchuch, both? Do I hold down a button? Do I do both? Figuring out these controls will take several hours.
And while I was trying to do that, the AI was pounding me into the ground.
It would also help if I could get better defending teammates on my team. Far too often, the attacking team made a simple pass through the defender I'm controlling to another attacker, who one timed a shot into the goal - through one or more attackers and defenders.
Getting goals with the AI's help was tough, too. The attackers on my team just wouldn't set up properly for a well orgainized rush to the goal. The way I usually got a goal was simple: have one guy skate through the defense and blast it past a shot past the goalie. The teamwork was not on display at all.
If you can get other human players to help you on your team, then you'd better take them. They can be far easier to work with than the stiff, robotic AI.
NHL 2K10 was fun for me for the short run, but only the serious and the expertise hockey players should shell out $50 for it. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »