Rent NHL 13 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 13

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.7

705 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Hockey Game to Hit the Market Yet

posted by pommer299 (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NHL13 can be summed up as the culmination of everything that EA has been building over the past couple of years. From the introduction of better finessing with the puck, to expanded physics of hits and interaction with the puck, to now the realistic overhaul of how players move and specifically skate, it has all come together to make the best and most realistic hockey game I've ever played.

The addition of all of the game modes over the years such as Be a Pro, Be a GM, EASHL, and HUT have defined the overwhelming amount of options for players to choose from. Now they've added NHL Moments Live which is a very cool system allowing players to relive some of the best moments of the past and last season, and of this season if a lockout doesn't happen. Also with the addition of GM Connected, EA has virtually made a gigantic fantasy hockey league which up to 750 people can play in, and that alone is just mind blowing.

Between the much more realistic tone this game brings, the return of fan favorite game modes and the additions of new ones, and just the countless things to do both online and off, both co-op and competitive this is a game that will keep gamers busy for a long time, and anyone who is a hockey fan should absolutely love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Hockey game yet!

posted by hkymike (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Sep 10, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

NHL delivers a GREAT PUNCH OF HOCKEY! Unfortunately it might be the only hockey we get this year.....

This year they have added more of a hockey simulation feel to the game especially with the true performance skating. On defense don't expect to just automatically begin to start skating backwards right when you stop from going forward. The graphics have slightly been enhanced but not much different there. They added connected careers which is a blast when you get it started with friends. It s the ultimate GM mode online

With that said I have the early release hence why I am writing a review. This game gets a solid 9 out 10 and another hockey season starts!!! (HOPEFULLYYYYYYY!!!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is not hockey.

posted by baker3292 (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

The game does do a few things right. The skating can improve, you can actually snipe the goaltenders now without glitching, and the game isn't solely determined by hitting, but good solid D.

However, Im at a loss why 4 tic-tac-toe passes between Malkin and Crosby in front, yet still dont score...why professional NHL players cannot receive a pass or attempt a one-timer at ease, and why the poke checking mechanic is so perfect? My biggest pet peeve, how can a backchecking defenseman poke through my body and take the puck/and or bundle me by just barely bumping me from behind, like seriously??!

The EASHL, is a toally different demon. The overalls are so low I thought I was playing with a Adult League team...starting out at a 47? What?

This game continues to be in decline since 09, 3 straight games that have continuously dropped scores through IGN/Gameinformer. Something needs to change. Either get rid of those boneheads at EA making this garbage or allow 2K to license the hockey games.

5/10, I'd give it a 4 if Giroux wasnt on the cover.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Hockey game

posted by 2013 (BRONX, NY) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

`Best hockey game of all time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NHL 13: ANOTHER SUCCESS

posted by PistolPete5150 (BRISTOL, RI) Dec 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

NHL 13 IS ANOTHER IN THE LINE OF SUCCESSFUL HITS FROM EA. BEAUTIFUL GRAPHICS IMPROVED PHYSICS. THE ONE AND ONLY DRAWBACK IS THAT THE SKATING PHYSICS TO THE GAME CANT BE DUMBED DOWN (FROM WHAT I'VE BEEN ABLE TO SEE). SO IF YOUR LOOKING TO HAVE A CHECK FEST ITS NOT AS EASY AS BEFORE. STILL CAPABLE OF BIG NASTY HITS, JUST NOT AS EASY/FREQUENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by shelby2346 (BUFFALO, NY) Jun 5, 2013

Member since May 2013

it was ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nhl13

posted by hector101 (SAN JOSE, CA) May 17, 2013

Member since May 2013

wen is it coming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First NHL Game Experience

posted by master_yetti56 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This is the first time I ever picked up a hockey game, I love watching the games live, in the arena, and I happened to have the urge to play. Most of the time an EA title is played out, like madden, ncaa, or even the old NBA live games, but with this, I felt the presentation was excellent. It was on par with NBA 2K13, a series I have been buying in recent years because of the presentation and game mechanics. NHL 13 definitely is the more polished of games from EA, more so than Madden and NCAA. If you're a hockey fan and like to get involved with how a team is managed, I think this has the best of all sports games as far as a franchise mode/GM mode. Very detailed and allows you to go far into a players skill set and responsible pay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS GAME COULD USE MORE WORK

posted by STEVEO2012 (POCASSET, MA) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THIS GAME IM GONNA RETURN IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

review of nhl 13

posted by bubblebunny (LYNNFIELD, MA) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This is my first time using gamefly and it is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

beast game have to get it

posted by saints12345 (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

rating should be higher

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Physics Engine A Bit Off

posted by bryangarvin (AVON LAKE, OH) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Love the game. Lots of improvements from NHL10 (last one I picked up).

However, the hits engine is way off. You see guys flying across the ice, smashing head first into the boards, but getting up like nothing's wrong. I like the idea of sticks being broken or helmet's flying, but once they're on the ice, they have zero impact on the game. You can skate right through them without a delay.

That's the only negative I can add. I'm mainly a Create A Pro player, so I can't really comment on the rest of the game. Haven't touched it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

nothing like i expected

posted by rao122490 (BROCKTON, MA) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

i have been patiently waiting for this game to come out.. and im not saying its a bad game.. but it also isn't a great game.. I have owned every NHL game EA sports has offered since 92. before this came out i was playing nhl 10. and for some reason that was by far the best nhl game ever made..in nhl 13 the physics is cool, graphics hasn't changed since i dont even know when?.. gameplay is pretty slow. i understand they try to make it as realistic as possible but its still a video game and the gameplay should still be quick and fun. i like the game overall. I was just hoping for a bigger upgrade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NHL 13

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

It was to hard for me to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than nhl 12

posted by lezBreal (FREMONT, CA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

the main reason why i liked it better than nhl 12 is because the camera angles dont really cut off your player. its a great game in my eye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What happened to you EA NHL you used to be cool

posted by kernelikon (SOUTH ELGIN, IL) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

I don't know what happened with this latest version of NHL but it's just horrible. I have purchased and played every year since 09, and i have excused some of the glitches and minor AI issues. This year takes the cake, i'm glad i didn't buy because this game is just terrible. the one mode i enjoy BAP (offline) is unplayable buggy, the physics engine really needs some work and refining, the game plays sluggish, and a lot of the time the SIM functions just don't work at all. I played mostly in goalie and Defense and though i do like that the poke check does something i shouldn't be checked from behind by a forward and almost do a back flip from the hit.

What happened EA, i understand new features but at the expense of functionality and game play. shame on you.

Maybe the other game modes work but if you are a BAP player, skip this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another great hockey game

posted by CBT (NAPLES, FL) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Great game, I have alot of fun with this one. I haven't had a hockey game since NHL 11. Exactly what I expect from a hockey game. Downside no hockey this year, so no updates, which is the only downside, but if you need your hockey fill because NHL lockout continues then this will help out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NHL 13 wooo but...

posted by arc (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

their are some problems the controls are really compucated and its boring really the only good there is are the fights and when you score otherwise no i dont see anything good about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL 13 Review

posted by nico925 (CRANSTON, RI) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Best game ever!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NHL, love and hate

posted by blackhawk1290 (LAKE GROVE, NY) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Maybe its just me and my friends but we currently have a love hate relationship with this game. The online features are great and being able to be in the locker room with a bunch of your friends before a game is funny. However, the amount of trash goals that get past the goalie are a joke. I understand its a video game but it seems like they have taken a step backwards on goalie play compared to this games predecessor. Over all Im glad i have game fly and did not waste money on this, game could be worse but it could also be much much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game.

posted by jsnkase (WILDWOOD, NJ) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Controls took some getting used to but once that is mastered Game On! Graphics are great.EA stinks for the online pass p++p but screw it I pone-ed up the loot..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by skibumma70 (ORANGE, MA) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This is my first hockey game I have ever purchased, and wow, it is a fun game. Smooth gameplay, good AI, real fun online play against others. True performance skaing, GM connected game place, and NHL moments live (barring a lockout) seems to be real cool. Outstanding graphics, and backwards controllable skating - which I have never seen before. This is the ultimate hockey video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »