Rent NHL 12 for PS3
view large frontback

NHL 12

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.8

940 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Oh what might have been....

posted by MrSilverNBlack (TACOMA, WA) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I could be sitting here typing about the best sports game since 2K lost the rights to the NFL....Most times I have problems with trying to get the to a happy medium without the computer or myself blowing the other one away every game.... took about 20 min here...The Winter Classic looks great! The trades and free agency in GM mode is the most realistic of any sports game I have played to date....This would get a higher score if it didnt fail in a couple of areas......The first time I got this game my PS3 wouldnt even read it as a game, I mean nothing happened!!! Afetr I got a different copy I was finally able to play...until I wanted to load my GM mode save and it got 100% and crashed....I would have to start the whole game over about 3 times on average to get it to work...then when I did the load times are S----L-----O----W to sim just the regular season it would take about an hour and a half, and to walk away and let it do its thing is to let the puter control your roster, and that dont work for me, even with these issues the game itself is still good enough for an 8 which is a very good score for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EA Hockey 2012-More of the Same

posted by abb1971 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are excellent and it is neat being able to play against Gretzsky, Lemieux, Howe and Roy. I wish they had more players like Orr,Park, Parent, LaFluer, Esposito, Hull and Potvin. The game is only fair because the artificial intelligence is not very good. When penalty killing, the fowards or defensemen do not form a box. Seems like the defensive players are running around the ice without guarding other players. The game controlled team passing is too perfect. I was playing the Penguins and Crosby was skating slugishly. It did not feel like I was using a great player. The game control players seem to be in better position. You need to keep switching players to move each into position. EA Sports has always had a AI problem with this game. I have played EA Sports Hockey on the PC from 2002 and on PC2 2006, and those games had similar problems. I am glad that I only rented this, as it is not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great hockey game

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
This is the best hockey game on the market. The new physics engine is noticeable. However, still not enough changes to justify upgrading from NHL 11 for me (at least until it drops in price).

Pros
===================
1) great game play & tight controls
2) the new physics engine and jockying in front of the net is good

Cons
===================
1) Still too similar to NHL 11 (maybe worth upgrading from NHL 10)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by Linkshrink (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Love it, love it, love it. The hitting system is better than ever. No more being knocked down on a really cheap hit. Sometimes when you charge someone and hit them on the boards, you end up falling down and the other guy goes scott free. Found that pretty funny. Only downside of renting it from here is not having the online pass code and really the only reason I got NHL 12 was so I could play EASHL with my friend who's buying it in a week or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NHL 12

posted by PhilaSportsPhan (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I enjoy the game execpt for a few reasons. When I started my season play, I simulated the days off in between every game. When I got to the 2nd week of the season and simulated the off days, the game froze on me. The same thing happened when I started in Frachise Mode. The only time it didn't happen was when played Be A Pro mode. All in all, the in-game experience is great and my rating would be higher if the game wouldn't keep freezing on me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sick! (the good kind by the way)

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Sep 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I for one, am a major hockey fan (LETS GO CAPS!) so i HAVE to have every single NHL game that comes out every year. NHL 11 actually didn't please me much because i wasn't very familiar with the chance in controls, but NHL 12 was okay i guess.

Controls/Graphics: GRAPHICS ARE AMAZING! Haha, really they are awesome. I didn't see any glitches or framenate issues, so a 10 for graphics! Controls are awkward at first if your not used to that type of control scheme, but this game had an easy learning curve.

Awesome game. Definitly check out if your a hockey/sports fan. And if your a Caps fan... please put LETS GO CAPS on your review to show support :D

:food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NHL 12

posted by carterbuzz (CEDAR FALLS, IA) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

One of EA's worst games in recent years. It is very unpolished. Game play itself is pretty good, the new physics engine is pretty good. Finally being able to battle in front of the net, as well as have pucks deflect instead of just dying is pretty cool. The game freezes all the time, making it almost unplayable. In playing this game for 2 days it has already froze more than all other games together. Also taking almost a minute to load be a gm mode is ridiculous. They also dropped the ball on lots of commentating. They came could've been great, but instead it seems like they rushed it out and are ending up with a lot of dissapointed gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waiting for a different company....

posted by Bund (MAYPORT, PA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Every year this EA release is garbage. Thanks to everyone that buys EA sports titles. There are now no good hockey games on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Still alot of problems

posted by jcagni (DENVER, CO) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game play is essentially the same as NHL 11, so it's solid. Unfortunately alot of the glitches are the same as NHL 11 also. The issues with boost slots not unlocking in Be A Pro is still there. The HUT server disconnects constantly, and awards you a loss every time it does. And the online mode still features the glitchers and exploiters who take that same shot over and over all game long. The addition of the Legends players is a nice add-on but not really worth it if you have last years version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Monopoly

posted by tednmu1 (HENDERSON, NV) Oct 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Why is there a monopoly for hockey video games? I hate EA sports so much. they have ruined hockey video games .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

do i need to purchase an online pass code

posted by depechemoz (PICO RIVERA, CA) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

if i just rented it ? i plan on bying it anyways

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nhl 12

posted by 187XOpTicZ (HUNTERSVILLE, NC) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

all i can say its a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not realistic

posted by Trixye (ARDMORE, OK) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

TOTALLY different than last years game. My fiance and I could totally wipe the ice last year. This year we can hardly win a game. They continuously knock us down and take the puck, without getting a penalty. Yet, when we do it a penalty is called. The goaling system is MUCH more sensitive. Last year I scored goal after goal. This year if you have it all the way to the corner of your controller you may just miss that shot. When you are going down the ice fast and using both control sticks to move it's a lot harder to get that aim just so, just a tad bit from the corner when I shoot isn't an easy task. I do love that the goal can be knocked out of place like it could in a real game and those types of adjustments, but this year just didn't do it for me. Hoping next year is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL 12

posted by halloween84 (SMITHFIELD, PA) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I just thought i would give this game a 10 because the franchise has gotten so much better over the years and its really cool to be able to check players over the bench

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Freeze Issue

posted by musingmike (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I love hockey, but this is the first time i've actually got the game though. I figured i'd give it a try since I have gamefly. Only issue is I can never get through a single game because it freezes every time. I'm apparently not the only one with the issue. This game itself is simply flawed. Surprised a lawsuit wouldn't come out of this bogus product being on the market. Don't get it. Just wait for NHL 13 and cross you fingers that it won't have the same problem

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by CantDestroyPS3 (CLIFTON, NJ) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is a must have! Loved the previous versions and they just keep getting better! Great singleplayer, multiplayer, and online gameplay! Keeps you entertained for a while. I give this game a 10! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by Ncristella (MERIDIAN, ID) Jun 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

The game is comprehensive and fun. The graphics are awesome and the play-motion is excellent. While there are a ton of features, online gameplay and playoff mode are the best.

One of the best sports games o the year.

There isn't much to say really, its truly impressive and I look forward to seeing some of the small improvements in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Have to pay to play online if you rent

posted by Jp1 (SANTA ANA, CA) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Game is cool as far as game play and graphics but if plan on renting this game to play your buddie online then your wasting your time unless you pay EA to play online. If you buy the game it comes with a code that you can enter so that you wont have to pay to play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't get

posted by tszmyrko (ENDICOTT, NY) May 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game will freeze every time you try to load a gm or legend mode or any save, there is no fix unless you feel like wasting 10 minutes every time you try to load.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EA Sports = Hockey Kings.

posted by AllLost (BRADENTON, FL) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

NHL 12 is one of the best sports games I have played. I personally enjoy any kind of 'be a pro' mode for any sport and this one does not disappoint. I would like a bit more customization though with game time and what not, but other than that the game is one to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

easy

posted by kyle82 (BARTLETT, IL) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

easy game tp beat i dont watch nhl hockey but i like playing the games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NHL 12

posted by pels1972 (ALCOA, TN) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

NHL 12 is a great game, except it kept freezing up on me. I haven't played a game in the NHL series in awhile, and it froze on me then too... which is why I think I stopped playing the NHL franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could have been better

posted by briss264 (STAMFORD, CT) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Thought the newer controls limited creative moves with puck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worthless game

posted by Fluffy (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

I got EA Sports NHL 12 for the PS3, hoping for an enjoyable hockey experience. While I appreciate the improvements they made, and the concepts that were put into place in this game, I elected to give it a 1 because that's all it deserves.

The game freezes. Play a game, and it freezes. Load a save and it freezes. Pause the game, and it freezes. LOOK at the TV screen the wrong way and it freezes. After attempting to play through something along the lines of 40 games, and having it freeze on me for half of those games or more AS WELL AS half the times I have attempted to load my save, I have concluded that this is a worthless title not deserving the time of day.

If the freezing issue were fixed, it would be an EXCELLENT sports game. The various modes have depth to them for a sports game, and the gameplay is well balanced. However, there's no update that's fixed this, and considering the game has been out for 6 months now, the developers are surely aware of it and don't care.

Don't waste your time, money, or efforts. Play something that isn't developed by EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by beantown85 (BROCKTON, MA) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

I have played the previous 3 NHL games and they kept improving and this one is no different. It's got an edge on NHL 11 on the smoothness of the gameplay, the graphics got a bump and there are some extras in the game. I also think that they did a good job with the selection of the music. Can't give it a perfect 10 just because the online play can be laggy and it still doesn't allow you to continue the game if you play a coward who leaves the game early.

As far as the off-line play though, it's amazing and I have no clue why anybody wouldn't give it a score of 8 at the very least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse