Rent NHL 12 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 12

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.1

1422 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENT GAME

posted by gamesplaya (SPRING, TX) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the most fun I had with a hockey game since NHL HITZ 2002. If you like hockey than you'll love this game. It's a little hard to start a fight,but I did do it a few times. Rent or own, it is worth it. PERFECT 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the greatest hockey games you can ever play

posted by xmengame82 (BRUNSWICK, ME) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well to start i got this game 4 days after buying nhl 11, i had a chance to practice the controls (right stick movement is the deke and shots along with checking) and get ready for the new game,i got my hands on NHL 12 and from the beginning it didn't disappoint, the game opens with the winter classic penguins vs the capitals and wow the graphics and system got an upgrade! after starting my be a pro career i had a chance to notice a few things,1- the battles in front of the net are better(you have to fight to stay in front of the net and the players size and strength matter) and 2- the game lets you skip ahead to your next shift instead of having to watch the whole game like the past versions(making a be a pro season finish-able in less than a month). the other game modes got slightly better but i won't lie the game like any other hockey/sports game has it's flaws not many like the computer trading during the season(they offer such weird trades and send star players down to the farm team for no reason). if your a stat cruncher then your going to love this game they updated the be a pro progression and added easy menu use,last but not least the legends, wow you have to unlock them one by one but they are great,Gordie Howe plays with no helmet,the great one has the trademark style and all the others,as a bonus when you tie or break a record you get a video clip with Gretzky talking about the record and other peoples records great stuff,plain and simple if your a hockey fan rent this game you will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NHL 12

posted by BamaBoy88 (PETERSON, AL) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game and I say if you are even slightly a fan of the NHL you should definitely check this game out. I guarantee you that you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Would be Perfect 10/10 but....

posted by Drummechanic (LEESBURG, VA) Sep 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

once again...EA fail at evening the playing field between CPU teammates & Opponent AI...
i love the game..great graphics,the new animations look really good,the be a legend mode is a nice addition,Be a Pro mode is even better with being able to start as a teenager.. and not to glitchy at all for a first go around with "Live" goalies..the collisions looks pretty good.

but with every sports game ive played from EA in the past few years (Fifa,Madden,NHL,etc) its always the lack of skill that your teammates have and the amazing flawlessness of the computer opposition..no matter the team,no matter the player. It always seems like the team u play against is "god like" EG: NHL 12 in BAP mode,you'll notice that every pass you or your team plays across the ice or that isnt a "direct" pass to a teammate 2 feet away results in turnover...but watch the CPU..passes all day long across ice..between 3 defenders..truly takes away from an otherwise amazing game..if EA could simply adapt a way they can make your Computer AI teammates & Opponent AI players play the same..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by joeyx31x (NOTTINGHAM, PA) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Don't listen to the negative reviews there mad because the computer is a lot more difficult and its tough to score.This is a very realistic game i have enjoyed every minute of play.The controls are fine i didn't have a single issue.Be a pro mode is fun,also ultimate team is great.All in all i would strongly recomend this game I have played the last 5 years and this is by far the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by clarion699 (MANTON, MI) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I get a kick out of the people that are giving this game bad reviews. The reason the computer scores in the 3rd period when you are winning is because your AI has relax with the lead and the CPU capitalized by scoring a desperation goal.

I think that this game is above and beyond last years edition. It now feels like you are part of an actual team playing a real game.

Dont play this game if you expect to win every game you play against the computer. Its improved AI is spectular. The goalie animations and contact are a definite plus.

I recommend this game for any sports fan. Give it a try and you wont be disappointed unless you are a cry baby that can't stand to lose a game or two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL12

posted by Talentz (READING, PA) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a good game,basically never thought A game could be so realalistic...on a 1-100 100 good graphics,it makes me feel like i am in the game or a fan watching the game live

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game

posted by Sjsharks24 (FREMONT, CA) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's funny how I read the reviews and the people are complaining that its clunky and now goalies have to do their own work and ETC... It's supposed to be realistic? Your complaining for the stupid reasons.. This game is amazing to say the least. The controls are the same, unless your a first time player I don't see why you would complain. The game got 22 awards for a reason.. This game is awesome!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Way to take a fun game and over complicate it

posted by L33tVoltron (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I remember when I used to love to play NHL on my consoles. When you had buttons to hit to do things. This game has the most overcomplicated controls I have ever seen. I played it for 20 min and quit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1 man show!

posted by tmeyers314 (FENTON, MO) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Prepare to feel as if you're playing a one man team. At all times of the game you feel like you have to make every poke check, block every shot, and recover every puck on your own. Everything that last years game included feels like its lost. Great graphics, great game play, and everything feels authentic. Your teams A.I. is the equivalent of 4 mentally challenged children scrambling for a puck that doesn't exist. Pucks bounce off their face mask and they can't recover, but it is the best looking sport game to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth it

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

If you played last years version then you already played this one. Except for one thing, goaltenders are not as good, you don't auto block anymore. The controls feel clunky and this isn't just you move slow or something. You on occassion don't move, not to mention they altered the control scheme and it doesn't actually work better than any other versions.

Honestly, this game feels worse than last years and that one had problems. Graphically pick any NHL game from the last four years and you got this one. So let's move on to the things they really screwed over. When you just create a pro, you start out as Lexi Peterson. You can't adjust it while creating your pro, you instead have to quit creating a pro then edit your pro, seperate section in that part.

Annoying not a big deal, moving on to really bad, this game practically locked up when I first put it in. I actually thought the game froze completely. It was loading for a good two minutes from it saying it auto saves and pressing to move on to it getting to the opening movie. After opening movie, I'm playing a game. Yeah, I'm playing a game, you don't get to pick what you're doing, you are literally shoved into a game with the preset settings.

Unless you didn't realize it, this game plays clunky, unless you already bought it or are going to anyway, don't touch it. Except for fanboys or just have to get the latest hockey game it's not worth renting or buying. Another EA we care about games but can't make them offering.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game sucks

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 19 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

The consistency of this game sucks......you can dominate one second and then suddenly none of your passes go in the direction you aim. One timers is a joke and I have never seen suck ridiculous goals scored by the computer. If you are kicking the computers butt you can bet on at least 1 goal scored against you that is stupid...usually in the 3rd people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING GAME

posted by hockeyjunkie52 (DALLAS, TX) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Great graphics, great gameplay, lots of fun game modes, very good overall. I have nothing bad to say about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ok Pretty good but......

posted by eagles98 (WINNEMUCCA, NV) Aug 16, 2012

Member since May 2011

Ok pretty good but not as good as NHL10 or NHL11 for some reason IDK why though its killin me why do not know

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

U CAN FIGHT THE GOLIE!

posted by TheKila5 (OCALA, FL) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

honestly other than the great game graphics and game play you finely fight the goalie im sorry but i always wanted to fight him lol great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NHL12 - SBM Review

posted by smallbutmighty (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Rated on 0 - 10 scale

Graphics - 6
Gameplay - 6
Presentation - 7
Overall - A fun on ice experience, but the commentary is some of the worst in the sports gaming genre. Fans and enthusiasts will have a blast. Jourymen hockey-goers are better renting or waiting until the next release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game didn't work

posted by InkdxSicilian (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

when i got the game in the mail i was so excited to get it into my xbox and it was unable to be read so as for as a review on game play i can't give one.... ill get back to ya on that one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great Game

posted by JDM72058 (CONWAY, AR) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

I am from the south so my exposure to Hockey is minimal at best, but that being said I really enjoyd how this game played!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rent it, you'll buy though, YEAH, that good

posted by Sn1peTs (ASHBURN, VA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

let me start off by saying that I've played every nhl game since nhl 07, and this one is by FAR the best! The ability to create your own player and best that of the great one, or play as the great one, messier, chelios, lemieux, yzerman, and patrick roy. Even if you rent this game, you'll definetly buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If You're bit by the Hockey Bug

posted by metalmaniac1980 (HEBRON, IN) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This is a great game to play. EA almost has the game to perfection. I hope that they release these games every other year to fix games and give them longevity, because with roster updates who needs anything more? game modes are engaging and fun, online though if you didnt start playing when the game was first out, you're in for a lot of frustrations. Visually game is great, sounds are great, fighting and intimidating is fun, announcing is as usual with Clement and Thorne. I'd recommend this game to anyone who enjoys hockey and gets the Hockey bug.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AI is bad

posted by asylum247 (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

You and your EASHL team work had and control the entire game. Then, in the last 10 - 5 min in the game any AI players on your team will continue to turn the puck over in an attempt to allow the other team to come back. They will not pass to you with a quality pass even if you do not call for the pass, but passes between AI are crisp and quick. The AI will hardly ever carry the puck into the offensive zone, even if there is nobody around them. This causes you to go offsides because you are skating with them and then they pass back to the defense right at the blue line;or, they will dump the puck every time. there is no way to improve the AI.

Another issue, once again, your team controls an entire game (out shooting 35-12), and the other players just need to throw a "glitch" goal and score. "toe drag", "flip puck", the AI goalie takes bad angles and comes out too far of the net on plays it should not. Only way to defend against these shooters is to stand in between 1 & 2 o-clock spot of the rights side circle and between 10 & 11 o-clock spot of the left circle.

The root cause for this failure could be related to the "NBA Live Project". In 09, EA brought a former Hockey player that has spent his post-hockey career working for game developers. He reinvented the NHL franchise, and doing so put ea at the top of hockey games. The minds at EA felt he could do the same for the NBA franchise, so they put him on that project. The effect was the NBA project was scrapped and NHL 12 was produced without his full involvement. The basic code was there, however, without knowledge of "real" hockey, the developers fumbled the basics of the game. Now they have to go back the fundementals as if they are rebuilding the franchise once again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a fan

posted by nickcoffin (SAN JACINTO, CA) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I always played these NHL games from EA differently than most. First thing I would do is start a season, then head over to the game settings. I then would proceed to turn off all rules and crank up all the effects. Game speed, player speed, no fatigue, player speed, check power etc.

I did all this essentially to turn it into an arcade game. In this game even with all these settings it still managed to feel like a simulation, just not a very good one.

Me and my brother loved playing the NHL series like this, but unfortunately this one just isn't suited for our arcade style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eehhh

posted by BarDownMarine (FALLBROOK, CA) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Average game with the same feeling as NHL 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great!!!

posted by cllloyd12 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

the gm mode was addicting, but the be a nhl player mode could use some work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Co-op Fail

posted by Kajunnico (JACKSON, LA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Only reason I wanted this one was a friend and I were hoping to play a season together online against the AI. Our only option though was an unranked exhibition match in which almost none of the settings (auto/manual passing, for one) were available for changing. If we wanted to use our created players, it would fill out the team with generic nobodies. AI learning ensures that your opponents are pros and your teammates are morons. It's almost impossible to even break an opponent's stride once he has the puck, yet the wind from a passing opponent can cause you to lose all coordination. Gave it an average score because it's still pretty to look at and plays decently enough, if you don't mind going solo. I can only hope in vain that one day EA will realize that sometimes gamers do actually have friends (albeit the kind that are a little past the age of sleepovers), and they will put a little more effort into the co-op modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse