Rent NHL 11 for PS3
view large frontback

NHL 11

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

1389 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's hockey

posted by gsize19 (MORROW, OH) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I own this game, and figured I can add a tidbit for those who are looking to rent.

Great, GREAT game!!! Especially to avid hockey fans like myself. The biggest selling point to hockey over the last few years with EA games is the EASHL. There is no competition anymore from 2K, which is disappointing, but for once, EA listened to us gamers who contribute on their forums and gave us a full hockey experience without goofy camo helmets and gloves.

The EASHL is a mode where you create a player (personally I enjoy creating myself, but other create unlikely hockey players with fake names). You can either join a team (which my team has been togther for 3 years) or you can suit up and play on the fly in Online Team Play (granted you need the online pass). Beware of glitchers, that is the only disheartening thing about the game, guys with Xx xX on either side of their name are notorius glitchers, and can score with 50% accuracy which ruins the game for some, we just avoid this players and teams.

Then there is a monthly playoff, where you can try to be one of the elite (our team is a top 100 team every month), so good luck with that, it takes time to build your player and teamwork with the other players on your team. You must know the game and your roles.

It is a great game for the hockey fan, and even the casual fan looking for fun without online, the versus mode, or BeA GM is WELL DONE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by baseballmv (MANHATTAN BEACH, CA) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was good except for the fact that YOU have to PAY FOR ONLINE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Caught Off Guard

posted by Seahawkboy (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have long been a fan the Maddens, Call of Duties and NHLs, but over time have grown very wary about buying the new updated version of these types of games. It seems like now all that these game developers due is put a shiny coat of paint over last year's edition.

Yet, it took me only an hour to make up my mind about NHL 11. I'm keeping it. EA Sports has done something right with this version of the NHL saga. The combination of Toews on the cover (hehe), the brand new faceoff system, updated attribute areas, a much needed passing and hitting system update, the return off customized celebrations as well as minor updates in the various modes (oh and not to mention a few surprises pertaining to player types), EA has definitely delivered! This is the best game EA has brought in recent years. A must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply Said

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is great...and I dont even play hockey games, couldn't even pick any player in the NHL in a police lineup...but this game does a good job at teaching you how to play, with practices and tutorials...havent got into all the GM,BAP modes yet but after tweaking a little bit and the ability to tweak every part of the game this is a must try, especially if your into sport games Madden, NCAA, MLB, FIFA, NBA2k

This is a good mark so far for EA, after hitting a hail mary with NCAA but fumbling Madden...sort of makes me have some hope for NBA LIVE/ELITE

Sorry to all the renters out there but I am giving Gamefly 47 bucks and keeping this copy!

I gave this rental a 9 only because EA charges you 10 bucks to play online...sorry but you have to lose a point for that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very, very good

posted by Bl4ck3n3d (ARMAGH, PA) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is a nice upgrade from NHL 10. Hockey Ultimate Team (HUT) mode is really fun with a little micro-management but not too much. GM mode is improved somewhat, as is Be a Pro mode. It is clear they spent most of their time with the HUT mode but, they did add enough improvements to the other modes to make them more fun than NHL10, which is saying a lot because I love that game.

There are other features like hip checks, broken sticks, and improved face offs that make game play on the ice improved. Also graphically it is really, really nice.

The only con I have is that they have slowed down the speed of the game. It is not a major con as it allows for more time to do fancy moves but, I do miss the speed of NHL10 some. Not enough to go back to it but, enough to write about it here.

Overall a solid 9/10. Would have been a 10/10 if they didn't slow the game down on the ice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great improvement!

posted by GameRev4u (ALPHARETTA, GA) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

EA keeps getting better ideas for their games. NHL 11 blew me away. NHL I thought was a little bit too much like NHL 09, but NHL 11 has made a lot of improvements. I am not the biggest hockey fan, but this franchise is one of my favorites next to EA's NCAA Football games. This game is recommended to all sports gamer's what so ever. Even if you don't like hockey this game is a must have.

GameRev4u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A step in the wrong direction

posted by bigweeso (MANTUA, NJ) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I usually love EA's hockey games. I don't love this one. The controls are sloppy, the controls feel delayed, a TON of weak goals are scored, and goalies do an awful job of covering the puck. The human team's AI is also poor. The computer controlled team has great spacing on offense and moves the puck like an actual NHL team. The human team's computer controlled players stay very close to each other, and skate away from loose pucks. The best thing about this game is that it will make the price of last year's game go down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better Then 10?

posted by Blahhhhhh (BUFFALO, NY) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Absalutly! Just all around I"ts Improved In every area buy It. It Is worth It.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth Checking out...

posted by MauiRocks (Lahaina, HI) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

A little slower then '10, but then you get to set ups plays better. Thats cool. I also like the dropped stick, broken stick addition, makes it more interesting. I have also had some goals disallowed. For high stick, and kicking it in. That's new. Really fun game. The only add on I can see coming next is players losing helmets and gloves. Maybe I just need to work on my ckecking skills. We'll see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good ol hockey game

posted by gwalaski (MILLS, PA) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

was pretty impressed with this game. graphics were great and game play was pretty good to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NHL COPY DIDNT WORK!!!!

posted by StrongZZZ (VINTON, VA) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The copy that I recived did not work at all!!! I had to send the game back as soon as I got the game!!! It sucked because I was wanting to play the game!!! Gamefly is starting to upset me badly. This isnt the only time they have done this BS!!!!! And no, it wasnt the system!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game!

posted by wiiwiiwii1 (OROVILLE, CA) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Great game... the last hockey game that I has was on the first playstation... fun, i thought it couldn't get any better.
This is the definition of awesome. great carrer, broken sticks, awesome fights, great graphics, all around great! my only two complaints are, 1 the controls seem strangely blocky and hard... 2 after the play everyone and his brother is checkin' me!

great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can this game get any better!!!!!

posted by rich6166 (SANFORD, NC) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Well on youtube I have seen gameplays on it and be a pro mode finnaly you can name your person on thats good even new gear and you can even tell how tall you are,birthdate even your face but theres nothing new on that which sucks.Also on it you have CHL,OHL,WCHL.Its amazing how its graphics its better also better faceoff system on it and arenas so this game is 100% better than nhl 10.

THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER TRY IT PLEASE.....even i don't have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pro and season

posted by yankees1318 (ASHBURNHAM, MA) May 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

the pro part where that is a career but also the thing that was not so good was how many games they play in there career till they retire like one person has 60 games till they retire i played a couple of times on pro [career] but i also played season with my brother he won most of the time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NHL11 PS3

posted by BOSSMAN24 (VALRICO, FL) May 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

If you are even the slightest fan of hockey at all... this game is a must rent. Very fun, addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great upgrade

posted by Machineguncam (NEWTON, NC) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

I never played nhl 10, but I did play nhl 09, and still do. When I rented this I was amazed about how most of the stuff is different. Nhl 11 added better fights, better graphics, updated teams, a new game mode, and some new controls. The gameplay is much better, and this is the only game where I actually enjoying "playing now". I even like playing as a pro much more than on Nhl 09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by dolfan64 (BLOOMINGTON, IN) May 26, 2011

Member since May 2011

Definitely captures the true essence of hockey. For true hockey enthusiasts. Unfortunately, I played all 82 games in the regular season and was the number one seed in the playoffs but lost to the Lightening in the first round. GM mode is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NHL 11

posted by zman123 (VINELAND, NJ) Apr 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

The game is very good but to me it gets boring very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game, no AHL bug like last year!

posted by BBruin66 (BUCKSPORT, ME) Mar 3, 2011

Member since May 2010

Online pass sucks, but you can play all game modes without it, it's only their for online play. I mostly play be a GM, so here's my thoughts

Needs to improve...

Commentary, same old same old

Jerseys, still no Bruins Winter classic jersey, some jerseys you need to unlock with online code.

Goalies, often will pop rebounds up over there heads and it will land on them!? I see this once a year in real hockey at most. Fix it EA.

Fighting, better, but needs to be improved to be realistic.

Stats, PC NHL used to have a feature where you could look back on any game you played that seasons and see a box score. Here you can only see the final score. No other stats at all. Player stats are totaled throughout the season though.

Trades, could be a little better done, Teams just reject trades and rarely offer alternatives. Real NHL they'd at least throw a counter offer even if it is overpriced. Bartering just doesn't happen here, all the GM will tell you is, how close you are, not what he wants from you.

Line Brawl, not really a gripe here but it would be nice to see this feature added although the league might be against it. You can nearly kill a star player with a goon, and nothing will happen. Real NHL there'd be consequences (see NYI vs PIT for an example) at least have the star players goon come out and challenge the hitter next shift, adds some depth to the game.

Menus, could be a little better organized, the color scheme makes them hard to see. Not impossible to use, but could be a little more fluid/ visually helpful.

Breakaways, non-shoot out AI breakaways are usually complete failures. The player will push the puck out in front of them as to build up speed, but often times can't catch up with it in time to make a solid deke. He'll push it to far to the side of the net, and only have space to shoot (as the D is too close to curve back to the front of the net) or sometimes he'll even push it into the goalie.

All in all rent/ buy this game if you are a hockey fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Legendary3 (JOHNSTOWN, NY) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

EA has done a good job with this game. I played alot of the NHL games EA has made over the years. They did alot of new things to make this seem more realistic. Great new hitting engine, better one on one dekes, and new HUD look. The only thing I disliked about this game was the new EA Sports Hockey League... Instead of having a 2 groups of friends playing at the same time you have to wait till one group is done to play a club game. But after all the changes, it wasn't that big of a deal to me. I suggest people who never tried playing a NHL game or is a hardcore NHL fan to try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

EA online pass?

posted by panner724 (HERMINIE, PA) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

Wow dont plan on keeping this game for more than 7 days after you start your 7day pass. Because in order to play online and most other content like franchise play you need an EA PASS that you only get by buying the game NEW and gamefly does not give you one. You can buy on but at the price of 10$ to play online? this it outrageous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a bad game

posted by scott2005 (BEATRICE, NE) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Playability was very good... my only problem is the face that online play, the fact that you cant unless you buy a EA online package... But outer than that it was a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hmmmmm, this is hockey?

posted by wngdweeler (ALLEN PARK, MI) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

not sure where all the great reviews actually come from, maybe the games a.i. writes reviews?

gameplay is extremely frustrating much like maddens "magnetic" style, you mysteriously lose control of your player around the puck and your teamates skate away from loose pucks and initiate no contact or offer any assistance to you. basically they just follow you and do nothing to advance the offense or defense.

because of a recurring game flaw with puck control, we actually gave up trying to play and just counted how many checks we could line up without actually getting control of the puck. we counted 7, again like maddens db's, the puck travels straight to the defense and they maintain control much better than you can. i have been playing digital hockey since the sega days and while this game is beautiful and improved over the years, this is not hockey. maybe next year?

p.s. while i could spend hours tinkering and tweaking the many sliders and levels of play, this game is unbalanced no matter what.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Coooolll

posted by CXB552 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game is off the hook!! This game is so realistic and you really have to work for your goals. Although i'm pretty upset on the fights. You just stand there and punch him and you dont get to finish your opponent. =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse