Rent NHL 11 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 11

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.0

2019 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nhl11

posted by OmniBlast (SOMERDALE, NJ) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NHL 11 is the Riz-dam-shizzle. Very realistic. Play a lot and you'll see lots of added features but of course you have to play to see them all. Gameplay is amazing. The best yet. Goals feel better to score and I almost sense myself working to win, as opposed to just playing. Graphics aren' t much different, but not any different than 10, so they are still great. Hits are more on point than ever, dekes are fine tuned, and the game is straight up hockey. There is no arcade feel to this years installment as others may have felt. Play this game, it's the best sports game this year... Once again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best nhl ever

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Sep 7, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ive been an avid fan pf nhl ever since nhl 07 came out and introduced the skill stick to hockey video games...nhl is the only game that keeps me entertained year round, and 11 is way way better than 10...board play has been fixed, the new faceoff system is fun, you can shoot right off faceoffs or struggle for the puck. The passig feels fresh, witth a soft pass when u click the trigger, but if u hold it sown longer the pass is harder. The graphics are def top notch and everything has been improved dramatically. Franchise and be a pro are kind of the same but ultimate team is so much fun. The commentary and presentation are awesome and this is definitely the best ea sports game hands down. Broken sticks are cool but happen way to much, and sometimes the goalies are really dumb, but still playing is game with a friend is a blast and a must own for any avid hockey fan or for anyone looking for an amazing sports game
Online pass required...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best hockey game

posted by xCrAz3 (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

great overall hockey game. much more improved then NHL 10. The graphics are outstandining. Intense gameplay, and if you love hockey games i would totally recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Waiting

posted by gr3ygoos3 (AVON, CO) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting to get this game for 4 months and it STILL says low availability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pay to use the online content?!? R U kidding me?

posted by tx0labman (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Whoa... enough is enough. Now EA wants me to pay to use their online content? I already pay Microsoft for XbOX live and I already pay to rent/buy the game... no way am I paying an online content charge. The game is good.. a bit complicated at first, but still good. Forget it.. the online extra charge just burns me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ea needs to watch a full season of hockey

posted by knightofdr (BUFFALO, NY) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

first graphic are great. music actual music you would hear at a hockey game. but controls suck passing is horrible i mean just bad i mean come on passing was never a problem in pervious games so why screw with it. checking is worse i created a defensiveman that couldnt hit its just sad nhl 10 wasnt to happy with but. aleast the controls where easy to use now it seems like ea dont care about the hockey francise. last 2 years games just go down hill maybe if ea would watch a full season of hockey then they would make a decent game again but until then i will stick with nhl 09 or try 2k hockey. i keep seeing perfect 10 on this game really believe these people work for ea. i give a 5 but just rent it and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's not hockey.

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 15, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I am not kidding, this game looks great sounds great, the conrols are great. Passing not very good, the camera doesn't show much of the ice so your passing to whatever way more often than to someone.

Be a pro mode works fine, the controls are working perfectly well. Passing still doens't work in that so it's not a problem with the game beyond the field of view is to small and I don't know if there is a passing icon feature.

The problem lies in the gameplay of the computer, when you make a forward you literally take all of the shots, in one game as a winger I had eleven shots, there were twelve for the game. As a goaltender you see maybe eight shots the whole game. This is playing for five minute periods, it might work better if you play ten or even twenty minute periods. The problem lies in EA not coding worth anything. Hockey is sometimes fast and usually slow passing around to work for an opening and get a shot.

With five minute periods, that works out to about fifteen minutes of the period doing nothing but passing it around. You watch it going on and wonder when anyone will do something. As a goaltender in be a pro mode, you face one shot a period maybe. There were two straight periods facing no shots for me. This is not hockey this is not fun and if you have half an hour to play a game, you are better off playing something else.

Don't buy don't rent. EA needs to learn how to actually make a good fun game for everyone before you buy from them again. It migt be fun multiplayer though probably not unless you play longer periods. Any other way to play is pointless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same.

posted by RddotB (ADEL, GA) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I came in expecting to have a great experience but left with the more of the same feeling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating passing turned me off

posted by malenko (LAKE MARY, FL) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game is much improved over the past few years and I really wanted to love it, but I just couldn't mostly due to the horrible passing controls. Your teammates can be standing right to the side of you, you go to pass over to him, and it will pass it down out of the zone. I don't know, maybe my controller's stick is just getting old and was causing it, but it was enough to turn me off and send it back to gamefly.

On the plus side of things, the new faceoff system and improved board play is great, it really is very true to life. It's also great that they've improved on the puck detection on players, your opponents no longer send ghost passes that magically go right through you to them. It's also nice that they've seemed to have eliminated alot of the glitch goals that players would just spam during games for cheap goals, you actually have to play hockey the way it's suppose to now.

I really wanted to enjoy this game, but when you pass the puck and it doesn't even go close to where you aimed it to, I just can't. If this was like a once or twice a game thing it would be one thing, but it was constant. When you complete a pass it shouldn't be a highlight of the game, but it sometimes would be. This is the first game that actually made me throw my controller since I was in high school, and that was almost 20 years ago, for that reason I have to give this game a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not best sports game anymore

posted by CG0882 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game went down hill from the past few years. To me it just seems slow and sluggish.Passing the puck is like waiting for a five year old to pass it to you. The graphics are still top notch tho.

gameplay-4(slow & sluggish)
Graphics-10
Controls-9

This game was best sports and last few years and to me they seem to not want that anymore...Madden 11 is now my fav. sports game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously?

posted by kingb408 (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Is this what NHL games have come to?!?

So I tried NHL 10, hated it, figured 11 had to be better.

It wasn't.

I've been playing since NHL '93. So I know my EA NHLs.

But this one, they skate like they're in molasses, the hits are like pillow fights...seriously, there is absolutely no force in hitting. It's like you squish them up against the boards, and then they fall down. Even as recent as NHL 09 they had good hitting. But this game was ridiculously horrible.

I don't know...this game has gotten some good reviews from some people, so I'm guessing that it's all the young ones that are liking this game. For us originals...seriously, this game is horrible.

Horrible horrible horrible. I can't even say enough how much this game was horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

out of this world.

posted by ayoung040 (EWING, NJ) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is totally awesome how can it be made any better or close up real action i highly recommend this game if your a true hockey fan out of this world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Best Sports Game, Even If U Don't Know Hockey!

posted by BobbyD87 (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

So, I have always been into the nhl games, dating way back to my first one, nhl 95 on the 16 bit, lol..yet it had been years since i picked up a game, and wow have things changed for the better. I'd never really messed w/ the skill stick in the few times i played nhl 07 and so on, once i got it down though did i use it to my advantage, the A.I is pretty on point for the most part, although glitches do happen and sometimes your squad does make some dumb penalties that if you know hockey, you would never do, sometimes the opposing defense is just as bad. The forecheck seems to be so much more realistic and when you use the manual goalie and get it down, it makes for some very impressive saves. I ended up just keeping this game for the long haul, in short i don't really get down w/ ultimate team but be a player is fresh, especially trying to come up as a left winger w/ the blue jackets than dominating. In short its a great game if you love hockey, even if you don't, it's still definitely worth a rental for a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game!!

posted by ukboy87 (LEXINGTON, KY) Jun 12, 2011

Member since May 2011

Great game all around!! Very authentic. Fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it's ok

posted by coolfire51 (LANSDOWNE, PA) Jun 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i think it's just like nhl10 a little bit but it's still pretty good thow rent the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

nhl11

posted by tsm1th (STERLING, VA) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

the game is good in general graphics are great sounds good shots are ok hitting isnt bad but the passing kinda sux the most frustrating theing though is that wheni play online the other guy scores like half the time
and im playing as capitals sharx canux teams that hav decent goaltending the other bad thing is u cant clear the puck on pk because u get delay of game half the time.the last bad thing is in season mode poti and varlamov make it to the all star game but ovechkin doesnt!?
Be a pro saves the game though without it id rate this like a 3
they should also add the echl and khl the last thing is why is usa playing in an arena that seats like 4000 people?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Duffmarn (HULL, MA) May 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

If you like hockey, fights, and big hits this is the game for you. The only real problem is that there are a lot of glitches ex. game freezes, people lagging the game out, glitch goals that are a guranteed goal if you're one that gets aggrivated very easily by glitchy games DON'T get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overly complicated

posted by lukechandler99 (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

NHL 2k11 is very hard to figure out, but when you figure it out it's pretty fun. The be a pro mode is somewhat hard to figure out what to do after you get drated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Was decent

posted by Profetj187 (BALLWIN, MO) May 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

First off, let me say. NHL 11 graphics were crisp, clean and refreshing. The gameplay could use some adjusting and tweaking. I really like the right stick use for slap shots and wrist shots. You will notice though sometimes its like there is a delay between you pressing the right stick and the actual playes doing said action, which can be very frustrating. Defense-wise, well lets just say there is alot of tweaking I think needs to be done as, for example, when you are using a player whos rating is a 80 or higher and trying to get the puck from a player who is 70 or below it seems rather strang that you cannot body check as you easily as you should, especially with the ratings so very different.

For the NEW Ultimate Hockey mode, well it is a change in pace and can be a nice addition to the game. But, EA really needs to work on this mode ALOT. It is for the more adept hockey fan that really wants the entire inside look at the game. The Franchise Mode is actually rather good. I really enjoyed this protion of the game and would reccomend they use some these franchise options with their other sports games.

The Be A Pro Mode, well it is nice and different but the actual concept of earning XP after each game is not detailed enough. If they let you know how much XP certain actions got you in-game then it could really maximize the gameplay value. For example, when you make a goal let us know how much XP we actually earned for the.

Overall, this game is good and has alot of potential for next years game. The hardore hockey fan and hardcore fans of the series will really enjoy this game. All the other gamers that like to play hockey games then you might wanna stick with an alternative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by neuman305 (CUTLER BAY, FL) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Its a great game and it is unbelievabley amazing the new tricks and everything that EA sports added to it

definatlety a 10/10 got nothing against this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I'm a Madden guy.

posted by podunk (BATAVIA, NY) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

I play Madden every year and got sick of the same franchise mode as last years game so I wanted to try another game. Not a big hockey guy but I know the stars. I haven;t played a hockey game since Blades of Steel. HAHA I wanted a franchise mode comparable to maddens but found it to be too much to do and its not cut and dry. On the otherhand I am hooked on be a pro. Its the best feature in a sports game that makes you feel like your part of the team. I wish the football games would pick this version up cuz superstar mode sucks. I will continue with the Be a pro but not doing the GM mode. Apparently I don't know enough about hockey to do it. This games got me excited about hockey and might turn me into a fan!!!! Hope this helps someone out there!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HOCKEY 101

posted by bsuboy22 (EAGLE, ID) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

BEEEESSSSTTT HOCKEY GAME EVER I RATE IT 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Things Started off so Well...

posted by 00Domwin (PIEDMONT, SC) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

If I could force EA Vancouver to learn one lesson from NHL 11 it would be "stick to your guns". When this game first came out it was a very nice hockey simulation. Unfortunately, the online hockey community consists mostly of people who don't try to emulate real hockey because they either don't know how or don't care to try.

EA's forums were flooded with posts complaining about how people weren't able to carry the puck into heavy traffic and not lose control, how passes through 3 defenders weren't getting though, or how the old scoring tricks from NHL 09/10 weren't working anymore.

EA is a business; I understand that. So when it appears that the majority of people complain they will modify their product to make that apparent majority happy. This game, online, has become less a hockey sim and more focused on individualism. Tried and true hockey fans know that hockey is the ultimate team sport. In no other sport is one player unable to carry a team on his own. In no other sport is the success of the team dependent upon the abilities and contributions of the entire roster. This is no longer the case with NHL 11 online, and as a result the online team play modes are mostly unplayable.

For those who prefer offline play, the game isn't that bad. They expanded on the Be A GM mode a little by adding restricted free agents, more tradable draft picks, and some more stingy trading AI. Unfortunately, player progression is still unrealistic, simulating games yields unrealistic results, and 95% of prospects won't pan out.

EA Vancouver made a solid effort with this game and produced something very good. They then proceeded to take a fine hockey sim and dumb it down for those who couldn't handle it. Before the tuner updates this game would have been an easy 9/10 with some flaws in offline modes that need attention. Unfortunately now it yields more frustration and anger than enjoyment when played online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Isn't Worth $60

posted by LunarWintr (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

EA delivered big time in 09' and introduced Be A Pro Mode. It remains to be the coolest feature of the NHL franchise. The only new features worth mentioning is breaking your stick and the new hitting mechanics. The hits are awesome and more crisp than ever, but that's about it for this game. I'll buy this when it drops to $30 in June next year 2 months before NHL 12 comes out.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse