Rent NHL 10 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.3

2336 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally A True Hockey Game

posted by mrdarkside (CHESTERFIELD, MI) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

First of all I live in Hockey Town, MI. For years I have dreamed of a video game capturing the essence of hockey. Finally with NHL 10 those dreams have been realized. I had grown disenchanted with hockey games over the past few years as flat out most of the GM Modes simply did not work especially in the EA series of games. With 2010 however my complaints have gone away.

The actual game plays fantastic, the board play is very similar to what you see in a real hockey game. The overall speed of gameplay maybe a bit slower than in previous years but it feels right. Checking is done well not making the game a slugfest but still being physical. The old beef of the computer goalie stopping 75 shots a game seems to have been fixed. I play 8 minute periods and typically generate 30 - 35 shots a game which is on par for what a typical NHL game has. You have to work for goals and the teams strategy you play against will dictate how you score. Play a team that guards the points and those slot one timers will pop open. On the other hand play a team that collapsing down in front of the net and deflections seem to be the way to go. Very realistic.

I can't say enough about the GM mode. Generally this is what I love about sports games and this game hits a homerun.....er hat trick. It has a dynamic scouting system representing the around the world feel of hockey very well. The GM points are fun to accumalate and really help you build a franchise. Creating a team and using them as a franchise is very rewarding as well. My only one slight complaint is that you cannot edit the conferences. For instance I moved the Phoenix Coyotoyes back to Winnipeg back to Winnipeg and would have liked to edit the conferences but you can't. I was also disappointed that the old logos like the Jets and Hartford Whalers were not in the game. Contracts and salary cap works very well as well as trades although at times you can be bombarded with trade offers. This is a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not great

posted by knightofdr (BUFFALO, NY) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

first nhl 09 is a good game except for the glitches. so nhl 10 should be just like 09 but nhl10 is a fighting based hockey game that all graphics always good but the lack of dekes and speed and skills makes this game just ok. thats why nhl 10 has nhl 09 awards on its cover and not nhl10 awards on it cause everyone that watches or been playing hockey video games knows nhl 10 is just a push towards old nhl hitz game where its all about the fighting and nothing really about the game of hockey.i think ea needs to sit down and watch a season of hockey in order to make a great hockey game. i paid $59.99 for mine but even the 42.99 price tag is still high should be 19.99 if that. rent this game before buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smashmouth Hockey, Realistic Play, FIGHTING

posted by ch4rg3d (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

NHL 10 is one of the most promosing titles to ever come out. The all new controls and fighting controls gives you a realistic sense of how hockey is meant to be played : hard, and violent. Definitely a game you would want to add to your collection, this game feautres online Co-OP, updatable Rosters, online play, dynasty modes, BE a GM, and so much more it'll make you want to take the stick and skates out of the garage!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dosn't get much better

posted by Olivertoxx (SYRACUSE, NY) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have had this game sense the release. The best game I have ever played. I have started playing both Be a Pro and the Be a Gm Mode, and all I can say is if you want a game that has a ton of replay ability then this game is for you. It will take prolly a full year to NHL11 comes out to out play all the features. Worth the rent and Well worth paying the keep price as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NewGameSameGlitch

posted by jonnyno30 (WEST FALLS, NY) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly ive about lost my patience with the online clubs. I hope against hope that either the goal scoring glitches would be fixed by this year or at least remedied by a patch. But unfortunately, even with revamped goalies, the same problems are just as evident as last year. The goalies are better, without a doubt. But still seem unable to make a ruitine save on a wristshot from the blueline while they are entirely capable of making behind the back blocker saves on perfectly executed odd man rushes. Its just disappointing seeing yet again the glitch artists rewarded for mastering a single move and attempting it twenty or so times a game while true students of the game can barely win a game. My club has numerous loses despite outshotting, out chancing, hitting, and time spent in the attack zone to clubs that have one player with jacked stats ripping shots from the blue line and skating away with the first star game after game. Maybe I should just give in and start using the glitch goals myself, which dont take any skill at all to master, but somewhere deep down as a true fan of the game I cant bring myself to sink to that level. Great game, top ten alltime in my book, just keep a man on this problem please, because its ruining what should and could be one of the best online experiences possible to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun for even NON-hockey fans

posted by oldani311 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i'd consider myself a casual hockey fan at best, but ive always loved hockey videogames. there's just something about the feeling of accomplishment when you feed a streaking player the puck to squeeze the puck through the goal without an inch to spare. so ive played my share of hockey games. nhl 09 without a doubt was the best EVER. and this one basically keeps to the same recipe, with a few add ons. the be a pro (or whatever its called) game mode is the same but still fun. and multiplayer team games are a blast. the gameplay remains relatively the same, but youll notice you can battle for the puck on the boards now, which is cool, but sometimes feels forced. passing now requires a bit more skill which i like. but the new fighting mechanics seems tacked on and requires little to no skill...that said, dont think twice, even if youre not a hockey fan. if you like sports titles at all this is a no brainer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highly Recommended

posted by aleczorz (JOLIET, IL) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a sports game - this is the choice for you! So many game modes, AWESOME gameplay, and you actually feel the rush when you score a goal.

Online play is fun. Also not to mention the game looks great on a nice big HD TV.

Highly recommending this game to anyone looking for a game to play by yourself, or even better if you've got some buddies over and wanna play a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL 10

posted by MeltdowN (SOUTHGATE, MI) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

One of the best games I've played in a LONG TIME! I play the solo game here and there but the play online is amazing. Haveing all six players out there; instead of only CPU Goalies. Being able to create a hockey league and I understand this option was on NHL 09 and everything. Truthfully I never played it, I'm a football kinda guy. My girls son wanted to rent this so I did and wow. Only if they could give Madden the option to play as all the players on the online like they do on NHL 10..... This game is the one that sets the standards now, Madden is no longer the standard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better and better

posted by rockstar21 (SPRING HILL, FL) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Every year i play this game and every year it gets better and better i honestly feel like this game is one of the best sports games out there. You cant help but feel the tension, emotion and adrenaline rush while you play this game attempting to get that 1st goal or preventing that 1st goal or any goal for that matter. I highly recommend this game for its fun rating and replay value. (side note) I am basing this game more along the multiplayer side of things i only played a total of 6 games in singleplayer but since that skater/goalie doesnt transfer skill points over to online i just stick to the online unless i am trying to unlock one of the many upgraded equipment or upgrades. hope this review helped anyone who was on the lines about renting or buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great game, till unpassable GLITCH

posted by JoeCooL360 (CLOVIS, CA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

NHL10 by EA was a great game. It took some time getting used to the controls for someone like me who has played another game from another company from two years ago. Once I got used to the controls and learned how to score in this game it was an amazing game. I loved it, I loved playing the AHL games. I loved everything about this game. As a matter of fact I was getting to the point where I was going to send Gamefly the money to keep it. Then, today, I got to a point in "Be A GM" mode (the only mode I ever played) in which the game Glitches. No matter what I do now the game will not let me play the NHL games, only the AHL games, and it forces me to be on the team against my team. There is no way around this glitch and EA is "working on a patch that may take several weeks to fix." Thank god for gamefly as I have now saved $60. NHL10 by EA was a great game at first and I loved it, today I will mail it back and receive the competitors title (which I hear also has many glitches and problems) and more than likely will stick with that competitors previous title which I currently own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ehhh Its ok

posted by momoay25 (DREXEL HILL, PA) May 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

NHL 10 plays like a dream when you first pop it into your system. You dont notice any frame hitches or glitces, but after a day or two you start to notice them. The game is fun but gets so boring at times that you just stop playing any game. Be a pro is back and fun but its confusing there are way too many offsides. You also have to navigate through a ton of menus. I gve NHL10 by EA Sports an 8.1 out of 10.

Peace,
momobay25

Xbox Live gamertag: momobay25

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome game

posted by vashtompso (HUDSON, WI) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

it was a awesome game but the thing is i couldn't play it it was too hard i was looking for a game for somebody who knows nothing of hockey in order to play and this isn't it. but i did like the graphics and how in depth it was a good game but to much for me the only hockey game Ive played besides this one was nhl99 for ps1.i love the game i thought it was better because it was pick up and play better then this game to me but i see why people loved this game. i only played 4 games seen how hard it was for someone who nothing nothing about hockey to and could nt play through it. score breakdown for me would be
graphics 9
sound 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

it was awesome

posted by baddboy (BILOXI, MS) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

this game was pretty cool they adjusted the fight mode be a pro was better than last year.the new season mode was cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL 10

posted by sulidos (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

Perfect hockey game in every way except for sticks not breaking, no on the fly subs or changing players within the lines, or no option to just run two or three lines, and the net never comes off its moorings, and there is no goalie interference. Small complaints I love this game and play league for a few hours every night from launch until NHL 11 comes out. Don't just rent it BUY it, even if you don't like hockey this is hands down THE best sports game and in my top 5 of best 360 games ever online or offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good

posted by bdog632 (FLEETWOOD, PA) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

im not all that much of a hockey fan but it was a good game plain and simple the controls can be a bit tricky if u dont play alot or practice but u can switch them to a sligtlhy easier way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best

posted by pensfan197 (BROOKVILLE, PA) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The best hockey game ever. It makes 2k look like it was made by 1rst graders. Smooth skating and puck handling. Truely the best hockey game in the market

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best sim of hockey ever

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 8, 2010

Member since May 2009

Hands down, this is the best hockey game I have ever played. Virtually everything in the game just 'works' from the controls to the depth of modes. It'll be hard to play any one mode to it's fullest much less get far in several, the game is huge. Create A Player is solid, although even on high difficulty levels a 'Tough Guy' type player can easily outscore 'Sniper' players controlled by the AI. This game is so good that opting to play only as your created player, resting on the bench or in the sin bin, is absolutely as entertaining as playing every second on the ice. I've turned off actual NHL games to play this game.
Controls are as basic or advanced as you want, a combination of the old NHL94 controls mixed with use of the right stick is just perfection. I don't play goalie much so can't comment on those controls.
Create A Play works well, but you'll never need to use it if you don't want to. Fighting controls are solid, and difficulty adjustable from button mashing to requiring patience and timing to survive. No game has ever done well with fighting but this game keeps fights fresh. The sheer adjustability of the game using sliders means this game will be within reach of everyone with even a passing fancy in hockey.
I can't think of any feature this game is missing. More than enough modes, teams, practice drills, scenarios, and fun to make it far more than just an hockey version of Madden. I play Madden too and this is a better game.
Commentary is very good, although you will learn all the canned dialog pretty quickly. Still it is almost always spot on with the rare glitch. Goalies still allow the occasional soft goal from mid-ice, but it's very believable otherwise. AI learning is great, crank it up and notice the AI adjust to your play style.
Soundtrack is solid but why insist on paying to use a song that is so edited to make it on the game that it sounds stupid? Waste of royalty money.
Buy this game. Don't bother renting it- just buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by gamer76645 (HILLSBORO, TX) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

if you love hockey you have to play this game. i have been playing nhl games since the 90's including 2k games and this one tops them all. you have to try this game if especially if you love hockey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best hockey game ever!

posted by TiMxPx85 (WACO, TX) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is the greatest hockey/NHL game ever created. It has every aspect of the game to the "T" from the farm leagues, to the international leagues, down to the very hairs of Sid the kid and Ovechkin. The best feature is the Be A Pro mode where you start out fresh in the farm league and work your way up to the pros. The commentary is complete for all leagues including the arenas, real prospects, and exact jerseys. The atmosphere and free play of the games is outstanding. If you like hockey, no matter if youre hardcore fanatic or just watch it for the fights, you HAVE to own this game!! The only drawback for me was the confusion of the manual aim and the player control. You aim with the left joystick and shoot with the right, it can be pretty difficult if you get in on a fast break in the slot and try a slap shot, its possible to not shoot fast enough. It takes care of that if you use auto aim. I have owned a lot of hockey games from the NHLPA 93 on Super Nintendo to Wayne Gretzky 3D for 64 and many others for the computer and consoles. I never thought any game would be better than NHL 95, but this is down right sick! BUY THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Let's face it, this game is as near to perfect...

posted by Grizzo (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

as a sports game can be. There are glitches, sure. But every game has glitches and it's inevitable. Not every game has what NHL has in terms of overall feel, fun, online play, realism, graphics, and addiction.

This continues to be the best sports game on the market. Better than Madden, NCAA, NBA2K(which is better than Live imo).

Anyone considering playing this should do so because you will be hooked immediately.

Maybe one day EA will figure out how to make Madden and NCAA this great.

10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You know its good when....

posted by Igame2 (GLENMOORE, PA) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

the only really negative review was due to small text size and a so called glitch. Come on man! Really!

I have this game and it is greaaat! Tony the tiger, great!

I have been playing it for a couple months and must say the only small flaw I came across is that sometimes your player has trouble getting the puck. I mean you skate over it and think oh I got it and then start to go back up ice only to find out you never had the puck. That only occurs once or twice a game if that!

Other then that I think the game is amazing. It looks and sounds great! It has a hockey feel before you even come out of the tunnel. Scoring is difficult but not impossible. The shooting is done with the right analog, and it makes you feel like you have more control over your shot. Playing co-op is a ton of fun.

My favorite mode is "Be A Pro"... Its just like madden superstar without the camera issue. You play as one guy and when he is not on the ice you have no control.

Its just an awesome game!

I have played 75-100 games and it hasn't even begun to get old yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Hockey Game Ever

posted by JeremyJ (TEMPLE, TX) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

Period

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL 10

posted by mwms9872 (LIVONIA, MI) Jan 9, 2010

Member since May 2003

The best HOCKEY EVER GREAT JOB EA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Menu

posted by ske3termif (MIDLAND, PA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

The game is pretty good in general... I guess. Kinda hard to score and the menus are pretty complicated... but that's just what I think. It could be different for anyone, but i thought the menus were pretty complicated. And the text was small. I have a large TV and I had to move closer to it to see the screen, was stupid. Pretty good game other than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by CRUNCHTIME (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

THIS GAME HAS A LOT TO OFFER . YOU SEE HOCKEY THROUGH A LOT OF EYES SUCH AS BEING A PROSPECT TO BEING A GM . THEN THE GAME PLAY IS EXTROADINARY FROM THE FIGHTING TO THE DEKING MOVES ...BEST HOCKEY GAME EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse