Rent NHL 10 for PS3
view large frontback

NHL 10

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.3

1213 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Vyyk78 (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. I liked the Be a Pro mode, got to create my skater and customize every detail you could think of. The season mode was also very nice. The AI was able to figure out my play and adapt, I was very happy that I had to try different offensive plays and methods in getting the puck in the net.

I only gave it 9 out of 10 as some of the menu options were a little difficult to use, and some of the gameplay features could have been included in the tutorial. I always struggled playing defense as I never could get the hang of getting the puck back.

Overall, a fun game, and if you enjoy online play, I'd probably recommend as a buy as there are monthly tournaments to hoist the greates trophy in sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL10 new smooth clean awesome!!

posted by gbhsk8 (LAVEEN, AZ) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NHL10 is everything that ea sports has said. from my view this years old tyme hockey has a new smooth even MORE realistic AI and gameplay feel to it, and for those of us on playstation 3 we now have the ability to add our own custom music into the game to give it a personal just so awesome feel to it. there is many custom gameplay settings to have the perfect feel that you want. i have updated from nhl09 to this years 10' and and n e 1 who is thinking bout trying 10' do it, spend the extra money and buy it, cos once u get into it and get a feel for the boardplay and custom music all the 200+ play fixes youll be like me and get it ASAP. the new swiss hockey league has been added to it, and all the same tourney's and leagues from 09 are still there. this is a 10 for me and i hope that this review will help anyone else decide to pick up nhl10 and keep it. yes it is new in alot of ways but just give it a full try. the controller settings are the same, there will be new alternate jerseys for most teams coming soon, meaning a new jersey code. its new its clean and smooth, you have to get it, and then u can push ur opponent onto the boards and scramble the puck away from him just like we see on tv. thank you ea sports. i love it! :) -aaron

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I like

posted by MrDanTheo (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gameplay is awesome. Always fun to play against friends or online.

I'm a big fan of building my own franchise or building my own character in sports games too. But just like in NHL 2009 whenever I build my own character and want him to be one of the best in the NHL the game always forces me into the minors. I could be starting the season with more goals and assists and the owner of the team will tell me that he doesnt like my behavior and hello minors. Very stupid and annoying. So if you don't care for NHL Be a Pro or some other game modes and just like Play Now then this game is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Hockey Title ever

posted by Nutz24 (CLINTON, MD) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

With the introduction of Be a GM mode, this game has everything it was lacking in last years effort. The improvement to gameplay, graphics and goalie AI are significant improvements as well. This game has everything for every fan of hockey, Be-a-Pro mode is back and better than ever.

This is the best hockey game you can buy or rent. Don't waste your time with the other title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL10

posted by ICYUNV (ROMULUS, MI) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Same game as last year, NOT!!! Are you crazy this game year is 5x better. You can really play defence, offence almost has too work as a team. Two words says it all. REAL HOCKEY!! A must buy for any sports fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OUTSTANDING

posted by Dizzy31 (BEDFORD, IN) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Best hockey game ever made. Another breakthrough smash along the lines of the original blades of steel. This game would dominate the sports market if hockey was more popular. But no worries you don't have to like hockey to love playing this game, it's alot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yes. Yes. Yes.

posted by acafella (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

RENT, BUY, or LEASE this game. whatever it takes. best hockey and best SPORTS game I've ever played, by far. The online play is spectacular. Online shootouts are excellent for breakaway practice, and have fun playing in the SMOOTH 6v6 multiplayer. Be the goalie if you'd like. I could go on and on praising every aspect of this game, but you just have to see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by Shawsters (ROSEMOUNT, MN) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is for people who like sports. I think that it is one of the greatest games ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NHL 10 sill the best hockey game out there.

posted by CBJ4SC (COLUMBUS, OH) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is about the same game as last year, there are a couple of tweeks that I have noticed. The fighting is now in first person, and you can protect the puck against the boards on offence, and on defence you can pin the other player against the boards. This is just about the same game as last year. Unless your a huge hockey fan, just stick with last years game and get the roster updates!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Totally Unrealistic

posted by felzenmat (MOBILE, AL) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

My rookie LWer in be-a-pro gets 4 games with the Thrashers to prove whether he can stay in the NHL. After 4 games, I have 1 goal and 3 assists (and an A- rating average) and lead the team in points. Too bad for me...The GM sends me down to the minors because I don't have what it takes to make it in the NHL. Not even the biggest EA fanboy can defend this kind of nonsense. Rather than the dynamic game you'd expect from be-a-pro, you get a game that insists upon being linear, forcing you to very slowly work your way through the system.

I'm sending this game back on Monday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game rocks

posted by Logannite (SPRINGERVILLE, AZ) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

this game is awesome its fun be a oro is okay but i like be a gm and season. this game has some new stuff likw battle for the cup and in season and be a pro u can have ur on songs for your team,intro,goals,fights,and intermishon. i give this game a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL 10

posted by drob86 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Love it. Brings out the realism in hockey if you were to ask me. From the game modes, teams, players, NHL, AHL, and everything you can think of, not to mention on the ice; game play, skating, deke movement, scoring, fighting. This game has everything that I looked for in the hockey field and I can't wait for NHL 11 to free up some slots in the availability rating. I can honestly say if you're looking for some great hockey gaming experience that looks amazing on the big screen I suggest you get this game, or any of the EA sports games. They really know how to bring out the quality in their games. The only thing that bothered me about the game...the announce team -- same sayings in last years version, hopefully that was updated in the 11 version. And if not, then it isn't a huge issue. In the end, the excitement is still there when those horns blow off when you reach your goal in the game.

Graphics are also mind-blowing.

Love it. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I wish I could give a 9.5

posted by alphagame (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

Love this game. Although I think that the offline modes are in a league of their own when it comes to customization, the online mode tends to disappoint. Too many times do you play games where you hit the post 20 times (literally!!) which is not due to faulty software, but rather the fact that each games' settings are retrieved from the hosts' console. So if the host has a handicap for the team he is playing, or has COMP aiming enabled you're basically screwed. If it weren't for cheaters (which btw can all suck a fat one) this game would be perfect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too much hype

posted by sksk3dg (BROCKPORT, NY) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I really dont understand what is so great about this game. The controls are the worst out of every nhl game i have ever played. Though the graphics are amazing, the gameplay and controls leave much to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NHL 10

posted by jgordon (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Horrible Game characters Too small controls stink!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NHL 10 Reveiw By Gamer City

posted by gamercity (NORTH VERNON, IN) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I found that when playing NHL 10, I began to get addicted. It basicaly allows you to completly control the way your player uses his hocky stick. The first person fight system was quite a new approach for the NHL saga. However, though the team and player creator may at first seem appealing, it is very time comsuming and can get rather annoying. I would suggest this game for ALL hocky fans. I am gamercity and I will be writing all my reveiws on PS3 editions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

FUN, at first

posted by Fade2Black (UNCASVILLE, CT) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game is very good, incredible graphics, great simulator of a hockey game. But after the first 15 games everything is the same. The defence never really adjusts to your strategy and in my 1st game on all-star I won 10-1. The NHL pro mode isn't to much fun either because you always get taken out of the game and it is just very bland, rent don't buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NHL 09 Way Better

posted by bigbob (LIVONIA, MI) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

NHL 10 in my opinion is way to slow and passing is horrible takes the fun out of game, Step down from NHL 09 should of made same game with the addition of holding player agonist the boards. The only thing I like about the game, and you have to control goalie in shootout and plenty shot is good too but that's it for me, got a 6 star from me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sweet grafix

posted by wrestler42 (WORTHINGTON, MN) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

really sweet grafix but they made it to complicated. if they would of kept it simple it would of been 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nhl10

posted by miggy85 (DEDHAM, MA) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

same as nhl09 some new qualities but be a pro is lacking customized equipment, you cant change skaters helmet colors etc. and when is ea going to allow line changes for the old control style "ea when u say customizable controls, we sould be able to customize them!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NHL 10

posted by THawkk (SAINT CHARLES, IA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

If you liked NHL 09, you'll find a lot of simalarities in NHL 10. The menu interface is pretty much the same as 09, and, so is the gameplay.

It may take awhile to notice, but there have been a bunch of subtle changes made in the options, gameplay, and online. These new insertions to the gaming experiance have added another degree of realism that us hardcore hockey fans appreciate.

All in all, I'de give NHL 10 an 8/10.

Not bad EA, could be a little better next time around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome

posted by locdogg39 (MEDINA, NY) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

its the best NHL game yet. I dont give it a 10 because nothings perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »