Rent NHL 09 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2
GF Rating
8.3

2424 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quite Possibly the Best NHL Game Ever

posted by MRollins (ZEPHYRHILLS, FL) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

29 out of 31 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

EA has proved their worth to sports fans once again. With the release of NHL 09, there are several new and exciting features that have been added to the franchise.

First and foremost, is the addition of what EA calls "the first console sports MMO." This of course, is the "EA Sports Hockey League," which gives you the ability to create your own player and square off in 6vs6 online team play. Your player will level up as you go along and proves to be quite fun if the other players have no idea what to do. So far, it has been a more than rewarding experience to score a goal or check someone incredibly hard into the wall.

Another really enjoyable new feature that was added in NHL 09 is the "Be a Pro" feature, which allows you to create a character and rank him up to the top of the league in single player mode. You'll start in the AHL (minor leagues) and if you do well, you'll eventually make it to the pros. Throughout your games you will control your player alone and play his position the entire game. EA helps out the unknowledged Hockey fan by showing them where they need to be on the ice and who to cover when on defense.

Simple controls, along with a few other game mechanic features really makes NHL 09 one of the most exciting and complete sports games to come out of EA Sports. Even if you're not a great Hockey fan, I completely recommend picking this game up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best NHL Game Ever, But...

posted by Threatend (ROUSES POINT, NY) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, quite realistic (for a video game), and absolutely fun and addictive to play. I dove straight into the "Be A Pro" mode, created my own guy (the way I used to play back in the day), and headed to the Hamilton Bulldogs of the AHL {GO HABS GO!!!}. I had a ton of fun playing my first 20 games or so, UNTIL I stumbled upon an area in the high slot where I always score. I was hoping a bug like this wouldn't happen in such a great game. And it's in such an obvious and highly-used location for me. If you haven't figured it out yet, how to ALWAYS score with one slap shot, then I won't ruin your fun here and tell you the exact details. I wanted the game to be as real as possible, so this one major flaw really damaged my game-playing morale for this title. I hope they can come out with a fix for it?!?!

There are a few other glitches, like sometimes when you score a goal, you celebrate with someone from the other team (was the goal a conspiracy?), some narratives call out the wrong team or players, and my "Be A Pro" character is also on the Buffalo Sabres (weird playing against myself - ha!). Other than that, it's really a great game. I just wish all bugs could be eliminated for people like me who truly like to play a real game without the cheats and flaws. Please come out with a fix! This game is worth the extra attention to detail. It truly is a fantastic game!

Rock on...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the rating fits this game

posted by bilko79 (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not really into hockey as a sport that much, but I rented this game because of its high rating. Its pretty easy to pick up and play and this visuals are very good. Game play is fun in be a pro mode. Games can get pretty competitive. After a while though gameplay becomes very monotonous about halfway through the season. Other than that I'd say I enjoyed this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice looking, but....

posted by darren004 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I very nice looking game, but not a lot of fun.

I think I tried 80 checks in 3 games and hit on like 3 of them, got penalties on 5 and missed the other 72 completely. The movement, while realistic, is very tough to control.

I also hated that in franchise mode, you can't start with a Fantasy draft.

The be a pro game is pretty cool, but not enough fun to keep the game for more than a handful of games.

Average game that is not a lot of fun...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow

posted by jbmoran77 (ODESSA, TX) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Had a great time with this game. It is challenging, beautiful, and fun. I spent several hours playing a defenseman, several more hours as a goalie, and then tried the traditional game play. All were sensational.

Playing as a goalie may be new to the franchise (not sure, since I haven't played the game in years) but it is realistic and tough! Overcommit to a shooter, and a quick pass makes you look BAD. Positioning and quick reflexes are a requirement. And the rush you get when you're ahead by a goal and the other team is firing away on a power play is pretty sweet.

My biggest beef with previous hockey games was that a wrap-around goal from behind the net worked half the time, and little else did (again, this was years ago). This game affords several ways to score, but it's not easy. I played like 20 games as a defenseman and scored 2 goals. And when you do? Awesome feeling!

The controls are natural and very smooth, especially as a goalie. If you like sports games, this is a "must-try" I will be buying it soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great improvements

posted by wild88 (ARLINGTON, TX) May 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and fell in love with the be a pro mode, the 1st person view is amazing along with the use of "guard puck" and "stick life" but i cant seem to understand why EA can't make a fantasy draft for the dynasty mode, i love my fantasy drafts!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by soccer84 (CUPERTINO, CA) May 1, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. the game is pretty life like and the its challenging but the only thing that i dont like about this game compared to other hockey games is when you play it on the harder settings its almost impossible to score on the goal tenders like if you a shot from in close the goalkeeper usually saves it unlike in the real NHL where most shots from there are goals besides that this game is really and I mean REALLY good get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright

posted by Cali114 (SANTA ROSA, CA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is kool its hard in the begining but u will get used to it but u will problaby get bored of it after playing for an our or two but overall good and really good graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NHL 09

posted by Angler182 (ALTO, MI) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a great game, everyone who loves hockey should rent this game. The gameplay is just fantastic and there is really nothing you cant do. The stragy options are great so if you are down you can make your team more agressive and if down you can play hardcore defense. Everything is so realistic from shooting and the ice to even Sydney Crosby taking dives. They did a wonderful job

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still Best Sports Sim

posted by bwhite507 (FRANKLIN, IN) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NHL 09 is still the best sports sim out on the market, as it has been for 15 years now. From the graphics to the AI and now included the be a pro mode it has all aspects of the game of hockey down to a science. Either if you are an avid hockey fan or a perennial sports gamer (I fall into both categories), this is a MUST PLAY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game

posted by richandsta (SIGNAL MOUNTAIN, TN) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Solid graphics and game play. The controls are good and the game game has great replay value. The down fall is once you have it mastered you got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Sports Game!

posted by fsklax31 (WESTMINSTER, MD) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a hockey fan for a long time. Love watching it and going to the games. I was not a huge fan of the EA Sports Hockey games until a few years ago. My friend got the game and i played it over his place and had to go buy it for myself.

Madden in my opinion has nothing on NHL 09. The controls are so easy to use and get used to. Of course you can switch them to classic if you need to, but there is no need. The goals are realistic, the hits are realistic. It is an amazing game. By far my favorite sports game to play.

Online mode is awesome. You can do quick play or you can create a team and play w/ friends on a team vs other players and their teams.

The graphics are amazing. A friend of mine stopped by while i was playing and she asked "oh who is playing tonight?" I was like this is on xbox! she then replied "OMG it looks so real!"

The game is amazing and i highly recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Poor Achievements

posted by MrSmith (SPOKANE, WA) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think the game is very well made, however the achievement system is absolutely rubbish, 90% of the achievements are online and are a pain at best. I am not a big achievements guy but it is nice to get something extra, this baby doesn't give you anything worth getting.

Great game though, just a small problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sports game of the year

posted by snicka84 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, even better than NHL 08, gameplay is a little different, but in a better more realistic way, some of my friends that knew nothing about hockey got addicted to this game and just bought it, the be a pro mode is lots of fun to take your guy through a career with your favorite team, the online is lots of fun with online team play (full rosters of online players on both sides of the puck), the online can be kinda cheap, but thats the other online players and not the game, lots of checking online, not lots of hockey

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As always, the best Sports game of the year

posted by scalan15 (MONMOUTH JUNCTION, NJ) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NHL 08 was one of the best games ever, NHL 09 tops that. I'm a huge New Jersey Devils fan, I've been to their new building, The Prudential Center, In this game each arena is included and the Prudential center looks awesome, they have every detail in it, including the banners hanging on top. the new "Be a Pro" Mode is lot's of fun and a new way to play the game. THIS IS A MUST BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest NHL Game Yet!

posted by starsrule (WEATHERFORD, TX) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I thought that NHL 08 was one of the best games (sports wise) I have ever played until I got NHL 09. The game play is so real it actually feels like you are playing a real game. The graphics are about the same as NHL 08, however game play is like night and day. With the NHL 94 controls it makes it where any age can play the game, or if you can chose between classic, and default. Default has some cool new features as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NHL 09 for Xbox 360

posted by shadowdag (EASLEY, SC) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

NHL 09 is the best sports game to come out in recent memory. For years I always stuck to the 2K series because I never could get in to the EA NHL games. This year though was very different for me. The addition of Online Team Play has revolutionized sports gaming to a whole new level. OTP allows players to take on the role of one player (RW,LW,C,RD,LD,G) and begin their players journey towards becoming an NHL Legend. The most compelling thing about this mode is that you can create club teams that allow your friends to join with you so that you can both play on the same team with hopes to making your team a Divison 1 team. This game takes quite a while to learn and get the hang of the controls, but don't give up because once you master the controls there is nothing like this hockey game. The only negative in this game is the fact that people have now began to "Juice" their players with 99 attributes throughout every category ie (99 slapshot 99 wristshot 99 speed). This "glitch" has caused an uproar withing the NHL community and EA is looking to put a stop to it immediately. All in all, NHL 09 provides a tremendous amount of fun offline as well as online making it the best sports game (even if you aren't the biggest hockey fan) ever to come out. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Frustrating scoring goals

posted by Brian0047 (OZARK, MO) May 6, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Game was fun. Made it too hard to build up user player online when your playing against players that are so much better than yours. Too hard to score a goal. This is coming from a sports fan but not big into NHL but usually have fun playin the video games. Played one game on rookie level with an all star team against one of the worse teams on the game, took 40 shots and didnt score a goal. Played another game the next day on the pro level took 20 shots and scored 3 goals. Didn't make sense to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could Be Better...

posted by ZMANJI (STANTON, CA) May 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is fun sometimes, but often gets frustrating. Way too many penalty calls and you either score a lot of goals or none at all. The shot stick is fun but way too hard to actually aim, so most goals are random. when I play I feel the computer has way more skills than they actually programmed for you to do. For example, the computer can always set up shots down by the net and are left wide open. I love hockey and this game is fun, but when it gets frustrating sometimes I just have to turn it off and walk away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great hockey game

posted by bluesfan (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Sep 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the fact that in be a pro mode you start out in the AHL and move up to the NHL. Also the historic teams a awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

dont have this game yet but want it

posted by redsoxcraz (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) May 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GO HURRICANES!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awesome

posted by nfl1922 (GIBSONIA, PA) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I bought the game the first day it came out and was too lazy so I'm writing a review on a day school got canelled. Here's the deal, This game is AWESOME BABY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GOING DOWN

posted by Gamer2k (BRONX, NY) Mar 1, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It's getting bad in the ea hockey world. Enough with the analog sticks already. hope they improve next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What happened?

posted by yokozuna (SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The most ridiculous parts of this game are goaltending and defense. Although some options like pass interceptions can be adjusted, there is little noticeable difference when it is turned up/down. But the goaltending! Absolutely terrible! The amount of ridiculous goals in this game is outrageous. Only in NHL 09 will you find goalies who are completely clueless when it comes to wrap-arounds, rebound control, and no pokechecking whatsoever. However, a blistering 100 mph one-timer from the slot is a guaranteed save. This game changes the way you play and think about hockey. If you are someone with knowledge of the game, or of goaltending, that is looking for a hockey game, I would recommend choosing NHL 08 over NHL 09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same thing new year on the cover

posted by JakeyBoy (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

08 and 09 are about the same... be a pro can be a pain if you start in AHL and work your way up... it takes about 20 25 games in AHL to get to be in the NHL... regular games are shorttt like 10 - 15 mins... addictive gameplay graphics same lots of frame rate issues especially in be a pro mode... hard to make shots... goalie AI is real good... not worth 60 dollars rent it first...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse