Rent NHL 09 for PS3
view large frontback

NHL 09

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

1265 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best hockey game ever

posted by JDC2k7 (HARPER WOODS, MI) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The pros:
On the graphic side not much has change in terms on player models if you rolled with the Red Wings in 09 as you did in 08 they pretty much look the same. But the checking animation on the other hand is crazy seriously when you lay a check into someone you would want to upload it on EA sports world for everyone to see it right away. The goalies saves animations have improved especially when it comes to desperation saves. And the new intro for the teams is also a nice touch even though I do miss the anthems being played before games.
Gameplay: It’s truly an experience to behold; from the first drop of the puck to the final horn you would think it was an actually game. What I like about the game is that you have to adjust to the CPU control team from shift to shift and makes you pay for playing out of position. And when you win a tough game you appreciate the win more. And be a player adds more to the game overall experience.
The Con:
I don’t have much to complain about NHL 09 other then the CPU makes it hard as heck to set up plays close to the net because the CPU knock around your guys even before they get the puck or they constantly poke checking the puck away when your guy gets it. The fight mechanics have taken a step down you can still start a fight but it takes like three punches to win or it takes like 2 punches to see your guy looking up at the rafters after he gets beat. The controls are ok you can still adjust them if you’re still not used to the default control settings but don’t expect changing lines manually.

But the few complaints still can’t overshadow the fact NHL 09 is the best sports game on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Cool Game....

posted by MauiRocks (Lahaina, HI) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It rocks as hard as '08 with some cooler features. Be A Pro is really fun. I also like the quick play team section, it's nice to play with so many other gamers. The biggest difference from '08 is it is just plain harder, which is more challenging. I have noticed some gamers have figured out certain "sweet" spots, where they never seem to not score. But that is what the "Exit" button is for. Really an all around great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by skwisgaar (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is what sports games are sposed to be about.

Realistic gameplay, realistic stats and the overall feeling that your actually PLAYING the sport.

Be a pro mode is a fantastic idea. Almost puts a RPG element into a hockey game. LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Sports Game

posted by GoodAdvise (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As a long time gamer of over 20 years now,and having played most PS3 games to date.(thanks to gamefly)I have to say that NHL09 is one of the top 10 games so far,for the PS3.And mabey the best sports game evey made,,so far.The first thing your prompted to do is create a hockey player.After that the game opens up to numerous types of play."Be a pro" mode is excellent and offers 100's of hours of gameplay value.Starting out in the AHL(minors),and working your way up to your favorite NHL team is only part of the fun in this game.Every game you play in be a pro mode you'll be graded and given points that you can spend improving your player attributes.Kinda adds a RPG type element to the game.When you decide to take your player online you'll start with whatever skills/attributes your offline player has.Online play is great with lots to do as well.Everything from VS to 6 on 6 random team play,to team vs team league play.Once again,you'll be graded and given points for your play.Long story short if you like hockey,or sports games in general,NHL09 is a MUST RENT or BUY.Worthy of the 8.8 gamefly rating.Only issues i've encountered was the occasional online dropping for no reason what-so-ever.The right stick on the controller is used to swing your stick on offense and to check a player when your on defense.The problem tho is a lot of the time when your just trying to hit the puck you will check a player instead of hitting the puck and when you check a player you never know if the ref is going to call a cross-checking penalty.Should have seperate buttons for swing and check.And i agree with the other review that there should be pinning on the boards.Online play has glitched out a few times during a game but i'm sure EA knows about it and will address it.Ea sports games have always been good about updating roster info,so i'm sure roster updates will be coming soon.So if your a hockey fan or sports game fan TRY THIS GAME,it's fun,competive,and a lot less glitchly than Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

still needs pinning ang battle on the boards

posted by mrkuyukot (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Be a pro-mode is excellent. Team mate AI doesn't disappoint. Only thing missing is pinning and battle on the boards, and some players on the minors. I wish they would provide a patch to download current rosters once the season begins. Gotta play me some Colten Teubert.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by PhillyFan7 (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

AWESOME GAME A+++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NHL GREATEST GAME ?

posted by STR8BIZNES (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ONLINE GAMEPLAY IS AMAZING, BUT IS SLIGHTLY SLOWER THAN I WOULD LIKE. IF YOU WHERE TO MIX 08 GAME SPEED AND 09 EA SERVER QUALITY THAN IT WOULD BE THE BEST EA SPORTS GAME EVER MADE TOPPING EVEN MADDEN.
I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A BREAKAWAY MODE FOR 2010 AND ALL THE KINKS FROM 08,09 FIXED AND APPLIED TO THE SAME PLAY STYLE.
ONE LAST THING I AM A CLASSIC CONTROL FAN THE DEFAULT IS JUST TO MUCH ALL OVER I WOULD LIKE REVAMPED CONTROLS THAT MIMIC THE CLASSIC BUT CAN CONTROL ALL FEATURES SUCH STICK LIFT AND BODY CHECKING WITHOUT IT BEING A PENALTY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good life like play

posted by jpin08 (PALATINE, IL) Dec 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the play of the game. Passing and shooting is realistic with the need to aim your shots and create plays. The only thing I do not like is that you use the right stick to check, poke check, shoot and pass so it is really hard to crash the net and shoot or pass without taking a lot of tripping and cross checking penalties if there is traffic around because you use the right stick for all of them. Other than that the play is pretty realistic and a lot of fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by Super7 (ROMULUS, MI) Nov 17, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the perfect hockey, multiplayer, game of skill and intensity, bravo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth its weight in gold

posted by jmoody1980 (CHESTER, WV) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Many things have changed and many things have stayed the same is about the only way i could describe this game. game has many new features but some of the glitches you have seen in the 08 game still exist. The new be a pro mode is a very fun and interesting new aspect of the game. Online versus play is almost totally obsolete cause of the new online community and club games. The new checking engine at first may seem a little downgraded but as you learn to use it properly you will see much harder realistic hits. The players skating has been tweaked to be a little more realistic and can hurt you by over skating play at the net and along the boards but once you get it down everything starts to work out very well. The goalies have been given better lateral movements in the crease but sometimes tend to be completely out of position to make a stop due to this but it does even out most of the time. This game is a very fun and interactive game and I would recommend this to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great NHL game...

posted by Icehole (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After being somewhat disappointed by NHL08, I was weary about the 09 version. I was wrong. I normally get bored with sports games rather quickly. once you figure out the 2 or 3 plays that always seem to work sports games get rather boring and tedious. Not so with the Be a Pro mode on NHL 09. With this function you can play as a current pro or create a custom skater. I did the latter. As a rookie, I had to start in on the 3rd line of a minor league team, but after playing some good fundamental hockey, I progressed quickly through the ranks. Eventually landing on the first line of the Penguins. I found myself playing "just one more game" more often than not. This game is addictive. The fact that when your player is not on the ice, you're not playing the game put me off at first, but i learned to love this feature. Youre not on the bench very long and it makes ice time all the more enjoyable. controls are great this year too. the NHL94 scheme is great for those of us that just want to pound buttons. but the normal control scheme is quickly mastered as well. the graphics are top notch also. overall great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very much like real NHL hockey

posted by ChildGunner (MERIDIAN, ID) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

It's a fun game to play. It is hard to keep hold of the puck and even harder to score points. In this way it's very much like real NHL hockey. But all and all, it's not a horrible game at all....just chaotic :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Linkshrink (CLINTON TWP, MI) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

I would have to say that this was the most fun sports game of 09. I mean, The graphics on an HD-TV looks like your actually in the arena. I love how you use the right analog stick to shoot. It makes shooting a lot more fun then either pressing x or holding and releasing it. With the analog sticks, you have a lot more control. You aim with the analog stick and either pull back and push up on the right analog stick to do a slap shot or just flick it up for an easy and fast wrist shot. I can't wait to see what NHL 10 will bring us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great but not elete

posted by omgg2p (GOODLETTSVILLE, TN) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

NHL 09 is a game with great graphics great create a person and a great be a pro mode the only bad thing about this game is the fog horn and the hat trick the fog horn dosent sound like the real one and they dont even sho hats in the hat trick but the ai makes up for that this is not a game where the final score will be 2000 to 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolute best game ever

posted by pumax3 (RAPID CITY, SD) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Absolute best game ever! I have played it for days on end and have finally bought cause it is amazing! Can't wait for NHL 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Graphics

posted by Crazyfists (LITTLEROCK, CA) May 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

You definitely need to be a hockey fan to truly enjoy this game. I'm a big fan of be a pro modes but it quickly got dull after playing for a few days. I'm not a hockey hater just not a huge fan of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hockey Time

posted by phillyfan (WINSLOW, AZ) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Finally a hockey game where there is no one certain way to always score a goal. Goalies actually read the shooter and watch the puck instead of doing the same thing all the time. Better yet is the fact that there are some lucky goals just like in the real nhl. For example on one goal i shot it and the rebound came off the netminder and the player i was playing dove and knocked the puck into his net and on another play the puck deflected off of one of my players feet and went in the net. Also pretty cool is if you shoot from the point on the powerplay guys are in front of the net and will deflect the puck to try and score instead of just let it go like in previous games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, but could be better

posted by painfuldav (STILLWATER, OK) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I had high hopes upon receiving this game, yet was a little let down by the Be a Pro. Its a great concept in theory, and is executed quite well. The main problem I had was the line changes. For example, there is no difference when you are on the 3rd line or 4th line, you play the same amount Once again, the upgrade from the AHL to NHL is so underwhelming. I was 1st line on my AHL team and all of the sudden I am on my NHL team. Once you are on the NHL team, prepare to play good. I played as a power center and because I didn't score for 2 games, I was demoted to the AHL team. Online is fun, did not try the League things only 1 on 1. Overall a great hockey game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most for hockey fans

posted by VRispo (STRATFORD, NJ) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

If you are a hockey fan you will love this game. best hockey game ever made!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Whats the hype about?

posted by gr2007 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

Overall, I think that EA has put together a solid game. The graphics are some of the best I have seen out of a hockey game, and the new be a pro feature is absolutely awesome. The main problem I have had with the game is the difficulty of the controls and the lack of sprinting ability (the controls just do not feel natural). It is hard to go hard into the boards or to try and beat out an icing call. I think EA needs to work out a better system and improve the gameplay itself before they start adding in complex controls. Also once the other players get behind the defense, even with the fastest players it is hard to catch them. With a little more tweaking, I think that EA could have an end all/ be all hockey game. Until then it is just good. Hopefully EA continues on with the series, and continues to improve upon it as they have in the past!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »