Rent NHL 08 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2
GF Rating
7.7

1812 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The new goalie system is amazing!!!

posted by Skarecky13 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This years NHL 08 is the best hockey simulation thus far. And to me the best new feature on the game is the goalie mode and controls. I'm a goalie and the similarity is uncanny. I can actually execute the same moves and saves that I can in real life with the same flow and accuracy. I often find myself "In the game" and can rarely tell I'm playing a video game. EA has really outdone themselves this year. I recommend this game to anyone who is a hockey fan. And even if you're not, this game might just change the minds of even the most stubborn of critics. A definite "must buy."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New AI and overall realistic gameplay improvements

posted by coder98 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The new practice mode is awesome and a very good way to hone your skills with the new skating and shooting configurations. The create a play function is something that definitely pushes ea over 2k for this year. You can also play as the goalie for the entire game which could be fun if you would just like to get a feel for how the game is played through the goalies eyes. There's a little glitching with the scenes between plays but overall the game engine is much smoother and puck handling, skating movements and scoring chances are more realistic which makes playing the game feel more like a real hockey game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Over all

posted by Shelby71 (BISMARCK, ND) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is good. The graphics are awsome and game is realistic. But its not for the the begineers. The stick control and shooting take some getting use too and hard to get past the goal and get the puck back once u lost it. Checking is almost impossible if you dont get the timing right. If jumping in and start playing is what u want i suggest something else but if u want to take the time to learn the game and get it down i would gladly say its for you. I hope this helps someone in there search for the right game for them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hands of Gold

posted by Purdue8 (WEST LAFAYETTE, IN) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Besides the fact that i can see the sweat comin off Joe Sakic's face and realistic ice cuts, the most impressive part about this game is the blade control; both skates and sticks. The sensitivity and reactivity of he left joystick is ridiculous, and with the right stick you have absolute and total stick control. Toe pull, between the legs and stick, power stride while cupping the puck... its outrageous how perfect the puck movement is with just one joystick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best sports games this year.

posted by NCComic (BURLINGTON, NC) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

With this game and NHL 2K8 coming out at the same time, the comparisons are inevitable. And after playing both games, I have to say that this game outdoes 2K8 in almost every facet, from graphics, to controls, to audio. The only edge 2K8 has is it's franchise mode, and even then NHL08's is very good.

This game really feels like a hockey game, not a version of soccer on ice. Instead of the standard skate down the wing and dump it to the center for a one timer, you need to really work the puck around to get a nice shot off. I also appreciate how the AI adapts to your style. If you try to go down the wings, then dump it to the center, the CPU will just clog the middle and intercept your passes. Scoring a goal here is really a rewarding experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best so Far for EA

posted by Chadbourne (ASTORIA, NY) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

NHL 08 is the best hockey sim so far from EA. The graphics are very tight, gameplay is solid, and with improved AI replay value is high.

The Good, the Bad, and the Ok.

Good:
- graphics are very nice, the cut scenes and replays are decent and not too long. the puck moves and reacts to contact well, deflections are great but not overdone. skating looks realistic ans do the player sizes. ( Martin St. Louis comes up to J. Thorntons chest)And it seems they detailed each arena much better than in past EA games. as a hockey fan im big into this detail which gets a lot of focus in football but not hockey for some reason.
- gameplay: the stick handling is great and the shooting is perfect. tappers, wrist, snap, and slap shots are all at your disposal depending on how you use the right stick. on ice passign is ok, but oversue will get you picked off (improved AI). the flip-passes are harder, but useful and do spring breakaways.
- realistic offensive and defensive set ups - players fill gaps, poke check, and AI plays the body!!! what a concept!
- shootouts are a great feature and can teach you the ins and outs of deking and shooting

BAD:
seems like every player can stick handle effectively. on the PP i used Chara downlow and deked out 2 Dmen and potted one upstairs. fluke or generous gameplay? im undecided.
too many shots ring off the post. i dont mind missign the net, or having a shot blocked, but realitically a team wont hit 3 posts in a period, let a lone a game. and if they do, it might happen once a month. this happens with absurd frequency.

OK:
id like to see more customization on the create a player. they are on the right path, but its extrmemly limted- especially the create a team. why cant we use the NHL logos and change the colors? the game really lacks in the create category.
online play is great! until it lags out or freezes. rare occurance, like the servers having a bad day. i would love to see tourneys and leagues added

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Online Play

posted by Review1 (EASTON, PA) Oct 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game has to have the worst problems with online play I have ever encountered.. Constantly freezing and reseting, dropping games etc... Always makes you reload rosters takes forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent etup for next year

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 34 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

sorry people not a hockey fan soo im not goinggo pedal to the metal this game is probly the best so far its got some pretty nice graphics and some nice features they have some bugs to fix which is why next year will probly be great if you really want a hocky game you could go with this but 2k8 looks really good game is good to buy right away unless its like a halo or cod you cant hate those rent for your opinion but if you can go with 2k8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by richandsta (SIGNAL MOUNTAIN, TN) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

Great game for hockey fans, Big improvement from last year. If you are a hockey fan its a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great

posted by twiztidjug (MC ROBERTS, KY) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Gameplay was good Chars looked very real but sometimes it was hard to get a win on easy teams..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Can't score

posted by 39Mustang (ALLEN, TX) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

Game would be entertaining if the shoot button wasn't the right toggle stick which is absolutely mindboggling. Giving it a 5 is very generous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blaaah

posted by unseenplay (WILLOWS, CA) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

It didn't work, there is a ring in the cd and it didn't get past the PRESS START

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hockey is fun to play again....

posted by Constant (TULARE, CA) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

EA did a great job on this game. The graphic are awesome and the controller config is a new and great thing. I like how you can use the sticks to aim that perfect shot right between the bar and the goalies catcher!! its got you going yes! with a fist in the air, saying beautiful shot!! You can punish your opponent with huge checks into the wall or open ice. The fighting system is okay, would have liked to see some blood. I like that you can be the goalie. The shootouts are great in-game or a little one on one with a friend on-line or same console.. One thing that i dislike is that the replays are off, they show the wrong play or some off the replays. Good game in the end. Peace out yo's!

-static

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An OK game....

posted by hammer27of (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I was a bit disappointed after I heard that the computer AI was better in this NHL release. The goalies are still weak and one times work way to often IMO. The game is nice looking and fun, just not very realistic....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NHL 08

posted by ShayneP (GREENACRES, FL) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Graphics are sick! The controls are to confusing. Other then that highly recommendable game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OK

posted by gamerkingJ (Pelham, NY) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game was f u ok and had very nice graphics and i was the pittsburgh penguins and i did seaspn and guess what i beat the ga y a zz detroit redwings

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

happy

posted by giblet (MURRYSVILLE, PA) May 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

great game though updated rosters would be a godsend for me. i like the variation on games pending on team style...overall very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wow it feel's brand new!

posted by kythan (DURHAMVILLE, NY) May 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Most of your sports titles from year to year are a re-hash of the same old same old. Some new rookies, a couple graphics upgrades and some new controls tacked onto last years model.

NHL 2008 is not breaking any new ground for the NHL franchise but it does define it and hone what was there into a great hockey experiance. The arcade style of the last couple of games is gone now. Defenders play much better than they used to and break up passes and rush attempts quiet frequently.

Goalies are even a little bit better though still not quiet where they should be. The dynasty mode is completly re-vamped from last year and this years new model works great. A favorite new addition of mine is the AHL. You can even play your affiliated AHL teams games and move players around in the dynasty mode making it feel like you really are in control. Got a hot rookie prospect that can't break onto your top two lines in the bigs... Send him down to the AHL to hone his skills and he'll improve to where he can jump on those top lines.

All in all it's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Stuff

posted by mike3223 (ORLANDO, FL) May 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

If you like hockey titles, this is good for you. I myself am moreso a football kinda guy. But the fluid controls and the excellent graphics and gameplay make it hard not to like this game. Its pretty tough to get a hang of the controls being as its entirely analog stick, but once you get it, its second nature. It's accurate in multiple facets being as the teams skill level is good, the goalie ai is great and the learning feature is nice too. Honestly, i would give this game a ten, but i haven't given a ten yet, and i'm scared to do it. If i passed out tens, this game would get one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NHL 08 EHH

posted by IRISH866 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

Well i was impressed with the graphics of this game the controls are very difficult to get use to. I had to switch to classic controls to be able to score a goal, and when your in classic you loose alot of options.Maybe I'm just too old but, only using the thumb sticks is pretty difficult. Rather play 2k8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I had fun...even as an African-American

posted by Justbeyou (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Even though I'm an African-American, I had a lot of fun playing this game. I learned a lot about hockey in general, and even started a season.

Unfortunately, the disc was a little scratched up and it became unreadable, but what I did get to play was loads of fun.

It's definitely worth the rent due to the great control you have over your players and team. It's NFL's Madden on Ice!

KJ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NHL 08 falls short

posted by Unwaivered (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I want to start by saying I love the hockey in NHL 08. The game plays great. Its the offseason that has me down about this game. If you are like me you run a franchise or dynasty for the fact between the games. its the trading and drafting and making the best team possible the hylight of your gaming. NHL 08 falls too short of that. Many times you won't be able to trade even numbers (2 players for 2 players) because a glych will tell you "team must have onyl 23 players" subtract and you'll get the same message. Also your trades will never be met at value. If you just want a game with no ownership in your season this game is it. The hockey is outstanding and the graphics awesome but I still recomened the other (2k sports). the play there is good and the in between is much better. it picks up where NHL08 drops off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enter Review Title (50 characters maximum)

posted by drowe23 (ROCHESTER, NY) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

id say this is the best hockey game ive ever played.

so many new features, a lot better graphics.

gameplay is so much better, online mode is usually good except if you play with a person with a bad connection it kind of messes up the game for everyone else and skips or plays restart over and over again and the time wont go down... weird.

but my favorite hockey game yet! oh and the ea servers go down from time to time. which is annyoing. no game is perfect though.

AWESOME GAME!! GOOD ONLINE!!! BUY IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Solid

posted by ToplessK (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game is by far one of the best looking sports games on the 360. The skating looks great, the players look amazing and you really feel like you're watching a real hockey game.

The Good:
Skill Stick - one of the most impressive and fun things to use, you really feel accomplished when you weave through two opponents and score a big goal.

AI - The AI in this game is phenomenal, sometimes even frustrating. But how fun is a sports game on easy mode?

Face Offs - Its a simple but important part of the game, and one which I really enjoy. The small things make the difference.

Offense - The play editor, the solid AI, the skill stick, and awesome offensive mechanics combine to make offense in NHL 08 superior to all previous hockey sims. Scoring an offensive goal is actually satisfying, hard to say amount many games in the genre.

Goalies - The goalies in the game are phenomenal, they move and react as though they were real. The instant replays of some of the bigger saves are VERY VERY impressive.

The Bad:
Occasional Glitch - At times the goalies can glitch and give you (or the opposing team) a super easy goal. This may happen once every other game so it's not a big concern.

Defense - My only true complaint about this game is the defensive mechanics. The hit stick doesn't work that well and it's fairly difficult to line up a good hit. And overall the defense just doesn't flow as well as the offense.

Overall a VERY good game and worth a BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game with some great aspects

posted by TDBears (LITITZ, PA) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

I own both this and 2k8. The consensus seems to be that this game is better, i disagree. Quickly I will run through what this game has over 2k8 and then the opposite:

NHL 08-
GOOD
-The graphics are insanely good
-The shot stick isn't that hard to use and its superior to anything else out there
-its easy to get onlisne games going (lots of people on all the time)
-Setting up on offense feels realistic
BAD
-The AI isn't as good as people seem to think (your defense can be very passive to the point of being infuriating)
-goalies-you can score goals on wrist shots from the blue line (don't believe me? Hold the L2 and shoot for the top corner from anywhere and watch how often you get garbage goals--in the slot its about a 50/50 chance)
-everybody can stick handle like Crosby (even 3rd line defenders)
-the face-off system is the same as 95 with different buttons
-checking is unpredictable
-sometimes the puck gets stuck next to the goal and wont move for an extended period of time
-You hit the post (and it never goes in) 3 or 4 times a period, not realistic

NHL 2k8
GOOD
-The face-off system and the battle on the boards is really captured and adds a lot to the game
-Goalies are smart and its hard to score on garbage shots
-Only skilled players can really stick handle well
-Classic teams ('80 USA, '93 Blackhawks, etc)
BAD
-Better camera, but worse graphics (still decent but NHL 08 is beautiful)
-Their shot stick system is not as good
-Sometimes it is difficult to get set up on offense and the hitting can get out of control
-I rarely use the goalie system in either game, but its better in 08
-Not as many people playing online all the time

Overall both games are good. I prefer 2k8 (lots of fun unlockable challenges/teams, etc) but unfortunately hockey fans may want to try both before deciding as the games shine in different areas. If you want a more physical, hectic experience go with 2k8, but if you want a lot of running set plays and stick handling, go with 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse