Rent NHL 08 for PS3
view large frontback

NHL 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
7.4

756 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Hockey Game Ever

posted by denver2010 (englewood, CO) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge fan of hockey for years and have played ice hockey for many years. Let me tell you this game gets as close to the real thing as possible. I love the fact that I actually need to think up strategies on the go and not just hit everything that moves. It's a little frustrating at times because it is so difficult to score but that's how real hockey is. The updates have fixed many glitches to make this game even better. My friends and I can not get enough of this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OK GAME

posted by souljaboi (LEOMINSTER, MA) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

when i first got nhl 08 in the mail, i was excited it put it in and start to play it. the first thing i did was the shootout mode. the camara angle is stupid. the graphics look cool but the controls take some time to get used to. u have to use the right analog stick to shoot and the r2 button to change player and pass, which feels weird. the best things about this game is how real the skating looks, and the annoucing. i recommend this game and u should def put it on ur Q, but dont expect to keep it for very long if u dont have online, playing by urself can and will get VERY BORING after about 2 games. ONLINE LEAGUES RULE!!!! EA BETTER HAVE THEM IN NBA AND FIFA 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most Realistic Hockey Game Ever.

posted by ReedK88 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is quite possibly the best and most realistic hockey game ever made, and perhaps it is no coincidence that it is also the hardest. It seems that most reviewers that did not like this game had a tough time with the controls- and they are not kidding, the total stick control is very, very tricky, but once you get used to it, it is an undeniably spectacular asset to this franchise. When I tell my friends that you only use both joysticks & the top R & L buttons, and that X square O and triangle don't really do anything, they all reply, "What???" The important thing to note here is that you CAN CHANGE TO TRADITIONAL CONTROLS.

I've played the EA hockey games since NHLPA on NES. These games are great for their lasting appeal- I recently ran into a friend with a fully functioning NES NHL '94 and we played for about 3 hours. NHL '08 can only be more impressive on this aspect; I've had the game for about a year now and I still have a tough time beating the computer on the 2nd easiest setting, no joke. This is mainly due to the spectacularly realistic goaltending- if you think you can just make a quick pass to your winger for the easy top shelf one-timer, you've got another thing coming to you. Also, the defense adapts to trends in your offensive strategy, so if you think you can streak your right winger in past them every time you are certainly mistaken.

The other noteable feature in this game is the Create a Play mode- in which you can create plays to be execute in a set list of offensive situations (2 or 3 man breaks, power plays, behind the net plays) which are then automatically set in motion for you during the game when your puck carrier enters his lane. It's complicated, but an amazingly interesting feature.

The game is lacking in extras- namely bonus milestones and unlockables, but the game play is so fun that it is barely missed.

Practice your stick control in the shooting, skating, and shootout mode, play some games and you'll be hooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unplayable

posted by joerdie (MILFORD, OH) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

The controls ruined this game. Everything is controlled through the right stick... I am very dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wont be buying this one

posted by rhutchi72 (MESQUITE, TX) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I only played this thing for two day, and was not impressed at all, if this is the future of EA Sports i wont rent any thing from them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yet another EA sport game that freezes

posted by jc3527 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I am done even renting EA games. It has been a good run since " One on One" but I am no longer going to buy, let alone rent, games from a company that releases them with bugs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by tmoney72 (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Its a good game. Only thing I didn't like was how hard it is to body check.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best NHL game yet!

posted by Craig84 (LAKEWOOD, OH) May 26, 2008

Member since May 2008

If you are trying to decide between EA's NHL 08 and 2K sports NHL2K8, you look at the two and you see a price difference seeing that NHL2K8 is cheaper. But I'm hear to tell you to pay the extra money on this game it has cutting edge graphics and controls. The player actually looks like they're skating, you have to actually use strategy not just skate and shoot. One drawback that I have found is the inability to be able to get online and download rosters or play online, the update they give you takes you about halfway threw and then disconnects you from their server. But you can always go online and get them from someone or maybe EA will fix it. either way
I'm just anxious for NHL09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nhl 08

posted by hipchild (ZELIENOPLE, PA) May 3, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game is so much fun go pens

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating online bugs

posted by dabluesman (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Apr 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I got this game so I could play with a buddy in another state, so online play was important. When playing solo or local multiplayer, I enjoyed the game. But the online play is horribly buggy with the new roster updates that you are forced to download before you can play your friends. Do a search for NHL 08 online freeze and you'll see that many posts that talk about this. My buddy and I tried to play a simple shootout session, not even a game, and it took us both over a dozen times of resetting the session, restarting the game, and even restarting our completely locked up PS3's before we ever got to play a single match. After an additional 45 minutes of frustration, when were able to get our 2nd match in. 15 minutes after that, we gave up and played our old faithful again (Full Auto 2 - online is awesome on that). Hopefully EA will fix the freezing problems, but unfortunately I'm just not prepared to keep this rental any longer waiting for a fix that may or may not happen. At the time of my post, I'm going to have to recommend against this game if you are looking for online play. So, before you rent it, do a little research and see if they fixed the bugs to see if your experience will be the same as mine was. Since my whole goal was to play online with a friend, and this title failed miserably at that, I just can't give it the score it probably should deserve. If you are looking for solo or local multiplayer and no online play, then disregard my review and go ahead and take the plunge to rent it (just don't download the 4/11/08 roster update as it will mess up your solo play as well as your online play).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

exciting, trying though...

posted by guitarman7 (LIVONIA, MI) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This game took me a while to get used to, (still trying to get used to the controls) but it seems to be getting easier. No point in going to classic controls for two reasons:
1) it seems that the speed burst (what should be R2) is non-existent amongst other common features like L1 shifting
2) You know that EA is trying to coax us over to these new controls and that in the future they will be the only one's you'll be able to use. You might as well just get used to em' now if you wanna continue playing Ea hockey.
As you work with the controls, you'll notice little things that work a bit smoother like deeking with Right stick, and aiming your shots.
Defense is tough in your own end as it's kinda hard to lock up your man however.

It is fun though...and you can always adjust the game options to make it a bit easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game with Annoying Bugs

posted by Grawtail (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This could easily get a 9 or 10 rating from me if only it wasn't so buggy and had some real documentation with it. The instruction book is about 6 pages and goes into almost no detail about any of the management features in the game.

When playing in Dynasty mode the game will kick you right out to the Sony Playstation screen in between periods. Of course this only seems to happen whenever I have a sizable lead and almost never when I'm losing.

The actual game play and shooting/stick control make this the best sports game I've ever played and usually enough to endure the frustration with getting kicked out to the startup screen in the middle of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

don't waste your time

posted by GonzalJ13 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

i bought this game, and i am a die hard hockey fan,the presentation is awesome,but the controls stink,and the camera angles are horrible.
better hockey game i bought was nhl 2k8,that game rocks everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EA went all out on this one.

posted by marmit66 (ELKHART, IN) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

I was blown away by the graphics on this game. The cut scenes are amazing and the player likenesses are dead on. Once you get used to the new controls, the gameplay is great. I have owned all the EA NHL titles since 1993 and this one takes the cake. Finally EA got a game right on the PS3 platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NHL 08 is the best Hockey game out.

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Presentation: 8/10

Presentation is a high point of this game. Replays and cutscenes look great. Looks like you are watching a real hockey game.

Graphics: 8/10

Character models and arenas look great. The Crowd looks bland though. Very little framerate/slowdowns issues that do not hurrt the experience much.

Sound: 8/10

The soundtrack is good. Most importantly, the commentary is great. It gets repetitive after a while but the guys make you feel like you are watching a real game.

Gameplay: 9/10

Gameplay is the strongest point of the game. Games are much more realistic now especially on the harder difficulty levels. Many modes to play in including a practice mode, in depth franchise mode. It is cool playing with AHL teams as well.

Overall: 8/10

Pros: Gameplay is very strong. Most realistic hockey game out because of the enhanced AI. Franchise mode is deep. Practice mode is addictive. Replays/Cutscenes look great, graphics look great, commentary is stellar.

Cons: AI is a bit too strong. The CPU AI is very strong especially in the final minutes when they really need a goal or two which sometimes makes it hard to beat them which gets very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The greatest game ever.

posted by Super7 (ROMULUS, MI) Dec 15, 2007

Member since May 2007

Thoroughly impressed with this game. Who thought EA would bring back real online play, with "my couch verse yours" gameplay that they invented and then turned it's back on many moons ago. The "new" controls have been a project of EA sports for some years, and this year I was comfortable enough with their execution to make the switch myself, although many on my couch were happy to see the classic controls as an option. Gameplay top notch, minutes to learn months to master.

On the downside I would have liked much more customization options out of my custom teams and stadiums. Their are still a couple times when controller settings should be tweak able prior to a game to avoid a pause, and found myself unable to change a teams strategies in a ranked game causing my couch many fights.

I have a gamefly membership because this game did not come out until 9/12/07. And had they not made my couch so angry about those few things it would never leave my PS3.

My couch goes by gotdirt, if your couch wants some, come find us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally. A Hockey game that almost realistic

posted by Lakermania (INGLEWOOD, CA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

I think that EA has passed 2K on the Hockey platform. I've played both and with the new skating engine and the vastly improved AI that EA has implemented; this is a more realistic hockey game than what I've seen to date. The only edge that I will give 2k is that the uniforms look better; which is the reason why I didn't give it a 10, but the overall game play and animation is far superior on the EA platform. Great job EA and let's see if you can build upon this and make a perfect hockey sim for 09'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wow soooo sad on ps3

posted by madgamer24 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is awful compared to the 2k8. I dont understand why the games are so swag. They have a ample time to get a great game out not just a "game".... I played 15 games online and sent it back. I suggest you get 2k8 if you want a hockey game for ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game Overall

posted by iowaboyz (FRONTENAC, MO) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

In NHL 08, there are all new controls that allow you to deke in any direction, slapshot, or wristshot, all with the right stick. This is much better than the x button for a pass and square for a shot. Also, being able to play AHL games in your dynasty allows you to know which of your prospects are good and which aren't good. However, your team's goalie can make dumb mistakes and allow a puck through the five hole when he should have easily gotten it, and if the AI Learning is too high then it is impossible to score. I had the AI Learning all the way up and after 4 or 5 games I got shut out 3 games in a row and lost by a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Good

posted by kodiakbear (OSWEGO, NY) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

The game just not as good as EA NHL hockey in the past. I have played everyone from sega until now and this one was just not good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun....

posted by MauiRocks (Lahaina, HI) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

Once you get past the no speed burst, and work on your shooting a little, this game really rocks! I found that in create player mode you can work on your shooting skills when trying out various equipment, that really helps. Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NHL 08 very good but not perfect.

posted by Gammerman (ARTESIA, CA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

This years hockey from EA has to be one of the best ever. The actual game play is Excellent. Just missing a full user control season mode which allow multiple user(s) to play in dynasty mode, like Madden Football has in it's franchise mode. For some reason EA has not been able to add this feature in none of it's next generation game systems. However EA has done a great job with the revamping of the game play, which is about as realistic as you can get. If you like Hockey then this is the one for you. A must play for all you puck fans...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

EA may have the license, but not the controls.

posted by Remarks (O FALLON, MO) Sep 19, 2007

Member since May 2007

Have always enjoyed a good hockey game. Played this game with my son and we both really struggled with the game play controls. The player models and stadiums were as good as expected. We typically like EA sports titles, but will stick with the 2K version of hockey for the time-being.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »